Those who saw an injury depleted Bulls team train on Monday, fear not, as all players not in action were on the sidelines as a precautionary measure.

The Vodacom Bulls team doctor, Org Strauss, confirmed that there were no serious injuries in the team after the Reds match at the weekend.

Although at least six players did not train on Monday, all should be available to play against the Stormers in Cape Town on Saturday.

Willie Wepener (ear), Chiliboy Ralepelle (flu), Werner Kruger (neck), Jacques Potgieter (neck and back), Jano Vermaak (back) and CJ Stander (head wound) sat out during the afternoon session.

A final call on the availability of Deon Stegmann will be made on Tuesday, Strauss said.

Amongst the Blue Bulls Vodacom Cup team, who plays the Leopards in Potchefstroom, Rayno Geber (heel) and Dawie Steyn (shoulder) will train tomorrow.

The Vodacom Bulls will be heading to Cape Town this weekend for the big showdown, and will unveil their new pink jersey for the first time at Newlands in the heated Vodacom Super Rugby derby against the DHL Stormers.

The away jersey caused much consternation when announced at the beginning of the season, and initially it was only to be used on the four away games overseas, but a potential clash with the Stormers jersey means the Bulls will run out in pink this weekend for the first time.

“We had a look at the two jerseys and there definitely is a clash,” Bulls manager Wynie Strydom confirmed to SuperSport.com, “So being the away team we will need to wear our away strip.”

While the team kit sponsors Puma are desperately trying to market it as the “purple jersey”, the overwhelming pink aspect overshadows the “Jacaranda effect” that the marketing boys have come up with and is sure to stir up some debate this week.

But even though they may get some stick for their jersey, the Bulls will head to Cape Town all confident after their 61-8 demolition of the defending champion Reds at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

And once again it will be a classic battle between attack and defence, with the Bulls heading up the try-scoring list with a massive 17 after five rounds, while the Stormers could only manage seven.

On defence the teams are even, having conceded just five apiece, the stingiest in the competition, and the Bulls have conceded less points — 69 to the Stormers’ 74 while their Reds demolition puts them way out front with points scored — their 153 being the most in the competition thus far.

But the Stormers have one massive thing going for them — they are the only unbeaten team in the competition and have a knack of winning games they probably shouldn’t, as was witnessed at Coca-Cola Park in Johannesburg on Saturday night.

The grit and determination of the Cape team have made them the top team in the competition thus far, and while the Bulls are sure to arrive with so many positives going for them, the Cape team will be determined to get one over them after losing their home game in 2011 and the 2010 final to the Pretoria side.

Either way it will be a mouth-watering clash, one which will test the resolves, character and aspirations of both teams.

76 Responses to Super Rugby: No serious injuries for Vodacom Bulls

In contrast, the Reds have named their janitor in the backline

1 @ Supa,
    Jack Sparrow that was very sharp… and the Lions injury list is looking more like a list of the “wider training group” Eish! the Lions have the potential to really do well, but the injuries are crippling them. I know how it feels, the Cheetahs went through a similiar run last year, and that whilst on tour!!

How could a Bulls player get injured in that game?

3 @ Loosehead,

Lol, maybe he tripped over the medics! Amazed

Some interesting clashes this weekend. Some wouldn’t have attracted much attention pre season.

‘Landers vs Rebels – ‘Landers have been very good, till last week, and Rebels have shown some improvement. ‘Landers should take it at home though.

‘Canes vs Cheetahs – Exciting young guns at 10, Canes beat a tired Blues team last week, but it will be a cracker! Cheetahs definately in with a shout.

Chiefs vs ‘Tahs – Chiefs offa bye, and ‘Tahs have injury concerns, but did well to down the Sharks. A close match!

Force vs Reds – Reds are in big poef with injuries, and this could derail their season. Force will fancy their chances at home.

Lions vs Crusaders – Eish! Poor Lions, guts and pride, but an injury tll, similiar to the Reds

Breezers vs Bulls – How good or poor are these two teams?? Bulls blew the injury ravaged Reds off the park, but were poor vs the Blues. Stormers have been winning very ugly, and at home! This is going to be brutal! Lol, will be a hoot to see the likes of Spies, and Meisikind in their very favourite colours though! Happy-Grin

It’s gonna be a good good weekend lol

4@ Cheetah4eva:
    You left out Jakes Brumbies against the Sharks. Which I think will be the game of the weekend.

Will Spies go AWOL like he always does in a tight match? This game should be brutal. I might even go to Booooooooooolands to watch.

5 @ Loosehead,

So i did! Sowy! Jip, the Guppies will be hurting after letting it slip vs the ‘Tahs, and Jake’s Brumbies have been impressive….

Crucial weekend for the Reds!

I am backing te Cheetahs totake the ‘Canes! Just hope our props can hold up!

Gooooooooooo Bulls!

Pink or BLUE
    We will sink YOU!

I predict that only 1 SA team will win this weekend… in SA… away from home….

I also predict 4 New Zealand teams will win and 2 Aussie teams will win….

I also predict 3 away wins and 4 home wins….

So, what are my predictions?

GBS you are such a patriot Huwaaaah!

Cheetahs to rain on your parade!!

9 @ Cheetah4eva:
    I am a patriot indeed… it was with sadness that I made my preditions

GBS, I think the Cheetahs can upstage the ‘Canes on Saturday. They have been on an upwards curve, as have the Hurricanes. It was a moment of madness by Weepu, that gifted the Çanes a win last weekend, and the ‘Canes have had their fair share of luck.

Cheetahs can do this!

11 @ Cheetah4eva:
    They could… and then again they could not.

Canes are at home

My 5 cents…

Winners to be…

Landers
    Canes
    Chiefs
    Sharks
    Force
    Crusaders
    Bulls

13@ Blouste:
    My 10 cents……
    Winner to be…
    Double or quits bro.

Double boet !!!

15@ Blouste:
    Clan
    VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT
    Chiefs
    Jakes Brumbies
    Force
    Saders
    Bulls

10 cents on the results, ok?

You’re on Approve

Q: How do you kill a PINK BULL?
    A: Glue a mirror to the bottom of the pool!!
    bring it on f**kers!!! yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!

GBS
    DJOEF GHAT MYL!!

Hahaha, No Bull would dare to be injured with the thought of being able to wear their pink blouses in Cape Town – a dream come true for so many of them. I will be using the excuse of Stormers choking if they lose on Saturday night, the sight of 22 well hung, horned animals in pink is enough to bring a lump to the throat of any Cape Town manbag carrying metro-sexual

jfk @ 20
    lmao

I see AC has laid his cards on the table, said that they will be expecting the normal aerial bombardment from the Bulls, and has planned for this accordingly – Is he just lulling the Bulls into a false sense of security, or does he have another cunning Baldrick type plan up his sleeves.

Whatever it is, I expect to see a tough battle between the two teams, I don’t think it’s going to make for a great rugby spectacle, but it will be a very intense match. I’m pegging my colours to the wall, and going for my boys – wouldn’t have it any other way – but, my confidence is shot after last weekends match!

go stormers (in a very quite voice, so as not to attract too much attention from the bully’s)

20@ Just For Kicks:BWAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAA… Priceless!
    Have not laughed so much at a post for a long, long time… hehehehe.

jfk @ 22
    met die bulls wat in pienk speel sil ekki vi allie geld inni wêreld di een wil wies wat daai up en unders wil vangie!! hulle kom ñ man nettou by met ñ stywe arm 😀

Think this game will be very close. Really don’t see a run away winner here.

Bulls ruthelessly demolish a depleted Reds team at Loftus.

Stormers beat a depleted Blues team with ease who the Bulls lost too.

Well if we go by that this game will be a real tough one to pick a winner. The only concern with Stormers is they battled to beat a seriously depleted Lions team. That could slightly sways it towards a Bulls win. Then Stormers came off a bye there. Teams for some reason just lose momentum after a bye. So not really sure who will win this battle. Stormers have not lost at home yet, so with home advantage that should sway it to Stormers by 2 or 3. Not sure who to go with on bru really.

26@ Puma:
    ruthelessly = ruthlessly

26@ Puma:I like your confidence in the Stormers, I just feel that inexperience is going to play a major role in this match, and although there are some tough haggard old campaigners in the Stormers side, the youngsters together only amass about 20 caps between them. It started to show against the Lions, to a degree, but, I think may be heavily exposed in this weekends game, and that, for me. will be the difference in the two sides. Kolisi, Kitshoff, Koster, Etzebeth, Carr, Scarra, et al, have really come on this season, but have they done enough? The tough part of the Stormers campaign starts this weekend, and it will be really interesting to see what the future talent in SA is really like.

Go stormers (ever so slightly louder whisper – based on Pumas assumption)

wonder what the call was this week at the bulls scrum practises … maybe something like “touch, pause, embrace?” 😀

Delicious Lol, the Bulls Supporters are copping a ribbing all over again, with the Pink stripes!!

Can you imagine the blog, should the unthinkable (in the Bulls/Pinks minds) happen, and the Bullies lose to the Breezers, in their pink PJ’s nogal!! bwahahaaaa.

The game thread is going to be a blast! I can see I am going to be rolling in laughter, it will beat a Hilton classic hands down!

Total 33 users including 0 member, 33 guests, 0 bot online