Bulls scrum half, Francois Hougaard, has been suspended from all rugby for one week after receiving a RED CARD in the game against the Cheetahs for a tip-tackle on Robert Ebersohn.

Bulls scrumhalf Francois Hougaard will miss next weekend’s encounter against the Blues at Loftus Versveld, after the new ultra-speedy SANZAR disciplinary process has found him guilty of a spear tackle on Rob Ebersohn.

Hougaard was shown a red card in the 62nd minute of yesterday’s Bloenfontein clash and the matter was immediately referred to SANZAR Duty Judicial Officer Mike Heron for assessment. Hougaard submitted a guilty plea and the “extenuating circumstances” of the case, together with his good disciplinary record, saw Heron opt to hand out a suspension of only 1 week, far lower than is the norm in such cases.

Heron’s reasoning is outlined below:

“The footage showed Hougaard lifting the opposing player into the air and dropping him on to the ground. The Cheetahs number 13 fell backwards and twisted on to his right shoulder. He was not injured and continued unaffected. A subsequent report from the Cheetahs confirmed that (as did Mr Swart for the player). Hougaard immediately acknowledged his wrong. An unusual feature was the involvement of another Cheetahs player, initially supporting the tackled player and then not continuing to do so. It was submitted, and I accept, that this appears to have inadvertently contributed to Hougaard failing to realise that the player would drop to the ground. In my view this was a brief incident of dangerous play, which resulted in a breach of rule 10.4(j), without any intent to drop the player on to the ground. Accordingly, I find the entry point low end (three weeks). The player immediately accepted responsibility and pleaded guilty. He has no disciplinary record, is of good character and this is his first card of any type I am told. The circumstances of the tackle were unusual and there was no injury or lasting impact on the tackled player. In addition, Hougaard has the embarrassment of being sent from the field and the record that comes with that. In all the circumstances therefore I reduced the penalty to one weeks suspension. I emphasise that this was an unusual case and that it should not be regarded as setting any precedent in respect of future tackles of this sort.”

31 Responses to Hougie suspended for one week for tip-tackle

Here we go again! Double standards. Point is once you lift a player in the air, the control is gone, now this moron wants to convince us, that it is the Cheetahs supporting players fault, that Ebersohn landed on his head. Bulls played well, but they were also guilty of dirty play! Hard, uncomprimising rugby is fine! Hair pulling, shoulder charges to the chest, and spear tackles are not! Hope they farking citePotgieter as well.

Please give me a more rational reason why a) Hougaard got a Red instead of a yellow, and b) why he gets a week, and Strauss two?

Both apologised, both, pleaded guilty, yet this fucknutgives us this ridiculous reasoning!

I haven’t seen the incident, but hear from a Bulls supporter that it deserved a yellow and no more.
    I must agree with Cheetah4eva that the same stndards should apply. A tip tackle is a tip tackle and if 1 player gets banned for 2 weeks then that is the standard.

@Loosehead,
    That was my opinion too. Red was harsh, a yellow was appropriate, but the ban is farcial. Potgieter and Steyn were also guilty of unsporting play. Hair pulling, and shoulder hits to the chest area are not acceptable!

Maybe as part of the Bulls new pink image is to fight like girls!

@ Cheetah4eva:
    I saw the shoulder charge and scrum cap pulling yellow incident. It deserved a yellow.
    I like abrasive players, but not dirty ones. If Potgieter carries on in this mould he will be spending plenty time on the sideline.

What did Steyn do?

@ Loosehead,
    At a scuffle in the second half, he decided to grab a hold of Ash’s hairdo!

In related news, Adam Byres, has been suspended for eye gouging Tom Carter in Fridays Rebels / Waratahs game.

5@ Cheetah4eva:
    Look to be honest, if I were still playing and an opponent had long hair I would give it a yank or 2 too.

But poor form in any case.

@ Loosehead,

In our days we could escape the spotlight, and skullduggery was sorted out on the field. Nowadays the camera’s miss little, and things aren’t sorted out like in the past. You could get in a yank or too, but you would have copped a smack in return, it was “gentleman’s rules” lol. Not anymore!

6@ Loosehead: Adam Byrnes will be for 10 weeks for the eye gouging incident during Friday night’s clash against the Waratahs.

Mmmmmmm, I expected a suspension for Hougie… and he got one.

Glad it’s only a week!

During the match it was clear that even all the Cheetahs supporters on Rugby-Talk was of the opinion that the Red Card was too harsh in the circumstances and that Hougie IMMEDIATELY acknowledged and apologised, right there on the field. From the footage it is also clear that Hougie did lift Eberson, no doubt but that the other supporting Cheetahs player let go of his support, compounding the effects of Ebersohn’s top body going down like that towards the ground.

Also, there was no injury…

Hougie has NEVER EVER received a card before…

One week is fair, I think!

1, 3, 5 & 8 @ Cheetah4eva:
    2,4,6 & 7 @ Loosehead:
    Any JUDICIAL PROCESS, whether it be these citings or more serious matters in the criminal courts has to take the exact circumstances into account. They also HAVE to take mitigating circumstances into account as well as the previous record of conduct over the years.

Only very biased Cheetahs supporters will be rabid about this punishment, come on you HAVE TO admit that there are so many mitigating circumstances here that it is’nt even funny!

Then admit that you’re viewing the rest of the game’s incidents through orange spectacles as well… pointing out Potgieter (what a farce) and Morné Steyn’s hair pulling on Ashley Johnson, but forgetting about incidents involving Adriaan Strauss, Ashley Johnson, Heinrich Brussow, WP Nel (punch)….

– Why not just be man enough and admit that the Cheetahs were not good enough on the day!
    – That the Bulls bullied the Cheetahs and were much more physical up front where it mattered!
    – That 6 tries to 1 says it all!
    – That the 32-point margin says it all!
    – That the Bulls putting HALF A TON of points up against the Cheetahs, says it all!
    – That the Bulls were the BEST SIDE in Super Rugby, this weekend!

Yesterday we had to suffer the intollerable behaviour of one of your fellow Cheetahs supporters here on R-T, taking perverse pleasure into trying to belittle Wynand Olivier, after the game…. now today this from you okes!

It would almost appear that you have no shame and no sense of perspective…. and no sportsmanship!

May I be more gracious in defeat if and when the Bulls lose a game….

…. oh and Cheetahs4eva… talk to me about your Cheetahs centres again after the game… the proof of the pudding indeed lay in the eating, not so!

We also spoke about the locks before the game, did we not…. hehehehe

– Cheetahs front row did well, I’ll give them that but then again 2 PROP tries for the Bulls says a lot about how hard theBulls props played in the loose and tight loose. Adriaan Strauss and Chiliboy Ralepelle illustrated why they are rated so high in SA Rugby.

– At lock the Cheetahs were far worse off than the Bulls… as I predicted.

– Brussow was largely anonymous yesterday, except for 1 good steal as well as the incident with Wynand Olivier, whereas all 3 Bulls loosies as well as their replacements were visible and accurate at the breakdowns and in the tackles the whole game.

– Hougaard was just miles ahead of Tewis de Bruyn and Jano did well too. Piet van Zyl is a much better option at scrummie for the Cheetahs

– We saw SA’s best 2 flyhalves in action yesterday.

– Yesterday I predicted Snyman was going to have a torrid time at centre… and he did. I said Robert Ebersohn was vulnerable on defence and he was.

– Out wide the Bulls exposed the Cheetahs defence…. just look at the tries of the Bulls (Zane Kirchner 2, Bjorn Basson 1, JJ Engelbrecht).

– At fullback Hennie Daniller was solid and came through the game with honours… but Zane Kirchner was just that bit more electric and switched on on the day.

I didn’t get a chance to blog on the game article yesterday, as I was at a braai, with predominantly bulls friends. If you however read Rugby365 at all, you woukd have read my response.

Bulls outmuscled the Cheetahs at the collisions, and got the quick balls the Cheetahs relish. In a nutshell, they outplayed theCheetahs at their own game. The lineouts were better, but were still below the Bulls. Cheetahs were not poor, they were just not allowed to play with any width at all, the Bulls defence was just top notch!

As for trying to be humble in defeat, heck, you can’t even master that humility in victory he he he.

The Bulls are just playing outstanding rugby at the moment. The Cheetahs had no rythm on attack, and no quick ball at all. Back to the drawing board, because the bulls found acres of space out wide with ease.

Still a long way to go GBS, and I predicted pre season, that the SA conference would be between the Bulls, Cheetahs, and Sharks. The Bulls are clearly ahead of any S A side at the moment, and the rest will need to find a chink soon.

12 @ Cheetah4eva:
    Talk to me about Snyman at centre.
    Talk to me about Robert Ebersohn’s defence.
    Talk to me about the defence of the Cheetahs wings.
    You’ve already addressed the difference in the locks between the 2 sides, thanks for admitting the Bulls were better in that department.

These were the issues I raised before the Bulls / Cheetahs game yesterday… and you laughed me off and had a lot to counter.

But I was spot-on, was’nt I?

Humility??

Nowhere do I say the Cheetahs are kak, nowhere do I say that the Cheetahs are vuilgat (unlike some Cheetahs Supporters), in fact look at Comment No 11 and you’ll see me praising Adriaan Strauss, Johan Goosen, Hennie Daniller and the whole Cheetahs front row.

There’s enough humility in that… and if you think me rebuffing you guys for bitching and moaning about the 1 week suspension for Hougie is NOT SHOWING HUMILITY, then so be it! You’re wrong on that count, it’s as easy as that.

The competition is still long, you are right, and I want the Cheetahs to do well, specially now on tour!

@ grootblousmile:If you’re not showing humility, you’re certainly showing a bit of humidity. Sounds like someone irked you a bit yesterday – must admit, with all the connectivity problems yesterday, I didn’t see anything. Nothing like letting it all out though, you go boy!!!!

14 @ Just For Kicks:
    Yeah, must admit I’m a bit miffed about certain attitudes…

One HAS to be able to see the weaknesses in your own side and / or where they went wrong, only then do the people sit up and take notice of your rugby opinion.

Anyway, just been called for lunch…. talk later during the SIX nations live game article between France and Ireland.

A bit harsh I thought. If the other Cheetahs player hadn’t been there the tackle would have gone straight through. Hougie certainly looking the part of an excellent Bok….the third best world scrumhalf in a row for us. Sharks a slow start to the season points wise, but playing two close games away from home…I am sure they will just get better and better as the season goes on. This is normally good for them if they start crap….they finish strongly.

@ GBS,

You should lighten up!

Just a general comment on this. Please take a look at the posts that I made yesterday(while I was watching the game) and my comments today; the Bulls klapped the VRYSTAAAAAAAAAT good and proper.
    I do however feel that there should be a standard punishment for an offence, and that should be applied to all infingements.
    In Italy if you punch an opponent you are banned, no hearing, no lawyers, no bullshit. You know the punishment before you klap the ou.

Nice thread this, all i needed after my fight with whyve yesterday, also a mitigating whatever for my reaction to poor smallies, add to that not having a clean bath for weeks…. bla bla bla.

What i feel strongly for a very long time is the fact that there is such a big hooha about lifting a player.
    It is physics or aerodynamics or something like that, but a player will go up at times, and very seldom the tackler have total control, so my feeling is that this whole story is just another chapter in making this a sissy game. Very seldom do you see a good tackle being aplauded, there is always something wrong.

Aaagh anyway, now Hougie has a record… and it will probably bite him when he wears the Springbok jersey.

En wat sê ek oor al hierdie dinge ?

Net een ding:

Maak die Bulle Boelies almal Bokke !

17 @ Cheetah4eva:
    I’m as light as a feather… lightened up like you cannot believe!

Light on my feet as a Bulls centre…. floating past some Cheetahs centres, like they are not even there…

I’m as light as the Cheetahs locks were on Saturday…

I’m as light as the Cheetahs wings were on Saturday…

Bwahahahahaha

21/22: Ja-nee, weet nie hoeveel keer WO hom nog moet bewys aan sekeres nie, so ook Morne. Albei het weereens baie goed gespeel.

Die wedstryd teen die Blues gaan kliphard wees, ek is bekommerd oor ‘n Blues span wat 2 keer na mekaar verloor en swak speel, hoop maar hul hou hul beste vir die week daarna !

@ GBS,
    Well that is a refreshing change, well may you savour the “lightness” it was a comprehensive win, and the Cheetahs will have to regroup. That said, it’s a long way to go, and the fortunes if the teams will vary. I said at the begiining of the year, that the Bulls are you going to be strong.

23 @ Cheetah4eva:
    The Cheetahs will regroup.

… and the Tour is very importand for that.

I still say they can and should take the Brumbies and Rebels.

I’m still apprehensive about the Bulls, not the finished product by a long way yet… but I’m very pleased with the start we got. Like you say, the tournament is long and hard.

22 @ bdb:
    Ja jong, ONE GAME AT A TIME, soos wat die Bulle mantra vir ons uitpel, week na week. Die Blues is ‘n bliksem, hulle is moer onvoorspelbaar!

Sien uit na vanaand se wedstryd tussen Tuks en Shimlas. Wil graag sien hoe speel Adongo.

@ GBS,

The Bulls are really playing well as a team, as long as they dont lose a crucial player like Steyn, and keep focussed, they will remain a tough prospect.

Cheetahs need to get some grunt in the pack, maybe play Francois Uys, or vd Walt at 8, and Johnson at 7. Coenie can move to TH, as WP Nel is leaving at the end of the year anyway. Maybe give Ferreira a few more games at 4, to see if he can grow there.

Your thoughts?

26 @ Cheetah4eva:
    The Cheetahs problems are as much a mental thing as it is a lack of key players in key positions.

WE KNOW the Cheetahs are usually a PHYSICAL bunch… and they need to make that mental shift to bring their front row and their wonderful loosies into play, to get more physical! Come on Cheetahs, show the metal that we know you have up front, that’s what we ask!

A person and therefore a team’s strongest muscle, sits right between the ears. Mentally they’re not focussed right now.

Apart from the mental shift, I would firstly change 3 vital aspects of Cheetahs play if I was them, namely:

1. Value possession MORE and concentrate MORE on the ground ball and breakdown battle (modern Super Rugby is ALL about possession), and counter-ruck situations.
    2. Work very hard this week and in weeks to come on defensive structures… and dramatically improve the drift defensive structures. As exciting as the Cheetahs can be, they are very leaky on defence!
    3. PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE those locks into being more efficient…. it’ll cost the Cheetahs big time if they don’t improve radically.

Every little tweak after that is a refinement tweak, but these aspects above, are crucial shortcomings which need to be rectified.

I’d start with Ashley Johnson at No 7 and Raubenheimer at No 8… and of course with Brussow at No 6… this trio is more balanced than having Johnson on the bench.

For Coenie Oosthuizen to make the switch to tighthead will be no easy task, these bloody prop positions are so very specialized by now! Also, why break something which is not broken, Coenie is a marvelous Loosehead… leave him there! WP Nel is still there at tighthead this year in Super Rugby, let Coenie do the conversion to tighthead in the Currie Cup… which is not such a big competition as Super Rugby.

As far as the locks are concerned… they must just be drilled more and more and more into their roles, they’re not a bunch of fragile okes, but rather a bunch who need more refinement in their roles.

The Cheetahs ALWAYS have strong forwards… and that is what has been missing so far, more than anything else.

Daar was blykbaar iets fout met die selfoon torings in Bloem die naweek….
    Meeste van my Cheetah pelle het eers vandag my oproepe begin antwoord Wink

Total 24 users including 0 member, 24 guests, 0 bot online