Exciting midfielder Johann Sadie will make his debut for the Vodacom Bulls on Saturday after being named in the side that will play the Cheetahs in a friendly match in the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

Official Bulls Media Release

The 22 year old has joined the Vodacom Bulls from the Stormers and Western Province late last year and has been working hard during pre-season with his new team. He now gets a chance to show his worth to Ludeke, who named a starting team consisting of 11 Springboks.

World Cup attendees Morné Steyn, Francois Hougaard and Chiliboy Ralepelle will all be in action for the first time since the Springboks quarterfinal exit from the World Cup.

Francois Venter and CJ Stander is the only players in the starting line-up without any Super Rugby experience.

“We are keen to see where we are at this stage of the season. The Cheetahs have had some game under the belt and will be a difficult opponent, just what we need now,” Ludeke said.

Ralepelle will captain the Vodacom Bulls, with Pierre Spies (calf) and vice captain Wynand Olivier (wrist) absent due to injury. Jacques Potgieter (back) was not considered.

Team:

15 Zane Kirchner*
14 Akona Ndungane*
13 Johann Sadie
12 Francois Venter
11 Bjorn Basson*
10 Morné Steyn*
9  Francois Hougaard*
8  CJ Stander
7  Dewald Potgieter*
6  Deon Stegmann*
5  Juandré Kruger
4  Flip van der Merwe*
3  Werner Kruger*
2  Chiliboy Ralepelle (C)*
1  Dean Greyling*

Replacements:

16 Willie Wepener
17 Frik Kirsten
18 Wilhelm Steenkamp
19 Arno Botha
20 Jano Vermaak
21 Louis Fouché
22 JJ Engelbrecht

(*denotes Springboks)

●Tickets for the match will be available at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane till Friday. It can also be purchased through Computicket.

The Bulls B side, or Vodacom Cup side as the Blue Bulls want to refer to them, who plays the Toyota Cheetahs B side at Loftus on Friday at 15:00 at loftus B Field. New recruit Daniel Adongo will earn a first start for the Blue Bulls. He joined from the Sharks recently. The match will also see the return to action of recently signed prop Rayno Gerber.

Team:

15 Jurgen Visser
14 Sampie Mastriet
13 Ulrich Beyers
12 Adri Jacobs
11 Courtnall Skosan
10 Lionel Cronjé
9  Ruan Snyman
8  Jean Cook
7  Daniel Adongo
6  Shaun Adendorff
5  Cornell Hess
4  Gerrit-Jan van Velze
3  Rayno Gerber
2  Bongi Mbonambi
1  Dawie Steyn

Replacements:

16 Robbie Coetzee
17 Louis Alberts
18 Schalk van Heerden
19 Victor Hechter
20 Xander Redelinghuys
21 Tony Jantjies
22 William Small-Smith
23 Travis Ismaiel
24 Vincent Koch
25 Marvin Orrie

43 Responses to Super Rugby Warm-ups: Bulls side for Cheetahs clash

Not far away from the Bulls strongest side, bar maybe JJ Engelbrecht replacing Akona and Spies over CJ Stander….

Of course Wynand Olivier is still injured too.

Summary…

Trusted front row
    The Currie Cup locks who should also be the Bulls premier lock pairing for the season
    2 of the 3 Loosies who should start in 2 weeks
    Great Halfback pairing
    2 Exciting young centres, which should comprise the Bulls centres of the future – hope they gel well together
    3 Old stalwarts at the back – could still see a tweak here

Good team this shopuld be as close to the real deal as one can expect, as far as warm-up matches go.

So imho opinion, and I am sure GBS will have his usual twaddle to add, but hey, why not get the cauldron spiced!

1. Greyling vs WP Nel pretty even
    2. Chillipop vs Strauss pretty even
    3. Kruger vs Nyakane adv Bulls (Kruger’s 1st match out, and Nyakane is young and eager)
    4. Flip vs Ferreira adv Bulls
    5. Kruger vs vd Westhuizen adv Bulls
    6. Stegmann vs Brussow adv Cheetahs
    7. Pottie vs Johnson adv Cheetahs
    8. CJ vs Raubenheimer even (they have differing styles of play)

9. Hougaard vs vaan Zyl adv Bulls
    10.Steyn vs Goosen adv Bulls
    11.Basson vs Benjamin even
    12.Snyman vs Venter adv Cheetahs (more experienced)
    13.Sadie vs Ebersohn even
    14.Oupa vs Jansen adv Bulls
    15.Kirchner vs le Roux adv Bulls

16.Wepener vs Barnes even (both have been around the block)
    17.Kirsten vs Marcel vd Merwe even
    18.Wilhelm steenkamp vs Uys even
    19.Arno botha vs vd Walt adv Cheetahs (Super rugby experience)
    20.Vermaak vs Tewis adv Bulls
    21.Fouche vs Sias adv Cheetahs
    22.JJ vs Strauss/Daniller not rated

Going to be a real cracker. Cheetahs are experimenting a tad, but might have a slight edge, having had more training matches together. Still it is a mouth watering contest. Cheetahs will field Coenie, and juan as soon as they are fit again, which will add value. Good to see what we have in Nyakane. I will be watching the following closely.

– How young Andries fares at 4, and the Cheetahs locking combo.
    – How Snyman combines with Goosen and Ebersohn.
    – How the Cheetahs halves go vs Bok competition
    – How le Roux goes vs Super 15 competition.

3 @ Cheetah4eva:
    I’ve added the Bulls B side which takes on the Cheetahs B side on Friday at Loftus too.

Looking at you player comparisons… pretty much agree, specially as far as Brussow is concerned, though I would disagree on a few, namely:

11 Basson vs Benjamin – I would give it clearly to the Bulls Springbok Basson
    18 Wilhelm Steenkamp vs Uys – Steenkamp edges it, he’s captained the Cheetahs at Super Rugby level, now back with the Bulls
    19 Arno Botha vs Van der Walt – I recon Arno is the next big thing at the Bulls, the youngster is going to be a superstar in future

But you know what, player ratings is one thing, how that transfers to play on a field in team scenario is a totally different scenario!

Zane Kirchner?????????????? ROTFLMFAO!

5 @ Loosehead:
    Eishhhh Loskoppie…

There’s a couple of players you really don’t rate… Zane, Spies, Olivier….

Strange, they’re all Bulls!

Zane is OK man, good enough for Super Rugby, not good enough anymore for the Bokke, where Taute and Lambie are clearly better.

6@ grootblousmile:
    Eishhhhhhhhhhhhh GBS…..
    You Bulls supporters are LANK sensitive.
    I also don’t rate Kankowski, none of the Sharks locks, Keegan Daniel, Craig Burden, Charl McLeod, none of the Stormers props, Bryan Habana, Conrad Jantjes…..I can go on and on if you please.

7 @ Loosehead:
    I guess you don’t rate Verbrokkel Harris, Steven Kitskos, Nic Groom, Louis Schreuder, Gary van Aswegen and most of the Stormers either.

Guess that counts for the Lions side too

Guess you rate EVERY Cheetah though…..

Bulls team looks strong. Can you believe we run on with 11 Springboks, if Spies and WO was there it could have been 13, after all the great guns left last year who would have thought we can still run on with so many Boks?

bulls spelers wat ek rate is almal wat van bloem af kom,geelkaart flip stegman morne, venter, small-smith,en dan hougie spies sadie en cronje as ook willempie steenkamp ek dink hulle voory is powderpuff,ek laaik nogal vir potties,maar dink chip en chase basson is n one trick pony.

All Blacks centre Sonny Bill Williams made light work of Clarence Tillman III in Hamilton on Wednesday to claim the New Zealand heavyweight title.

The mercurial Chiefs back will look to make his debut for the Waikato-based outfit at the end of the month but he has already tied up one title this campaign. Tillman III weighed in at 21 kgs heavier than Williams but the referee stopped the bout with just one second left in the opening round.

Williams connected with a left hook before landing more blows which saw Tillman forced onto the side of the ring. Referee Lance Revill called time on the bout leaving Williams as the winner.

Tillman already made headlines prior to the fight after he landed a punch on Williams in the pre-match weigh-in. But he had clearly had his one lucky shot pre-fight.

But the circus surrounding Williams’ boxing career did not stop at the end of Wednesday’s fight. Williams’ original opponent Richard Tutaki entered the ring to taunt the All Blacks centre only for him to be ushered out by the Chiefs’ Liam Messam. Messam was joined in the crowd by the likes of Tana Umaga and Wayne Smith.

Super….di you watch the clip…as soon as SBW meets someone who knows what he’s doing, unless he has a jaw of steel, he is going to get hammered.

Lol, I can feel the luvvvvvv! Nothing beats a friendly tiff, between my comrades in arms, Loskoppie, and Smallies on the one side, and GBS on the other he he!

@ 4man:
    Yes he looks a bit open for a goeie donnering.

:-)…ok guys I’m out NCIS on tv and another log for the fire.

13 @ Cheetah4eva:
    Friendly tiff indeed!

… but don’t bet on it that the 3 of you will be winning against the one of me….. hehehehe

10 @ smallies72:
    Sproetjies72… jy ook ‘n eiertjie te lê?

Chip ‘n chase Basson was vir julle net die lekkerste shit toe hy vir die Cheetahs uitgedraf het in die Super 14… nou’s hy ‘n one trick pony…

Wel, ten minste is sy ONE TRICK om ‘n bakteen kakhuisie vol drieë te druk…

Anyway ons sal maar sien wat gebeur… nie soseer in Saterdag se opwarmingswedstryd nie, maar in die kompetisie self. Die opwarmingswedstryde heg ek bittermin waarde aan.

Interesting seeing peoples’ opinions. I’d love to see the Goosen vs. Steyn match up, think Goosen may become a Springbok great one day and he probably will be a more complete player than Steyn, but yeah Morne Steyn’s record makes him the greatest fly half in Springbok rugby, no one can argue with his achievements. Both guys have huge BMT. Will be an interesting battle of the boots. Will be interesting to see how Goosen’s tactical kicking measures up against Steyn’s. If Fouche comes on, the two biggest boots in South Africa will be on show. People moan about kicking rugby, and I have moaned about it too. But still there’s something intriguing about it, like two master chess players trying to out smart each other with carefully calculated moves, or like a batsman grinding out a century in trying conditions, it has its place in modern rugby. Morne Steyn certainly wasn’t 1 dimensional in the world cup.

The Bulls centre pairing of Venter and Sadie also excites me, and do think we will have the advantage over the Cheetahs there, even though not as experienced. Also would’ve liked to see JJ ahead of Akona. Robert Ebersohn as great young player as he was, has been underwhelming for me. Sias took his chances last season, and suddenly Robert started shining, but he’s still got a lot to prove in my opinion. The Bulls centres are big guys with all the skills. Really would love to see how these guys shape up. Can’t wait for the Super 15 season to start.

Still a bit sad to see Shadow playing for the Stormers. Would’ve loved to see him and JJ on the wings. Yeah Basson scores tries, but I don’t know just don’t rate the guy that highly. Weird seeing the “Old Bulls” journey men playing everywhere…

8@ grootblousmile:
    Geez you Bulls okes are SENSITIVE hey? Why take things so personal?

I don’t rate the Lions hookers [especially now that Maku is injured], their locks and their 12 /13.
    I don’t rate the V R Y S A A A A A A A A A T locks, scrummie and wings.

@ Loskoppie,

Is that Matewis you don’t rate, or Piet van Zyll?

If it’s Piet van zyl, then i guess being pummeled in the scrums for so long, has left you impaired in judging S/halves lol.
    That boy is going to razzle dazzle with the goose this year

18 @ Loosehead:
    So, if I get you correctly, then you also say:

“Tewis de Bruyn??????????? ROTFLMFAO!”

(Like you did with Zane?)

…. just wondering….

vanStraaten wrote:

Still a bit sad to see Shadow playing for the Stormers

Agree, dont know how this guy slipped away.

22 @ superBul:
    Het jy gesien ek het al jou PICTURES op die 3 Artikels ge-resize?

Die formaat is 83 pixels x 83 pixels….. of so naby daaraan wat moontlik is… vir die toekoms

21@ grootblousmile:
    He is not starting for the Cheetahs, he is playing off the bench. If he was starting I would post….Tewis De Bruin??????????? What a brilliant rugby player he is! Or something similar.

Don’t take things so seriously…………..it just makes it s o o o o o o o o much easier to take the piss out if you. Woodstock

24 @ Loosehead:
    I’m not serious at all…

I’m a regular-laugh-a-minute today… and the last few days.

Got some great news and my plans for certain things are falling very nicely into place.

So, basically what I’m saying, I was taking the piss out of your rash statement about Zane, comparing your stance to your own team’s players.

As far as old Smallies72 aka Sproetjies72 is concerned, I’m just taking the piss out of him because I can… and want to…

Hehehehe

25@ grootblousmile:
    Oh flok! I just learned that Steve Hofmeyer was at Grey Bloem. You fluckers poached him as well! [ You can keep him though!]

26 @ Loosehead:
    Very interesting people have been at Grey College….

Bram Fischer (reknowned communist or freedom activist in SA and Advocate for Nelson Mandela in the Rivonia Trial), Hansie Cronje, Kepler Wessels, Laurens van der Post (famous SA writer), WA de Klerk (Afrikaans writer), Pieter Uys (Vodacom CEO), Martinus Theunis Steyn (MT Steyn – President of the Orange Free State), Deneys Reitz (famous Boer soldier, soldier in WW I and polititian), Ryk Neethling (SA Olympic gold medalist swimmer), Genl Denis Earp (former chief of the Air Force)… all went to Grey College.

GBS Maksimus (my father), GBS Maksimus Maksimus (actually both my oupas from father and mother’s side), Kruppelbroer (my brother) also attended Grey College.

My late father, GBS Maksimus, matriculated in 1947 at Grey College, in the same class as Genl Dennis Earp.

Listing the Ex-Springbok Rugby players from Grey will take up an inordinate amount of space… lefts just say I count a whole heap of them who went to the Rugby World Cup last year…. or who represented the Springboks in the last few tears… sorry I mean years.

Halftime between the Bulls B team and Cheetahs B team at Loftus B Field is Cheetahs B 17 / 12 Bulls B

Hello ppl! GBS, long time no chat nê? Hehehe…

O, btw my nick was Blou Baard Pastei…

Total 19 users including 0 member, 19 guests, 0 bot online