I suppose this issue is so important to ALL SOUTH AFRICANS, that it is only just that we handle the Matter LIVE!

Herewith the announcement as it appeared live on TV in SA.

Oregan Hoskins announced the Coach, before that Jurie Roux, SARU CEO made some remarks.

It’s official, Heyneke Meyer IS the new Springbok coach!

The contract is for a term of 4 years.

According to Heyneke Meyer, the Bulls are supportive of his appointment.

Meyer says he’s hoping for every SA Rugby Franchise to work with him, in this whole process.

Herewith the Official SA Rugby Media Release:

Heyneke Meyer will be the new Springbok coach after a Special General Meeting of the South African Rugby Union (SARU) ratified his proposed appointment in Cape Town on Friday.

The 44-year-old Blue Bulls rugby executive takes over from Peter de Villiers, who coached the Springboks from 2008 to 2011. He will take charge as head coach of the 1995 and 2007 Rugby World Cup champions for the first time against England in Durban on June 9.

Meyer said he relished the opportunity to make all South Africans proud of the Springboks.

“Having been involved with the Blue Bulls for so long, I’ve experienced first hand how passionate South African rugby supporters are,” said Meyer. “I know the importance of rugby in the South African psyche and will do everything in my power to ensure the Springboks remain among the pace setters of world rugby.

“I’m very happy to accept this enormous honour and massive responsibility,” he said.

Meyer was head coach of the Vodacom Bulls when they became the first South African team to lift the coveted Vodacom Super 14 trophy in 2007. Before that, he steered the Vodacom Blue Bulls to Absa Currie Cup titles in 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2006 (shared).

Meyer also has experience of coaching in the Springbok environment. He served as assistant coach to both Nick Mallett and Harry Viljoen at the Boks. He has also been a Springbok coaching candidate in the past.

“The first time I felt I still had things to achieve at the Bulls, and the second time it was decided to appoint someone else,” he said. “I’d like to thank my family and the Blue Bulls Rugby Union for their unwavering support over the past decade. I hope to keep the country’s rugby supporters united behind the Boks.”

Mr Oregan Hoskins, President of SARU, said Meyer received unanimous support from the General and the Executive Councils of SARU.

“The Springboks are SARU’s top priority,” he said. “Heyneke’s coaching pedigree is second to none in South Africa. He will be an asset to the Boks and South African rugby in general,” said Mr Hoskins.

“I’d also like thank our outgoing coach Peter de Villiers for his passion, hard work and dedication over the past four years. However, it was felt that we needed a man with a new approach and new ideas to take over one of the toughest jobs in South African sport.

“Heyneke has our full support and we know he won’t leave any stone unturned as he strives to take the Boks back to the top of international rugby.”

According to Jurie Roux, SARU CEO, Meyer’s appointment was the culmination of a thorough process during which the best candidates were evaluated as part of a head hunting process before the Exco unanimously opted to make a formal offer to Meyer.

“The Blue Bulls wished to retain his services but his contract contains an exit clause which has been exercised; very few people can resist the call when your country says it needs you,” said Roux.

“The Springboks are the heartbeat of rugby in South Africa and it was paramount to get the best possible candidate to coach the team going forward. We believe we have done that.”

Roux said decisions on Meyer’s support staff will only be taken later, in consultation with the new Springbok coach. “No appointments in this regard have been made,” he said.

Heyneke Meyer Fact File:

Heyneke Meyer was the first South African coach to lift the Vodacom Super Rugby trophy and is one of the most successful coaches in local rugby in the professional era.

Meyer has been part of teams that have not only progressed to the knock-out stages of their various competitions, but also gone on to win them, ever since he started his provincial coaching career.

His first position as provincial head coach came at the age of 30 in 1998, at the SWD Eagles, and he immediately took the team to the semi-finals of the Vodacom Cup. A year later Meyer guided the Eagles to a top-four finish in the Absa Currie Cup.

Meyer reached his first final in 2001, leading the Vodacom Blue Bulls to the Vodacom Cup title, having already had a period as an assistant Springbok coach.

Three consecutive Absa Currie Cup crowns for the Vodacom Blue Bulls followed in 2002, 2003 and 2004. He also helped turn the Vodacom Bulls around from dwelling near the bottom of the Vodacom Super 12 log, to consecutive semi-finals in 2005 and 2006.

The first Vodacom Super Rugby title for a South African team followed in 2007, when Meyer masterminded the Vodacom Bulls’ victory over The Sharks in an epic final in what had become the Vodacom Super 14 in Durban.

This is not Meyer’s first stint with the Springboks, having been involved as assistant coach under Nick Mallett (1999 and 2001) as well as Harry Viljoen (2001).

Personal:
Date of birth: 6 October 1967
Place of birth: Nelspruit
Education: Bergvlam HS (Nelspruit), University of Pretoria
Degrees obtained: BA (Psychology, Geography and Human Movement Science), Hons BA (Geography), HED
Family: Married to Linda, three children

Coaching career:
• 1988-1996: Coached a number of High School first teams, Under-21 sides and Carlton first teams in Pretoria.
• 1997: SWD Eagles assistant coach
• 1998: SWD Eagles head coach (Vodacom Cup semi-finalists and Absa Currie Cup)
• 1998: Emerging Springboks head coach
• 1999: DHL Stormers assistant coach (semi-finalists in Vodacom Super 12)
• 1999: SWD Eagles head coach (semi-finalists in Absa Currie Cup)
• 1999: Springbok assistant coach (third place, Rugby World Cup)
• 2000: Vodacom Bulls head coach (Vodacom Super 12)
• 2001: Vodacom Blue Bulls head coach (Vodacom Cup champions)
• 2001: Springbok assistant coach
• 2002: Vodacom Bulls head coach (Vodacom Super 12), Vodacom Blue Bulls head coach (Absa Currie Cup champions)
• 2003: Vodacom Blue Bulls head coach (Absa Currie Cup champions)
• 2004: Vodacom Blue Bulls head coach (Absa Currie Cup champions)
• 2005: Vodacom Bulls head coach (Vodacom Super 12 semi-finalists), Vodacom Blue Bulls head coach (Absa Currie Cup runners up)
• 2006: Vodacom Bulls head coach (Vodacom Super 14 semi-finalists), Vodacom Blue Bulls head coach (Absa Currie Cup joint champions)
• 2007: Vodacom Bulls head coach (Vodacom Super 14 champions)
• 2008-2009: Leicester Tigers head coach
• 2011: Tuks Varsity Cup – Advisor
• 2011: Blue Bulls Company – Executive: Rugby
• 2012: Springbok head coach

117 Responses to Springbok Coach Announcement – Live

Hallo almal, sterkte vir die seisoen, met hierdie aanstelling is dit dalk net dalk Bokke eerste, Bulle tweede …. 😉

Any news on the Kings for 2013 GBS?

Well, from my side… Heyneke, you’re the man!

I’ll give you my full support, I know your capabilities!

I am boyed, excited, more so than in a very long time!

32 @ Cheetah4eva:
    Yip…. see comment # 28

Hoe gaan sy afrigtingspan en bestuurspan lyk ?

35 @ ben_die_bul:
    Ons sal eers weet in die volgende 2 weke of so

Heyneke being directly interviewed at the moment… something coming through strongly is that he wants to win every Test!

That alone is the biggest step forward!

Also an interview with Tiaan Strauss, former Bok captain.

Heyneke also said he will decide eventually on his captain, not now

All the right noises eminating from SARU and Heyneke… so far what an improvement!

Jurie Roux confirms that EVERYBODY has performance clauses, including himself, and so too for Heyneke

Just back from picking, great news, wow, what a surprise. Well done Heyneke Meyer, and all strength to you. Brilliant, now officially we can get excited about South African rugby again.

During the process, I had a few conversations about the length of the contract, whilst I agreed with most, that 2 years was the correct time length, so that the incumbent coach couldn’t use the ‘judge me on the world cup’ approach, but had to start winning matches now, For HM, I do think 4 years is the correct decision. Time is needed to build the squad as he did with the Bulls, and 2 years in my book for HM would not suffice.

Congrats again, and I look forward to the next press announcement that Divvy is in at the Bulls!

Ag flok, wonder how they are going to engineer the Kings participation! A+ tools then numbskulls from SARU!

You will see my Cheetah Shuffle if they screw the Mighty Cheetahs!!

43 @ Cheetah4eva:
    Well, just see to it that your side, like mine, does NOT end last in the Super Rugby competition of 2012!

ag nee fok!!!!!

45 @ Ashley:
    Eishhh, hulle het jou toe oorgesien as afrigter!

Hehehehe

How is that for a Coaching CV!

Heyneke is truly one of the greatest coaches in the World!

gbs @ 46
    lol, jaaaaa boet
    vlg keer beslis!!
    anyway, dink dis ñ baie goeie aanstelling!!

Loftus kan gerus vir Snorre gebruik …. tydens halftye vir ‘entertainment’

Heineken is a damn good coach interesting to see he has phsycology as a degree…he will know what motivates people.

Lets see if saru allows him his space and that he can integrate a team of players from different teams with different philosophies on playing.

Now the fighting starts for release of Heyneke’s support staff!

50 @ Wallabie.:
    Believe me, he DOES know how to motivate players!

Hell, he even motivates ME!

49 @ ben_die_bul:
    No man, we want GOOD halftime entertainment!

Een van die groot voordele dat HM nou aangestel is, is dat al die onreg van die afgelope paar jare nou reggestel gaan word: in plaas van die net 12/13 Bulle spelers in die 30 man-bokgroepe, gaan daar nou gereeld 25/26 wees sodat ons weer ordentlik kan begin wen ! Happy-Grin

Beste Nuus ooit! Ek dink Joerie het heelwat hiermee te doen.

Hulle moet die Bokke 2 naweek voor die Khakies se eerste game uit die Super rugby ontrek word. Gee HM 2 weeke i.p.v. 1 om voor te berei vir hulle.

54 @ ben_die_bul:
    Heyneke will be evenhanded in selecting players… that is just the man he is!

Expect him to bring new players through as well!

55 @ Boerewors:
    Jurie Roux does seem to have considerably larger bollocks than Oregan Hoskins.

Hoskins was falling over his words on difficult questions today… again!

Best man got the job (this time round), congrats HM!

Now Butane Komphela and those other pseudo-politicos must just let the man be.

Agree with GBS, support staff crucial….Get John Mitchell into the mix, I say!

58 @ Pietman:
    Hello Sultan Piet!

John Mitchell is NOT available. Wants to make more things happen at the Lions.

Look out for the following as support Staff, amongst others:

Jacques Nienaber – defense
    Rssie Erasmus – Technical Analist
    John McFarland
    Carzis – Bulls Fitness coach – Fitness & Conditioning

GBS – Ja, Hoskins is a politician. I rate him very lowly. Says a lot about the IRB that he is deputy chairman or so.

Total 51 users including 0 member, 51 guests, 0 bot online