Let’s join in the fun, Heyneke Meyer’s touted as being a sure ting now for appointment as Springbok coach!

But there’s more, every Tom Dick & Harry is speculating who his support Staff will be.

Rugby365 has it as follows:

• Head Coach – Heyneke Meyer
  • John McFarland: The English-born defence coach and former London Irish head coach helped Meyer and the Blue Bulls win four Currie Cup titles and become the first South African side to win three Super Rugby titles. Rated as “the best defensive coach in the world game” by his bosses in Pretoria, McFarland has spent 10 years working with the Bulls. He is set to work as a kicking coach at the Boks.
  • Jacques Nienaber: The defence coach of the Stormers, who was responsible for making the Cape franchise the best defensive unit in the 2010 and 2011 seasons, joined up with the Boks at the World Cup last year – where the Boks’ defensive record was second best in the pool stages, conceding just two tries (one each against Wales and Samoa), and another in the quarterfinal loss to Australia. He will be in charge of defence.
  • Rassie Erasmus: Regarded as one of the most astute analysts of the game, Erasmus resigned from his role as ‘Senior Professional Coach’ at Western Province/Stormers. Although he was also linked to Nick Mallet and the England job, he has since emerged as the leading candidate to be a full-time Technical Director/analyst on Meyer’s panel – similar to the role he played for both Jake White (2007) and Pieter De Villiers (2011) at the World Cup.
  • Paul Treu: He made a seamless transition from being captain of the South African Sevens team the one season and coaching them the next! After a patchy start, Treu has developed into one of the best attacking masterminds in the abbreviated version of the game – taking the BlitzBokke to the IRB World Series crown in 2008/09. He has also managed to develop and nurture players through his Sevens structures. Treu’s visionary dedication has earned him a spot as the Bok backline coach.
  • Basil Carzis: He was courted by Peter de Villiers ahead of last year’s World Cup, but the fitness and conditioning expert looks set to follow Meyer to the Test arena after being part of their three successful Super Rugby campaigns and also winning four Currie Cup titles with the Bulls.

That places the Bulls in a bit of strife, 3 members of their direst Super Rugby staff GONE!

The Stormers are hit with 2 direct spots, though Rassie Erasmus has already resigned, so they are somewhat prepared for his absense. Jacques Nienaber was also always going to be the Springbok Defense coach, he was already involved late last year with the Springboks.

The Blitzbokke will lose their Head Coach… and one wonders how much touch Paul Treu has lost with the 15-man game over the last few seasons.

The Cape Argust has it as follows:

They claim Alister Coetzee is Meyer’s first choice as assistant.

“Meyer is believed to have approached Coetzee…”

“Meyer’s progressive technical insight . . .  coupled with a knack for correctly identifying young talent . . . could be an elixir for a Bok team devoid of confidence or direction in the aftermath of De Villiers’s shambolic reign.”

That will put both the Bulls and Stormers in a pickle, won’t it!

They also clain that Gert Smal was never formally offered the job.

Cape Times has it as follows:

They claim Gert Smal was first choice, Heyneke Meyer second….  and Heyneke was only apponted when SARU could not agree terms with Gert Smal.

Time will reveal all, I suppose, but what I do know is that SARU will have to buy into Heyneke Meyer’s tenure totally, otherwise they’ll just sell him down the river, and I don’t think Heyneke is a man you want to sell down the river.

The next thing is for Meyer, if he’s appointed or for whomever is appointed as National Coach, to have the buy-in and full cooperation of South Africa’s 5 Super Rugby Franchises, seeing as Meyer will have the unenviable task of having only a week to prepare the Springboks at the Super Rugby June break and before the advent of the 1st England Test in June.

Whatever the situation, one has to look if the appointment will be a good and lasting one and whether Heyneke Meyer can achieve as much with the Springboks, as he’s done with teams like the SWD Eagles, The Blue Bulls, the Bulls and lately with Tukkies (last year).

Will we give him our full support?

You can bet your bottom dollar that I will! Go Bokke go!

34 Responses to Heyneke Meyer’s almost confirmed as Bokke coach

I’m getting hyped and excited at the same time, but will only truly believe Heyneke is the Springbok Coach once SARU makes that public declaration AND Heyneke confirms it.

On the one hand I’ll be sad for the Bulls, on the other hand I’ve touted Heyneke as my candidate for so long!

One thing I do know, Heyneke knows how to handle the Media, is beyonfd reproach as an ambassador for South Africa, and won’t be strolling around with both feet in his mouth.

Should we be critical on him during his tenure, hell yes!
    Should we expect Springbok fortunes to rise, hell yes!

Should we get behind him squarely and support his endeavours, hell yes!

Can we trust Heyneke’s game plans?
    Will he be too conservative and play only 10-man rugby or will his Bokke also score as many tries as the Bulls did during Super Rugby under Meyer’s tenure?

I believe Heyneke will work out plans which suit his player base, and will play the type of rugby those players afford him to do.

I also believe Heyneke is astute enough to choose a squad comprising the best there is available in South Africa and not to be biased one way or another.

So Gert didn’t want the job?

Are we going to see Liefling at 10?

3 @ Loosehead:
    Who knows!

4 @ Loosehead:
    You think Heyneke’s that naiive? Be serious man, It’ll be Morné Steyn or Johan Goosen or Elton Jantjies or Pat Lambie.

Heyneke’s no poephol!

I see that Pieter Roussouw is being touted as back line coach too, don’t know haw far or serious anyone is taking this one. My feeling is that he is the right man for the job, if given all the support he requires. GBS, I see you read Mornes blog, and he makes some very pertinent points about the poisoned chalice that the bok coaching job is. I am sure that he is wily enough to have got a really good contract in place, and I think that the above group, if they are his lieutenants will give every rugby supporter cause for celebration and positiveness again.

My only question, or very slight hesitation is that from what I have seen of HM, he is big on bringing players through, and building his team. Will he have enough time to do this, given a 2 year contract is likely?

6 @ Just For Kicks:
    I think it is different with the Bokke.

I think the Unions and Franchises have the duty of bringing players through and the Bokke coach just has to select and refine the players.

Poisoned chalice indeed… but who else do we give the chalice to.

Who’s better to pull things out of the fire?

Look, every Bok coach and every supporter has his own squad in mind… you ask a Stormer and the team is bound to be loaded a bit with players down South, you ask a Cheetah and Juan is bound to be their captain, Plus with some Mielieboer bias in their choice of players.

Personally I will not even consider making Spies Bok captain… and I don’t Heyneke will do so either.

@ grootblousmile:I tell you what, his appointment will certainly unite the rugby community again, and bring some sense of rationality back to what has been a very sorry affair over the last few years, but especially over the last few months

8 @ Just For Kicks:
    One will ALWAYS get the Meyer doubters… but I think you’re right… for now we’ll unite.

Hope his tenure is a bumper crop of wins.

@ grootblousmile:Have you seen Stutterfords Van Lines go past your window with all Divvy’s stuff en route to Waterkloof yet? I hear he’s very excited with the new challenge facing him at the Bulls, and looking forward to catching up with a few old mates.

10 @ Just For Kicks:
    I hear he’s happy there at the Boereworsgordyn.

YOU must hope that Toetie is’nt taken as assistant by Meyer, because then Snormoer will be the Stormers head coach… no wonder he was at the Stormers vs Boland game and no wonder Titus was so crept up his arse… one could see the brown ring around Titus’ neck all the way over the TV broadcast.

Soon the Stormers won’t have a captain but a Boss Boy, who’s good with Toyotas, Mini-bus Taxi’s and Mazdas….

Helloooo “all” you regulars.

Decided to come to the office to earn a couple of extra Zim $’s and see what’s happening on RT.

My goodness, you turn your back on the sport for 2 minutes and the world goes crazy!

Rassie quits, Gold commits (sporting) Hari-Kiri, Snor still offers his services, and suddenly to top it all, every Boer North of thr Jukskei with a ring through his nose will be singing “maak die Bulle almal Bokke”, hoping that their prodigal Son (oen Mr H Meyer) will listen to them.

12 @ Scrumdown:
    Have a couple of million Zim Dollars spare?

I need a new car… hehehe

13@ grootblousmile:
    A few million won’t help there I’m afraid.

Insurance?

@ grootblousmile:You’re clutching at straws here, but on a more serriaaas note – Hot off the press –

Not enough coaches to go round –

In the light of the new appointment of Heyneke Meyer as Springbok Coach, and his naming of his assistants, Nienaber, Rassie Erasmus and Allister Coetzee, Saru has been forced to announce the Amalgamation on the Stormers and the Bulls. The new team, to be known as ‘The Wet Goats will be based in Umtata, a wonderful touristy town equidistant from the current localities. The players will travel by bus to and from their respective locations of Cape Town and Pretoria, leaving on Sunday night and arriving in Umtata on Monday morning so as not to miss any practice time.

The newly upgraded Umtata International Airport (soon to be renamed ‘The Mandela Family Trust Airport’) will be used by the team when travelling to their away games, and any arriving team will be welcomed by the Xhosa Choir Of Angels before travelling by bus to the Stadium (either Loftus or Newlands, depending on the toss of a coin at the airport when the players arrive)

Ludeke has agreed to stay on as head coach, only after his demands of having Peter de Villiers as his assistant were finalised this afternoon. He is excited at the prospect of being able to rotate Schalla and Spies as his Captains, rotating them on a weekly basis, but not as much as the prospect of having Brian Habanna back in the team.

This, SARU, is very pleased to announce, has solved the problem of paving the way for the Southern Spears to make an earlier entrance than expected into the Super 15 in 2012 instead of 2013.

In a separate interview Cheeky Watson is said to be ecstatic, and has agreed not to stand in the way again of Heyneke’s appointment again.

15 @ Just For Kicks:
    I’m afraid it is not very feasible… not many Stormers players would make the combined side.

None of the frontrowers, only Langbek as lock, maybe Schalla, none of the backline except maybe Joe Pietersen… on the bench.

@ grootblousmile:HaHaHa, now I’ve heard it all! After Saturdays match, one doesn’t even have to look further than the 3rd team to see that the depth of talents at the Stormers is already creating havoc with Ludeke’s thought on his run on team

16@ grootblousmile:
    Not even your beloved “shadow”?

On the serious side of things, how would a combined Bulls / Stormers side look?

Front row – All Bulls, undoubtably!
    Locks – Flip & Langbek
    Loosies – Schalla, Potgieter (either one), Spies
    Scrummie – Hougaard
    Flyhalf – Morné Steyn
    Inside center – Difficult to choose between Meisiekind and Jean the Hasbeen
    Outside center – Either one of Sadie or Juan de Jongh
    Wings – Bjorn Basson & JJ Engelbrecht
    Fullback – Aplon over Kirchner & Pietersen

18 @ Scrumdown:
    No, he did not even make the Bulls regularly in 2011…. now he stands even a kakker chance.

20@ grootblousmile:

Just heard some shocking news.

Our friend the former CEO of the GLRU is now Commercial Director of FNB Stadium.

21 @ Scrumdown:
    Oh fluck… there goes FNB Stadium… hehehe

21@ grootblousmile:
    Just strange that he resigns as CEO at the Lions, and a month later they announce that they won’t be moving to the FNB Stadium, and now this comes to light.

Laat ‘n mens dink ne?

Also heard a couple of other shockers that I need to get some confirmation on.

23 @ Scrumdown:
    What other shockers?

Maybe Doppies is actually a woman?

Hahahaha

John Mitchell has resigned to become a ballet teacher?

Krystle at the Lions is actually Kevin de Klerk’s love child?

24@ grootblousmile:
    Far more run of the mill than that.

Also got confirmation (only verbal though) that the CEO was asked to resign.

24@ grootblousmile:
    Alwyn is actually a woman.

Which doesn’t say much for the person everyone is touting for Bok captain. As Alwyn monstered him in the CC semi!

26 @ Scrumdown:
    Alwyn (Alvina) monstered Schalla?

Reigning Masters champion Charl Schwartzel wants to add some South African flavour to the traditional Champions Dinner by hosting a braai underneath the iconic oak tree between the clubhouse and the first tee at Augusta National.

Not only does he want to have the grills set up in the historic location for a unique barbeque, he also wants to cook the food himself.

“We’ve put in a request and are still waiting to hear from them,” Schwartzel said. “But I’d love to be able to braai there. I want to braai everything myself, but we just have to see if that’s possible with the number of people there. I could end up with a very sore hand at the end of the evening turning all that meat.”

Schwartzel plans to serve the champions boerewors.

“I have a special spice which I put on my boerewors, so I’ll use that for sure,” he told Global Golf Post. “But I think the fillet is my real specialty. I make this secret marinade for it. I think it’s fantastic. Louis Oosthuizen (the 2010 British Open champion) loves it, and he’s a very fussy meat eater, so it must be pretty good.”

“All my braais are good,” Schwartzel said. “But I suppose the best braais are the ones where you eat the meat right off the fire. I can certainly hold my own around a fire.”
    No comment from Masters officials

Augusta National is, of course, yet to comment on the details of the Champions Dinner, but, in general, balks at outsiders cooking in their kitchens. Other than Vijay Singh famously bringing in a prominent Atlanta restaurateur to prepare his Thai menu in 2001, Augusta National has used its own chefs to prepare whatever the host champion desires.

So an image of Schwartzel wearing an apron over his Green Jacket, while tending a braai on one of the most iconic lawns in golf with a beer in one hand and braai tongs in the other, is one we may be denied, unfortunately.
    One item will be absent from Champions Dinner

Schwartzel already knows one authentic item he desires to serve his peers is likely off the menu – biltong.

“You can’t take biltong into the United States,” Schwartzel said. “They can make it in the US, but you can’t import it.”

For dessert, he plans to serve ice cream and hot chocolate sauce.

“I’ll keep it very simple,” he said.

This is an idea the Mole can get behind, it definitely isn’t the most posh option but it’d be great for all those great golfers to experience such a vital part of South Africa’s culture. Fine dining is great, but nothing beats a good old braai.

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee has not been approached by Heyneke Meyer to form part of the Springbok coaching team, he said on Monday.

Speaking after his team’s training session in Bellville, Coetzee denied media reports that he had spoken to Meyer about taking a job as assistant coach.

A lot of speculation going on, Friday seems a long way off, bit far away from it all but do have to wonder about the John McFarland bit, if memory serves me correctly the last few Super rugby seasons has seen the Bulls leak a lot of tries, also why would defence coach be used as kicking coach. Having spent time with Leicester would Meyer, if appointed, look further afield for assistants, would do well to get Jim Mallinder in from Northhampton, and possibly on a short term part time basis perhaps Ian Mc Geehan who could provide most useful analysis on opponents especially considering the short preparation time before England tour and also for the end of year N/H tour by the Boks.

Total 10 users including 0 member, 10 guests, 0 bot online