It is just a few days till Christmas, or as the little ones would say, just 6 sleeps. I decided to once again do a Christmas Greetings video for all you muppits, moepels and mopkoppe, but also to keep it till a bit later to force you to come back and back to Rugby-Talk till I hit you with the clanger!

So, this is not your merry, merry, happy, happy article, but a precurser to the clanger.

The question is, what are you all up to for the holidays, what are your plans? Who are you happy about seeing over the festive season and who are you dreading to invite or see? Where are you going and when are you coming back from holiday?

Who’s working right through? Personally I’m closing the office to the public from the afternoon of Friday 23 December 2011 till the morning of 3 January 2012.

Whilst every bloody Vaalie and Soppiekoppie are at the coast or hoarding the better holiday spots, I will stay at home! I do not want to see the same idiots I see on a daily basis, just at a different venue, thank you very much! I will go away, like I usually do, once they are all back where they belong!

So, tell me, who’s promised to fix this and that at home, to do those things which never gets done in a busy year’s schedule?

Well, I have plans of my own…

I have plenty to do…

I’m going to re-pack my garages, fix the jaccuzzi, kill the freegin ant plague in and around our house and yard, fix the electrical fault under a wooden floor, varnish the wooden deck and install one extra deck roof pole, pressure clean the driveway…. and scour a number of marks on the fibre glass of the pool.

I will build up so many brownie points that I will be a happy camper, full time, for the next year!

Of course, I believe in working smarter and not harder, so here’s how I plan to do it…

• Firstly, I will recruit two upstanding willing souls, who can sand, paint, carry heavy stuff… for a few days.
  • Secondly, I will delegate duties to them…. and set them to work properly.
  • Thirdly I will pour me a loooong “meisiebier” or “sletsap” as I call them, then sit in the pool with a couple of household potscourers and scour the marks on the fibre glass.
  • Fourthly, upon realising that my looong drink is finished, from time to time, I will get out of the pool, bark some more orders, point some fingers, and then pour myself another looong “sletsap”.
  • Fifthly, I will repeat steps tree and four till I’m satisfied that I have done EVERYTHING on my list of chores….
  • Sixthly, I will braai at least once a day… or have BonzaiGBS do it for me.

It’s hark work, I know, yeah it’s a tough life… and I know you guys don’t envy the arduous process that I’ll be going through, and the physical strain it’ll take on my body, but hey, someone’s GOT TO do it!

Oh, and then I’ll work on a bit of a revamp to the look and feel of Rugby-talk, one that I have been threatening to do for a while now…

…. and of course there is still the cricket to look forward to, a bit of other sport… Christmas and New Year… food, food, food, party, party, party…

Come onnnnnnnnn, tell me about your plans!

42 Responses to Holiday plans

Enige manne wat ‘n bargain op drank wil koop ?

Johnny Walker Black
    Klipdrift Premium
    Black Label
    Heineken
    Hansa
    Windhoek Lager
    Savannah Lite & Dry
    Smirnoff Spin & Storm
    J&B
    Oudemeester Brandy
    Red Square Silver & Blue Ice ens…

Al bg. is per kas tot en met Woensdag.
    Kry my nommer by gbs as ek nie op lyn is nie en hy so gaaf sal wees.

Tjorts !!!

GBS, That sounds like far too much work for my liking over Xmas, My best mate and his family are coming down from the Natal Midlands to spend the silly season with us, Farm is closed, as with you till the 3rd, whereupon the proverbial sh1t hits the fan, starting with the plum picking, then the grapes and the winemaking, which goes on for 3 months solid. So a big rest is required now! I wish all the RT bloggers a very merry Christmas, and a blessed new year.

Only 2 rules for me at Christmas:
    1. Make sure there is enough beer in the fridge,
    2. Revert to Rule no.1.

smallies gaan sy tente vat en uitkamp langs die oranje rivier daar waar ek net n geelslang en n pofadder vir bure gaan he,hopelik gaan ek sommer n klomp geelvis vang en net my boude ontspan

@ Blouste:
    het jy n trok gehijack of n auction gerip?
    Ja natuurlik stel ek belang, hahaha

Hoe gaan dit ou pel?
    Ek soek eerder goedkoop plante, kwaai goedkoop.

1 @ Blouste:
    Tequila Gold?
    Jeagermeister?
    Red Bull?
    Brutal Fruit?
    Jerepico?
    Hanepoot?
    Vodka?

3 @ Just For Kicks:
    Get your rest in brother, sounds like a heavy first quarter of 2012 coming up…. and then of course there’s Super Rugby in Feb… and you R-T blogging addiction…. hehehe.

PS! When is the next Cricket Test?

7@ grootblousmile:That’ll be Boxing Day!!!

After reading your plans carefully my stomach turned. That is exactly how i planned my future after leaving Telkom. But i cant just bark orders , i always take over. I hate it when they “dont want to understand” and then these hands of mine do the job itself. That ends up with the job being done properly and a dead tired me.

Good luck with that big list of tasks, but like you did with the big house in Pretoria i know you will get it finished.
    That jacuzi though? Lets see if that one gets finished. Cheers Obviously it is not, otherwise most of your beloved sletsappies would have been abused there.

On this side i am definitely going to try and cash in. The Kruger park visitors combined with the Panoramic Blyde river Canyon makes up for one of the top 3 holiday destinations and there is a lot of business to be done.
    I also want the road stall to be re thatched and now is a good time for cheap thatchers who are off at work. Not a good time with all the visitors but one must weight up the cost. So maybe now is the time to cash in. Thatch might also be cheap now, the loads are standing here and i know they want to sell before Christmas.
    So on this side i will take a rest much later. Sad

GBS you must just get a black canvas to hang in front of your gate so that no one can see you, you know there will be some dude or 2 who CANT do without their PC. And knowing my workaholic friend you might just end up with a PC at midnight.

We are all gathering at my daughter’s house in Upminster, her and her man are having their turn to host Christmas. My son has to go back to Bath on Boxing Day as he is on standby from 2000hrs that night and my nephew and his family will probably come to us at home on Boxing Day. They are spending Christmas Day with his brother in laws family. As regards gifts the adults get and give 3 small presents each which are then swapped until you have something useful that you need. The little ones obviously get great gifts. it is quite warm so is looking unlikely for a white Christmas this year. We are generally at home for Christmas and New Year and have a quiet time. I DO miss watermelon at Christmas time though. A blessed Christmas to all of you my brothers in rugby. Lets spare thoughts for people like De Wet Barry and his family and also the soldiers, oil rig workers, lifeguards, refinery workers, firemen, doctors and nurses and anyone else who has sadness in their lives or are working over the festive season and can’t be with their families. The reason for Christmas is one we should remember at this time whether you are a believer or not the message does not go amiss.

“Lo and behold! We bring you tidings of great joy, peace and happiness
    As you join family and friends in celebration of the birth of the Christ Child.
    Praising his name
    Christ Jesus.
    Our Saviour
    Is born.
    God Bless”. Angel

Hello All…

GBS that was a brave move asking us to tell you of our seasonal plans. This is what is happening in the Cotswolds.

Christmas Eve we gather round the village Christmas tree with family and friends and sing Carols, of course it is winter here so it is dark and we have to sing by torchlight and afterwards we have a mulled wine in the local pub, then it is ‘Party Time’!

No Christmas lunch cooking for me this year….YIPPEE. Off to WRS family for a large gathering.

I will work for 3 days between Christmas and the New Year. (Boo Hoo). But there are some fairly hectic social activities to fit in on during our long dark evenings!

Then we have New Year to contend with…!!

Can I wish every blogger and Rugby Talk reader a very Happy Christmas.

Take care and God Bless you and your families and a big thanks to GBS and superBul for all their work here.

Blue Bird wrote:

Take care and God Bless you and your families and a big thanks to GBS and superBul for all their work here.

Re a leboga, baie dankie , thank you.

12 @ Blue Bird:
    Hello,

What a difference in Christmas between you chilly lot and the Southern Hemisphere basking in the summer sun!

This time of year is the time to spend as much time as possible in the pool…

To be perfectly honest, I’ve never in my life taken part in singing Christmas carols (of course I know some of the songs from hearing them over time), but the singing of carols just is’nt big in my neck of the woods.

What is mulled wine?

The whole In Law Family gathers here on Christmas Day, at Casa GBS, for a good Christmas gathering… old man In Law is getting weaker and weaker, so it might be the last opportunity for a gathering which he is part of. He is on Oxygen 18 hours a day and is very frail.

I will behave myself and keep my mouth shut, although there is one brother In Law which I would like to really tell his fortune to… for trying to already cash in on the old man’s possessions…

Like I say, I will keep my mouth shut and keep the peace, it’ll be difficult to do because I just cannot be two-faced and I cannot bring myself to be friendly to someone I have a problem with!

Hang around for the yearly Rugby-Talk Christmas Video Message, should get time to record it tonight and put it up…. then we can let all the Christmas wishes flow freely there. Mmmmm, maybe I should put on a Santa hat…. and beard….

Howzit All.

Another flying visit.

A Moooooerse storm in Kempton last night seems to have fried the modem at home, despite me having pulled oout the power and telephone cords. “Just get a report number and take it Benoni, and they’ll assess it and give you a new one because it’s still under warranty.” says the very helpful lady at Helkom.

Yeah, like I’m gonna schlep to BeOneEye at 15h00 this afternoon, most likely to be told, “you can have a new one in the New Year” anyway. So did the “right” thing and bought one anyway. I’ll use the warranty replacement for a wireless network at the office or some such k@k.

Anyway, Christmas greetings and salutations to one and all.

I’m off at sparrows f@rt tomorrow to go and fetch my better half from her Brother’s place in Niddelburg in the Eastern Cape, so will be off the air until at least the 27th.

To all who make RT a joy to spend time “on”, a heart felt thanks. Let’s all hope that time flies and the Super Rugby is upon us in the blink of a chameleon’s eye.

Cheers all.

GBS I love the snowflakes on the screen. Shows just how much you and Superbul wish you were with us here!!!!, drinking the mulled wine and bundling up for Christmas. To echo Bluebirds sentiments. Thanks for making Rugby talk our home from home. It is a refreshing place to communicate with friends and like minded sports fans and the relationship has also been a source of new and great friendships. Ngiyabonga Gakulu. Now don’t moer the boetie in law and I also promise to behave. totsiens maters….alles wat lekker is vir julle.

15 @ Scrumdown:
    Same to you my friend… happy, happy!

…. and drive safely!

PS! Last night’s storm was NOTHINGGGGGGGGG compared to the storm we had here this morning, was like a flash flood, rained about 2 inches in the space of an hour or so, wind blowing a gale. Water came down like one solid sheet!

… and I said, oh sheet…. hoping my flat farking roof over the office would hold. It held, but we had quite a flood running through part of our house, leaving the floor of our dressing room under about an inch of water… fark had to suck all the water out with a vacuum cleaner and go empty the freegin thing’s bucket numerous times!

Regarding the ADSL Modem… remember that I always have a spare or 2 you could borrow in an emergency. Hope you bought a decent ADSL Modem and not some of the KAK Helkom has… the best they have is the Billion.

The other Helkom stuff is frightfully sub standard. I personally prefer Edimax Routers or some of the new Zyxel or D-Link (they have a very nice ADSL / 3G Fall-over Modem/router) stuff… all nice and solid and they have a very strong Wi-Fi signal with more than one Detachable Di-Pole Antennas, which I often replace with a much stronger 14dbi Omni-directional antenna, to cover a much larger area and “travel” a lot better through walls and shit like that.

16 @ 4man:
    Would have preferred ladies in skimpy bikini’s slowly drifting over the screen being chased by horny elves, of course, but I’m yet to find a plug-in of that kind…. so snowflakes had to do… hehehe

Here’s a very HAPPY, HAPPY birthday to you, today, my friend! Hope there’s many more!

Fark, how old are you today? Can you ride on the bus or train for halfprice already?

PS! What the fark is MULLED WINE?

Merry Christmas everyone! May this be a blessed time for you and yours. Please be safe wherever you find yourself. Here’s to an awesome 2012!

ha ha ha GBS….no darem not that old yet, about 6 years to go for that. Mulled wine is wine that has herbs in it then you heat a poker to red hot in the fire and you plunge it into the wine and then drink it….the wine, not the poker.
    Happy-Birthday

19 @ Morné:
    Thanks PisMier!

Hell, I better get my Christmas Video done and up on the site tonight…. everyone’s thinking this is our Christmas thing… and it’s not!

Haha, okay I will just copy and paste on the new thread then!

Bliksem I almost thought I was going insane! I saw these little starry dots floating on my screen – was about to change my drink of choice!

23 @ Morné:
    What little starry dots, floating where??

Hahahaha

Thats it, changing my drink!

hAAI ALMAL , JULLE MOET DIE FEESTYD GENIET.
    gbs JY IS HEEL OORSPROKLIK MET DIE SNEEU FLOKKIES.

ek weer heel aan die slaap met caps lock aan.

Dit gaan dol hier , waar de flok kry almal so baie geld? Ek het seker 150 bokse litchis vandag verkoop. Het nou net 12 krate afgelaai by die padstal en sal hulle seker voor Sondag klaar verkoop het. Moet nie vir een oomblik dink ek moan nie, ching ching…..

GBS wat se klein programetjie kan ek gebruik om telefoon nommers lekker te bewaar en sort. Ek het nou baie nuwe kontakte om te onthou en wil almal sorteer. Enige voorstelle?

Make-A-Birthday-Wish

Oom…. or is it OUPA 4man!

27 @ superBul:
    Gebruik Outlook… in die Contacts, kan jy ook Telefoonnommers, Fax Nommers, Selnommers, fotos en klomp kak insit

Total 53 users including 0 member, 53 guests, 0 bot online