AUSTRALIA will defend their southern hemisphere title next year in an expanded competition called The Rugby Championship – and will meet new boys Argentina on the Gold Coast.

The new title of the expanded Tri Nations competition will be unveiled today after the Wallabies named their squad yesterday for an abbreviated spring tour later this month.

The Wallabies will play the Barbarians at Twickenham and Wales in Cardiff on a revenue-raising two-week trip, but already eyes have turned towards the exciting new winter competition from 2012 onwards featuring Australia and the top southern hemisphere sides.

Not keen to simply upgrade the Tri Nations to the Four or Quad Nations (league and rugby competitions already exist with both names) SANZAR bosses – and new boys Argentina – agreed upon the simple title of The Rugby Championship.

It will allow each nation to sell sponsorship rights that smoothly – or awkwardly, depending on your viewpoint – sit within the title. Castrol is the naming rights sponsor for The Rugby Championship.

ARU boss John O’Neill and SANZAR CEO Greg Peters will announce the competition name and draw today in Sydney.

All sides will play each other home and away for a total of six Test matches. The Wallabies’ first of three Bledisloe Cup clashes with world champions New Zealand will begin The Rugby Championship in Sydney.

48 Responses to Four Nations to be known as “The Rugby Championship”

Mmmmm, what to make of this name?

The Rugby Championship… or in SA’s case it might be known as The ABSA Rugby Championship… or maybe the The Vodacom Rugby Championship…

What says you guys?

Hahahahaha, die Ina Paarman Rugby Championship… a true South African flavor!

I like the name but with a sponsor’s name infront, probably will not sound right.

Championship in the name might make us sound arrogant in the sh. Then again SA/OZ/NZ have all won two world cups each. We do have new come though with Arg joining us.

Are we going to travel to Argentina to play them? Or will they base themselves in SA like their team does for the Vodacom Cup? Daft question I know as getting Arg to play it will have to be in their country. To get more interest there. Going to be a heck of a lot of travel for the Rugby Players. Especially that the Super15 will be running before and after it.

Hope my Sharks have done their overseas travel before the ‘The Rugby Championship’ cause teams that will have to travel after their players sure as heck gonna feel it.

Think Sharks travel after their 4th game. So thinking we will have done our travel before this tourney starts. So Sharks Boks will have done the Super15 travel. Not sure how many Shark Boks there will be next year,but we will have some,so pleased those players will have done their Super15 travel before this tourney starts.

If I recall Cheetahs travel early so if they have any Boks they will have their Super15 travel out of the way before this tourney starts.

I think Lions/Bulls and Stormers may have to travel after this tourney. Gonna be hard on players in those teams that are Boks to then have to travel back to NZ and Oz to play their games in Super15 after having travelled there with the Boks to play.

So daft to have a tourney between a tourney with the huge amount of travel we have to do.

I would like the Super15 to go back to its old format and we play each other once and we finish that tourney before this ‘The Rugby Championship ‘ starts. Makes sense.

Under our emblem why don’t we have Springboks there, instead we have South African Rugby?

See the Silver Fern has All Blacks underneath not New Zealand Rugby. Same with Oz under the Wallabie they have Wallabies not Australia Rugby. Just a thought.

Okay I got that wrong. Not as bad as I thought. Just checked the S15 schedule. We all finish our travel before the June Internationals. We break for only those games then carrying on after.

4Nations that will be known as “The Rugby Championship” will be played after Super15. At least that tourney can go on uninterrupted.

Well at least the Argies should have more bitching to do about travel than the Boks.

It won’t take long before they start to cry. Remember that nearly all of their players live in Europe, so they have some serious commuting to do.

I am super excited for this Rugby Championship. The Tri Nations got a bit boring, especially the 3 home and 3 away format. Argies will definately surprise the Boks and the Wobblies and soon even the half-Aussies, aka NZ. The Boks’s proud record vs Arg will soon come to an end, especially when we appoint yet another idiot and assistant fools, to take the helm. Here’s hoping our rugby bosses make the smart choice after realising a successful national team means even more money can flow into their coffers!

See you fellas tomorrow… just returned from hospital to visit BonzaiHandbriekie.

… I’m appalled by what I’ve seen recently about the state of Private Hospitals in SA…

Flok, ons land se mediese sorg het heeltemal na kak gegaan. Can just imagine how uber kak it must be in Government Hospitals…. there you go just to freegin die.

One cannot be without Medical Aid IN SA… I shudder to think about people who do not have Medical Aid cover…. it’s freegin scary shit!

Its closer for the Aussies and Kiwi’s again to go to Argentina than us. They just go round the back of the world….the Rugby talk logo at the top is a bit dated….there are a number of players there who will never play for the Boks again.

GBS…is she still in hospital…is alles reg Chomma?

@ Scrumdown:Howzit Scrumdown,

I wonder if they will base themselves in South Africa? Their Vodacom side base themselves here. The travel for them will be a monster really.

Also this daft Super15 schedule is driving me nuts. We stop for the June Internationals. Now I am excited for us to play England as they are touring here for 3 tests. I really want tours to come back. But really why the heck schedule it during the Super15? The week before we due to play England Bulls/Stormers are playing each other and Lions/Sharks are playing each other. Cheetahs have a bye. So how will the Boks train from those teams? Surely the new Coach is gonna pull the Boks out of those teams to get them ready for England. Suddenly the Super15 will mean nothing if we lose our best players. Also we want our best for the Boks. So the schdule is just plain daft.

We had better have a very large squad for Super15 next year and we have to have depth. All teams will need to have 2 equally good players in each position. Then the players that are not Boks will have 3 week break. Just have to train to keep fit. So we lose momentum there. Only the injured will benefit from the 3 week lay off.

Then straight after the 3 weeks we play Englane we into SuperRugby again. So bloody stupid if you ask me. One week we all playing against each other smashing each other up no doubt. The next some players will be in one team together (Boks) playing for their country.

Whoever agreed to this daft schedule must have been really daft.

Only the “The Rugby Championship” tourney will come after we have completed the S15. Just damn pleased for that. Cause I want us to play well against Oz and Nz also Arg.

Playing one tourney between another is ridiculous.

@ Puma:ignore my typos there.

11 @ 4man:
    No problems, thanks

13 @ Puma:
    No need to apologise… we know you’ll never win a typing competition…. hehehe

@ 4man:10 – Not really. They will have to stop in Chile probably before getting to Beunos Aires. We go non-stop all the way to Beunos Aires. 11 and a half hour flight and only 4 or 5 hours behind us.

I think from Oz and Nz it is longer. Also the time zone for them will be tougher going to Argentina.

@ grootblousmile:15 – hehehe. I know. I must be the most useless when it comes to typing. Fingers get in the way of the keys…………lol.

@ grootblousmile:14 – Whatever it is hope it is okay gbs.

I was waiting to see who would challenge my comment….the Pacific is huge….I think its 16 hours, I’ll check it.

9@ grootblousmile:
    Going to send you an Outlook Meeting Invite for Friday. Save it please.

@ 4man:10 – Where NZ and OZ may benefit from the travel to Arg is if they play SA straight after. Then they just keep going in one direction to us. Same for us if we play Arg then head onto NZ or Oz from Arg.

Really hope they schedule the games in accordance with the travel. Doubt it though.

Auckland to Buenos Aires 11 hours….Sydney to Buenos Aires 13 hours…..We went to Buenos Aires in 72 or 73 after Escorting the Cape to Rio yacht race….comops…pissed for a week.

17 @ Puma:
    Do you have fat fingers or bad eyesight?

18 @ Puma:
    Nothing much, the daughter (BonzaiHandbriekie) has just caught a freegin bug which made her de-hidrate… so it’s just a drip and a bit of monitoring in hospital.

Handbriekie (wife) was in a bit of a tizz today about it.. even closed a bloody gate into her dad’s car door… not exactly her best day.

@ 4man:19 – Could be that. It is longer than for us. Cause of that that flight will have to stop in Chile before heading to Argentina. Makes for hectic travel. Unless we can host Arg here. But that then defeats what we trying to do for Arg by bringing them into the tourney, they need to play at home.

20 @ Scrumdown:
    Will do… it’s about time we go and klap a few balletjies…. don’t forget to get us a cart…

@ grootblousmile:23 – No don’t have fat fingers…….hehehe. They just get in the way….hehe.

My eye sight is going as well……hahaha. Will have to get reading glasses soon..haha. Everything goes with age boeta…lol.

26 @ Puma:
    Maybe I should give you Author rights, then you can Edit the Actual comment, to fix it…. Bwahahaha

Did you see our Quick Chat Box format, on the other Thread… try it out for size!

I can’t see the Argies basing themselves in SA. If not in Argentina, possibly Europe would actually work for them.

Most of their players are their. The European summer should be mild enough not to disrupt their training too much, and the travel would be no more hard on the body than from “home”.

They’ll probably just set up camp in somewhere like Rosario or Tucuman though. I expect there’ll be a few games there as well and believe me, the crowds will be hostile and very noisy.

I think Argentina will really struggle the first few years, especially away from home, but I’ve no doubt that their inclusion will add some very needed fresh air into the competition.

@ grootblousmile:23 – Deyhydration can cause plenty problems boet. Now she is on a drip that is fine.

Hope the car is okay…haha. When things go wrong it all goes wrong. Seems that way.

29 @ Puma:
    Massive dent in the Double Cab’s door… but it’s fixable…

Total 79 users including 0 member, 79 guests, 0 bot online