The First of two 5-Day Test matches between the South African Proteas and Australia is underway in Cape Town.

The match is scheduled to run from 9 to 13 November 2011. South Africa won the toss and chose to bowl first.

This is a general discussion Article on the Test, South Africa won by 8 wickets.

Australia:

• First Innings: 284 all out
  • Second Innings: 47 all out

South Africa:

• First Innings: 96 all out
  • Second Innings: 236 after 50.2 overs – win by 8 wickets

South Africa won by 8 wickets

Australia 1st innings R M B 4s 6s SR
View dismissal SR Watson c Kallis b Steyn 3 20 15 0 0 20.00
View dismissal PJ Hughes c †Boucher b Philander 9 27 19 1 0 47.36
View dismissal SE Marsh lbw b Steyn 44 157 101 8 0 43.56
View dismissal RT Ponting lbw b Steyn 8 51 25 0 1 32.00
View dismissal MJ Clarke* b Morkel 151 266 176 22 0 85.79
View dismissal MEK Hussey c †Boucher b Morkel 1 25 18 0 0 5.55
View dismissal BJ Haddin† c Prince b Steyn 5 8 8 1 0 62.50
View dismissal MG Johnson c Morkel b Philander 20 32 22 2 0 90.90
View dismissal RJ Harris c Morkel b Philander 5 16 10 0 0 50.00
View dismissal PM Siddle c de Villiers b Morkel 20 73 54 2 0 37.03
NM Lyon not out 1 10 6 0 0 16.66
Extras (b 5, lb 7, w 1, nb 4) 17
Total (all out; 75 overs; 349 mins) 284 (3.78 runs per over)
Fall of wickets1-9 (Watson, 4.3 ov), 2-13 (Hughes, 5.6 ov), 3-40 (Ponting, 16.2 ov), 4-143 (Marsh, 39.1 ov), 5-158 (Hussey, 44.3 ov), 6-163 (Haddin, 45.5 ov), 7-202 (Johnson, 52.3 ov), 8-214 (Harris, 54.5 ov), 9-273 (Siddle, 72.4 ov), 10-284 (Clarke, 74.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
View wickets DW Steyn 20 4 55 4 2.75
View wickets VD Philander 21 3 63 3 3.00 (3nb, 1w)
View wickets M Morkel 18 2 82 3 4.55 (1nb)
Imran Tahir 10 1 35 0 3.50
JH Kallis 6 0 37 0 6.16
South Africa 1st innings R M B 4s 6s SR
View dismissal JA Rudolph b Harris 18 28 29 1 0 62.06
View dismissal GC Smith* b Watson 37 82 48 3 0 77.08
View dismissal HM Amla lbw b Watson 3 31 16 0 0 18.75
View dismissal JH Kallis c Ponting b Watson 0 6 4 0 0 0.00
View dismissal AB de Villiers lbw b Harris 8 25 9 2 0 88.88
View dismissal AG Prince lbw b Watson 0 2 1 0 0 0.00
View dismissal MV Boucher† lbw b Watson 4 14 7 1 0 57.14
View dismissal VD Philander c Ponting b Harris 4 14 11 1 0 36.36
DW Steyn not out 9 26 18 0 0 50.00
View dismissal M Morkel run out (Siddle) 1 5 1 0 0 100.00
View dismissal Imran Tahir b Harris 5 15 5 0 0 100.00
Extras (lb 4, w 1, nb 2) 7
Total (all out; 24.3 overs; 130 mins) 96 (3.91 runs per over)
Fall of wickets1-24 (Rudolph, 6.5 ov), 2-49 (Amla, 13.2 ov), 3-49 (Kallis, 13.6 ov), 4-73 (Smith, 17.1 ov), 5-73 (Prince, 17.2 ov), 6-77 (de Villiers, 18.1 ov), 7-77 (Boucher, 19.3 ov), 8-81 (Philander, 20.6 ov), 9-83 (Morkel, 21.4 ov), 10-96 (Imran Tahir, 24.3 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
View wickets RJ Harris 10.3 3 33 4 3.14 (1nb)
MG Johnson 5 0 26 0 5.20 (1w)
PM Siddle 4 1 16 0 4.00 (1nb)
View wickets SR Watson 5 2 17 5 3.40
Australia 2nd innings R M B 4s 6s SR
View dismissal SR Watson lbw b Steyn 4 2 3 1 0 133.33
View dismissal PJ Hughes c Rudolph b Morkel 9 35 22 1 0 40.90
View dismissal RT Ponting lbw b Philander 0 23 12 0 0 0.00
View dismissal MJ Clarke* lbw b Philander 2 16 6 0 0 33.33
View dismissal MEK Hussey c Prince b Morkel 0 1 1 0 0 0.00
View dismissal BJ Haddin† c †Boucher b Philander 0 14 3 0 0 0.00
View dismissal MG Johnson c Amla b Philander 3 20 12 0 0 25.00
View dismissal RJ Harris c Smith b Morkel 3 7 7 0 0 42.85
PM Siddle not out 12 37 16 2 0 75.00
View dismissal SE Marsh lbw b Philander 0 5 2 0 0 0.00
View dismissal NM Lyon c de Villiers b Steyn 14 29 24 1 0 58.33
Extras 0
Total (all out; 18 overs; 95 mins) 47 (2.61 runs per over)
Fall of wickets1-4 (Watson, 0.3 ov), 2-11 (Ponting, 5.3 ov), 3-13 (Hughes, 6.4 ov), 4-13 (Hussey, 6.5 ov), 5-15 (Clarke, 7.3 ov), 6-18 (Haddin, 9.1 ov), 7-21 (Harris, 10.4 ov), 8-21 (Johnson, 11.2 ov), 9-21 (Marsh, 11.4 ov), 10-47 (Lyon, 17.6 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
View wickets DW Steyn 5 1 23 2 4.60
View wickets VD Philander 7 3 15 5 2.14
View wickets M Morkel 6 1 9 3 1.50
South Africa 2nd innings (target: 236 runs) R M B 4s 6s SR
GC Smith* not out 101 232 140 15 0 72.14
View dismissal JA Rudolph c †Haddin b Siddle 14 30 24 3 0 58.33
View dismissal HM Amla c Clarke b Johnson 112 184 134 21 0 83.58
JH Kallis not out 2 14 6 0 0 33.33
Extras (lb 4, w 1, nb 2) 7
Total (2 wickets; 50.2 overs; 232 mins) 236 (4.68 runs per over)
Did not bat VD Philander, AG Prince, MV Boucher†, Imran Tahir, DW Steyn, M Morkel, AB de Villiers
Fall of wickets1-27 (Rudolph, 6.4 ov), 2-222 (Amla, 47.4 ov)
Bowling O M R W Econ
RJ Harris 14 2 67 0 4.78
View wicket PM Siddle 12.2 0 49 1 3.97 (1nb)
SR Watson 10 0 44 0 4.40
View wicket MG Johnson 11 1 61 1 5.54 (1nb, 1w)
NM Lyon 3 1 11 0 3.66
Match details
Toss South Africa, who chose to field
Series South Africa led the 2-match series 1-0
Test debuts Imran Tahir and VD Philander (South Africa)
Player of the match VD Philander (South Africa)
Umpires BR Doctrove (West Indies) and IJ Gould (England)
TV umpire BF Bowden (New Zealand)
Match referee RS Mahanama (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire JD Cloete
Close of play
9 Nov day 1 – Australia 1st innings 214/8 (MJ Clarke 107*, PM Siddle 0*, 55 ov)
10 Nov day 2 – South Africa 2nd innings 81/1 (GC Smith 36*, HM Amla 29*, 17 ov)
11 Nov day 3 – South Africa 2nd innings 236/2 (50.2 ov) – end of match

210 Responses to Cricket: SA vs Australia – 1st 5-Day Test

@ grootblousmile:120 – Will do boeta. I have a teleconference with the guys from Chile for a hour or so in the afternoon, but will watch when the crici starts and after the teleconference will watch again…..haha. Will post here the scores for most of the day, no problem boeta.

Tell Super it is always tough been ones own boss, but also lekker cause your time is mostly your own.

Okay I am off to bed, feel really tired. Up very early this morning.

Catch up tomorrow when the cricket starts.

Cheers gbs.

@ Puma:been = being.

Ag, just tired so the typos are coming….hehe.

Cheers gbs.

122 @ Puma:
    Cheers and thanks!

@ bos_otter 119 – Howzit Buddy,

Just noticed your post now and logged quick back on.

How you doing? Hope well. Long time no talk. Are you still in the UK or back here in SA?

Will look for your answer tomorrow. Off to bed now.

Cheers Bos.

@ grootblousmile:124 – Enjoy the golf tomorrow gbs.

Now really off to bed. Cheers. Catch up tomorrow.

ware woorde ou maat ek werk my kierie af. Kon nie my oe glo toe ek die krieket telling sien nie , ek gaan gou die highlights kyk

thanks Puma, i missed a great day of cricket, nothing gives me more pleasure than seeing Ponting failing.
    Enjoy the game tomorrow, like GBS said working for yourself is hard i never worked like this, i lost 15kgs in the last 3 months and feel so much fitter. Just the pains….old body tells you when to stop, not that i am listening much.

The day’s play yesterday had me looking for the Pakistani bookmakers and agents in the crowd.

Cricket will forever be tainted now.

It also makes one wonder when a top Rugby goal kicker misses one from in front of the poles. I know we all say that Rugby players would never be seduced by the money etc etc, but who would have thought that a person like Hansie would have as well. Also, who else in that team (as well as the Pakistani team last year) knew or at least had an idea of what was going on?

You don’t “live” with an individual on tour for week after week and not know what is going on.

Add to that the absolute debacle at Cricket South Africa in terms of corruption, blatent lies and fraud, and I’m saddened to say that it’s no wonder the Proteas are always on the losing end of CRUCIAL matches no matter what the format.

When the head is rotten, the stink permeates through the whole body.

Today is the 11th day of the 11th month of the 11th year.

Also armistice day for commemorating the end of the Great War.

It’s also the day that GBS and I take on the Golfing World.

A great day to write our names into Golfing history Big Blue.

I hope he’s lost a bit of weight, I hate to carry someone for 18 holes in 30°C temperatures. Hehehehe.

129 @ Scrumdown:
    I’m almost ready to come to Kempies for the Golf…

The Clubs are dusted, the tees, pencil, towels, shoes, glove and Nike Cap are there and clean… directions to Kempton Park Golf Club is not a problem. Sun Block is in… spikes is going to moerrrrrrrrrrrrrrr us today!

Extra set of clothes packed for afterwards as well as freshening up stuff… need to draw a bit of cash then I’m A for away!

Nobody needs to carry me… you guys just need to check where my balls moer off to… I am worried about 2 things… playing too much Moer & Soek… and winning the boobie prize for playing the most golf on the day!

130@ grootblousmile:
    Well, if you’re my partner and we come last, then I have to take the prize home that I donated. Vark that!

Don’t worry about the balls, we’ll have Velcro Crested Wallet Snatchers to make sure that all balls not below the surface of the water are found.

I suppose I should shoot home and find my golf shoes.

Vark you’re right about Spikes. Lots of liquid refreshment will be required. Either that or we just stay in the pub and get sloshed!

GBS, I just noticed that Rugby-Talk’s Google rating has jumped to “Very Active” when I open a new tab.

We need to keep it there. Difficult though when one has to earn a living!

132 @ Scrumdown:
    Yip, I’ve added quite a bit more SEO code to make the site more Search Engine Optimized.

We had massive hits during the Rugby World Cup, the Currie Cup and the aftermath of the Southern Hemisphere season… it is quieting down a lot though, so we have to keep people interested and alive and talking.

I’ve added a Twitter Page for R-T and already have a Rugby-Talk Facebook Group (not active at all)… we need to keep content going there like crazy too and I need to build a Facebook link in on R-T (similar to the recently added Twitter Link).

… but like you say… time is limited…. been working like crazy this side….

Guess it’s time to get in the Blik Met Wiele and head off to the golf course.

Gooooooooooo Ama-Blomme!

Cheers guys, enjoy…. and remember to chat like crazy here….

Morning everyone.

South Africa 100/1

@ 154@ grootblousmile: Enjoy the golf gbs.

133@ grootblousmile: Don’t have to worry about twitter or facebook. Just do some very interesting threads during the holiday season. That is what I look for on most blogs are the interesting threads to talk about.

Okay seems like it will only be me here during the crici. Fine will keep the scores going for most of the day here.

Superbul, damn I miss you during the cricket. Only you and I that mostly enjoy the cricket here.

Good morning Puma, just popped in here for a wee bit, thanks for the score

Hey Puma, you definitely forgot about me hehehe

Watching the cricket on my drifta at work, probably one of the most awesome gadgets to own!!!

Must say for the first time in this Ozzie tour I am not nervous of Graemme Smith at the crease

141@ Tripples:
    Hello to you to Tripples, lucky being able to watch the cricket and work, do you have any jobs available there 🙂

Well goota go by the time will get a chance to log on to computer again this game should be over, will try check scores here on ancient mobile, go SA!

118/1 at the moment

122/1 Both Amla and Smith have their 50’s, 95 run partnership!!!! Woooooohoooooo

South Africa 122/1

Amla gets a 4 and his 50. Well done Amla.

Amla really has a beautiful batting style!!!

@ Bullscot:144 – Get a Blackberry BS.

@ Tripples:148 – He sure does Trips.

Total 15 users including 0 member, 15 guests, 0 bot online