Springboks (3) 9 / Wallabies (8) 11 (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and the Australian Wallabies did battle in the Third Quarter Final in Wellington at 07:00 SA Time (18:00 NZ Time).

The match was broadcast LIVE on SuperSport 1 & 4, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.

And so, the Springboks exit Rugby World Cup 2011….

• Penalties – Morné Steyn (2)
  • Drop Goals – Morné Steyn (1)

Wallabies:

• Penalties – James O’Connor (2)
  • Tries – James Horwill (1)

South Africa: 15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.

Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Willem Alberts, 19 François Louw, 20 François Hougaard, 21 Butch James, 22 Gio Aplon.

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Radike Samo, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 Dan Vickerman, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Sekope Kepu.
Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota Nau, 17 James Slipper, 18 Nathan Sharpe, 19 Ben McCalman, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Anthony Fainga’a.

Date: Sunday 9 October
Venue: Regional Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 07:00 SA Time (18:00 NZ Time)
Expected weather: Fine with light winds. High of 10°C, low of 6°C.
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Dave Pearson (England, Romain Poite (France)
TMO: Giulio De Santis (Italy)

339 Responses to RWC (Quarters): South Africa vs Australia – Live Game Article

1 2 3 12

Word wakker, word wakker!!!
    Jou land en jou span het jou nodig…..GO BOOOOOOOOKKKKEEEEE!
    BOKKE, BOKKe, BOKKE!!!!!!!!

Wakey wakey, rise and shine!!!!!

Word wakker word wakker, die dag raak al kukker!!!!

Die son is alreeds n gloeiende bal hier oor die woestyn, maar gelukkig is die Holsten yskoud……met Pietvrou die kelnerin, so geen klagtes hierdie kant….

GOOOOOOO BOKKE, GO JOHN SMIT!!!!!!!!

HERE IT IS – the day is upon us; the day when so many questions about the Wallabies are going to be answered, such as:
    Is Robbie Deans – the $1m a year man the coach and tactician for the job?
    Has he selected the right team, after a 4 year tenure that has promised so much but delivered so little?
    Will Quade Cooper, AKA Surfer Dude (thanks to GBS), show he is made of the right stuff, or is he just an aberration?
    Can the Gen Ys, namely Beale, O’Connor, Genia, Slipper et al prove to the world that a lowly average number of test appearances doesn’t necessarily preclude you from a RWC semi final appearance?
    Can Australian rugby survive the hit that being bundled out of the WC at the quarter finals stage will ultimately deliver, if a win isn’t achieved?

All these questions and lots of others are going to be answered, one way or another, later this afternoon at the Cake Tin in Windy-Wellington.

To my Rugby-Talk brothers, I say the best I can offer on a day when our two countries are sworn adversaries on the rugby field, is that may both sides play to their full potential and remain injury-free; may fate favour the brave and may the deserved winner go forward and lift the William Webb Ellis Trophy.

I’ll be back after the match – Go the Wallabies!!!!

OldGriqua, g’day mate!
    Hope you’re well.

Have your boys rubbed in the wintergreen and other muti yet? We have a few Joggie Jansen cum Wayne Cottrel hits coming the way of your men today, watch out matey!!!!!

Have a good one, best of luck OQ.

Howzit Pietman, long time no speak. I hope things are good with you?

I think the Wallabies are going to need all the luck they can muster and I don’t doubt the hits will reverberate all the way to Sydney. This is a super-physical Bok side and they are going to bash and barge wherever they can. Are the Wallabies up to it? Well, we are about to find out, and I can’t wait for the game to start.

Bobby Skinstad being interviewed on Aus TV – and the best news is the weather is fine and sunny. You beauty! Let’s hope it stays that way.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Yup, gonna be a toughie…how long before kick-off?
    ( I took off work to watch and have to be back at the office immediately afterwards, faaaaaark…( 🙁 )

Kick off at 0700hrs your time, I think?

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    I do apologise, I should have said to my R-T brothers AND SISTERS. Unforgivable error on my part.

Old Griquas 14 in Sydney wrote:

To my Rugby-Talk brothers, I say the best I can offer on a day when our two countries are sworn adversaries on the rugby field, is that may both sides play to their full potential and remain injury-free; may fate favor the brave and may the deserved winner go forward and lift the William Webb Ellis Trophy.

I could not say it better, i MUST add, hope the ref or a unnecessary card does not mar this great game.

Morning all.

My broek bewe

What a feeling, excited Overjoy , nervous Worry , you name it . This is what makes this little tournament so exciting. Who will survive?

GO BOKKE
    Play 100 minutes
    Keep concentrating
    Respect the opponents
    and just give your best
    Amabokoboko Just DO IT

Today will be the day to start practicing our pie eating skills.
    Although some here predicted we wont even make this stage we are all excited to be watching our Green and Gold wearing Springboks serve some a good dose of humble pie. (i might take the whole day consuming mine if we somehow fail to go on Beaten-up )

If we take this game it will draw level in my mind with the 2007 Cup win.
    If we can go past NZ it will far exceed the 2007 win
    And if we take the World Cup we are in Angel

05:30 in Engeland en dit reen lekker! Komaan Bokke! Maak ons trots!

Ps : ek’t gedroom Aus wen 31-17 en Guthro Steenkamp druk die 1ste drie langs die pale vroeg in die game…

Hellllloooooooooooooooooo

Gooooooooooooo Bokkeeeeeeeee!

MORNING ALL!

Lets have a great game here!

Morning all, I would love to be able to pen such a heart-felt quote as Old Griquas, but far too nervous – so BOKKE BOKKE BOKKE!!!!!!!

Take a deep breath , here we go

Blue skies in the Cake Tin, loads of Bok support, and a great team and Bissy on the bench – all the hallmarks for a great win today

Good to see the 2 Old-Timers here… Sultan Pietman, and the man who had dancing feet, Oldie!

Also hello to my friends SuperblouwilleBees & Loskoppie…. and hello to the difficult Province Supporter in Mud Island, RugbySTUDENT

Hello Wynboer… hope nobody desturbs your morning with wine tasting…

That is a fake Vuvuzela blower.

i see Danie also wears a bandage on his arm now like Victor

Are you sitting or standing?

Because it’s time to stand for the National Anthem!

Mission – nullify Pocock and Genia. Match complete

hello daar gbs!

Anyone read the article about FS posted here in Afrikaans, hel he is a big boy now, almost 110 kg.

20@ grootblousmile:only 4 people at the moment, but will grow no doubt – bugger, as I write this the masses arrive

South Africa’s Anthem first, then Australia’s turn

Here we gooooooooo

Goooooooooooo Bokkeeeeee!

Oldie, YOU’re the enemy today!

1 2 3 12

Total 45 users including 0 member, 45 guests, 0 bot online