Springboks lock Bakkies Botha has been ruled out of the rugby world cup due to an Achilles tendon injury and will return to South Africa on Friday.

The 76-Test veteran suffered the injury during training and has become the second Springbok player in a week to be forced out. Centre Frans Steyn departed on Tuesday because of a shoulder injury.

A decision on a replacement has been postponed pending the outcome of Sunday’s quarterfinal against Australia in Wellington.

Botha, 32, said that it had been an emotional decision to admit his World Cup was over, but that he still intended to return to Springbok team.

“I am a person who normally keeps my emotions out of sight but it was emotional to talk to the team this morning and tell them I would be going home,” he said.

“I told the team to cherish every moment of their time in the green and gold because you never know when it is going to be your last.

“I’m very disappointed – after all the hard work that has been put in over the past few months – but it’s not about me, it’s about the team now and there’s still a big job to do. I’ll be sitting at home with my family on Sunday with a tear on my cheek as the team takes on the Wallabies.

“But we can’t stop here – there are still three games left to play.”

Botha said he would see a specialist on his return in order to determine what course of action was required so he could be ready to take up his three-year contract with Toulon in France on November 1.

“This is definitely not the end of my Test career as far as I am concerned,” he said.

“I’ll be aiming to give 100% to Toulon to help them get into the Heineken Cup and I’ll still be available for South Africa next year.

“I still have the desire to play for my country and that will be there for as long as I play. It’s a special thing to pull on this jersey and that hunger has not left me.”

Botha made his Test debut against France in 2002 and was appearing at his third Rugby World Cup – having collected a winner’s medal at the 2007 tournament. He played in the Pool D wins over Fiji and Namibia in this tournament but separate Achilles and hamstring injuries kept him out of the matches against Wales and Samoa.

The latest Achilles tendon injury was a new injury, he said, affecting the opposite ankle. “I knew straight away that something wasn’t right,” he said.

“I knew I wasn’t going to be 100 percent and with great players like Victor (Matfield), Danie (Rossouw) and Johann (Muller)all fit there was no need for me to hang around and be a distraction to the team.”

Meanwhile winger JP Pietersen successfully completed a fitness test on his injured knee at Thursday’s training run and was declared fit to take his place on the right wing.

60 Responses to RWC: Bakkies – My World Cup is over, boys!

Dammit, bliksem, donner!

At least we have the in-form Danie Pakslae there to stand in.

… but now lock depth is pretty damn thin, after our 2 stalwarts who are in the saddle….

Yep, nie lekker nie!!!!! wou gehad het Bakkies moes bietjie vir Quade betugtig het Sondag πŸ™‚

3 @ Tripples:

Dan was hy Quade Pooper, en nie Cooper nie… want hy sou verseker in sy broek geskyt het terwyl Bakkies hom tug!

Ja, well we all knew that this would happen…………………..I wonder what Mr Juan Smith is up to for the next 3 weeks?

It’s sad, so sad. It’s a sad sad situation…………….

Ja, what is happening with Juan. Has the guy recovered or not. He’s had an extra month now.

Shame, I like to watch Bakkies in action!! πŸ˜‰

Bakkies all the best for your rugby in France and if you to still play for the Boks.

You will always be a legend.

Now really pleased that Danie has stood up and playing the rugby of his life at the moment at lock. We need him not to pick up a injury either. That is if we make it further.

Mostert I read is injured, so if we do get to the semi we no doubt will see Flip over in NZ.

Now not sure how it works. If we win the world cup, do all the players in the squad that played pool games get a medal? I think they do. Cause they took part in it.

Think if we make the final Bakkies and Fransie should be there to watch the team. Even from the stands. Just like they done with JdV and Spies the last wc. Jake brought them both over to watch the final. Would be great for them to be there if we make the final.

Bakkies should just stay on as a motivating factor. Sure he needs to be replaced, but surely then we say he is part of the coaching team πŸ™‚

Was wondering the same thing Puma and agree with your sentiments about inviting Bakkies and Fransie over. It seeems kind of silly that a player could be injured in the semi-final and then miss out on a medal while a replacement who doesn’t even get on the field qualifies for a medal. Doesn’t make sense. Could anyone enlighten us? Here’s looking at you Gbs

@ The_Young_Turk:10 – Turk, I am not 100% sure. But thinking if one participates in the world cup be it one game or two games or a half game. They then qualify as haven taken part in the world cup. So I think the injured that has been sent home will qualify for a medal, that is if we win it.

They all deserve a medal. If the players that they have been replaced with get a medal and not play at all, then surely the players that actually took part should get a medal.

GBS can find out for us.

If we do make it to the final. I would still like to see both Bakkies and Fransie at the final in the stands with the other squad players that will be there watching. Only seems fair. They put their bodies on the line.

Jake brought back JdV and Spies to the final of our last wc so they could be part of it.

@ Puma:11 – sorry typo. Haven = having.

In any case i think that SA rugby should pay for the guys to go over and see the final. But then again these are millionaires we are talking about. They can easily foot the bill themselves if they feel strongly enough about being there. They deserve the medal though.

11 @ Puma:
    Fark, do I have to do all the work for you guys?

How’s aout YOU find out and enlightening all of us here…

We’re lazy and you’re cleverer than us and you’re great and wonderful …. and ..and you have a big bird Wink

@ grootblousmile:14 – Cause you have the connections…
    Tounge-Out We don’t ..
    Whistling

@ The_Young_Turk:13 – If we get to the final they will be there. I am sure of it. Peter will make sure they are there. He is a real team man and has always stuck by his players.

I just hope they get a medal which they both deserve.

They’ll get a medal each…

Hooray for the great Bigblu! THANK-YOU

Now after all that we just need the Boks to go on and win the darn thing Please

@ grootblousmile:18 – Great.

Now let us win it.

Go Bokke Go.

Really nervous for this game, but whatever happens we just support the team.

Go get em Boks. πŸ™‚

Let me scour the wires a bit for more news… back in a little while.

There’s a saying that nobody is irreplacable…

… and that is so true…

We might just have Jean de Villiers have an absolute blinder or Danie Pakslae getting another Man-of-the-Match award.

I am a bit apprehensive about a few things though… needlessly kicking away quality possession, not respecting the breakdowns enough, slipping some first time tackles, unforced errors and not keeping enough dicipline.

This is the stage, where one needs to click into overdrive, with crisp handling and correct decision making!

Something i saw when Carter had to leave camp is that he lost all accreditation, it is in the article i posted , you guys dont read properly. When you are replaced you go home. Carter said he will be in the stands watching. So a replaced player wont appear on the field and there is only 30 player medals, the coaching team is also restricted.

All teams that left the tournament gets a medal to show their participation, but only the Gold , silver and Bronze medals really count.

24 @ superBul:
    Het iemand op jou baber getrap, jy klink kwaai en onrusteloos…. soos my Pa sou gesΓͺ het.

Today is a day for endings….and new beginnings. Not the best day of my life I must say.

Who would have thought the 4Nations from the sh would be facing each other in the quarters? 6Nations are facing each other in the other quarters. Feels like Tri-Nations all over again. Just having to play a 6Nations team at the end to win it. Just have to think like that. Only 3 games in it. Two 3Nations teams to beat and one 6Nation team to win the cup.

Go Bokke. Stay positive we can.

Ja no, i read that. I know they lose their accreditation and they have to watch from the stands but are you saying there are only 30 medals, so tough shit if you get replaced before the final? as earlier you said they get a medal each????

26 @ 4man:
    Nou waddeflok het gebeur, Sammajoor…

Sorry confused the blue smile with the blue beast!

Total 64 users including 0 member, 64 guests, 0 bot online