Springboks (13) 13 / Samoa (0) 5 (Final Score)

The South African Springboks and Samoa did battle in Albany at 09:30 SA Time (20:30 NZ Time).

The Springboks won a very hard match, with a lot of niggle in the match and a fiery Samoa not giving up.

The game was marred by the first Red Card of the tournament, to Paul Williams, for a punch to the face of Heinrich Brussow and also marred by a Yellow Card to John Smit.

Samoa exits the tournament and the Springboks end top of the “Pool of Death”, Pool D.

• Penalties – Frans Steyn (1), Morné Steyn (1)
  • Tries – Bryan Habana (1)
  • Conversions – Morné Steyn (1)

Samoa:

• Penalties – 0
  • Tries – George Stowers (1)

South Africa: 15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn , 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 John Smit, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 CJ van der Linde, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 François Louw, 21 François Hougaard, 22 Jean de Villiers.

Samoa: 15 Paul Williams, 14 David Lemi, 13 Seilala Mapusua, 12 Eliota Fuimaono Sapolu, 11 Alesana Tuilagi, 10 Tusi Pisi, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i, 8 George Stowers, 7 Maurie Fa’asavalu, 6 Taiasina Tuifua, 5 Kane Thompson, 4 Daniel Leo, 3 Census Johnston, 2 Mahonri Schwalger (captain), 1 Sakaria Taulafo.
Replacements: 16 Olé Avei, 17 Anthony Perenise, 18 Logovi’i Mulipola, 19 Ofisa Treviranus, 20 Filipo Lavea Levi, 21 Junior Poluleuligaga, 22 George Pisi.

Date: Friday 30 September
Venue: North Harbour Stadium, Albany
Kick-off: 09:30 SA Time (20:30 NZ Time)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy with a high of 18°C, dropping to 12°C.
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Stuart Terheege (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

300 Responses to RWC: South Africa vs Samoa – Live Game Article

1 2 3 10

I ma really looking forward to this game.

It is in effect our second WC game after Wales.
    You cannot read anything into Fiji and Namibia.
    This game will give us a better idea of where we stand against better opposition.
    Having said that Samoa should never beat the Boks.
    We need to dominate them in all areas of play and show some class against this type of team.

Goeie more voories, kort net die haker 😉 Hope you all enjoy the game, will have to catch a highlights package somewhere later on. Hope its a good win for the Boks, GO BOKS!

Morning boys, Yep, I would like to see a convincing victory here, I have had to here on every other blog site that we would be upset by wales, then by Fiji and now by Samoa.

Give them carrots! Yes-Sir

Morning Bullscot, Biltong!!!
    HOW we win today is important.
    We must win like World Champions.

More alle voorvelle en platannas!
    Groot dag vandag. BOKKE< GOOI MIELIES!!!!!!!!@ tight head:
    Well,I’d never!
    Long time no see bruvva, you would not believe that I thought about you only yesterday when I was contemplating the Boks’ crucial battle up front for this match. Where have you been for so long?
    Anyways, nice meeting up with you again after all this time.
    (I still have fond memories of our ‘struggle’ over at the dark side some three years ago, hehehe :-)!!! We surely raised hell and did some damage there amongst those pseudo-politicos and so-called rugby gurus at Voldy’s in the days of Butane Komphella and WC 2007. Good old times they were.)
    Welcome back ‘oudstryder’.

Dankie Pietman!!
    Great to talk to you again my friend!!
    Yes, we sure had our time trying to talk rugby to those people who know so much but know fokkol!!
    Enjoy the game!!

@ tight head:
    Take them up front, play them into corners and cut down there space, nail the penalties and drop-kicks, try to get 12 points ahead and let them panic playing catch-up rugby……and then hit them hard and backwards in the tackles! Man on man,TACKLE!!!….. tackle, tackle, tackle, tackle to destroy the man with the ball.
    GO BOKKE, GOOI MIELIES manne!!!!!!

Ciao a tutti or Hi everyone! Expect Boks to win this comfortably by at least 30 points with 50 being more likely. I will be mainly watching the Bok defense. If they keep Samoa tryless that would be a good sign that the bokke’s defense is getting to the stage where it could enable us to retain the cup.

Good Morning to all, old and new, whether in the desert or that small town with a flat mountain, or maybe the city with the most trees in the world. (JHB!!)

Prepare for a Bok display of clinical Rugby that will leave the Samoans mentally broken, and the rest of those still in the RWC in awe of the SA Rugby machine.

Morning boys.

Scrummie, good to see you and TH on the same page again, it’s been a while since you two teamed up to enlighten us back-liners on wtf was going on up front in the oven.Hope you are right re your last sentence, I like that part….”in awe of the SA rugby machine. Dead right, let’s start today instilling some fear in the rest of the world cup contenders; it’s time they pee their pants at the sight of the ‘green machine……C’mon boys, moer hulle!!!!!!

All

Gonna sign off for a while. Going home to watch the game, then back here to the office for a busy afternoon.

Sh1t would love to go hit the little white ball this afternoon, but “no work, no pay” applies!

Well said Peterman! Moer hulle stukkend Bokke!!

Hellooooooooooooooooo

Gooooooooooo Bokkkkkkeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Go Bigbluuuuuuuu! How they hangin, bossman?

Morning lads – really looking forward to this one, feels like an age since I’ve seen some decent rugby!

Got a packed house here in the tasting room this morning, if anyone asks for a pizza during this game, they can do the other thing!!!

Ciao JFK. I’ll bite, what’s the other thing? Fark off?

Naand!

15@ The_Young_Turk:
    Ciao, Turkey!

Hanging heavy this side… vol en rond!

18@ The_Young_Turk:its got to do with ‘going forth and multiplying’

Bru Picks??

Margins??

My Bru says Bokke by 19… but I’m hoping more for something like 35.

Bokke has never beaten the Samoans by less than 27!

22 @ Just For Kicks:
    Hoe lus is ek nie nou om ‘n bottletjie EDELVROT te proe en te proe en te proe nie!

9 minutes till kick-off

Wonder how many people are actually working this morning?

I have my Bokke jersey on, how about you folks?

Bokke playing in WHITE Bokke jerseys today.

Oh shit, we are going to have a haka dance.

My bloed is groen… errr… wit vandag!

I’ve got a white t-shirt on. does that count?

1 2 3 10

Total 82 users including 0 member, 82 guests, 0 bot online