France 47 / Japan 21 (Final Score)

France and Japan did battle in Auckland at 08:00 SA Time (18:00 NZ Time).

Job done for France but not until after Japan gave them a good run for their money and a massive scare in the second half.

France:

• Penalties – Dimitri Yachvilli (3)
  • Tries – Julien Pierre (1), Francois Trinh-Duc (1), Vincent Clerc (1), Lionel Nallett (1), Julien Bonnaire (1), Morgan Parra (1)
  • Conversions – Dimitri Yachvilli (4)

Japan:

• Penalties – James Arlidge (3)
  • Tries – James Arlidge (2)
  • Conversions – James Arlidge (1)

France: 15 Cedric Heymans, 14 Vincent Clerc, 13 Aurelien Rougerie, 12 Fabrice Estebanez, 11 Maxime Médard, 10 Francois Trinh-Duc, 9 Dimitri Yachvili, 8 Raphael Lakafia, 7 Imanol Harinordoquy, 6 Thierry Dusautoir (captain), 5 Lionel Nallet, 4 Julien Pierre, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 William Servat, 1 Fabien Barcella.
Replacements:16  Dimitri Szarzewski, 17 Jean-Baptiste Poux, 18 Julien Bonnaire, 19 Pascal Papé, 20 Morgan Parra, 21 David Skrela, 22 David Marty.

Japan: 15 Shaun Webb, 14 Kosuke Endo, 13 Koji Taira, 12 Ryan Nicholas, 11 Hirotoki Onozawa, 10 James Arlidge, 9 Fumiaki Tanaka, 8 Ryukoliniasi Holani, 7 Michael Leitch, 6 Takashi Kikutani (captain), 5 Toshizumi Kitagawa, 4 Luke Thompson, 3 Kensuke Hatakeyama, 2 Shota Horie, 1 Hisateru Hirashima.
Replacements: 16 Yusuke Aoki, 17 Nozomu Fujita, 18 Hitoshi Ono, 19 Itaru Taniguchi, 20 Atsushi Hiwasa, 21 Murray Williams, 22 Alisi Tupuailai.

Date: Saturday 10 September
Venue: North Harbour Stadium, North Shore (Auckland)
Kick-off: 08.00 SA Time (18.00 NZ Time)
Expected weather: Fine, evening cloud. Freshening northeasterlies. High of  17°C and a low of 11°C
Assistant referees: Alain Rolland (Ireland)), Stuart Terheege (England)
TMO: Giulio De Santis (Italy)

171 Responses to RWC: France vs Japan – Live Game Article

@ Puma:Stupid english up there again….hehe.

Meant = The reason Barritt can’t play for South Africa.

Aaagh bloody no why keep on playing , farking my score up. Hope it comes back and bite you France. Angry Disapproval

French get out of the Bastille, but Japan sooooo brave.

I have picked the ARgies to pip England later today….watch this space.

Full Time. 47-21. What a game!

They mustn’t do the Hari Kiri thing now….someone must tell them quick!!

Final Score: France 47 / 21 Japan

I have to log out now. Must take the flowers etc to the bakkie.

@ 4man:116- I know. But once a player plays for Saxons they can’t play for another country.

Not sure why that is a rule for England. Cause if you play for the Emerging Boks a player can still play for another country. Same rule should apply to England with their Saxons but it don’t somehow.

Puma….he hasn’t played for England yet….only Saxons….so surely he is eligible for SA still? He should be in Tindalls place….Johnson has left a couple of his old mates in and and Tindall because he is now P_rincess Annes skoonseun.

120 @ 4man:
    Flokken lekker, dankie!

118@ 4man:
    Didn’t John Allen play for both Scotland and SA?

The regulations used to be that you could “migrate” to a new country after 3 years, even if you’d played for your country of birth.

John Robbie played for Ireland and represented SA in a “non-official” test if my memory recalls correctly, but the IRB changed the rules in the last 20 years or so.

Ah ok….I think because all the Saxons players are in the England squad automatically and they train together sometimes. Not a bad idea actually.

@ 4man:124 – hehe. I would like that but doubt England will lose to Arg. Well think they won’t.

Superbru honors for this game goes to Kwagga our early leader , Snoek, Ashley and Yoda with a exact margin of 28

yes…John Allan played for both, but I know there was a rule change after that….that Natal tighthead too….Adrian Garvey….Zim and Boks.

At least I kipped for 8 hours though. I have to go and make b/fast later.

124@ 4man:
    The 3rd Falklands war will end the same as the first methinks.

I reckon the English have really done their homework for this world cup.

@ 4man:133 – Also think once players play for our u20 Boks they should only be allowed to play for South Africa. We lost a few that played for our u21 side years back.

I think the ARgies will cause chaos in the early rounds and then get tired and go home.

They are a danger….dont joke about the Falklands….its all about oil you know, they place is surrounded by about 20 billion tons of oil….thats what it was about the first time too. The Britis wont give it up….never and the Yanks will support them.

@ superBul:135 – Super what was pick? Can’t even remember what I had. Can’t get into bru now think it is way too busy.

Are the Rugby Tier 2 countries finally starting to close the gap?

I certainly hope so. Now the IRB and SARU must take the lead in developing Rugby in Africa.

Our Captain who went to Oz and then got injured and disappeared….anybody know the story. I still remember the minister of safety and security was bloody rude to his Grannie.

141@ 4man:
    I didn’t even realise there was oil in the area. Always thought it was just about a group of desolate islands with a few sheep and tea drinking old farmers.

No wonder the English sailed halfway around the world to defend the place. I think the issue still evokes great emotions in certain quarters.

It had to happen….lots of money is going into it. In years to come the Romanians, Samoa, Fiji, Tonga, Italy can only get better and better. SARU couldn’t organise a p*ss up in a brewery! They haven’t even managed to get our development amongst the kids going properly yet. Ridiculous.

@ 4man:144 – Yes Rathebone (spelling) went to play for Brumbies and Oz. Also Vickerman. Think Vickerman played in John Smits u21 side.

Superbru is down again , so i dont remember what you picked, i just know you and everyone else in our pool picked the winner

See Scotland only beat Romania by 10 points. How the heck did we EVER lose to Scotland on the eoyt last year? I have no idea. They are not great. Thought they would beat Romania by far more than that.

Ja…it was a pefect opportunity for Thatcher to get herself elected again and parliament agreed because they know of the reserves. Like the oil of Angola and Namibia now becoming viable with the oil price what it is. Tower Resources on AIM London stock exchange….have a look….its at a few pennies a share at the moment and will go over a £ in about 18 months time. The Britis are keeping Falklands oil in reserve, they have just brought in another huge field in the North Sea. The Yanks too have just exploited another huge field in the Gulf…. BP….in the “Mad Dog” field I think its called.

Total 58 users including 0 member, 58 guests, 0 bot online