Having dodged a Welsh bullet, Springboks coach Peter de Villiers is more convinced than ever about the three ways his team can retain the World Cup.

Watertight defence. Pinpoint goalkicking. And, perhaps the biggest headache, getting inside the respective heads of the referees.

Much like Sunday’s unconvincing 17-16 win over Wales, it won’t be pretty. But, having made 178 tackles (by de Villiers’ count), having fed off 40 per cent of possession and having lost the penalty count 10-5, the coach was as chirpy and upbeat as ever as they eye an unpredictable Fiji in Wellington on Saturday.

“Defence is becoming an art, so the longer this tournament progresses the more people are going to struggle to cross the gain line,” de Villiers said.

“Looking after the ball will become very, very important so you can buy a penalty or two, so that’s why you have to have an above-average kicker.”

Tick the latter box. Morne Steyn kicked all three of his attempts at a swirling Wellington Regional Stadium, a success rate well above the alarming goalkicking count from opening weekend of 63 from 103, a nudge under 60 per cent.

Official stats counted 17 missed Boks tackles against Wales, but they only conceded a solitary try through rampaging No 8 Toby Faletau. De Villiers emptied his bench inside the final quarter and the Boks found a second wind to pip Wales at the post.

“We had a great defensive session (on Sunday). I think we’ll benefit this week. I’m very happy. The structure worked perfectly but the commitment the guys showed was something that brought out the character of the team,” de Villiers said.

A more baffling task is second-guessing the refs. De Villiers backed Wayne Barnes’ controversial decision to deny James Hook’s penalty, but was otherwise confused.

Wales’ “flooding” of the breakdown irked the South Africans and heightened fears the whims of a referee at rugby’s most head-scratching facet could decide a big match.

“You spend hours and hours analysing the strengths and weaknesses of the individuals. What’s worrying is that you have to start analysing the referees too.

“That wasn’t part of the game five or 10 years ago. Now you have to analyse his character, all those small things and try to adapt to his way of doing things.”

There was mixed injury news for the Boks, but not as bad as first feared. Lock Victor Matfield (hamstring) and centre Jean de Villiers (rib cartilage) both require 10 days’ recovery, thereby ruling them out of the Fiji match. Abrasive lock Bakkies Botha (Achilles tendon) was less certain, with team medical staff admitting he hadn’t responded to treatment.

De Villiers was just glad to escape a banana-skin match with victory and no major casualties. As Fiji, Namibia and Samoa loom in the ‘group of death’, the Boks were happy to just have their noses in front as the fight heats up for second place in Pool D.

“They (Wales) threw the kitchen sink at us and for us to withstand that with the injuries we had, was brilliant.

“This pool is the pool to win. When we get through this we will be more conditioned for the next phases. I’m so glad I’m not the Welshmen this morning, thinking they have to face Samoa some time this week.”

– Stuff

18 Responses to De Villiers has recipe for Bok success

This is a article on Rugby Heaven in NZ

Fewer people are laughing now.

The one thing PdV did do well against Wales, and he can’t be criticised for, was hooking Habana off and sending Houggard on. Given the try that was scored to win the match, you would have to say that was an inspired move.

Sometimes these replacements do have an immediate and massive affect on the outcome of the match, and when it happens, you have to give credit where due.

So, well done to Peter, an inspirational replacement and your timing was impeccable..

Flok, yeah right… hahaha… regarding the heading!

The difference between us and Aussie and NZ is that our coach never BUILT a team for the WC.
    He simply took the old team and thought that he could motivate it to perform 4 years later.
    Having made that decision he also could not redesign the playing skills and pattern to compete at 2011 rugby, because he never had the young blood that are much easier to instill change into then veterans.
    Of course he never had the ability to do it any other way and hence the team and playing pattern that we now have at this WC.
    We only have one genuine play maker in Jaque Fourie and compared to the backs of Aussie and NZ that is a problem.
    If a program had been put in place to bring through and develop young backs such as Hougaard at scrum half, Lambie at fly half and others like them then we would be able to play 2011 style rugby and compete with Aussie and NZ, however these players are now second choice and will be used when needed, with far too much pressure placed on them.
    PDV has made his bed and must now lie in it.
    Personally I am devastated to watch Fourie Du Preez back from a long lay off with injury, half the player he was before, and Morne Steyn badly shown up on both attack and defence having to try and do what they obviously cannot do at the WC.
    It is the long term decisions that count against PDV, and short term selections at the WC cannot fix a problem created over 4 years.

We all have our opinions, but we must still support the team, and hope that SA Rugby does not re-appoint PDV if we retain the cup. We need a decent rugby brain.

5 @ Lion4ever:
    That is undoubtably so… support to the hilt!

But they make me sweat man… eishhh

Look, if Snorrie is re-appointed, it will be a bloody crying shame! We need a new coach, fresh ideas and development of a style which is in keeping with the New Rule Interpretations… and above all striving for excellence in EVERY Test! That also naturally implies a new staff of assistants. It needs to be done straight after the RWC, no undue delays!

With Snorrie there, we have no hope of retaining the Title this time round… NONE!

Boys I am fully behind the team!!
    That is exactly why I get so angry, when I see us taking strain against Wales!!

7 @ tight head:
    Same here Tight Head!

I said yesterday I feel The Bokke could be so much more, so much better… No 1… consistently!

Lion4ever wrote:

and hope that SA Rugby does not re-appoint PDV if we retain the cup.
    [Translate]

Lion4ever wrote:

and hope that SA Rugby does not re-appoint PDV if we retain the cup.
    [Translate]

Boet, if PDV retains the cup based on what I have seen, he has given me something I never expected.

Talking of coaches, have you guys seen Allistair coetzee on TV, he fills me with quite a bit of confidence, and if they decide to appoint another non-white coach, I won’t be too unhappy.

I still believe it is important to appoint the best coach for the job, but allistair ain’t half bad.

@ biltongbek:
    I agree.
    Allister is light years ahead of PDV.

tight head wrote:

@ biltongbek:
    I agree.
    Allister is light years ahead of PDV.

[Translate]

Try a few galaxies.

Ja swaer!

At least with Alistair we could look forward to having a scrumming coach like Mathew Proudfoot on the assistant staff…. but I’m fearful that if he is appointed we will still not see much happening in the backline.

May the light shine and may Heyneke Meyer be appointed as head coach, it is 4 years late for that already!

ANYBODY is better than Snorman, Tricky Dickie and Gary Glitter!

Hell, Gert Smal would also be a bright option!

Biltongbek, I don’t expect it either, but the age of miracles has not passed. And we definitely need a miracle to retain the WC, and we did have a miraculous win over Wales.

I am afraid you only get one miracle per world cup. Cry

Good grieve guys are we so dumb, praying for AC , GG , Dim muir to replace PdeV. if Peter pulls this one off we will have him again mark my words. This was a great rollercoaster ride prepare for your second trip. Pondering

17 @ superBul:
    Who wants Gary Gold or Dick Muir to replace Peter Pumpin Eater?

Where did you read it above?

Total 56 users including 0 member, 56 guests, 0 bot online