In relationships we often find ourselves in a situation where we are hanging on to something we know has been over for a quite some time.

Many people are afraid to be alone and will therefor remain in these relationships, clinging on to that last bit of hope, that things might still work out.

In most of these cases it is due to the fact that we fear the unknown. Not being sure whether moving on is the correct decision and whether we will find what we are looking for, finding safety and comfort in what we know and settling for second best.

You may be wondering whether I am starting a relationship advice column, but no this is directly related to the situation in South African rugby.

Although there are many reasons for their poor performance over recent years, one of the main factors could be just that, hanging on for dear life due to the fear of the unknown.

Peter de Villiers and his coaching staff have had an unwavering belief in the Springboks who won the previous World Cup. At the time, the first thing many of us did was work out who would still be young enough to make the squad four years later.

The list was long, as most of them were still in their early twenties.

This was the team that did duty in the World Cup Final in 2007.

15 Percy Montgomery (93)
14 JP Pietersen (14)
13 Jaque Fourie (36)
12 Francois Steyn (15)
11 Bryan Habana (34)

10 Butch James (25)
9 Fourie du Preez (37)
8 Danie Rossouw (30)
7 Juan Smith (40)
6 Schalk Burger (37)
5 Victor Matfield (66)
4 Bakkies Botha (43)
3 CJ van der Linde (46)
2 John Smit (73) (C)
1 Os du Randt (79)

16 Bismarck du Plessis (8)
17 Jannie du Plessis (4)
18 Johann Muller (21)
19 Wikus van Heerden (13)
20 Ruan Pienaar (18)
21 André Pretorius (30)
22 Wynand Olivier (20)

These were the guys that had served South Africa well over the World Cup,and in fact apart from Percy Montgomery, Os du Randt and Wikus van Heerden, the rest of that match day 22 still would be young enough to make most International squads.

There were a number of players who would be border line in age come RWC 2011.

So let’s have a look at who those players were.

Butch James age 32 years, 8 months

In his absence after moving to Bath, following the RWC in 2007, South Africa desperately needed a new 10, Andre Pretorius with an injury riddled career was for obvious reasons not going to be that man. During the 2009 Super 14 season Morné Steyn staked a claim when the Bulls once again won the trophy and the mercurial boot of Morné Steyn was the saviour for South Africa in a three test series against the British and Irish Lions. He then went on to break a number of records for the Springboks in the Tri-Nations of 2009. An injury to Fourie du Preez has coincided with a slump of form and confidence not only at the Springboks, but also at the very successful Bulls franchise. Roll on 2010, and a young Patrick Lambie was making noises in the Currie Cup and due to an inspiring individual performance during the final, staked his claim.

So the potential replacements for Butch James has been noticed, a slightly off form and low of confidence Morné Steyn, and a young exciting short on experience playmaker in Patrick Lambie.

It is unclear to me why Peter de Villiers has decided to bring back Butch James, who has for the past 3 seasons plied his trade in the Northern Hemisphere, when Morné Steyn and Patrick Lambie have shown their willingness to perform.

Danie Russouw age 33 years and 3 months

Danie Rossouw in my opinion has been the work horse of South African and Bulls rugby for many years, unlucky to have been playing in the same era as the duo of Botha and Matfield. Not only a good lineout option, but also a very physical specimen of pure brutal ball carrying ability.

With South Africa having such depth at loose forwards, one might think it is hardly necessary for Danie Rossouw to still be part of the Springbok squad. Even though he has lost a lot of pace, and should no longer be considered as a loose forward because the pace of the modern game, I believe he is a must for the RWC, but as part of the tight five. With the untimely injury to Andries Bekker, there is really no other world class back up for Bakkies Botha and Victor Matfield.

Victor Matfield age 34 years and 3 months and Bakkies Botha age 32

With Bakkies Botha as partner, Victor Matfield has rewritten the record books on so many fronts, it would take a dedicated article just to name them. The quintessential locking pair, World Cup winners, Super Rugby winners, Currie Cup winners, in fact I wonder whether there is anything these two have not achieved. Are they still as dominant as in the period 2007-2009, no, but they are still a better locking pair than most. Andries Bekker to me has been the in form and dynamic lock we would want at this Rugby World Cup, but unfortunately he won’t be there. Currently in SA, I don’t believe there are any better locks that would make a bigger impact on the field as these two.

John Smit age 33 years and 4 months

Although never having won the Super Rugby trophy, John Smit has been an exemplary leader and ambassador for South African rugby since his debut in 2003. It was his leadership that proved vital against the Tongans and Fiji during the last World Cup which ensured calm and collective heads to prevail.

Since the 2007 World Cup, John Smit has moved to France for a short stint, but was recalled by Peter de Villiers to continue his leadership role for the Springboks and the goal at that time was to win the British and Irish Lions series. South Africa are blessed with much depth in the hooker department. Players such as Bismarck du Plessis, Chilliboy Ralapelle, Adriaan Strauss and Gary Botha have all put their hands up to wear the Green and Gold. Bismarck du Plessis seems to be the front runner for some time with Chilliboy next in line. The biggest question regarding John Smit is whether he is still the number one hooker in South Africa. When you go to the basics, lineouts, scrums, leadership, yes most definitely. On defence and carrying ball, he is unfortunately no longer the best, he has lost pace, and the physicality and mobility of Bismarck du Plessis is often touted as being more important. But then again, Bismarck often has discipline issues on the field, and is not the most accurate at line outs. One thing is for sure, John Smit is not an international quality prop, and perhaps that is the reason why many feel his time has come to retire with dignity.

So all in all, there are 5 players that can be questioned on whether they are perhaps past their sell by date.

After reflection it is clear to me that we cannot go into this World Cup without Danie Rossouw, Victor Matfield and Bakkies Botha.

The debate should be fixed around Butch James and John Smit.

Do you want experience, someone who has done it before, great leadership, but all of this comes with a loss of speed and effectiveness?

Or

Are you prepared to go gung ho, with players such as Morné Steyn with an accurate boot and in my opinion reliant on Fourie du Preez, or Patrick Lambie who could be seen as a little maverick, and inexperienced, but yet an exciting playmaker, and do you go for Bismarck who may cost you some penalties, but brings physicality and mobility?

I am sure, if picked in their specialist positions none of these players will let you down, but it is often not the players making the squad that is questioned, but rather those that didn’t and whether we can afford not to have them there.

4 Responses to Selections (part 1) – holding on too long?

Biltong, what did you think of Butch’s performance on Saturday?

For me, if John Smit is not there then there is no captain. Unless Juan takes the armband. Matfield doesn’t impress me as a captain at all.If only the Boks had a prop who could scrum on both sides…………CJ is just plain kak.

I wish that FDP would just pass the ball instead of waving like a fukken clown to the ref at every breakdown.

The problem in the backline was with JDV, crash ball after crash ball…………..WO does that job better.

When it got to the crunch in the second half, he didn’t control the match, Quade Cooper managed to send us back into our territory and as the playmaker, Butch offered nothing to get us in the best positions. In my opinion that is why he is there, and if he couldn’t manage it then, how will he in a knock out match?

I agree…. I’d rather play Lambie at No 10 than Butch and I’d question John Smit’s inclusion a thousand times… would rather have Bismarck, Chiliboy and Adriaan Strauss at the World Cup.

What was John Smit’s captaincy role on Saturday as we lost to the Wallabies? Was it to give a good post match interview…. wait Victor was the one who gave the interview to the TV cameras… Maybe then his aura… because it certainly can’t be his tackling or speed or prop play…. and at hooker he was average at best.

Victor, Bakkies & Daniesaurus I would take to the World Cup, no doubt, but I would employ Danie solely as a lock.

All in all, even considering that Butch and John Smit is there, I feel we cannot fault the selections too much, but rather the preparation, coaching, game plans, creativity in the backline and ABOVE ALL…. attitude, which is a factor the coach MUST DRUM INTO the players!

The bolt is shot for this World Cup though, there is not enough time for an ambulance job, I’m afraid.

What worries me is that we’ve become a Nation satisfied with mediocrity at Springbok level… even the coach is happy that we won except on the scoreboard…

My magtig manne, kry flippen ruggraat eerder as om blindelingse volgelinge te wees… dink uit die box uit… en aanvaar NOOOOOOOOOOOOOIT 2de beste nie!

To be fair, Smit was with the medical team with the arm injury [ or they were still busy trying to take his head out of his arse].

Total 78 users including 0 member, 78 guests, 0 bot online