Can you believe it, it is our birthday here at Rugby-talk!

Rugby-Talk now stands a full 2 years old…. naughty as hell and more fiddly than the average 2-year old.

I think a hearty congratulations is in order!

Thank you, everybody, for your participation in making Rugby-Talk what it is, a friendly Rugby News Forum and wonderful chat site, dedicating itself to South African Rugby!

There are some plans in the offing to rejuvenate Rugby-Talk a bit. First and foremost I need to increase the load speed dramatically. The slow load speed is a direct result of primarily 2 things, namely:

• The size of our Database: With 2 years of Articles ingrained in the site (3737 Articles) and about 2.5 million page impressions – we only officially started counting them from 31 October 2009 and that figure stands at well over 1.88 million page impressions – the Database has reached a size which most web hosts would become uncomfortable with. The database also now already consists of 254 Published Pages, in addition to the amount of Articles.
  • The Web Hosts: We have simply outgrown our Web Host, to be frank, which means we are severely affected when we get busy, with lots of traffic flowing at the same time. To have the site hosted as a web site on it’s own on a dedicated server is prohibitavely expensive, seeing as I fund the whole operation from a private pocket, therefore we are hosted on a server which also carries / hosts a number of other web sites.

The solutions are simple, yet time consuming and we need to do the following:

• Migrate to another Web Host, at some cost and having the effect that we might be off-line for a few hours. This has to be done sooner rather than later and I would foresee me doing this in about 2 weeks from now.
  • Delete some of the Archicves, maybe only having the Archives available since about a year ago. That is also not so simple, with 3737 Articles to list and manually deleting the first lot… with certain exceptions. It is a time intensive excercise.

You might also have noticed that I have taken some content off, for the meanwhile, to help ease the predicament in the meantime. This should be gradually phased back as time is spent streamlining the web site.

Where are the balloons?

Have FUN!

Regards,

grootblousmile

Webmonster

54 Responses to Happy birthday dear Rugby-Talk – happy birthday to YOUUUUUUUU!

It has been a hard slog, but enjoyable.

Congratulations and salutations on achieving two years. I have to say there are a number of contributors here that is doing a marvellous job.

Now, where is the beer/champagne?

2@ biltongbek:
    In the fridge, at your place… we’re all coing over, right NOW!

Has it only been 2 years? It feels much longer than that.

So it is 2 years without any of the crap that we had on Keo…………..
    Thanks GBS and the rest who have given plenty hours of fun on this site.

Not sure why, and might be my connection, but rugby-talk taking ages to load or to refresh. Any….happy birthday Rugby-Talk!!

eish is it 2 years? Great work by all who helped to create this, lets make better and more active, i think this World cup might just be our Rubicon. If we take it again we will soar , we lose it we will be like the Grafsteensangers 😆
    Cheers to RT. i just love this place

Well done GBS. This is one of the better sites around. At leas on this site guys talk rugby and we can disagree without getting personal.
    may Rugby-talk grow from strength to strength

ATTENTION!!

Thanks folks… your hearty congratulations is appreciated.

I sat here in the office last night till about 12:30, properly researching which web host to change to….

Looked at many…. reduced them systematically, did some speed testing, then had a LIVE CHAT with every candidate’s technial personnel…. (most of the web hosts have these Live Chat functions built in).

The good news is, I have decided on one particular Web Host and I have verification and the assurances that they do NOT employ any form of CPU Throttling.

I will also be taking one of the intermediate packages, not one of the smaller ones.

The other nice thing is, with the Web Host that I’ve chosen, we can have various Domains hosted at no extra charge, so it’ll give some scope, should we decide for instance to build extra sites like for instance a Cricket-Talk.com or a Soccer-Talk.com or whatever we fancy.

With a slight upgrade and no interrruption, it might also give us an avenue to do some live Audio Broadcasting of games or for that matter Live video feed….

Who would like their own personal Rugby-Talk E-Mail Address?

We will have as many Mail Addresses as we want…. Rugby-Talk could become your E-Mail provider… at no cost…

For instance, SuperBul could have an E-Mail Address as superBul@rugby-talk.com, Lion4ever could have one as Lion4ever@rugby-talk.com….. or whatever-you-choose@rugby-talk.com

These E-Mail addresses would be fully configurable to be Pop3 Mail Addresses, or via webmail or available on your mobile phone or whatever any other service provider offers…

Sounds good, does’nt it!

So, our speed issues are almost a thing of the past…. I just need to find the time to actually sign on at the new Web Host, then transfer the domain over to this new host (with a few hours downtime for R-T).

… oh and of course pay for a year’s subscription at the new Web Host, out of my own pocket… for your benefit… We also need to renew our Cincopa subscriptions… of about a R 1000.00 bucks a year…

You’re welcome to offer to make a contribution, if you want.

Regards,

GBS

GBS, I will make a donation of R 1000 for you to ease the transfer.

Just email me your bank details and I will transfer for you.

regards

Excellent Idea. I will chuck a couple of hundred bucks in if you want.
    vrystaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat@rugby-talk.com?

Ja boet, you see it is us loskoppe standing together.

10@ biltongbek:
    Magtig Biltonge… that will be appreciated… specially with the Rand / Dollar thing I have to deal with, when doing these flippen overseas transactions.

Listen, I do not want to come accross as making you guys feel guilty and thus solicitating contributions… but if you guys feel the need to help me with the financial expenses, it is certainly appreciated.

I’ve always seen Rugby-Talk as somewhat of a home for it’s community… where we all share the burden…. meaning from a contribution and Author’s perspective.

Here already guys like yourself, SuperBul, McLook, Morné, Loosehead, Snoek, Scrumdown and a few others, have helped me massively.

Even if I do not say so every day, it is indeed appreciated!

11@ Loosehead:

I will reserve vrystaaaaat@rugby-talk.com specifically for you!

Thanks for the offer, I will take it up with pleasure, like I will do with biltongbek’s as well.

Previously our total actual “Out of Pocket” costs only amounted to roughly R 2000.00 per year…. but henceforth it’ll be closer to R 10 000.00 per year, on a Business Package, such as the one I have decided on.

Fact is, it’ll make life easier for all of us….

How do you guys feel about us bringing out some Rugby-Talk Rugby shirts as well…

Something of good quality, maybe in your own Provincial or Springbok preference as far as colour goes, with for instance the Rugby-Talk Logo on the front left side and your team’s logo on the right, with a Player Number (eg 10 or in Loosehead & Biltongbek’s case, a 1… I will have a No 6) on the back…. like a real rugby jersey….

Scrumdown sent me a mail a while ago about a Company which offers that type of thing….

Hell, I’ve got Sources who will brand stuff like USB Flash sticks with Rugby-Talk’s Logo…. or make USB Flash Sticks into Bottle Openers, with the Rugby-Talk Logo on….

There are many examples…. and your opinion in this regard would also be welcome!

Congrats guys – I know how tough it is to keep something like this running – well done!

10@ biltongbek:
    Magtig Biltonge… that will be appreciated… specially with the Rand / Dollar thing I have to deal with, when doing these flippen overseas transactions.
    Listen, I do not want to come accross as making you guys feel guilty and thus solicitating contributions… but if you guys feel the need to help me with the financial expenses, it is certainly appreciated.
    I’ve always seen Rugby-Talk as somewhat of a home for it’s community… where we all share the burden…. meaning from a contribution and Author’s perspective.
    Here already guys like yourself, SuperBul, McLook, Morné, Loosehead, Snoek, Scrumdown and a few others, have helped me massively.
    Even if I do not say so every day, it is indeed appreciated!

[Translate]

GBs, it’s not a problem meneer, It’s not like you are making money with this website, you do it for the love of the game. we all enjoy talking about our sport, and Rugby Talk is one of the few places where you can rag a Blue bull supporter, so to cost me a little money for that benefit, I see no issue.

And don’t worry about me feeling guilty, I rag the bulls for pleasure.

17@ biltongbek:
    Thattttt’s the spirit!

Happy Happy !!!

Great news GBS, i would help my fiend , maybe a small bit but it will be out of my heart.

My UPS does not work lekker, when we have a power flick it does not keep my PC going. Ag nou watse Engels is dit met my. Ek het Sondag kwaai geskrik, die krag het af gegaan en toe verloor ek amper my PC, hy wou nie weer start nie. Het op die ou end hom restore to a previous point en toe vat hy weer.

Hoe kan ek die ding toets , wat kan ek doen, dit ids daardie Mercury Smart1200 Pro Line Interactive UPS wat ek by jou gekoop het. Ek glo hy kan reg gemaak word , dit is n goeie UPS.

Hi All

Sorry for being so quiet lately, things have been a bit chaotic. Well done GBS and crew on making this last 2 years and counting, its amazing how you find time to keep the site going.

Am glad Lambie is starting at 15 this weekend. It has been well documented how much I rate Frans Steyn but until he loses 10 kg’s, gets a hair cut and an attitude adjustment I don’t want to see him near the Bok team.

Well done Rugby Talk and thnaks for not allowing the trolls in here gbs. Much appreciated.

Now please Gbs, for next year can we have a site that works faster?….hehehe. With posters numbers we answer too as well. Thanks… 🙂 Other than that job well done.

2 years have gone by in a flash.

@ Puma:ag, another typo. meant = thanks.

@ Puma:22
    read comment 8

comment number 9, nine

@ superBul:26 – Missed it Super. Just read it now.

Good news that. This site right now is way, way too slow and plent of the times I can’t even get onto it. So yeah, good that gbs is working on it.

Anyhow out of here now. Back tomorrow or later.

@ Puma: plent = plenty

27@ Puma:
    Old Oerwoudkat… maybe we should just build an Edit Button into your Comment’s section…. hehehe

I said the other day, maybe you have “Old Omie, Thick Fingers”….. hehehe

Don’t worry, the speed will be sorted soon!

soos n regte super hero het rugby-talk reg om die wereld gevlieg.well done gbs en superbull dit is graet

Dankie vir die 2 jaar, dinge het mooi geloop, hier en daar ‘n WP en Shark wat hom nie gedra het nie, maar die Bulle hier het opgemaak daarvoor. 😀

Total 76 users including 0 member, 76 guests, 0 bot online