The most annoying aspect about this match was that Australia scored almost all their tries off mistakes made by South Africa. I’ll have to watch the match again but I can’t recall Australia actually scoring a try off set piece (lineout, scrum or even consecutive rucks).

Apart from our lineout which was only reasonable because we mauled the ball up twice –by the way that was the only time I saw Stegmann with ball in hand (truck and trailer behind the maul), was he even on the field- and our scrum which was at best average. We were just about ordinary in everything else we did.

Our four main problems: Firstly losing the ball within 3 recycles almost every time we tried to run with the ball,  secondly not taking the ball up at speed and therefore unable to breach the defensive line, thirdly poor defence especially around the fringes and in the backline, lastly being too predictable and one dimensional on attack. 

Losing the ball as we go into contact.

Damn, how hard is it to rectify this, for how much longer before this disease of South African rugby gets cured? How many more Test matches are we going to lose because of this annoying inability to hang onto the ball?

Most of Australia’s tries came from counter attacks after we spilled the ball going into contact. There is absolutely nothing that irritates me more than this, in fact I got so annoyed by it that I started to cheer the Aussies on to score more tries. That is how annoyed I got with this super, super, super crappy performance.

Not taking the ball up at speed – unable to breach the advantage line

The major difference between the Australians and the Springboks was in the way they constantly hit the advantage line with speed. This is Peter de Villiers’ main coaching problem and the reason why the Springboks performed so poorly in last year’s Tri-Nations competition. Peter please read here and wake-up: THE FLAT STANDING PODS, RECIVING THE BALL STANDING, STILL DOES NOT WORK!!!

The Springboks got smashed back at the advantage line like I predicted, mostly because they almost never took the ball up at speed. This problem started because they were pushed back at the rucks and couldn’t establish front foot ball at the scrums.

Deysel was the only Springbok to take the ball up at speed but he was a lone ranger and there was nobody to help him.

Defence

I wrote in a comment, before the match, that I see our loosies as a problem, one being to small, the second being too slow and the third playing to loose. Our defence around the fringes was non-existent and both Genia and Cooper had field days. The second Australian try came from a break around the fringes because Danie Rossouw was too slow. The Australians constantly created front-foot ball by hitting the ball and defensive line with speed and the Springboks were never able to smash them back in the tackle because Johnson (while he was on the field) was hanging far too loose. Stegmann got forced back in the tackle on the rare occasions that I actually did see him make a tackle and Danie Rossouw, being too slow to get to the collision areas, played his best rugby when he moved back to the lock position. It is no co-incidence that the Springboks scored two tries after Deysel came on the field. Deysel took the ball at speed over the line – not massively effective, I need to add – but at least he tried.

Springbok defence out wide was just poor and the first try was caused by a missed Juan de Jongh tackle. It is my opinion that De Jongh is the most over-rated rugby player in world rugby. His decision making is poor, he can’t pass a ball, he can run only straight into tackles and defensively he is only reasonable at best.

Did anybody see a Springbok forcing a Wallaby back in the tackle? Well I didn’t and I was constantly on the look-out for someone to step-up and start dominitating at the collision areas. The statistics program I consulted indicate that Stegmann made 11 tackles which might be right but I can’t recall him making any impact with his tackles, like for instance forcing the ball carrier back.

The Springboks lost this match because they didn’t dominate at the tackle area/breakdowns. This is rule No 1 of the modern game, it is the key to the All Blacks success and until they get this right they will not win important Test matches. To get this right you need to select players that can do it and work at it. You get rewarded in life for those things you put your attention on. Untill Peter de Villiers and his cronies starts to put attention on the collision area/breakdowns as part of their preparation and team selection, the Springboks will not win important Test matches.

Too predictable and one-dimensional on attack 

The first time the ball went through the hands to the wing –that I can remember- was after Lambie got on the field. De Jongh, Olivier and Jacobs –who looked well rounded like a well fed ‘slagskaap’- just can’t pass a ball.

The ball never got past the centers mostly because, firstly they never got front foot ball, secondly they never used decoy runners, thirdly, none of the centers on the field could actually pass a ball (yes the last one is a little sarcastic but so far this season -and previous seasons for that matter- I have yet to see evidence that Olivier and De Jongh can actually distibute a rugbyball).

After Lambie came on the Springboks started to see some decoy runners and the ball started moving through the hands to the wings with the centres sitting deeper but their passing was still agonisingly slow and ineffective and poorly executed.

The constant use of the flat lying pods was epidemic and stopped us from creating front foot ball. The problem here was Stegmann being too small and slow to take the ball-up and hit the advantage line with impact, Rossouw being too slow and Johnson going lateral whenever he received the ball. Deysel made some difference but that was too late in the game.

What we need is less fancy stuff –in this regard Pienaar’s useless little back flips- and get the basics right.

It didn’t feel like a Springbok team for me and they certainly didn’t play like one. The only players I thought which performed to the level a Springbok should was Chillyboy Ralepelle and Jean Deysel. The ‘fearsome’ new props made no inroads at either the scrums or the rucks and our locks were mostly missing in action at the rucks (not considering Danie Rossouw as a lock because he started on No 7 but he did try hard and show up every now and again at the rucks).

Lambie made a massive difference when he came on and would be a factor behind a pack which gives him front foot ball.

The positive is that the Australians won not because they were so good but because the Springboks were so useless. I don’t think they scored any try off set piece while the Springboks actually had stages where they were trying to run with the ball. In fact the first try came somewhat against the run of play after the Bokke spilled the ball, going into contact.

If the Springboks select the right combinations and loosies that can make an impact and start to hit the ball with speed -as we take it up- we might play some better rugby.

Even so, I predict a black, black, black night against the All Blacks.

67 Responses to Pathetic Bokke !!!!

I’m not going to focus on the arguments between McLook and Die Blou Kuberruim Kokkedoor… I’m rather going to give my own opinion.

Everything I feared the Bokke would not do wrong, they did!

We were solidly beaten at the breakdowns, even in the lineouts and the Wallabies even had more than parity at scrumtime. The Bokke did not do the basics well, not at all.

Losing ball in contact and making the silliest of errors was the order of the day for the Bokke.

Morné Steyn had a mare, Lambie was definately better when he came on… sorry Morné, but I have to be honest in my assessment.

Ruan Pienaar’s play was sub-standard, and a typical example of how Ex-Saffa Northern Hemisphere players regress and are then dressed up to be stars. I certainly hope Hougie is ready to take his place at scrummie.

Wynand Olivier, sorry boet…. end of the Springbok road looms for you.

John Smit, retire now, while you are still remembered as a great player and captain…. no tackling, no impetus, no leadership, bad lineout throwing… you name it. And you’re a mediocre prop my dear man.

Flip tried his best, Hargreaves was absolutely freegin nowhere and does not belong near the Bokke setup.

I thought Ashley Johnson defended well and was one of those who played his heart out… him, Jean Deysel, Chiliboy and Lambie.

Gio Aplon had a shocking first half, did way better in the second half, when Lambie provided the impetus on attack.

Average players on the day… Danie Rossouw, Deon Stegmann, Juan de Jongh, Bjorn Basson, Lwazi Mvovo.
    Kak players on the day… John Smit, Hargreaves, Ruan Pienaar, Morné Steyn, Wynand Olivier & Gio Aplon.

How would MY Bok team look like for this coming weekend….

15. Bjorn Basson
    14. Gio Aplon
    13. Juan de Jongh
    12. Wynand Olivier (only because there is no other No 12)
    11. Lwazi Mvovo
    10. Patrick Lambie
    9. Francois Hougaard
    8. Ashley Johnson
    7. Jean Deysel
    6. Heinrich Brussow
    5. Flip van der Merwe
    4. Danie Rossouw
    3. Werner Kruger
    2. Chiliboy Ralepelle
    1. Dean Greyling

CJ van der Linde on the bench and not starting because he covers both sides of the scrum
    Adriaan Strauss
    Lock: ???
    Kankowski
    Charl McLeod
    Morné Steyn
    Odwa Ndungane

… and even with these okes playing well… the Bokke will lose…

Sjoe, ‘n man noem nettie naam Steggies en siedaar Die Blou Kubusverkoper verkyn soos ‘n haas uite hoed!

Ten einde middle ground oor hierie kontroversiele speler te bewerstellig, stel ek voor ons skep ‘n nuwe posisie vi Steggies naamlik droogskoonmaker; party keer maak hy skoon en party keer maak hy droog ….

Pocock is the man looked upon by the Test selectors as the next Wallabies captain. Don’t be surprised if his second-in-charge is Genia, who again showed with his man-of-the-match performance that he is the best halfback running around in international rugby.

His poise is extraordinary, his ability to get the ball out of the most confusing of breakdowns is exceptional. His performance reinforced the fact that, as with Nick Farr-Jones in 1991 and George Gregan in 1999, having a standout No.9 gives Australia hope of doing something substantial at the World Cup.

Against South Africa, the Wallabies were right in their stride. The game plan was clear: Go wide. Be expansive. Work at full pace. Trust your luck. Let Cooper, Genia, O’Connor and Digby Ioane, do exactly what they want. Most importantly, get the basics right. Make every tackle count.

Within 10 minutes, the Wallabies were 12 points ahead. Despite some blemishes late in the Test, they remained in control all night. The crowd was enthralled by the razzle-dazzle of Cooper, but even more important was the toil executed by the workers.

61@ grootblousmile:
    Just read your post after making some observation on the “lock crisis” thread.

Another disappointment for me thus far has been Basson. It’s almost as if he doesn’t have the confidence to trust HIS unique qualities and playing style.

Of course it can be that Tricky Dicky has told him to curb his enthusiasm and stick strictly to the structures.

If the Wallabies did that they (stick strictly to structures) they’d be super k@k, sometimes individual flair and unorthodox attitude is needed. It can’t be planned against.

That’s why the Boks struggle against the likes of Genia and Surfer Dude. They don’t do what Tricky Dicky (and most SAFFA coaches) would coach, and our players are incapable of adapting at the drop of a hat.

The Bokke played really badly. It looked like a mid table VC side would give them a run for their money. In my opinion the biggest problem at the moment in the Springbok camp sits at management level. Snorre has no clue, and Gold Muir have even less. I mean what happened to the input Nienaber was supposed to have given re defence?

@ Lion4ever:
    Die Blou Kuberruim Wandelaar

July 24th, 2011 at 3:12 AM
    SuperBul, hier is my siening op antwoord van die vorige draad waar jy geskryf het:

“Anybody wants to comment on this statement by another blogger.

‘I think the Bok’s little crash course with Jacque Niebenaber (the defence coach) was such a waste of time. It shows. Defence is a habit, it’s a culture. They might have done more harm than good to expose the players from different backgrounds to one system they had to rigidly adhere to.

Players were running around like they didn’t know what to expect from one another. (on attack or defence)’.”

Jawat, heeltemal reg.
    Dis die Stormers se verdedigings afrigter, Mnr. Nienaber. Hy was net by die Bokke vir twee weke, nou wat wil hy bereik met manne wat van verskillende unies af kom waar verskillende verdedigingstrukture daagliks in hulle in gedril word?

Dis ‘n gemors, want nou sal die helfte van die laaities probeer daarby hou met die vrees die Bokafrigters hulle streng dophou om seker te maak hulle hou by die instruksie wat hulle by die Bokke ontvang en hulle kanse op nog geleenthede verder vorentoe. Wat n gemors.
    Jy kon sien hoe meganies ons verdediging was. Hulle was net georganiseer vanaf n afskop soos stapsoldaatjies, van gebroke veld af was hulle nêrens, dit het sowaar gelyk of hulle eerder mekaar en die “regte” linies probeer vind as op die opposisie te fokus. En dit smaak my is ‘n span wat die stres ondervind van noudat hulle deurmekaar gemaak is met n nuwe verdedigingstelsel.

Jy kon sien hoe Stegman en Kruger op en af hol om eers tussen die senters te staan en dan weer in te skakel met die heelagter vir n moontlike teenaanval, maar so na as moontlik aan die eeste paar fases moes hulle ook nog wees. Jy kon sien hoe moeg hulle was van gedurig dwars oor die veld hol. Vir wat? Jy haal die speler effektief uit die spel uit, want telkens is hulle buite posisie betrap, en dan omdat ons so maklik aangeslaan het, moes hul onmiddellik omswaai om hok te slaan op die aanvallende springrotte wat deur die middeveld so maklik kon gly. En dan wanneer ons omkeerbesit geniet het, bly hulle net daar staan en word ons van ons eie bal afgedryf, want hulle dink mos soos die Stormers gaan hulle een-een die losskrum verstewig asof hulle oombliklik gaan recycle en wyd stuur. My donner, ons was seker 5 keer so omgedop, en Pienaar is 2 keer met die bal betrap agter die lyn.

Die agterlyn het soos die Lions gespeel wat Muir onlangs afgerig het, m.a.w. soos spelers wat glad nie afgerig word. En Muir is die Springbokke se agterlynafrigter. Pienaar besluit sommer om te skippass net vir die gerief daarvan, net vir afwisseling jy weet. Nie omdat ons dringend spasie oopgehad het aan die buitekant nie, en dan het die vories mos doelloos hulself langs die skakelpaar ingewikkel want hulle word misgekyk, plaas daarvan om die opposisie vories aan die raai te hou met hulle teenwoordigheid voorlangs. Totaal naief om so n telegram uit te stuur.

Ek dog Smit is hierdie moerse kaptein. Hy moes sy voet na 20 minute al dwarsgesit het. Dankie die Vader dat Chiliboy opgekom het. Eers na 60 minute se geploeter het hulle besluit om die ondersteunede vories naby te hou. Kyk hoe goed was ons dryfgemale gewees wanneer ons dit aangedurf het. Ons het veld en strafskoppe so gewen. Regte bliksemse Blou Bul rugby. Nou hoekom voeter hulle die middeveld in een-een teen 2 or 3 verdegigers vas wat vir hulle staan en wag? Hoekom moes die vaste 5 sorg vir spasie aan die een kant van die veld sodat die onnosele agterlyn die kans kon had om dit te doen? En dan wissel hulle dit net van een kantlyn na die ander soos klokslag. Liewe Hemel.

Ek weet verseker die laaities wou nie so speel nie, jy kon die frustrasie op hul moe gesigte sien. Dis nou jammer elke coach dink hy die beste en nuutste antwoord op elke raaisel.

——————————————————————————–

Total 51 users including 0 member, 51 guests, 0 bot online