Crusaders (13) 36 / Sharks (5) 8 (Final Score)

The Crusaders hosted the Sharks at Travalgar Park, Nelson at 09:35 SA Time. This was the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, SHD & M-Net on TV in SA.

This was the last of the two play-off matches to decide who will be in the semi-finals. No 3 on the Combined Log (Crusaders) at home against No 6 on the Combined Log (Sharks).

With a little bit of help from a poor performance by Bryce Lawrence as well as some poor Sharks handling, the Crusaders eased into the semi-finals.

The Crusaders now travel to Newlands, Cape Town, South Africa to meet the Stormers in the one semi-final whereas the Blues travel to Queensland, Australia to meet the Reds in the other semi-final.

Crusaders: 5 Penalties & 2 Conversions Dan Carter, 1 Conversion Matt Berquist, 1 Try Sonny Bill Williams, 1 Try Kieran Read, 1 Try Ben Franks

Sharks: 1 Penalty Patrick Lambie, 1 Try Willem Alberts

Crusaders: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read, (captain), 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Jonathan Poff, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Matt Berquist, 22 Ryan Crotty/Brent Ward.

Sharks: 15 Pat Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Gerhard Mostert, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 John Smit, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 Louis Ludik.

Date: Saturday, June 25
Venue: Trafalgar Park, Nelson
Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT)
Expected weather: Mainly fine, odd shower possible. Southerly breezes. High 12°C, low 2°C
Referee: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Keith Brown (New Zealand), Vinny Munro (New Zealand)
TMO: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)

108 Responses to Super Rugby: Crusaders vs Sharks – Game Thread

games like these leave a bitter taste in the mouth. When you have such obvious refereeing bias and such blatant player favouritism, there is no will or desire to play a decent game. All I can say is shame, Shame, shame!
    Hope the Stompies totally anihilate the Saders next week.

At least get a try Sharks, dammit man… my Bru now needs it

Barney is on… his 1st lineout goes to the Saders…

Saders try??

MUST be ruled as held up… inconclusive… scrum 5

Pffffrrrttttttttttt

Eishhhhhhhhh… a Sharks knock… McLeod

18 points deficit… 14 minutes to play

Far too many Sharks handling errors in this game.. resolute Saders defence

Terrible, terrible Adi Jacobs pass… and the Saders almost scores.

What did I say about Adi & John Smit this week…. guess I’m right after all… not so?

7m scrum for the Saders

Final whistle can’t come soon enough for the Sharks. Just please put them out of their misery. Tho’ sharks scrum is better with Smit…

Robbie Fleck your wish is granted the Crusaders will play you next week in CT. Sorry Sharks , not today.

Penalty Saders, from a Sharks scrum…. very close to the Sharks line… Carter going for posts

21 points difference…. that is it…

The Fat Lady is bellowing loudly.

4 min left

Disappointing match. The Sharks were competitive in the first 20 mins but with the ref blatantly against them they lost cohesion. Saders, who never needed the ref’s help in the first place, wrapped them up quite easily afterwards.

Final Score: Crusaders 36 / 8 Sharks

Now the other half of our Bok team can rest for the WC. Sorry Sharkies the dam wall broke after that intercept try by the Saders. Nice try though.

… and then there were only 4!

Congrats Crusaders, commiserations Sharks!

Saders are a great team. They don’t need a ref’s assistance to beat anyone, but with the ref, they are unbeatable. Smit is a better scrummaging hooker than Bissie. Maybe he should start the first 40 mins for Boks and then let a fresh Bissie loose. Lambie is a great talent but there is simply no way we can replace Morne’s boot. A kicker of his class is simply non-negotiable. At least our Boks in Sharks and Bulls can rest now and it’s up to the Stompies to carry the flag forward.

Heyyyyyyyyy, I’m up to 8th on Bru… hehe

Only 3 games left in Super Rugby 2011

84@ The_Young_Turk:
    I’d play Adriaan Strauss any day for the Bokke… good scrummager and excellent thrower into the lineouts… all over the park as well.

I’d still play Bissie to start though, actually the whole Sharks front row, just with strong locks behind them in Matfield and Bakkies… and Danie Rossouw as a sub

Of course, that’s what we would like! But I’m stating what PdV has already chosen! Smit is the chosen Bok captain. There is no use wishing it away. Although with stronger locks, the Bok scrum may be a bit better, you are only talking about Bakkies or Danie. Victor is not a great scrummager. So it’s mainly up to the front row.

87@ The_Young_Turk:
    Yip, Snorrie has chosen… and unfortunately it’s the way it’s going to be!

There is nothing wrong with Victor’s scrummaging…. is there a reason why you would suggest he is not a good scrummaging lock… or is it a thumb suck?

Vic has never failed the Bokke or the Bulls in a strong scrummaging format and unit!

Scrummaging is about technique, about the bind with your fellow lock partner and your front row… about sinergy and hitting at the right angles, simultaneously…

No, not picking on Vic. You said strong lock will make the front row better. I’m just saying we have only one extra strong scrummaging lock in bakkies, so the locks won’t make a sufficiently big difference. It’s still going to come down mainly to the front row. Here Beast tends to blow hot and cold – maybe Gurthrow would be better. Smit has always been a strong scrumming hooker. That’s all he has left now and I am trying to figure out how to best use him as that’s the hand we’ve been dealt and you can only play the cards in your hand 😉 Maybe the best for the Boks is if he gets injured and can’t make the WC.

89@ The_Young_Turk:
    Despite the fact that I think John Smit should not have made the World Cup group… and that should have taken effect a season ago already (too late now), I would never wish injury to him or another player or an opposition player.

Total 55 users including 0 member, 55 guests, 0 bot online