Sitting and watching this match today under calmer circumstances, one sees so much more in how the match went and how the players responded to the situation.

But let Start off by saying to the Bulls and their supporters ,”HARD LUCK” and thank you for a fantastic match! I know some will try come with blaming the referee, some will blame the players, some will blame whomever they can think of, but that would be the heartache speaking. What I would say to you however is think back and think of what a brilliant team you have had over the past few years. Remember the players in what they have achieved for the Bulls and of course for the Springboks.

I think very few can also comprehend what the Sharks achieved on Saturday, as it is a known fact that when the Bulls have their backs to the wall they are surely one of the most dangerous teams on earth, that alone speaks volumes and then there is the Bulls and their hunger when they play the BIG matches, very few understand what it is to win or even play at Loftus in front of their home fans.

Losing players of the stature of Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Fourie du Preez, Gurthro Steenkamp, Gary Botha & Danie Rossouw will surely hurt them badly as they are all players of the highest quality, but I am sure the pride and passion of Bulls rugby will bring through a new crop of super stars.

No one should be blamed, but rather complimented on playing a fantastic match and that the best side won on the day! This is where I take my hat off again to a young man like Patrick Lambie, who when asked about the person and the Laser said “I kicked poorly”, thus putting the blame on his own shoulders.

I rate the Sharks very highly on the day, but I rate them high as they beat a team who played their hearts out , never gave up, showed their class. To my Sharks – WELL DONE to a brilliant effort. I spoke in the week of many things the Sharks would have to do to be able to match the Bulls, they did all that and more , SO VERY PROUD RIGHT NOW.

RATINGS:

15 Patrick Lambie (9,0) – MOM at 15 and last week at 10 ( this kid is something very special)
14 JP Pietersen (9,0) – Welcome back JP what a brilliant performance, BEST WING IN SA
13 Stefan Terblanche (7,5) – Oupa stood up and showed that there is still life in him
12 Meyer Bosman (7,5) – Last 2 matches has seen him returning to form , keep going
11 Lwazi Mvovo (8,0) – This young man is just getting better and better, defense has also picked up
10 Frederic Michalak (8,5) – Small man with huge heart, was always in control of what happened around him
09 Charl McLeod (8,0) – Still a bit slow now and then but much much better
08 Ryan Kankowski (8,0) – Very steady and defended like a Trojan
07 Jean Deysel (8,0) – Was huge in defense and in hitting the rucks, was one of the reasons the Sharks pack took control
06 Keegan Daniel (8,5) – Small man yes but how big is his heart? he was all over the place and enough said
05 Alistair Hargreaves (8,0) – Also played his heart out and did well against the more illustrious Bulls locks
04 Gerhard Mostert (9,0) – A giant has arisen, wow how good was this man yesterday? Now this is the man we knew was capable of great play
03 Jannie du Plessis (8,0) – He played a damn fine game considering he had been injured for the past 3 weeks,hard to judge him on the 2 scrum time penalties as there was a bit of illegal scrumming from both props
02 Bismarck du Plessis (9,0) – Now this is the Bissy we know, absolutely huge and played with massive passion, and line outs were much better
01 Tendai Mtawarira (8,5) – Stood strong , killed his Bulls counterpart and ran around the field defending as though his life depended on it

16 John Smit – Did not play long enough to be rated
17 Wiehahn Herbst (8.0) – Played around 20 min and stood strong, can only get better
18 Ross Skeate – Hard to judge as he spent very little time on the field
19 Willem Alberts (8,0) – Came on for the 2nd half and carried on where Deysel left off
20 Eduard Coetzee – Also hard to judge as he spent about 9 min on the field but was very visible as he defended and hit rucks
21 Louis Ludik – Also to little time to judge, but played his part
22 Adrian Jacobs – Also to little time but in the short time he played his part

I know some will say I am being too generous , but hey my Sharks did me proud.

As for Man of the Match? I felt it could have gone to any one of Patrick Lambie, Gerhard Mostert, JP Pietersen or Bismarck du Plessis.

19 Responses to How I rate my Sharks against a FOE so great

Superb article brudda. This article makes me proud to be a Sharks Supporter. Well written bro. Agree totally.

Great complement to the Bulls team too. They have made us proud the last few years. Set a bench mark for all saffa teams. To come out and beat such a great team in such a great game makes me proud of our team. Cause not only did we beat them but it could have gone either way. It was a brilliant game from both sides, never giving a inch.

The only downside was that idiot supporter with the green laser. Really hope they get him and fine him and never allow him back to Loftus for any of games.

John did play saw him near the end. For how long not too sure. But he was there near the end.

For the game it self it was great for saffa rugby. One of the best this S15.

lol bro for real?? i better change it then , i truely didnt even see him and i watched the match twice 😯

@ sharky_forever:2 – I only saw him when watching the game today. He was on near the end. Also thought Adi never came on but he was on too for a short time.

Remember when I watch from home I blog and don’t blog from my laptop. Come quick to my office post something and get back tot the tv. So miss a few min. But watch it the next day cause I record it. So also thought he never played but did see him when I watched it again. Must have only been on a for a short time.

How i rate Puma
    Lojalty 10
    Superbru Performance this week 10+

You made a major leap in Superbru Pums, how many posistions did you jump?
    Massive points haul for you, 13
    Best of our Pools top 3 is 8.3 points to BB, impresive.

When do you come back down to Earth? :LOL:

Yellow Cap Winners

Each round, the player with the top score in the pool gets to wear a yellow cap until the end of the next round!
    Round 1 B-B-B 8 points
    Round 2 ashley 8 points
    Round 3 Floubul1 7.5 points
    Round 4 IndestructiBULL 7.5 points
    Round 5 Jade 6.5 points
    Round 6 ps in CT 12 points
    Round 7 carol 11.5 points
    Round 8 Pokkel 10 points
    Round 9 Floubul1 8.333 points
    Round 10 KingPaul 8 points
    Round 11 Pappie 8.5 points
    Round 12 Brad′s Banana Boys 11 points
    Round 13 superBul 7 points
    Round 14 Koos 6.5 points
    Round 15 Puma 8 points
    Round 16 ashley 7.75 points
    Round 17 IndestructiBULL 7.75 points
    Round 18 Puma 13 points

Well done Sharks! I must admit I didn’t see that one coming.

Finally the Sharks got some of their passion back. Outstanding game. I hate to single out certain player because they all played well but the following players take a bow.

Mostert was huge!
    Lambie brilliant doesn’t matter where he plays.
    Bosman tackled like a man possessed
    JP Pieterson made Basson his biiiaaaathhhh.

But allover a great performance.

And I have to add the Bulls played some great rugby too to make this one of the games of the SupeRugby season so far.

Is there any chance that the Sharks bring back Frans Steyn? and maybe even Ruan Pienaar?

How about this one to get excited about?

(15)Lambie (14)JPP (13)Marius Joubert (12)Frans Steyn (11)Mvovo (10)Pienaar (9) McCloud.

Can you spell “Oodles of Talent”

Anyway, the last 3-4 weeks of SupeRugby has brought me a lot of hope for the Boks this year. I wont go into the stormers/Cheetahs game, this is not the place. So to the Sharks, well, they did exactly what they needed to do! The Forwrds were rough and the backs were creative. Just as they were supposed to have been the whole year. I Seriously hope they can carry this form over to next weekend and revenge the loss to the Saders.
    Bulls, well, winning 7 from 7 was always going to be tough, and in reality they should never have lost against the Force and Higlanders.

Anyways guys, for next weekend I will be dusting off my old all-black Stormers jersey in support of the Tjarkies. Cmon, choke those Saders!

greenpoint @ 7
    agree .. most of the guys that have been written off at the start of the superrugby season are currently in some fine form!! the nzlanders, after dominating the opening rounds of the season, seem to be running out of steam!! hope the sharks can beat them (the crusaders) this weekend and
    1. thus ensure that we will definately have a side in the finals
    2. take away any chance that the nzlanders may still gain a bit of momentum out of the last part of the superrugby season!!
    on the bulls/sharks game: must be the best game of the season thus far!! just a shame that
    1. one of these sides lost out on a play-offs place
    2. that some idiot (doesnt matter which side he supported) with a laser managed to now be the talking point about that game, while the quality of the game have now been shifted to the background!!

i just hope that other idiots dont follow the example set by this one idiot … hope they catch him and make an example of him, otherwise this may just be something that will start occuring more often!!

Sharky-Fornever….

Have a look at your Article on the Home page and tell me how it differs from the rest…

If I have to correct SPELLING AS WELL AS the whole format of every Article, then I could just as well have written the damn thing myself! I’ve now corrected the spelling, something which could have been avoided by a simple read-through before hastily bliksemming the Publish Button!

Check where we place pictures and at what size… It should go before the FIRST CHARACTER OF THE ARTICLE, Left, Thumbnail Size… not After the first sentence, and not as large as life so that one can see every teenage pimple and blemish.

Julle gee my werk, eerder as om dit juis makliker te maak, flok!

@ superBul:3 & 4…hehehe. Thanks boeta.

Think I need to go on another holiday…hehe. Put my picks in before I went away. Not easy putting in 5 weeks picks ahead. Somehow that is where I climbed slowly up the ladder, but this week went made a huge climb…..hahaha. How many of you trusted my Sharks to win hey????? I did and they delivered. The reason I probably finally got into the top 10. NOT for long though cause I am rubbish at this prediction game. So now that I have to think about it will probably drop back down again…hahaha.

For now will enjoy wearing my yellow cap…. 🙂

Catch ya all tomorrow.

Go Sharks………lol.

@ grootblousmile:10 – Ag gbs,

Stop getting so serious boeta it is only a article. Lambie needs more than a Thumnail size photo….hahaha. SL was correct putting the big pic up of our young Shark hero…lol.

@ Puma:meant – thumbnail.

BTW gbs, That was a superb article by SL. Why not give some credit where it is due boeta?

Catch up tomorrow when you okes are awake.

Rudi daai tyd van die maan???

Actually I did do a spell check, so not sure if my virsion of wordpress is different to your, , and no I did not edit to photo to a smaller size, purely a time issue,

however if my stuff is a problem , maybe i should just blog instead,

chat later ciao

thanks boet appreciate , but reckon im stop trying to do articles , more of a hinderence, go back to just bloggin with the little time i get

hey sharky
    why do you have such a boring picture with your article? come-on you’ve set the standard … SO KEEP TO IT!! 😀

@ Ashley:

LOL nope mate just not enough time ,imma stick to bloggin now

but i know ur screaming for the girly pics 😆

15@ sharky_forever:
    No need to stop with the Articles… all I ask is that you guys make things easy for us all… I physically do not have the time to correct everywhere.

Was a good Article and you gave credit where due as well… that alone is quite rare!

sharky @ 17
    i wont say that i’m “screaming for the girly pics”, as you’ve put it … uhm, its more like i’m expressing my dissatisfaction LOUDLY!!

Total 35 users including 0 member, 35 guests, 0 bot online