The game sees the return of Brok Harris, Ricky Januarie, Peter Grant and Brian Habana to the run-on 15.

Dewalt Duvenhage and Lionel Cronje have been dropped to the bench. Injuries to CJ Van Der Linde and Nick Koster result in Steven Kitshoff and Anton Van Zyl moving up to the bench. The impressive Johann Sadie drops out of the squad altogether.

1. Wicus Blaauw
2. Deon Fourie
3. Brok Harris
4. Rynhardt Elstadt
5. Andries Bekker
6. Schalk Burger (C)
7. Francois Louw
8. Duane Vermeulen
9. Ricky Januarie
10. Peter Grant
11. Bryan Habana
12. Jean De Villiers
13. Jaque Fourie
14. Gio Aplon
15. Conrad Jantjes

Reserves:
Tiaan Liebenberg, Steven Kitshoff, De Kock Steenkamp, Anton Van Zyl, Dewaldt Duvenage, Lionel Cronje, Juan De Jongh

22 Responses to Stormers team for Chiefs clash

Does this mean that when Ruan Pienaar joins the Stormers Duvenhage will drop out of the 22?

Ricky Januarie, ROTFLMFAO!

Lyk my hierdie blog raak nou anti-Bul, die span is al laaaaaaaankal uit en ons het nog niks gelees nie. 😀

Hier is die span:

Team: Zane Kirchner, Gerhard van den Heever, Stephan Dippenaar, Wynand Olivier, Bjorn Basson, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez (captain), Pierre Spies, Dewald Potgieter, Deon Stegmann, Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha, Werner Kruger, Gary Botha, Dean Greyling. Replacements: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Rossouw de Klerk, Flip van der Merwe, Victor Matfield, Francois Brummer, Francois Hougaard, Derick Kuun.

Al ‘click’ hierdie span van nou af, gaan dit baie moeilik wees om die semi’s te haal, wat nog in die finaal te kom, na die swak begin van die seisoen.

Wat die langtermyn betref, is ek egter optimisties dat hierdie span steeds nog baie kompeterend gaan wees volgende jaar, al verlaat ‘n paar groot staatmakers die Bulle kamp.

As ‘n mens hierdie beginspan vat, dan is daar 11 ouens wat bly, met Hougaard wat by FDP oorneem, Flip en Juandre wat by Vic en Bakkies oorneem, en Chili wat vir Gary gaan vervang.

Die probleem volgende jaar gaan diepte wees, ‘n mens sal moet sien watter aankopies gedoen word om daardie diepte aan te vul, want met al die geld beskikbaar na Gary, Guthro, Vic, Bakkies, Danie en FDP weg is, kan ‘n mens seker ‘n paar goeie spelers aankoop, of hoe ?

Die feit dat die Bulle se VC span die VC finaal gehaal het, wys dat die probleem egter nie spelerstalent is nie, maar die ingesteldheid en toewyding van die spelers. Iemand noem dat HM die afgelope 3 weke betrokke was by die VC span, daarom reeds die groot verbetering.

Maar, voor ‘n mens oor volgende jaar begin praat, is daar die Rebels om Saterdag te klop, en die Sharks, Ctahs, Tahs, Sharks, Stormers daarna. Eish ja, nie maklik nie, maar ‘n uitdaging om aan te pak.

Go die Bulle !

Ek voel nou soos daai laaitie in ‘Home Alone’ … stoksiel alleen … op ‘n Woensdag aand !

#1 ja neeee bwaaaaaaaahahahahahahaha, ou worsie wat so lekker op die veld rondtrippel 🙂

Peoples….how are we doing?

I trust we have been behaving! Stormers are doing well and bulls gonna start their thing.

Go Reds!!!!

walla @ 5
    hello wallabie
    1. of course we bahaved ourselves, question should be asked whether you did?
    2. maybe i’m mistaken … but werent you a brumbie supporter? 😯

It’s close to the strongest team they can field IMO. Ricky aside, however having said that they are playing him for a reason. Not in everyone’s opinion a good reason, but a reason nonetheless,

keep a look out for Kitshof. He’s a hellova talent in the front row, at 18 years.

The game changes a lot nowadays. They used to say n FR reaches his peak after 32 years, now you find these young guys. Actually a sad thing that scrummers are not allowed to work each other.

Had a chat to his agent a month or 2 back. He told me the guy tested off the charts for strength at the sports science. Second only to Bekker in the squad.

Doesn’t mean he’s the second coming or anything, but it does argur well for the future…

I’ll be watching him with interrest in the future.

Google him. There was a lot written about him in his schoolboy days (last year basically)

super mate , if you or rudi sees this

Joost has debilitating illness

2011-05-12 19:33
    Email | Print

Joost van der Westhuizen (File)

Related Links
    Ireland deny interest in Os
    SBW flattered by Div comments
    Jean ‘survives’ Sonny Bill

Johannesburg – Former Springbok rugby captain Joost van der Westhuizen is fighting for his health after being diagnosed with a motor-neuron muscle disease.
    The disease, which is apparently similar to the one that put one of his teammates, Springbok flank André Venter in a wheelchair a few years ago, has been diagnosed as very serious and could have drastic implications for his health.

Van der Westhuizen, who led the Blue Bulls to Currie Cup victories in 1998 and 2002, and who is one of the most capped Springbok rugby players in the nation’s history, complained to his personal doctor, Dr Henry Kelbrick, of pain in his arm and was immediately sent for a battery of tests to diagnose the outcome.

Once the diagnosis was made, the seriousness of the matter prompted Dr Kelbrick to send Van der Westhuizen to see two neurologists so that treatment could begin.

While neither Van der Westhuizen nor his immediate family have been available to comment, sources close to the player tell SuperSport.com that the disease is “very serious” and could have massive implications for his future.

“Sports personality Joost van der Westhuizen, has been diagnosed with a serious muscle related neural disease . Van der Westhuizen’s doctor, Dr Kelbrick who is also a close family friend noticed that Joost was having problems with his right arm and ran a series of tests, van der Westhuizen also consulted two neurologists and has began immediate treatment. The symptoms are serious and vary from person to person,” a statement from Van der Westhuizen’s publicist, Bridget van Oerle said.

“The press is requested to respect his privacy at this time and note that neither he nor his family will be available for interviews.”

Van der Westhuizen captained the Springboks to the semi-finals of the 1999 World Cup and was part of the 1995 World Cup winning squad. He was also a member of the 2003 World Cup squad which performed badly, being ousted in the quarter-finals of the tournament.

After that, Van der Westhuizen worked as a commentator for SuperSport for a number of years. He was most recently in the news for a series of personal scandals which saw the end of his marriage to singer and television personality Amor Vittone.

Eish….cannot get the replies correctly.

Previous one was for Ashley.

Looseness

How are you?

Damn the iPad!!

Loosehead my iPad changed you name when I pressed the submit button.

Let’s try again…shall we!

IT WAS A TRY!

No, it was not a try but it should have been. The International Rugby Board has ruled on the ‘try’ Dewaldt Duvenage of the Stormers scored in the opening minutes of their Super 15 match with the Crusaders at Newlands last Saturday.

Gio Aplon, carrying the ball, put a foot into touch and Kieran Read took a quick throw-in which Dewaldt Duvenage intercepted and the scrumhalf raced away for a try. The referee awarded the try. He then saw the assistant referee with his flag in the air and consulted him. The assistant said (twice) to the referee: “Foot in the field of play. Advantage applies.” The referee cancelled the try and awarded a line-out to the Crusaders.

There was much debate around whether or not advantage applied. Chris Pollock, the referee, believed he had made the right decision. André Watson, South Africa’s refereeing boss, believed that it should have been a try because advantage applied.

The SANZAR referees selectors debated the matter in their conference call on Monday and the five – Lyndon Bray, Tappe Henning, Colin Hawke, Andrew Cole and Greg Cooper – referred the matter to the IRB who have now ruled that advantage did indeed apply and that the try should have been awarded.

The dying words of the All Black wing Bob Deans, denied a try against Wales in 1905, were: “It was a try, you know.” Let’s hope Duvenage has a lot of better memories from now on.

Click HERE for the original ‘try/no-try’ debate – including a video of the incident!

super @ 15
    saw that on rugby365 yesterday … thought about bringing it here,
    but then decided otherwise … didnt want to give the impression that i was moaning and/or looking for excuses!! 😀

sharky @ 11
    sad news indeed … my thoughts and prayers are with him at this moment!

walla @ 12
    i always behave … i just sometimes behave badly!! 😉

@ Ashley:
    It is only convenient to call another blogger a moaner if your team was the lucky one, the losing team was robbed, end of story.

And i see it not as moaning but breaking the Referee Boys Club, the untouchables.They farke up merrily and nothing is done. I will post a few more moaning posts in my life , not shying away. We must keep them honest. :GRIN:

Must add i never saw the Stormers game not even a recording, was away, otherwise i would have moaned long ago. :LOL:

super @ 19
    jaaaaaaaaaa, but still!!
    anyway, the silence from the side of a certain mr. paddy o’brien is quite deafening … had that decision went against the crusaders, i’m quite sure either or both the linesman and referee involved mightve been officiating club games this weekend!!

talk about Paddy o’ Brien, i’ve stumbled onto something very interesting (imo). i was looking for the name of the linesman in last year’s? superrugby competition that was sent back to his union to officiate lower games afer he made ONE mistake (couldnt remember which teams was playing … only knew for sure that the decision went against a nzland outfit!!)
    anyway, as i said … i stumbled onto this
    (from rugbyheaven … 18 November 2009)
    “Aussie whistle blower Stu Dickinson got it badly wrong when he repeatedly penalised the All Blacks in their disputed match against Italy on Saturday, referees’ boss Paddy O’Brien has admitted.

Coach Graham Henry asked for clarity and has been given that, along with a PUBLIC APOLOGY, from IRB referees’ boss Paddy O’Brien, who has admitted referee Dickinson made a series of mistakes during the Milan match, which ended in a 20-6 win for the All Blacks.

In what is a major off-field victory FOR THE ALL BLACKS, Kiwi O’Brien travelled to the New Zealand team’s London hotel today to essentially tell Henry and his coaches “you were right”.

O’Brien told Stuff.co.nz, in an exclusive interview prior to his meeting with Henry and scrum expert Mike Cron, that Dickinson SHOULD NOT HAVE TAKEN SUCH DRASTIC ACTION AGAINST THE ALL BLACKS at scrum time in the test at the San Siro. (emphasis provided)

now
    did Paddy decide THEN ALREADY that stu Will NOT be at the next wc? The omission of Dickinson from the panel officiating during the wc, was indeed THE surprise during the announcements, wasnt it?

Total 121 users including 0 member, 121 guests, 0 bot online