I found this website on News24 and all  Peter de Villiers fans are invited to listen to this interview with Peter. Take your time , it is in three parts and is 31 minutes long.

Listen to Peter when he is calm and not under pressure.

All the overawed Sonny Bill Williams fans Peter, has a point! Watch these videos with an open mind.

Well, we uploaded a shortened version of Peter de Villiers’ views on Sonny Bill Williams, and bloody hell – did it cause one hell of a storm! It was the feature article on no less than 60 of the biggest rugby websites worldwide.

Eventually, we were requested to take down the video due to the fact that the media had taken the feature out of context. We honoured the request, but have now – for your viewing pleasure – launched the full interview.

Click here  to go and watch the full 31 minute exclusive interview with the Springbok coach. He speaks openly, honestly, and without pressure. I’m keen to hear your thoughts…

16 Responses to Peter de Villiers – Full interview about SBW and other

will have a look at it at later … will definately like to hear what pdv says and in what context he said it .. thanks bru

PdV haters have already made up their mind that he is an ass and nothing will change it. In fact they will find things in this interview to back up their opinion – it’s called confirmation bias. Unbiased people will realise that the man knows his rugby and is fully aware of all the issues and has considered the solutions. No worse than any top coach around, just that the media has portrayed him as an idiot and that is the way they will continue to.

He have to be an real idiot not to realise PdV is an idiot.

How can any logical thinking person support this guy? Just look at his team choices, his blatant disrespect for obvious talent (local & international) and political insensitivity.

He’s a muppet who should be banned to the practice grounds of Dal Josafat’s 3rd team.

All Snorrie achieves in speaking his mind like this, is to change feet in his foot-in-mouth disease!

The man has no tact, no diplomatic skill and certainly does not know when to bloody shut-the-fark-up!

Embarrassing…..

@ Rugbyprof:
    I am willing to be the idiot to eat humble pie, but you better be ready ……

Superbul, I’ll eat it with a smile if it means the Boks are successful. The thing is that you can’t attribute any success to him.

I’ve always thought that limited coaches like him, receive too much credit when their team win and too much critisism when they lose. I put Frans Ludeke and Allister Coetzee into this camp too.

But is different for guys who accomplished a lot with limited resources to start with like Heynecke, Rassie, Mallett, etc.

rugbyprof @ 3
    “He have to be an real idiot not to realise PDV is an idiot”
    uhm,
    who’s the “he” you are refering to?

Rugbyprof wrote:

But is different for guys who accomplished a lot with limited resources to start with like Heynecke, Rassie, Mallett, etc.

with this i agree, i also felt so about JS in those early days. Let me explain.

The Springbok coach must be a person who knows his job, he can not take a Springbok team and learn his trade in the job. Peter came through some lower level international coaching and was also involved with the National team before, right?

If the above is true he is qualified.

Take my and many other peoples hot favorite Heynecke Meyer he did not have International experience , right? He was successful with the Bulls, but in all honesty he learned his trade in the manner i called above. He had a apprenticeship with the Bulls in the early 2000, he then came back, just the fact that he got another chance is amazing, more amazing is how he took his second chance. He started of badly again but made a great comeback, ending in that brilliant 2007 win.

Rassie made a mess, he was the laughing stock with his “innovative coaching” using lights , sitting on top of roofs, now he is hiding in the DOR post, his only success is the right use of a cheque book. With the amount of great buys he made success was guaranteed.

AC the same this Stormers team is a great group of players , no real glaring weak spots, so wins must come. But the right wins still not happening. AC farked the Springbok backline up so badly i can see the same happing in the Stormers camp. The great tries come from the individual brilliance of players like JdeV , Jaque and Gio. Nothing to do with great moves coached by AC.

To come back to PdeV, he took over a squad of about 35 Springboks , many of them coming from previous coaches before Jake. I once counted them , cant remember exactly how many but it was high, i think it was 15 players, the greats like JS, Os, Percy…..

What he also did is take over the trusted game plan, why not? It would have been the most stupid thing to change a game plan with this team who perfected it. Anyway when he tried to change the game plan the next year his head was almost bitten off.

Rugbyprof wrote:

I’ve always thought that limited coaches like him, receive too much credit when their team win and too much critisism when they lose. I put Frans Ludeke and Allister Coetzee into this camp too.

I would say every coach has limitations

Rugbyprof wrote:

The thing is that you can’t attribute any success to him.

Jeez this peeee me off, big time. Moer this is tough to swallow. If the pies are bitter like this, heaven behold us.

I feel he did a brilliant job in years 1 and 2, last year we were screwed by diabolical referee decisions. This year Mr McCaw is blown up for that stuff, but dont let us go there it will go on and on. The fact is at the end the rugby scribes admitted that the refereeing was inconsistent.

Just like Jake blew his own record by throwing games in the 3 Nations before the World Cup, last years results will blot PdeV record and there is nothing he can do about it.

super @ 9
    hehehehe, dont get worked up about that line bru … its not worth it
    anyway, remind me of the ‘better” excuses i’ve heard for the bit of success pdv have had
    “jake coached the team over the phone”
    and
    better still
    “jake coached the team from behind the bushes”!! 😀

IF, (and believe me the jury is still out) Div is any good as a coach, mentor or whatever, and I really don’t have much of an opinion on him, then surely SARU / the Bok management MUST take the step of making sure that he DOES NOT attend press conferences and be allowed to speak in English.

If he has to speak at press conferences, and I know it is difficult to not let him, then make sure that all questions are translated int Afrikaans for him before he answers in Afrikaans and has the answer translated into whatever language it was asked in.

First prize though, keep him away from the media.

His ability with the coaching whistle may still be up for debate, but his ability to speak sensibly is not.

Did you listen to the 3 clips? I find nothing wrong in them, in fact what he said about SBW was proven right by the GREAT CHEETAHS. But anyway he is a Afrikaans speaking guy like me who thinks in Afrikaans and try and bring it over in English. Ag and so what let them try and understand him, if we can get that vital win in NZ it will shut the whole lot up.

He is the ONLY SA coach with more than 1 win in NZ.

12@ superBul:
    Haven’t had the time to listen yet.

Don’t get me wrong, when I say I don’t have much of an opinion, what I mean is I do’nt have ANY opinion on him, good or bad.

As you’ve pointed out previously, his first 18 months in charge were more than ok, so hell, who are we to judge?

Just look at the Lions after they employed a world class coach.

My take on it is this (and I haven’t watched the interview yet).
    PDV has the pedigree as demonstrated by his success with U19 and U21. Whether he would have been my first choice for Bok coach is debatable, but he certainly would have been in the running on merit!!. His interviewing and public speaking skills are severely lacking and his glaring demonstrations in this area has led to a lot of criticism, which in my opinion has effected his ability as a coach. Just as the refs have emasculated Bakkies, so have the SA public emasculated PDV. I have no doublt his ability comes through in the backroom meetins and planning and the players have commented that he is the BEST coach they have ever had, when it comes to caring about their and their families personal situation. So…..in my book he adds value. Super I think you underestimate Rassie!….I would like to see Meyer and Plumtree in that mentoring role too. If PDV says “play what is in front of you”….that is not a bad policy….but in a world cup year he should stick with strong defense and capitalising on the other teams mistakes, if we are down and have nothing to lose, then we can play Natal style rugby, but not before. We will be a force to be reckoned with at the World Cup and I think PDV may yet show his worth in the best possible way……so lets support the man in the blogs, I think the time for criticism has come and gone because they are not going to change the management at this late stage. JMHO

Well….I’ve watched it now. A very creditable interview and the man is very brave….he absolutely smears rugby journalism in SA…..and I think he is right. We don’t have quality rugby journo’s who know enough about the game. Quintus van Rooyen is the last one I can think of and he has been in his grave for over 10 years.

@ 4man:
    Peter is nou op Superugby op Kyknet

Total 111 users including 0 member, 111 guests, 0 bot online