It’s the penultimate round of Vodacom Cup league matches and while a few teams will struggle to make the quarter-finals, it’s make or break for seven provinces.

At the top of the respective logs, GWK Griquas and the Pampas XV will be aiming to maintain their status as the leading teams in the North and South Sections, but for last year’s finalists, another defeat could be costly.

The Vodacom Blue Bulls, current defending champions, travel to East London where they will be aiming for their third successive victory after four defeats when they take on the Border Bulldogs on Friday at 7:10pm.

The team from Pretoria are on 11 log points and are in joint fourth position on the North Section log with the Platinum Leopards, who are in action against the Sharks XV on Saturday at 4:45pm.

Last year’s runners-up, the Toyota Free State Cheetahs, are currently in fourth position on the South Section log, four clear of the SWD Eagles, and host the Tasol Solar Griffons in Bloemfontein on Saturday at 3pm.

GWK Griquas play the EP Kings in Port Elizabeth at 7pm on Saturday. They are currently in first place on the North Section log with 22 points and are one point clear of the MTN Golden Lions.

The Pampas XV, along with DHL Western Province the only two undefeated teams in the competition, host the Valke at the Fanie du Toit Stadium in Potchefstroom on Saturday at 3pm.

The Argentineans (27) are currently two points clear of their Cape rivals on the South Section log after six matches. DHL Western Province, who have won five and drawn one game this season, take on the Ford Pumas at DHL Newlands on Saturday at 2:40pm.

Western Province have scored the most tries during this season’s competition, with 36, as well as the most points (259) following their six matches played this season. The GWK Griquas are in second position after having scored 34 tries and 233 points.

In the other Vodacom Cup matches of the weekend, the Boland Cavaliers host the Welwitschias at the Boland Stadium in Wellington on Friday at 4pm, while the MTN Golden Lions travel to George to take on the SWD Eagles at 7pm on Friday.

Vodacom Cup Weekend Fixtures:

Friday, 8 April 2011:

4pm Boland Cavaliers v Welwitschias at Boland Cavaliers, Wellington
7pm SWD Eagles v MTN Golden Lions at Outeniqua Park, George
7:10pm Border Bulldogs v Vodacom Blue Bulls at Buffalo City Stadium, East London

Saturday, 9 April 2011:

2:40pm DHL Western Province v Ford Pumas, DHL Newlands, Cape Town
3pm Toyota Free State Cheetahs v Tasol Solar Griffons at Clive Solomon Stadium, Bloemfontein
3pm Pampas XV v Valke at Fanie du Toit, Potchefstroom
4:45pm Sharks XV v Platinum Leopards at Mr Price Kings Park, Durban
7pm Eastern Province Kings v GWK Griquas at Grey High School, Port Elizabeth

46 Responses to Vodacom Cup this Weekend

Super, Turned on the tv now to see Charl made the cut. Well done to him.

The bit I watched tonight from the Blue Bulls is scary. These guys are raw. There is very little urgency and few leaders.

Charl ended high up , currently 9th

@ superBul:29 – Super, I am never confident before a Sharks game….hahaha. Always nervous. Especially this game. It is a must win. That alone brings nerves to the players and that brings mistakes. Just hoping we can Super. This Lions team could have had quite a few wins under their belt had they ahd a kicker. So I for one wont take them for granted.

Sun should be out tomorrow which is a good thing. We have had plenty rain this week. But it is a night game. Here in Durbs that brings dew and humidity. Humidity not that bad this week but it will warm up tomorrow the forecast says with that and the rain that has fallen this week, the humidity will be there. So just keep thinking slippery ball. Handling errors. Damn hope we get over those handling errors tomorrow. One thing that has cost us plenty.

Rory McIlroy from N Ireland is playing great, hope i dont put the commentators curse on him now, flawless after 29 hole , 10 birdies no drops

i played golf in that weather , i did not cope well, started like a house on fire but after that sweaty palms and shirt started to bother me my game went.

@ superBul:30 – Yeah, I wonder why I blog there Super. The politics that go on at the keo site sometimes is a put off for me. I mostly go there to talk rugby or see others opinions of the games that have been played, or opinions of players. People also pick you up wrong there. So many looking at the negative. Not seeing what one is trying to say. Ag, I am too old sometimes for that…..hahahaha. Just have to have a laugh. I mostly look here every morning first, but not many logged on. Then head off to Sharksworld, blog there a bit and go to keo. But it is always a battle field there……hahahaha. As you know well from the past when you blogged there. It can get tiresome though.

Just looked here tonight when I got back from Joburg. Logged on here.

I better greet you for the night, this golf ends at about 2 tomorrow and i am definitely not going to watch till then. On the final round i might, so get your sleep in i will see you on Sunday night :LOL:

Good night sleep tight…. Thanks for the chat.

26@ Puma:
    Howzit Oerwoudkat…

Saw your post on the Landers / Cheetahs thread…

I was’nt actually speaking about my brother there, was speaking about my Computer Assistant, Jan (Kuppel-Jan), who also had a motorbike accident 2 months ago. Shame the poor oke has 37 staples PLUS pins and plates in his left hip, damage to the knee and to the left foot. Well, the foot is the worst because the fella did not have Medical Aid at the time, so the bloody Government Hospital Butcher Doctors did a bad botch-job on the foot.

The oke is in a wheel chair for now, but slowly getting better.

He was’nt working for me at the time of the accident, was working at a big Computer Supplier of mine (he worked for me full time a couple of years ago and I taught him most of the stuff he knows). He’s now used up all his sick leave at his regular work, with no income protector insurance, so I have decided out of kindness that I would let him work for me for 6 to 8 hours a day, 3 days a week, so that he can earn a good enough salary to get by on whilst the employer does not pay him a salary.

He’s a good youngster and considers me sort of as a 2nd or surrogate dad… and he’s bloody efficient with the PC work… I taught him well.

So, I call him Kruppel-Jan.

My big brother, Kruppelbroer, is another story… after well over 10 operations on his leg alone, the damn thing still does not want to grow properly and his one leg is already nearly 2 or 3 cm shorter than the healthy one. He’s a wealthy man, practiced as an Advocate and is quite a reknowned Impressionist Artist in SA, with a wife who is an Anethetist (spelling)… in Afrikaans we call it “Narkotiseer”. So I’m not worried about him, just feel sorry for him.

@ superBul:35 – Thought that Rory would come right sometime. 10 Birdies? Jeepers that is just awesome.

Super reading your post above. Don’t worry about your Bulls, they gonna be there in the play offs. Tough game tomorrow, but they could win it. Also remember Reds have to travel from Cape Town to Brisbane next week. Bulls only a hop away from NZ. Bulls could beat Reds in Brisane. I also feel Bulls will beat Force. So if they come home with 3 wins they will be looking really good. Then if they beat Saders tomorrow. Don’t think many will beat Bulls after that. Once Bulls confidence is up they are very, very hard to beat.

Good luck to your team boeta.

Super, Just listening to the commentators say, Rory shot 65 yesterday. Superb that. Would love to see this youngster from Ireland win the Masters. I know 2 days is a long way to go. But he is doing really well here.

@ grootblousmile:40 – Gbs, Good to you boeta for helping out your mate there. We need more people like you boet in this country. Shame man, feel sorry for your mate. Tough to read that. Really hope he is okay. Really our government hospitals are a disgrace. Can’t really say anything much about them, but if we are honest they are disgraceful those hospitals. Hope we can sort it out somehow in this country, cause so many don’t have medical aid at all and need to use those facilities.

Your boet is your boet. No matter if he is well off and can look after himself. In his condition he needs the friendship and fun that a brother brings. I know you will be there for him gbs. How I wish I could be there for my boet. He was taken from me tragically as you know. So if you can help out your boet not matter what just do it. I know your boet is in a wheel chair. So needs someone to help out. Take him to Loftus sometime. Those kind nice things I am talking about. Never think you will do it tomorrow, it may never come. I know you will though.

@ superBul: 38 – Cheers Super.

I have just taken a call form the Oz office. Damn can you believe it? This time of night and on a Friday night? There has to be a time when works ends. Damn. Anyhow just had to take the call. It is 7.30am there in the morning. Here it is 10.30pm!! Also it is Saturday morning there!! Jeepers some work overtime the whole time……hahahahaha. Anyhow I get paid for my advice. So fine with me.

Now off to watch some of the golf. Catch up tomorrow.

Good luck Bulls.

@ Puma:44 – form = from

Too late for me…..hahaha.

Catch up tomorrow.

Sharks XV 38 – 7 Leopards Mr Price Kings Park
    Eastern Province Kings 26 – 16 GWK Griquas Grey High School, Port Elizabeth
    Pampas XV 57 – 15 Valke Fanie du Toit Sport Grounds, Potchefstroom Toyota Free State Cheetahs 38 – 24 Tasol Solar Griffons Clive Solomon Stadium, Bloemfontein
    Western Province 27 – 14 Ford Pumas DHL Newlands Stadium, Cape Town

Total 21 users including 0 member, 21 guests, 0 bot online