Wow, what a weekend, first the Cheetahs murder the Waratahs in their own back yard (only the 3rd SAFFA team EVER to accomplish this), then we witness the Proteas demolishing Bangladesh at the World Cup, and last but definitely not least, some sweet and sour depending on your perspective, the Stormers burying their Loftus bogey once and for all. I have been severely criticized for my stance on the Bulls over the past week or two, but let’s revisit…

The Bulls promised their supporters retribution, it was widely hyped in the media, that the Bulls couldn’t do any better for opposition, as they usually lift themselves 110% when taking on the Stormers, and that it was the perfect opportunity to get back on track.

That it was, but it never happened…

Like I mentioned earlier, most of what was wrong with the Bulls, is still wrong. Fourie du Preez and Victor Matfield are so engrossed in arguing with the referee, they forget that they are supposed to lead their team. Du Preez must have some very stiff arms this morning, what with all his waving and gesturing through-out the game.

Wynand Olivier has got to get away from only running crash-ball, it has become monotenous and stale. His downfall is his predictability and Morné Steyn, he defends two channels and is most probably so tired of making all the tackles, that he has nothing left on attack. The Bulls were out of their minds when they let Jacques-Louis Potgieter go, I don’t rate the man, but geez, is Steyn going to play every game this year? Francois Brummer has hit his peak in Vodacom Cup rugby, and has nothing to offer in Superrugby, if Steyn picks up a niggle…well.

Pierre Spies’ is another man who should question his form, he seems to fade in a tight game and when he was with the Springboks, he was protected by the indomitable Juan Smith. I know everyone says I am picking on him, but that simply is not true, on a day where the Bulls’ scrum was being demolished, he couldn’t control the ball behind the scrum, he couldn’t hang on to tackles, and he couldn’t cross the advantage line. I suggest Dewald Potgieter starts looking at the No 8 jersey as soon as possible, as he was a shining star in an otherwise mediocre Bulls pack. Hopefully Stegmann/Brussow supporters can now see how life will be against the modern loose-forward, players equally adept at burrowing, defending and taking the ball up into contact. Francois Louw was back, and he was back with a vengeance.

I will not go on about the defensive frailties of the Bulls’ wings, I am widely known for my stance on this, that being said, Danie Poolman also seems a bit shaky and was overshadowed by Basson at times.

Whatever it is that is the matter with Habana, hopefully his try will boost morale, his defense seems ok-ish and he took a few pressure balls out of the air, yes he made a mistake with Basson’s try, but if you look at the evidence, he came off his wing to try and help, and the error was actually Poolman’s as he let Basson by originally. All in all he is exactly like Matfield and Co…, pure class, but with some confidence issues, definitely fixable.

I mentioned this in my earlier article as well, and strangely enough, it is now echoed by Mr. JJ Harmse (2 weeks later, remember, you read it here first) the Bulls aren’t focused for some reason, contracts, Springbok places, business ventures and the like are getting in the way of their rugby playing, and that doesn’t bode well for anyone.

Maybe a stint of Vodacom Cup rugby is just the thing that Olivier, Stegmann and Spies especially needs, the Bulls have some incredible talent in that department, Watermeyer and Danie Rossouw are more than adequate replacements, albeit I’d play Danie Rossouw (Pakslae) at No 7 and Potgieter at No 8.

I hope the Bulls resurrect themselves into their former glory, because it’s no fun beating your arch enemies if everyone else is beating them as well.

18 Responses to A wet day at Loftus

chillyboy was pateties!maklik die swakste haker in die wereld.die grootste probleem is matfield en du preez dink hulle is grooter as die spel.

1@ Piet visagie:
    Chiliboy was nie goed nie…

Die Bulls sal moet ernstig werk aan paar dinge:

1. Hulle sal hulle foute drasties moet sny.
    2. Hulle sal meer gedisiplineerd moet speel.
    3. Hulle verdediging sal meer in die ander span se gesigte moet geskied en 1st time tackling sal drasties moet verbeter.
    4. Hulle spel by die afbreekpunte sal drasties opgeskerp moet word.
    5. Paar veranderings moet dalk aangebring word, soos Bv om Danie Rossouw in te span as No 7 flank met Stegmann en Dewald wat elk 40 minute moet diens doen op Oopkantflank en die bal harder jaag. Francois Hougaard moet dalk ingespan word op Buitesenter in Jaco Pretorius se plek (noodgedwonge want hy is mos maar ‘n skummie wat ook al diens gedoen het op linkervleuel).
    6. Hulle sal moet verseker dat hulle nie agter raak en elke game probeer terugkom van ‘n punteagterstand nie…. en as of wanneer hulle voor is sal hulle nie net moet verdedig nie maar die spykers huistoe drywe.

Saint , FdP was simply indicating to the crowd where the exits were 🙂

Bulls management seriously need to look at the loosetrio – Spies has long been criticised for his lack of aggression and even the most biased BB supporter has to admit he is not up to scratch.

Same goes for Stegman

Is it not a question of the Bulls now suffering because of the being complacent after a few good years?

Singer sewing machines once had 98% of the world market and were complacent because of it. They lost nearly all of that market share almost overnight. (By the way, no comparison meant between the Bulls and sewing (naai?) machines.)

I also agree with what has been written elsewhere, as soon as the players start caring more about things like Twitter and their own web sites and how many “likes” their facebook page has, their focus on their primary task is diluted.

It’s all fine and very well meaning to have a charity that supports all sorts of organisations through golf days, banquets and other fund raising activities, but if your primary job suffers because of it then something is wrong.

And don’t try to tell me that things like that don’t have an effect on your day to day work performance. I know better.

3@ Pam Anderson:
    Hehehehe

You guys have reason to bliksem the Bulls this week….

Let me do it quickly as well…. Fourie du Preez was practicing for his job post his rugby days… as a traffic cop…

Hehehe, that was ugly of me!

On the serious side, it is a mental thing and we all know that your brain is the strongest muscle in the body. The Bulls are not in the right space mentally and do not play “clever rugby” at present, it is as if their focus is gone or not switched on properly. The symptoms are clear to see… the plethera of simple errors, Fourie du Preez and Victor moaning too much on the field, not defending well beyond the advantage line, missed first time tackling, ill dicipline….

5@ grootblousmile:
    Sounds like it could be any Saturday in Doornfontein.

Maybe the Bulls and Lions should merge franchises and let Cheeky’s mob have a go as well next year. Hehehehe. Maybe not in the next 2000 years.

6@ Scrumdown:
    So, give me the low-down on what you expect between the Bulls and Lions at Loftus this weekend….

The article is bland…

7@ grootblousmile:
    Bulls will win in a low scoring game, with the Lions again failing to play to “the game plan”.

Bulls will basically muscle out a victory. Lions are too “lig in die broek” from 1 – 8 to make a match of it, even though I think they have the more inventive back line.

I just can’t see the Lions clicking yet. I think JM needs to take the group away from JHB for a week or two to really mould them to his will, and that doesn’t happen for some time.

Bulls have too much in terms of experience both on the field and in the back room to stay playing k@k for too long.

This is why I say Victor doesn’t make a good Captain, he loses it with the ref…..and then his head goes down. FdP…I think is just a bit of ring rust and he was probably more frustrated with himself than anything else. WP…I don’t know if there is a place for Schalk there now, they are beginning to look quite accomplished as they threatened to do last year.

Springbok selections, I reckon there’s a few positions up for grabs and Hennie Bekkers little boy should be starting.

Die laaste sin van ons groot bloubul vriend, the saint, se artikel wys waarom hy so omgekrap is. Hy weet as hierdie bulle span 50 persent speel soos die vorige twee jaar, hul die stormers span sal afstof. Dit is daarom waar, geen groot uitdaging om die bulle op HUIDIGE vorm te klop nie. En die stormers het ook nie maklik gewen nie.

Die ergste is dat die stormers sukkel om afterond.dink net hoe sou die score gelyk het as hulle kon afrond,dit wys net hoe onbehulpe die bulls was.ek dink daar is paar negitiewe komentaar op olivier,spies se twitter.

@ The Saint:
    whats o bland friend, the fact that W Olivier hair is far more beautiful than yours. A little tip Use Timotei

@ 4man:
    Did you really look at what the Bulls were blown up for? Well take it in the second part of the season. I know what will happen, “the Bulls bought the ref”, “the bulls have the refs in the bag”, the bulls this the bulls that. OK the rant is over but in all honesty was all the penalties justified???

http://www.superxv.com/video/bakkies-botha-clearout-of-duvenage/bakkies-botha-clearout-on-dewaldt-duvenage-video_e7b4ccf06.html

If Bakkies get a ban for this you can enjoy your rugby without superBul. I will farking leave this fake game in peace.

Flokken plain maligheid as Bakkies hieroor geban word los ek pissie Rugby
    http://www.superxv.com/video/bakkies-botha-clearout-of-duvenage/bakkies-botha-clearout-on-dewaldt-duvenage-video_e7b4ccf06.html

If Bakkies get a ban for this you can enjoy your rugby without superBul. I will farking leave this fake game in peace.

Hi Super, during the game I wondered what your opinion of the ref would be and I was assured by one or two of the blue brethren that the ref was ok.

At least i read you right, ou grote. 😉

@ fender:
    fender i held it back the whole time i am waiting for the stats , i can tell you this. I was watching with a great friend Jannie(WP), the same guy who watched the Soweto final with me. HE asked me why is the ref so harsh to the Bulls. I said big trees do get the most wind. I congratulated him and his 10 year old son on their team great win at Loftus and we went on to have the most pleasant braai.

A LOVE my rugby , but i am not blind and i know the game a wee bit. This is funny how a experienced team get so many penalties. But lets see if the management and players can sort it out.

Total 46 users including 0 member, 46 guests, 0 bot online