Chilliboy Ralepelle and Bjorn Basson will face a SARU judicial committee at 09h00 this morning.The Bulls duo are accused of taking the banned substance methylhexaneamine while on the 2010 EOYT. Unsurprisingly both have pleaded that they never intentionally took the substance.

It seems as if they were given the methylhexaneamine by the Bok team management as part of treatment that they received while ill with flu.

Basson has been vocal in his criticism of his treatment  by SARU since the incident occurred.

More to follow.

31 Responses to Dope Boks hearing today

If they are banned because SARU gave them dope, then they should sue.

I can’t see them getting anything more than a slap on the wrist.

Unfortunately I can’t see them getting away without a ban of at least 2 months.

These things are generally dictated by minimum sentences etc, and if they do get away with “a slap on the wrist” it will be nothing more that a “brushing under the carpet” by SARU (perhaps to hide their incompetence), and their will be a huge outcry from all quarters.

If the players took any medication without checking it’s legality first they are stupid at best, and if the team’s medical staff gave them medication without first checking it’s legality, then they are downright palookas and should be summarily disciplined as would any manager in any organisation who did not do his job correctly.

As I’ve said before, the real villains are the Springbok management team. They aren’t professional enough to manage a top school side IMO.

#1 I agree Superbul….this is very unfortunate, especially the fact that the substance is no longer banned……..

Relativity & Dilation

It turns out that there’s a scientific an logical explanation for why people (mostly men) spend so much time in pubs and only get home in the early hours of the morning. The reason for this odd behaviour is based on Einstein’s famous relativity Theory.

It works like this: It is a well known fact that the more you drink, the faster you move. After 8 beers (or 4 double brandies & coke, etc.) you’re moving at close to speed of light, and this is where Einstein enters the picture…

According to his Relativity Theory, anybody moving at, or close to the speed of light, undergoes Time Dilation, i.e. time for you in the pub passes slower than for an observer outside the pub. Complicated calculations have shown that the pub becomes a type of time machine:- for every half-hour spent inside the pub, something like two hours pass outside the pub.

A typical situation is: “OK guys, it’s 8 o’clock, I’m gonna surprise the family and get home early!!” However, the moment this person steps outside the pub, the time travel effect is negated by negative radiation from the environment, and he/she then goes: ” WTF??!!!?? – why is it so quiet?? Holy Cow!!! It’s half past one! WHAT HAPPENED??!!??” … and the answer, of course, is Time Dilation!!

I’ve tried to explain this to outside observers, but so far nobody (except fellow time travellers) has been able or willing to understand the sound scientific basis of this phenomenon.

Please forward this to all your known time travellers – maybe we can prove this theory by sheer, overwhelming force of numbers.

@ Tripples:
    Who says it is no longer a banned substance?

It certainly appears in the 2011 Drugs in Sport List issued by the South African Institute for Drug Free Sport as a “Prohibited Drug IN-COMPETITION only (only during specified competition periods)”.

So whoever commented that it was no longer a banned substance seems to have their facts wrong.

I know that it’s status was recently re-classified, but I think only from a banned substance at any time, to one of “In-Competition” only.

I will forward the list to the Webmonster for anyone who might find it interesting or useful.

Hmmmm that would be interesting. I read it online somewhere so thanks for putting that straight

Come join my Varsity Cup prediction game on SuperBru! It’s free and loads of fun. Just click here:
    Pool name: Vul Varsity 2011
    Pool code: pestpour
    Come join my Six Nations prediction game on SuperBru! It’s free and loads of fun. Just click here:
    Pool name: Vul 6 Nations 2011
    Pool code: ammoslab
    Come join my Super Rugby prediction game on SuperBru! It’s free and loads of fun. Just click here:
    Pool name: S15 Vulindlela
    Pool code: redojilt

loskoppie @ 4
    lmao

@ Ashley:
    At least some one has a sense of humour on this site.
    But then again as a WP supporter it is better to laugh than to cry.

los-blerrie-koppie @ 9
    for a few seconds there i really started liking you … you you bli … i mean, you freestate supporter!! 😀

Let’s look at recent punishments for this drug in the SA context.

There was that Grey College and Cheetahs Schools lighty, Goosen, the exciting flyhalf with the monster boot who was given a 3 months sentence…. it appears that he unwittingly used this substance.

The IRB stance is that the onus lies on you as player to make sure whatever you ingest or use, conforms.

Now let’s distinguish this situation from that of Chiliboy and Bjorn… what makes it different:

1. By the time they were tested it was already on the cards to re-classify the drug to a lessor category
    2. The drug has since been re-classified with effect from 1 January 2011
    3. It appears they also unwittingly took the drug in medication, so one would assume similar guilt… but the difference here is Goosen did not have coaches and rugby medical staff making the treatment decisions for him, Chiliboy and Bjorn did… and therefore had some reason to trust these Sports Medicine Personnel. I would therefore attach a lesser weight in obligation to check for themselves what actual substance they were ingesting compared to the Goosen case.

In fact, if I had been their Lawyers, I would have argued that the labels of the substance were either withheld by the medical staff (unknowingly or not) and that there was no way other than trusting medical personnel available to Chiliboy and Bjorn regarding the substance.

All in all, if played carefully, they could be found not guilty…. or more likely guilty but to a much lessor level than the Goosen case…. in which case a warning or token ban of 1 game or so could suffice.

But who knows how these arseholes operate…. and yes, Bjorn and Chiliboy might have a solid case to sue SA Rugby, who through their personnel, caused these 2 players serious damages, in the form of their reputations being diminished AND in the form of actual pecuniary damages and resultant damages.

I would say that they will get off with a warning, as they were clearly doped by the officials.

2 SEUNTJIES STRY OOR DIE GROOTTE VAN HUL PA SE PLASE …

DIE EEN SEUNTJIE Sê, “MY PA SE PLAAS IS SO GROOT, AS ONS DIE OGGEND 5 UUR MET DIE BAKKIE BY DIE HUIS RY, KOM ONS EERS NA SKEMER BY DIE EERSTE HOEKPAAL UIT!”

DIE TWEEDE EEN Sê, “ONS HET JARE TERUG OOK SO ‘N KAK BAKKIE GEHAD………”

13 hahahahahahahahahaha

SCOTTISH COMPASSION

A man was sitting on a blanket at the beach. He had no arms and no legs.

Three women, from England , Wales , and Scotland , were walking past and felt sorry for the poor man.

The English woman said ‘Have you ever had a hug?’ The man said ‘No,’ so she gave him a hug and walked on.

The welsh woman said, ‘Have you ever had a kiss?’ The man said, ‘No,’ so she gave him a kiss and walked on.

The Scottish woman came to him and said, ‘ave ya ever been fooked laddie?’

(sorry didn’t copy everything )

SCOTTISH COMPASSION

A man was sitting on a blanket at the beach. He had no arms and no legs.

Three women, from England , Wales , and Scotland , were walking past and felt sorry for the poor man.

The English woman said ‘Have you ever had a hug?’ The man said ‘No,’ so she gave him a hug and walked on.

The welsh woman said, ‘Have you ever had a kiss?’ The man said, ‘No,’ so she gave him a kiss and walked on.

The Scottish woman came to him and said, ‘ave ya ever been fooked laddie?’

The man broke into a big smile and said, ‘no’.

She said, ‘Aye – Ya will be when the tide comes in.’

GBS is jy nou klaar rondgerits huh? Hierdie is party van ons se 4de week al by die werk 🙁

helloooooooooooooooooo nippl … ek bedoel tripples!! 😀

trips @ 15
    lol lol lol

The maximum ban allowed under IRB guidelines is 2 years.

It’s unlikely in the circumstances that the players will receive such lengthy punishments, but I honestly can’t see them getting away with punishment as light as you suggest.

Many athletes who tested positive for the same drug last year received initial bans ranging from 2 months to 2 years.

I understand that the majority of those that received lengthy bans had the “sentences” reduced on appeal.

The real culprits are (IMO) Craig Roberts and the Springbok management.

They didn’t do their jobs.

Hope the youngsters get off without too much punishment, but one never knows.

gbs
    djouf ghat mail!!

A man buys a lie detector robot which slaps people who lie.
    He decides 2 test it at dinner one night.

DAD: Son, where were you today during school hours?
    >>SON: At School.
    Robot slaps son!
    SON: Ok, I lied, I went to the movies
    DAD: Which one?
    SON: Toy Story.
    >> Robot slaps son again!
    SON: Ok, it was porn.
    DAD: …What?! When I was your age, I didn’t even know what porn was…
    >> Robot slaps Dad!
    MOM: forgive him dear, after all he is your son.
    >> Robot slaps mom.

16@ Tripples:
    Flok ja, moet seker maar die tille roer!

19@ Scrumdown:
    Well, let’s see…. would not be surprised if it is long…. but I think SARU is pleading for a light ban, I would if I were them, considering what could follow….

Even the Bulls would have a serious case to sue SA Rugby should the 2 players not be available to them.

Ek sal dan ook maar nou ‘n ou grappietjie uitrol….

Jan en Sarie is so ses maande getroud en doen niks sonder mekaar nie. Een van Jan se vriende staan toe ook op trou en hy word genooi na die ‘rumparty’. “Goed,” antwoord Sarie, “maar jy sorg dat jy voor twaalf by die huis is.”

Die brandewyn het toe seepglad by die keel afgegaan en toe vir Jan so bietjie hard tussen die ore geslaan en toe hy weer sien is dit amper 3 uur. Hy vra toe een van sy vriende om hom huis toe te vat en net toe hy by die sitkamer is begin die koekoekhorlosie drie keer slaan. Sonder om te dink koekoek hy toe nog nege keer verder.

Die volgende oggend vra Sarie vir hom hoe laat hy toe by die huis gekom het en vinnig antwoord hy “12 uur!”

“O” sê Sarie. Nou is Jan eers in sy skik met sy slim plan, hy het immers daarmee weggekom. “Maar,” sê Sarie, “ons moet tog ‘n nuwe horlosie vir die gang kry, want gisteraand het die horlosie drie keer gekoekoek, toe fluitser dit ‘O, vrek’, koekoek nog vier keer, maak keel skoon, koekoek nog drie keer, giggel, koekoek nog twee keer en toe val dit oor die koffietafel en poep…”

Nog enetjie…

Mike en Kallie vlieg oor Afrika. Die loods doen die volgende aankondiging: “Dames en here, ons is nou in Ethiopiese lugruim. Hier het 40% van die bevolking TB en 60% het VIGS.” Mike kon nie lekker hoor nie en vra vir Kallie: “Wat het daai ou gesê?” en Kallie antwoord: “Man, hy sê as die vliegtuig nou val, raak ons net vriendelik met dié wat hoes!”

….hahaha….

Hoekom is ‘n vet meisie soos ‘n scooter?

Hulle ry lekker – tot jou vriende jou check!

A blonde goes to her local pet store in search of an ‘exotic’ pet. As she looks about the store, she notices a box FULL of frogs.

The sign says:
    ‘SEX FROGS’

Only R20 each
    Comes with ‘complete’ instructions.

The girl excitedly looks around to see if anybody’s watching her. She whispers softly to the man behind the counter, ‘I’ll TAKE one.’

As the man packages the frog, he quietly says to her, ‘just follow the instructions’.

The blonde nods, grabs the box, and is quickly on her way home.

As soon as she closes the door to her apartment, she opens the instructions and reads them very carefully. She does EXACTLY what is specified:

1. Take a shower.
    2. Splash on some nice perfume.
    3. Slip into a very sexy nightie.
    4. Crawl into bed and place the frog down beside you, and allow the frog to do what he has been trained to do.

She then quickly gets into bed with the frog and to her surprise . . NOTHING happens. The blonde is very disappointed and quite upset at this point. She re-reads the instructions and notices at the bottom of the paper it says, ‘If you have any problems or questions, please call the pet store.’

So, she calls the pet store. The man says, ‘I’ll be right over.’ Within minutes, the man is ringing her doorbell. The blonde welcomes him in and says, ‘See, I’ve done everything according to the instructions. The damn frog just SITS there!’

The man… looking very concerned, picks up the frog, stares ‘directly into its eyes’ and STERNLY says:

‘LISTEN TO ME
    I’m only going to show you how to do this
    ONE … MORE … TIME!’

trips @ 26
    lmao

The article should say “Alleged dope Boks” 🙂

Courtesy of News24

From January 1, 2011, methylhexaneamine was reclassified to a “specified stimulant” by the World Anti-Doping Agency due to its recent inadvertent use by a number of athletes, meaning the players can be spared the two-year ban if there is a logical explanation for the positive tests. Ralepelle and Basson could instead receive a retroactive three-month ban or be let off with a warning.

Methylhexaneamine can be used as a decongestant and a dietary supplement and the Springboks said a new sports drink they used on the tour could have been responsible.

Both players hope to be part of the Bulls’ defense of its Super Rugby title this season. The Pretoria-based team’s first game is on February 19, against the Lions.

Judgment reserved in Chili/Basson dope case
    Posted by Morné – 25/01/11 at 03:01 pm under Disciplinary
    A Judicial Committee appointed by the South African Rugby Union (SARU) to investigate the anti-doping charges against Springboks Bjorn Basson and Chiliboy Ralepelle, reserved judgement in the case in Cape Town on Tuesday.
    Press release
    Advocate Jannie Lubbe, SC (chairman), Dr George van Dugteren and Advocate Rob Stelzner heard evidence from both players as well as witnesses from Springbok and SARU management in the three-and-a-half hour hearing.
    The players were represented by Advocate Attie Heyns assisted by Attorney Gerrie Swart.
    A press conference to announce the verdict will be scheduled by SARU once the committee has completed its deliberations.

Total 33 users including 0 member, 33 guests, 0 bot online