The Springboks won – just – with a convincing performance by the forwards pack but the dangers and limitations of our old school style was again ominous.

In fairness, the way the pack dominated we should have won this match by at least 17 points, but lack of structure when we play the ball wide /down the line culminated in a comedy of errors and some frustrating decisions by the referee which almost cost us the match.

It was wet, greasy and raining hard at times which made handling difficult and there was some infuriating knock-ons and passing lapses by mainly Morné Steyn and Pierre Spies at the start of the match and some more showed-up by players at occasional – tense moment – intervals right throughout the game.

The Springbok pack was magnificent and it was the senior boys like Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis, Juan Smith & Beast Mtawarira as well as the experienced backline players like Ruan Pienaar, Bryan Habana and Jean de Villiers who combined well and who put their bodies on the line. The credit for the win must go to these senior boys and especially the pack of forwards for a sterling performance in the set piece.

The pack totally outplayed the Irish in the set piece (lineout, mauling and scrum) and it was therefore disturbing to notice yet again our lack of structure and tentativeness when we did play the ball down the line. We just lack that explosiveness and all round structure, precision and decisiveness one perceive with the Wallabies and the All Blacks when they run the ball. We are still too much into arm wrestling at the breakdowns and not blowing over with speed, structure and authority when we go into contact. It is our inability to force the defensive lines to re-align themselves that is the problem. This inability stems from a lack of directness, impact and good body positions by the ball carriers and our blow-over cavalry’s lack of urgency and structure when they support. The result is that we recycle the ball too slow and without influence and are therefore not able to force the defensive lines into retreat and eventually to disintegrate.

Morné Steyn had a 60 /40 type of game, his place kicking and tactical kicking hot and cold but his limitations as a ball carrying flyhalf and as one that can really control a match with the decisiveness and authority that Ronan O’Gara demonstrated when he came on for Ireland was again clear as day. It is partly his tentativeness and as a ball distributing flyhalf which caused some of the passing lapses out wide.

Zane Kirchner had a reasonable game considering the world class opposition he faced but he was one of the main culprits in terms of losing the ball in contact, which contributed to the Irish comeback. His pass to the inside to Gio Aplon was mostly the result of Aplon’s decision making and I’ll be hesitant to give Zane Kirchner all if any credit for that try creating moment.

Gio Aplon’s unorthodox running lines on defense worked against him this time round and were instrumental in both tries scored against us. His natural instinct is to seize on attacking opportunities and he will do it even if he is the only person out wide with his back against the goal line. He went for the ball on defense where he should have gone for the man. In both instances his instinct to go for the ball could have resulted in opportunistic tries and I am tentative to blame him for sticking to his instinct but he should be coached to read the game and circumstances and temper his impulsiveness to attack according to the situation.

Pierre Spies tried hard but his two old limitations, weak hands and lack of flair, showed up again in full annoying glory. He knocked a couple of times and he lost the ball going into contact a few times but that flair or ability to offload and/or create gaps with a step and turn of the body is seriously missing in his game.

Deon Stegmann was quiet but did contribute at maul time and I believe he was instrumental in our improved forwards ability, in contrast to Tri-Nations, to pull the mauls off on a number of occasions. My feeling was that the referee hamstrung us by going for his whistle way to soon when we were still clearly controlling the ball and moving forward at maul time. Why would you dish out penalties for people coming in from the side while the mauling team is still clearly in control and moving forward? What happened to advantage?

We did play the “pods” occasionally, like I predicted and we did play the territorial box kick and chase game, but without wallop and precision and therefore with disappointing results most of the time.

Considering the injury woes and amount of replacements to the team, one the of the great Springbok victories! Well done to the boys for a hard fought victory but one has this nagging feeling that they made it harder than was necessary towards the end.

One does’nt want to appear negative and the boys should feel proud with this outcome against a well drilled side in their backyard, but – and I say this only because I know we can get this right- our lack of structure and authority at the breakdowns is becoming a scurge for the Springbok supporter, in general. This together with our inability to create space, by using dummy runners like the Australians and passing the ball flat and then deep for instance, is essential requirements of the modern game that we just have to correct and employ.

48 Responses to Sigh! What a relief, Bokke!

If our backline doesnt start to spark and we dont stop this kick and chase game, we are going to get our arses handed to us at the world cup, by NZ, Oz and probably France.
    Natal and WP have shoed how the game should be played, now if we can get the Bulls guys doing it too, we will be unstoppable. This game was far too close….we should have whacked a lacklustre Ireland, if they had even an average day, they probably would have pipped us. Why do we time and again fall into the trap of thinking we are far enough ahead and how can the backline be effective when we dont allow them to play….the few times they did try and play they just got stopped, but then I suppose everyones defense is getting better all the time.

Harsh on Spies in a Test where he was miles better than his previous Tests this year, McLook.

For once Spies played classic No 8 rugby and the one or 2 knocks (in wet conditions) is still way better than what Heaslip could muster for the Irish.

Every team member made mistakes… for instance Juan Smith, our hard working blindsider, gave away more than one penalty, Victor knocked a ball received from an Irish kick-off… ect, ect…

Singling Spies out is just that… singling him out and gang-tackling him side-on…..

The forwards pack, Spies included, was monsterous!

The player in the backline I would single out as best backline player for SA on the day would have to be Jean de Villiers, not so much for his individual play, but rather for organising defensive structures…. well done Jean.

To me Ruan Pienaar’s service was slow and indecisive…. wonder how much more grunt Hougie would have given us with the forwards domination we enjoyed.

Morné Steyn had a mixed bag at flyhalf, but so too Lambie when he came on. Is it just me or was our backline defence better with Morné next to Jean, than Lambie next to either Jean or Adi Jacobs.

Adi Jacobs, when he came on as a sub was by far the worst Bok on the night…

Bryan Habana & Bjorn Basson got few attacking opportunities, but considering it was a wet-weather game, it is understandable…. these 2 played well, not spectacular though.

Zane at Outside Center, like you suggested, did well considering the quality of opposing players… except for that one big fumble on defence, about 15 to 20 min from full time.

Both Irish tries were scored out on SA’s left wing side… and not having watched the game again, I can’t but help wondering where Bryan Habana was on both occasions… that is his side of the field to protect.

Gio could not do too much about the 1st Irish try… sublime cross kick by O’Gara… and Gio was easily stepped. The last Irish try was a bad mish-mash rush up blunder by Gio though and unlike Zane’s earlier blunder, this one cost us a try…

I think you are a bit easy and apologetic for Gio’s obvious blunder in this instance, ascribing it to his need to attack, yet you find it easy to criticize & blame Spies, Morné & Zane (Bulls players) with more verve…. think about it.

1 tot 8 puik 9,10 so so maar daai nege punte tel swaar in morne se guns 12 goed 14 geen kanse gehad nie 11 13 15nie so goed nie veral as mens in ag neem mvovo daniller en stefan terreblanche se spel die hele seisoen maar nou ja hulle is nou maar div se ou oogappeltjies,en hulle gaan ons die wc kos

Spies was average again yesterday,all the Bulls supporters will put on their blue blinkers but he got driven back time after time yesterday and was too upright in the tackle like he always is,Alberts when fully fit would have been a far better option but he’ll probably sit on the bench next week if he gets over his injury. Daniel looked out of his depth yesterday but I thought Lambie was okay but was brought on too early,but the young man has a huge future.

I said on a different thread that Spies was average in a game where he should have been far more dominant.

He simply doesn’t dominate collisions and I would love to see Alberts get a run.

Stegman not prominent in either good or bad so fair debut for him.

The tight 5 were very good.

Pienaar had a fair game but also has that irritating habit of moaning more to the ref than just playing the ball.

Good thing Frans will be back at 15 next week.

I thought Stegman was solid and balanced the loose trio nicely,he must start the remaining games.

4man the Bulls have a better backline than both the Sharks and Province. If you don’t believe go and watch the Super 14 2010, and enjoy rugby like it should be played. Fourie du Preez will make a massive difference when he comes back for the Springboks. Stegmann in my opinion made a huge difference, I’m so glad that we don’t have Francois “My oupa was Jan Bull Pickard that’s why I’m a Bok” Louw in the team. Morne Steyn disappointed, but would still start him ahead of Lambie who doesn’t instill any confidence in me with his kicking out of hand or his goal kicking. Thought Ruan had a good game, moaning about slow service is absolute bullshizzle (Read somewhere else the same complaint about Houghaard, and also thought that was bullshizzle). We need more depth in the midfield and selecting some youngsters would’ve been a smart move by our coaching staff, wouldn’t have had either Jacobs, or Kirchner on this tour… Well Kirchner ahead of Aplon definitely…

It was tense in the end, but great to see us winning! See I told you in your prediction post there was no ways Ireland would win by 15 GBS. I think you wer focussing too much on the Boks troubled build up to the test and hadn’t given enough thought to the Irish team that was playing on the day but rather their past reputation. The clues were there I noticed and reported here before the game that Leinster would had the whole starting back line, except try scorer Bowe, were only 6th out of 12 in the Magners League. Yes I know the game was won up front but it wasn’t only our subs that let them in but I also think the introduction of the Munster boys at half back that sparked the Irish comeback and Heaslip a Leinster player was dead quiet. So we can be grateful the Irish selectors got it all wrong.
    GBS, regarding the tries, you are right they were on Habanas side, as you mentioned prior to the game he was missing on defence, coming off his wing. If I am not mistaken the second try came after he tried to intercept the long floated pass over the top and knocked the ball into Ireland’s path (but it may have been Aplon). In all honesty I think both Ireland tries were ultimately just a result of lucky bounce, especially the first one.
    Its funny how we all see things differently, I though Pienaar had a good game, but then I am a fan of his, and gave good strong passes but maybe could have varied things and run at them a bit more. Anyway 1 down, 3 to go, will be great to do this Grand Slam, good start Bokke!

A perspective on Steyn’s game:

That’s the same Steyn who:
    Took a drop that was more of a grubber?
    Dropped (and knocked on) a simple pass in his own 22?
    Missed a kick at goal 10 to 15 meters in from the sidelines?
    Kicked the ball directly in to touch?
    Lost the ball in contact numerous times?
    Kicked aimlessly at the opposition?
    Made basically zero meters with ball-in-hand?
    Threw the ball at JdV’s feet?
    The player who, when off the field, results in more tries for SA?
    Note that in 60 minutes all SA had was one intercept try.
    It was Lambie who set up Aplon’s try.
    7 points for SA vs 3 if Steyn had continued.
    SA lose by 2 points.
    That from a ‘seasoned’ player…….‬

Hey back in civilization , power restored by Eskom. In short i would not change this team much. Swop Zane and Gio maybe. But who is available in the current squad?

Give the guys a second chance, continuity will be better.

I think you are a bit easy and apologetic for Gio’s obvious blunder in this instance, ascribing it to his need to attack, yet you find it easy to criticize & blame Spies, Morné & Zane (Bulls players) with more verve…. think about it.

No GBS I’ve got nothing against the bulls players. I am way beyond provinsialism. Spies had one of his better games which is what I suggested with the words he tried hard; he certainly was not worse than Heaslip which is highly rated in the UK. Spies like Morné has certain limitations and that is all I said about Spies and Morné for that matter. Zane faded a little towards the end making a crucial blunder on defence and his inabilty or is it unwillingness to pass a ball again very clear. Under the circumstances -being played out of position- not a terrible performance though.
    What I like about Gio is that he scores tries which view other players would score. This natural tendency, he has, to attack is also a weakness on defense. I was not making excuses for him just pointing out how I see him as a player.

Bryan Habana & Bjorn Basson got few attacking opportunities, but considering it was a wet-weather game, it is understandable…. these 2 played well, not spectacular though.

This is probably the thing that frustate me most about our current backline play. We’ve got the most prolific try scorer in CC rugby ever in the team and he did not get one ball to show what he can do.
    The way O’Gara took control and lifted the whole team was classic and what is missing with Morné on 10. There is tenatativeness and no authority. We just crushed the ball up when we went down the line; what about mixing it up a little; and/or send a ball deep behind dummy runners. Shit, how difficult is that? You’ve got Gio, Aplon and Habana to receive the ball at the back and who can insert some pace into the attack going wide. Why not use these players.

Both Irish tries were scored out on SA’s left wing side… and not having watched the game again, I can’t but help wondering where Bryan Habana was on both occasions… that is his side of the field to protect.

Good point. Habana’s tendency to go for the intercept has cost us a few tries in prvious tests but you’re right he was nowhere in sight when those two tries were scored.

vanStraaten wrote:

Well Kirchner ahead of Aplon definitely…

You must be joking.

4man wrote:

If our backline doesnt start to spark and we dont stop this kick and chase game, we are going to get our arses handed to us at the world cup, by NZ, Oz and probably France.

I agree and probably by England as well on this tour judging by the way they played against NZ.

Ok just popped in to have a look…mixed opinions, which goes to show we had an indifferent game, the forwards performed very well, everyone agrees on that.
    I think you guys are a bit harsh on Spies, Kanko would have gone backwards more against Heaslip….you play as well as your opposition lets you….Heaslip is a class player and him and Spies shared the kudos 50/50, nothing wrong with that….would like to see Alberts against some of the good NH loosies….personally I think he will cement a position in the Bok starting 15 soon…lets see.
    gnite

Our forwards dominated but the weather played into our hands and the Irish was terrible. Be interesting to see how we handle the Welsh if it is dry,they get decent ball and are prepared to run at us.

As for BoD’s, assemsnt,what else where you going to do?? The lineout balls you did manage to salvage were s###### at best and keeping the ball among your forwards wouldn’t have worked either as they were under the cosh for most of the game.

The Boks desperately need a backline coach.You never see any decoy runners,skip passes or anybody running onto the ball at pace.It is just so pedestrian,predictable and one dimensional. What exactly does Muir do anyway??. Chris Butler

I dont want to say too much but really a few of the pessimists here must admit that this disjointed team just showed what most of us others were hoping for. Springbok Pride.

We discussed it all week that there is too many players out of position and that against the better if not best backline of the NH.

So what i saw from my side is,
    1, the pack was brilliant and yes i would also like to see Pierre Spies score a tear away try in every match , but there was a lot of work to be done up front and he did his part. So for the runaway i forgive him, we could not afford a loose runner there on Saturday.
    2, Ruan did well for me, but knowing how reliable Hougaart is , Peter could have used him when Ronan O’Gara came on.
    3, Morne was not hot, in fact since his reconditioning he did not start up yet. Do you drop him or play him back to form? Frans Steyn and Habana and a lot of other, was given many , many games to get to grips again.
    4, Zane played quite well with JdeV next to him, off course he needed a experienced player to lead him into that unfamiliar position. When he lost that leadership when JdeV went of it looked not so pretty.
    5, Habana is only effective in blue or when General Fourie du Preez calls his shots.(that blue must be light blue 😆 )
    6, Gio is way overrated he does 2 brilliant thing and make 3 cockups. Watch him carefully, he reminds me of a certain Earl Rose. Just a bit better. That might sound harsh, but what the bloody heck did he try and do when the Irish scored their 2 tries. He should have attacked the ball or the player, he did neither and they scored twice. His positional play is way off. Zane at least is there were you want your full back.
    7, Basson shame the poor guy had nothing to run with, wonder if his nerves will be settled. Remember he never had the ball to run with in a TEST.

Overall this Bok team can be strenghtened but guys give them a loud cheer. And those bloody pessimists say sorry to them. :GRIN:

superBul wrote:

3, Morne was not hot, in fact since his reconditioning he did not start up yet. Do you drop him or play him back to form? Frans Steyn and Habana and a lot of other, was given many , many games to get to grips again.

There is no guarantee that the youngsters would have done better. Lambie came on had 2 great breaks and then the Irish defense shut him up. They saw his moves and stopped him dead in his tracks from there on. But he is good use him as a impact player at first.

I wish we could use the Jantjies/Carlos magic for a few moves , but it might be too risky. If only this tour was not so serious. If we could have the old midweek games, this is what this 2 players needed.

@ vanStraaten:

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha, jy is baie snaaks. Seriously! haha, no confidence in Lambie! BULLS het ‘n beter agterlyn as WP en Sharks. Ok, klou vas aan die Super 14.

Ek het glad nie die game gekyk nie (kan ook nie) aangesien ek myself in Asia bevind. Tog blyk dit my dat daar net EEN vraag is na Saterdag se game.

Wat doen Dick Muir?

Oh, and I regret ever saying we are gonna lose. Seems like the Bokke are not out for the counting.
    Now England will be our hardest test.

superBul wrote:

the pack was brilliant and yes i would also like to see Pierre Spies score a tear away try in every match , but there was a lot of work to be done up front and he did his part.

Pierre did his part up front. He needed to get involved with the tight stuff and he did and for me this was his best game, this year, by far. Maybe I am expecting to much from him becuase of his physique, power and speed. He lack’s that Zinzan Brook/Bobby Skinstad type of flair but maybe I should make my peace that he will never be able to play like Zinzan or Bobby. If Spies play like he did on saturday I am happy with him; when the opportunity provide -and is has to at some stage- he will score that Willie-away try. However he need to do the tight stuff and if the cost of that is that he doesn’t score the Willie-away than that’s fine; he can’t just hang lose waiting for his Willie-away.
    At the end of the day on saturday’s performance Spies is still way beter than overrated Daan Verkneukel from Weer Probeer.

superBul wrote:

Overall this Bok team can be strenghtened but guys give them a loud cheer. And those bloody pessimists say sorry to them.

if you want to see who it was and how high their pessimism was go watch Superbru results.

There was only one guy more optimistic than my 11 point Bok win. Ooo flok nou sien ek eers wie is dit, ons vriendin van NZ en dammit ons Kaptein. 😆
    15 ney for Bokke en 13 jay for us. Eish trust julle nie ons guts nie. 😀

i am in a good mood the rain helped and this nerve wrecking Bok win did it for me.

McLook wrote:

However he need to do the tight stuff and if the cost of that is that he doesn’t score the Willie-away than that’s fine;

That is exactly what Spies did all year for the Bulls, we see how hard he works and understand that he is not so visible as Kanko. I too would love him used in different variations, but currently they are misusing his physique, he is only human and also runs on two legs. If they can use decoys and angles with him he will be devastating.

Super@18. We have to play Morné if we play the type of game we played on saturday. Personally I think we can play two types of games depending who are on the field. If you want to play sharks rugby go with Alberts, Daniel and Kanko with Beast, Janiie and Bismark up front. Bakkies will play that type of game well. Eish ek sidder as ek dink hoe hy sal blow-over at the rucks. In the back you go with Hougaardt, Ruan, Lambie, Jean, and Basson, Habana and Aplon at the back. Another option would be Lambie on 10, Jean and Frans on centre. Damn that will be an exciting backline if we can get the depth on blow-over and space in the backline right.

If want to play tight we go Ruan, Morné with Jean and Frans on the centre and the backrow being Spies, Juan and Stegmann. You can start with 10 man and switch over as the game progresses bringing the subs on according to hwo you want to play.

Greenpoint-Gunner wrote:

Wat doen Dick Muir?

Bleddy goeie vraag. Daar gaan niks aan agter nie. My ouma kan ‘n agterlyn better afrig as wat ek saterdag gesien het.

Ek weet Morne kan no 12 speel het Bulle al daar verteenwoordig, waarom nie hom daar en Lambie op 10 try nie. As dinge nie werk ruil hulle in die game om of skuif Lambie na 15 en bring Zane van 15 terug na 13.

Maar ek dink ons moet net nie mekaar deurmekaar skuif nie amper soos GH in 2007 nie.

Other also ask this
    Jock / Chris

We have a backline coach
    isn’t that Brick Muirs job description?. Strepie

@ McLook:

@ McLook:

Kyk, sy kop is halfpad by die Lions, plus, ons almal weet hy is ‘n voorstaner van die “player empowerment” idee.

Player empowerment is volgens mmy ‘n mooi manier om te se eks d**s lui en wil nie rerig afrig nie, so ek sal maar die spelers op die veld laat besluit wat hulle wil doen.

En kom ons wees nou eerlik. Die hele ding dat Gary Gold by die Stormers en Bokke was, tesame met die feit dat Rassie die St. se afrigter was, en AC die WP s’n… die hele deurmekaar spul het BAIE bygedra tot ‘n k*k 2009 vir Stormers.

‘n coach moet EEN job he en EEN span afrig of manage. Punt.

Our front row did excellent work in the tight and loose, Bismarck must be the best hooker “fetcher” in the game today. One good thing is Beast has shown he is on form. Between him and Guthro we have two very good loose heads. Jannie did well against a decent Irish scrum. Now to find another back up for him.

Bakkies looked like all the time he had off has helped him curb his aggression, and Victor was absolutely immense, not only in the line outs, but loose play etc.

Stegmann did what was expected from him, and somehow did a job well enough where he wasn’t noticed. Juan Smith as always very good, and Pierre Spies looked full of running, a much better performance by him.

I disagree with GBS, Ruan Pienaar made very few mistakes, he clearing at the rucks were clinical, and his tactical kicking good.

Morne Steyn had a few lapses in concentration, but otherwise didn’t play badly.

Jean de Villiers was necessary on the day to organise our defences which he did well, but I get the distinct feeling he has lost a bit of pace, not dure whether his niggling groin injury had anything to do with it.

Zean Kirchner, is a good athlete, but his decision making on the attack is poor, defensively he was sound.

Adie Jacobs, well when he did come on he was anonymous.

Bryan Habana had a decent game with no opportunities and hopefully against Wales he’ll get some.

Basson was decent but also no real opportunities.

aplon made some defensive errors, but in the conditions he was good under the high ball, and came beatifully inside to collect the pass from Zane (shows you he can if he wants to).

Overall I thought our forward pack did everything right, I disagree with McLook about controlling the break down. We still have only one major shortfall and that is some creative play in the back, but then it is understandable that in the conditions it would have been difficult to play expansive rugby.

I am really happy about the win, as it did show me some guts, good forward execution and focus from the springboks.

What we mustn’t forget is that Ireland played into our hands. They were cocksure of themselves and thought they will run the Sh!t out of us, but forgot to get the basics in pllace first.

These Northen Hemisphere teams just don’t seem to realise that what the All Blacks did to us this year, had a lot to do with injuries, unorganised defences because of that, and not too good coaching.

But the fact is a poor springbok backline is still a good one in the NH.

Total 21 users including 0 member, 21 guests, 0 bot online