England (6) 11 / Springboks (6) 21 (Final Score) 

England hosted the Springboks at Twickenham at 16:30 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1, SuperSport HD & M-Net on TV in SA.

The Springboks came out firing in the forwards, dominating the forwards battle and scored 2 tries in the process, one a wonderful break by Lwazi Mvovo who gets his first international try.

The Springboks showed some guts and grit and determination and deserved their win, well done Bokke.

England: 2 Penalties Toby Flood, 1 Try Ben Foden

Springboks: 3 Penalties & 1 Conversion Morné Steyn, 1 Try Willem Alberts, 1 Try Lwazi Mvovo

England: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Mike Tindall, 12 Shontayne Hape, 11 Mark Cueto, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Nick Easter, 7 Lewis Moody (captain), 6 Tom Croft, 5 Tom Palmer, 4 Courtney Lawes, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Andrew Sheridan.
Replacements: 16 Steve Thompson, 17 David Wilson, 18 Simon Shaw, 19 Hendre Fourie, 20 Danny Care, 21 Charlie Hodgson, 22 Matt Banahan.

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Frans Steyn, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 François Hougaard, 21 Patrick Lambie, 22 Adi Jacobs.

Date: Saturday, November 27
Venue: Twickenham, London
Kick-off: 16.30 SA Time (14.30 GMT)
Expected weather: Very cold with wintry showers, which will lead to further accumulations of snow. High of 2°C and by kick-off it will be a chilly -1°C – although the windchill factor will take it down to at least -4°C.
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland), Simon Mcdowell (Ireland)
TMO: Iain Ramage (Scotland)

193 Responses to EOYT: England vs Springboks – Game Thread

1 2 3 7

More allmal. ek dink die bokke gan maar vandag wen. Go bokke. Ja pa, hoe gaan dit daar?

2@ BonzaiGBS:
    Hello Piennie Pannie….

Did you get the Airtime & the money I put into your Account?

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BOKKE. Hope we can.

Been so pessimistic this about our chances all week. Saying England by 20. If England to win think it will be a big win over us. But woke up this morning more positive, have a tiny feeling we just may do it.

BOKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

@ BonzaiGBS:2 – Hello Bonzai, How you doing? You on holiday now from George?

Okay going to log out, no-one online.

Wont blog during the game today. Off to a braai with my Scots mate he has been away on a contract but back now. So have not seen him since our loss to the Scots last week. Will have to brace myself…..HAHAHAHAHA.

Cheers and maybe catch up just before I leave later.

Fun facts.Pieter Pieterse still holds the record in his Koshuis at school.He has walked up 3 stories on the steps on his hands.
    Please tell Pietman.

Hello all, hoping that the Boks play a great game and win today, GO BOKS!

@ Puma 6: If you get to log in again before your braai – have a good one, wonder if your mates are going to give you a hard time. Was there last week and although I was trying to be neutralish was still disapointed at the quality of the play, am sure the Boks will play better today. Anyway buddy must be ‘kilted up’ and then head off to the game vs Samoa, hoping Scotland can build on their performance from last week and both teams give us a good game with tries to celebrate, but it is very cold and around the stadium the ground will be covered in snow.

go bokkkkkeeeeeee……..i hope

Howzit man, sent you email earlier this week, sorry couldn’t get the pics to you last week, was really frustrasting with my phone not playing along. Enjoy the games today!

@ Bullscot:9 – Howzit Bullscot, Yeah my mate will give me some lip for sure….hehehe. Had sms after sms fromt the Scots mates in Scotland striaght after the game. Ag, really we were rubbish but to be honest the Scots support their team no matter what so for them to get a win I feel okay now about it, not last week..hahaha.

You must be crazy going to the game in those freezing conditions. Not for me. The coldest I have ever felt in my life at a rugby game was last year watching the Boks/BIL at Ellis Park. Think temp was 1 that day. FAR toooooooooooo cold for me. Though been to watch Scotland play Switzerland once in soccer while in Scotland and was -2 that day. Then I was young, cold never worried me that much, no the heat bothers me as much as the cold…..hahaha.

Enjoy the game buddy.

Okay going to do my bru picks. Then we off to our best friends for a braai.

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BOKKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE. JUST DO IT.

OPERATION GRAND SLAM – The Springboks tour the UK – Part seven

By Al Fraser

In 1998, after an absence of 28 years, Gary Teichmann’s Springboks had an opportunity to be enshrined in the annals of South African Rugby.

It was a fine year for the Springboks, especially after the lows of 1997 and the series loss to the British and Irish Lions. The Boks were perfectly primed for a Grand Slam and even though they weren’t counting, winning the final test of the tour against England would’ve meant a world record run of 18 successive victories for the Boks.

An emphatic home series win over Ireland and a 96-13 demolition of Wales was followed by a convincing 18-0 win over England at a wet and muddy Newlands. The Boks continued their outstanding form in the Tri-Nations series, remaining unbeaten throughout, and claiming the trophy after a hard-fought win over the Aussies in the final match.

By this time Bob Skinstad was in fine form and the Bok selectors could not ignore his talents, especially with a Bok forward pack at the peak of their powers. Skinstad was a player that needed his forwards to be on the front foot and dominate for 80 minutes while securing quality ball in order for him to showcase his talents.

Under the watchful eye of head coach Nick Mallett, Skinstad was effectively used as a super sub in the Tri-Nations. But, for the tour to the UK and Ireland he would be favoured over the uncompromising, and tough as nails flanker, Andre Venter. It was a precursor to the Teichmann/Skinstad saga that was to be played out the following year.

In the first week of November, the Boks embarked on their eight match tour with a squad of 36 players. In line with the modern era, they would play four midweek games and four tests – a tough ask – but now regarded as the norm in the professional era.

A young midweek side was picked and players like Braam van Straaten, Gaffie du Toit, Breyton Paulse, Deon Kayser, Robbie Fleck, Corne Krige, Andre Vos, Selborne Boome and Willie Meyer stood out. It was also the match where Supersport analyst Owen Nkumane made his Bok debut.

The dirt trackers opened their account with 62-9 win over Glasgow Caledonians in Glasgow. That same week, the Welsh test would be played at Wembley in London – a logistical nightmare – but the Boks soldiered on. The Millennium Stadium was currently being built and the Boks would have the surreal experience of playing at the spiritual home of English football.

Expecting to win easily, the Boks were in for a shock. The Welsh team under the guidance of Graham Henry were unrecognisable from the one that was thrashed earlier in the year. Their forwards were up for a fight and unsettled the Boks for most of the match. With the scores locked at 14-14 going into the break, Mark Andrews was subbed in the 48th min and Skinstad was brought in, to up the tempo. It took a match winning try at the death by Andre Venter to ensure a 28-20 victory. It was too close for comfort for Teichmann’s men.

Mallett did not want a repeat of the Welsh test and Skinstad’s X-factor meant that Venter would ironically be the fall guy, there was no other option. Most of the Afrikaans players secretly felt that Teichmann should have got the axe. But that meant losing a successful captain in the process. After the midweek side dispatched the Edinburgh Reivers 49-3, the team was announced. Skinstad taking Venter’s position and Franco Smith making way for the now dual international, Christian Stewart, who had played for Canada before.

A year after the 68-10 hiding, South Africa struggled to come to terms with a plucky Scottish side. The Boks led 11-7 at half time. It seemed that the Scots gave up in the second half, and the 35-10 score line flattered the Springboks. Terblanche, Joost, Snyman and Rossouw all scored tries before a superb 50 metre try by Skinstad – set up by Andre Venter – put the match beyond the reach of the Scots. Venter became the super sub for the rest of the tour and made a difference every time he came on.

The midweek side thrashed a Combined Provinces side in Cork 32-5 and you could see this team was full of great young talent. It’s just a shame these players did not get the proper coaching they deserved later on when it was time for their international careers to flourish, but hindsight is a wonderful thing. Harry Viljoen and Rudolf Straeuli were a joke and messed things up badly.

No changes were made for the test against Ireland at Lansdowne Road. Thanks to a try by Rassie Erasmus, the Boks held a slender lead going into the second half. The Irish fought back with a try by their inspirational hooker Keith Wood. But it took a series of sublime touches by Bob Skinstad for the Boks to wake up, and he set up Joost for an easy try. The highlight of the match was when Skinstad went on a solo run down the middle and sidestepped Irish fullback Conor O’ Shea to score a try even Carel du Plessis would have been proud of.

The Boks now jointly held the world record with Brian Lochore’s 1965-1969 All Blacks for most successive test victories. They were staring into a once in a lifetime opportunity to achieve a unique milestone all rolled into one – world record and a grand slam – perhaps it was too much to have lingering in the back of the minds of a tired bunch of Springboks.

It certainly wasn’t lingering in the minds of the midweek side as they ripped the Irish A side apart 50-19 to end up unbeaten, perhaps they would have done better against England if they had played.

In front of 73 000 spectators, Jeremy Guscott was again the villain for the Springboks. He played superbly and scored a try in the first half. Pieter Rossouw also scored a try and with all to play for in the second half, the scores were tied 7-7 at half-time. But two penalties by Matt Dawson meant the Springboks were playing catch-up rugby in a desperate fashion. It all seemed lost until the final minute, when the Boks came agonizingly close to scoring a match winning try near the uprights. It was a bitter disappointment for the class of 98’ and the Bok change room would’ve been the last place on earth you’d want to be.

It was a sad end to an almost successful tour and within several months Gary Teichmann was unceremoniously dumped, which proved to be a big mistake. Mallett was banking on a fit Skinstad to set their World Cup hopes ablaze. But due to a car accident, Skinstad was never the same and the Boks World Cup defence lay in tatters after a Stephen Larkham dropkick knocked them out in the semifinals – it still hurts!

GO B O K K I E S S S S S S S S S

I think I am the only person to say

“COME ON ENGLAND”…….. However would honestly rather see a draw!!

Your poor Bok’s are going to freeze their nuts off today…..Hope Percy is wrapped up warm on the sidelines!! 🙂

Going for a run now the snow has stopped, back later when I have defrosted!!

Well, I will be there supporting my team. Lets hope they play with spirit and determination today, because if they do, then we can beat the English. But if its every man for himself in te backline like it has been up to now….then we are on a hiding to nothing. My prediction is Boks to win by 1-5.

@ 4man:
    Every Englishman thinks they have already won this game, but I don’t think their team will make the same mistake. My hart say we will win by 1 or 2 but my brain say we will loose by 15.

Australia tour
    France v Australia 19:45 GMT, 20:45 Local

Fiji tour
    Italy 0 – 0 Fiji 1st half

New Zealand tour
    Wales v New Zealand 17:15 GMT, 17:15 Local

Samoa tour
    Scotland v Samoa 14:30 GMT, 14:30 Local

Aviva Premiership
    Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks 15:00 GMT, 15:00 Local
    Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons 15:00 GMT, 15:00 Local
    Gloucester Rugby v Saracens 16:30 GMT, 16:30 Local
    Bath Rugby v London Wasps 17:30 GMT, 17:30 Local

Magners League
    Cardiff Blues 14 – 6 Glasgow 1st half
    Aironi v Scarlets

na al die gebich em moan en kerm en kla kan ek net se verloor of wen bokke ek back julle tot ek vrek

Italy 3 – 7 Fiji 11′

Italy 6 – 7 Fiji 19min’

Italy 6 – 10 Fiji 25min ‘

Hellooooooooooo

Anthems!

Stand for our National Anthem!

Italy 6 – 13 Fiji 30′

It’s time dudes and dudettes.

Go Bokke!

Goooooo Bokke!

Game On!

Handbags!!