The Sharks travel to Cape Town this weekend to take on Western Province in the final pool match of the Absa Currie Cup ahead of next week’s semi-finals with top spot already buttoned down but a good performance wanted for continuity.

Courtesy: sharksrugby.co.za

This match is massive for Province who will realistically drop into fourth position from second should they lose and thus be forced to travel rather than hosting a semi-final game which puts all the pressure on them for this sell-out match.

The good news for The Sharks is that Stefan Terblanche is over his elbow injury and will take over the captaincy in his now-familiar outside centre position with last week’s stand-in captain (and doing so with distinction), Keegan Daniel having taken a bruising in recent weeks and now playing off the bench this Saturday.

With Springboks Adi Jacobs, Bismarck du Plessis and Tendai Mtawarira available after their conditioning phase, and Ryan Kankowski back at eighthman, a number of injury issues have resolved themselves with squad depth coming to the fore at the most opportune time.

With Keegan Daniel playing off the bench and Willem Alberts carrying a knock which sees him get a break this weekend, the loose-forward trio takes on a slightly different complexion with Michael Rhodes partnering Jacques Botes on either side of Kankowski who will earn his 50th Absa Currie Cup cap for The Sharks on Saturday.

Alistair Hargreaves is back and he will form a new lock partnership with Gerhard Mostert while the front row is an all-Springbok affair with the du Plessis brothers joining Tendai Mtawarira.

Having started all 10 matches he has played this tournament, missing three through injury, fullback Louis Ludik will make way for Patrick Lambie who played just on 20 minutes as a reserve last week, while Andre Pretorius (pictured) retains the Number 10 jersey this week, to be partnered by Rory Kockott at scrumhalf.

“It’s crunch time now,” explains coach John Plumtree. “If you look at our match, it’s the pick of the games of the weekend and probably has got the most riding on it. Having their Boks back will certainly give Western Province lots of confidence, Habana, Fourie and Schalk Burger are key men in the Boks, certainly they are key men in the Province side.”

With the Springbok players only rejoining The Sharks on Wednesday, the coach admitted that integrating them back into the side had not been problematic because they have been part of the team despite not playing over the past month or so.

“It hasn’t been hard preparing because we always knew we’d get the Boks back for the week before the semis and Bismarck and Beast have already played in this Absa Currie Cup which has been great for us. So has JP but he’s carrying an injury and only one who hasn’t had any game time is Adi Jacobs, so it’s a real trial for him on the weekend.
“His challenge is to come back at his best and should he do so, that will be great for us.”

The Sharks

15. Patrick Lambie
14. Odwa Ndungane
13. Stefan Terblanche (Captain)
12. Andries Strauss
11. Lwazi Mvovo
10. Andre Pretorius
9. Rory Kockott
8. Ryan Kankowski
7. Michael Rhodes
6. Jacques Botes
5. Alistair Hargreaves
4. Gerhard Mostert
3. Jannie du Plessis
2. Bismarck du Plessis
1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements

16. Craig Burden
17. Eugene van Staden
18. Steven Sykes
19. Keegan Daniel
20. Charl McLeod
21. Adrian Jacobs
22. Louis Ludik

14 Responses to Sharks Team To Play WP

😆 hiyas snoek i’ll quickly trash my thread as you beat me to it

Back row might struggle against WP.

Hiyas Puma brudda , sorry took so long to respond but was busy doing a thread

how ru doing???

not a bad team for the sharks , but i also worry about the loose trio

there is not that grunt we have with deysel and alberts there

and hiyas snoek bro ^5

I am gonna enjoy being at newlands this weekend and then having dinner with the team afterwards

hopefully should have some great pics

@ sharky_forever:

Enjoy, i will be at Dbn next weekend for the semi.

Enjoy snoek

dagse ashwee , hoe gaan dit met tannie maraai se laaitie 😆

sharky @ 8
    lol
    kennie vi tannie maraai nie
    ma’
    dit gaan goed met my ook!! 😀

lol goed om te hoor

as jy in aapstad is kom loer in by die cattle baron in canal walk

ek kan jou darem n glas water spaar 😆

sharky @ 10
    dankie virrie ytnodiging
    sil onthou om my familie en hulle families sam te bring
    issie aldag lat ñ mens ñ free meal erens kan score nie!! 😉

11@ Ashley:
    Tjarkie_Fornever sal MOOOOOOOOO daar innie Cattle Baron as jy en jou uitgebreide familie daar opdaag….. hehehe

PS Tjarkie_Fornever is groot en lank en lelik genoeg om goed te dien as klim-en-klouterraam vir Klein BonzaiASBAKKIE.

Not a bad team, though we will miss Alberts. Need him for the semi so fine to rest him now.

Lambie slots straight into FB and Ludik on the bench. I wonder if Plum is thinking of Lambie more at FB? Maybe if Pretorius plays well at FH this could be the positions they will play in the semi. Out of the 3 positions so far thought Lambie was at his best at FB very solid there. Also wont have to worry about the kicking either.

Go Sharks. Though think Province will take this one by 5 or so.

@ sharky_forever:4 – Sharky howzit brudda, No problem in not answering straight back. I was busy myself. Hectic at the moment getting ready for my trip to Oz on Saturday.

Damn you lucky or what????? hehehe. Making me wish I could be at that game on Saturday. Rather would be to tell you the truth than have to head off on a business trip. Will miss this game and the semi, not pleased about that at all.

Yes, we will miss Ablerts but think we need him for the semi. Wish Deysel was ready to play too. Not a bad team though. But with Vermuelen, Flo and Burger. We needed some really hard tough, players in that loose trio. See Keegan on the bench. Needs a rest has been outstanding this CC. Lambie in at FB, makes me wonder if that is where Plum might be thinking he should play. Or maybe take over from Pretorius later and Ludik comes on at FB?

Damn what I would do to have just been here to watch the game. Flight leaves at 4pm on Saturday so will miss it totally. Don’t think Oz gets the CC either so will miss the semi. Feel kinda miffed about that especially if we play Bulls. The vibe at the Tank if Bulls are in town is brilliant. Would have gone if I was here.

Anyhow GOOOOOOOOOOOOO SHARKSSSSSSSSS.

Cheers Sharky, maybe catch up a bit tomorrow. Otherwise enjoy it at Newlands. Damn lucky you 😀

Total 92 users including 0 member, 92 guests, 0 bot online