Victor Matfield has been named as captain of the Springbok end-of-year tour on the first day of a preliminary training squad get together.

rugby365

Springbok coach Peter de Villiers made the announcement at a media conference and also confirmed that Juan Smith would be the tour vice-captain.

“With John Smit being injured and unavailable for such a challenging and important tour we obviously needed Victor’s leadership qualities,” said De Villiers “He has filled the role in the past with distinction and has led the Vodacom Bulls and Blue Bulls to a string of titles and has been Springbok vice-captain for a number of years.”

Many will view the appointment as just reward for the 101 Test veteran who has served Springbok rugby with distinction for years.

Matfield’s initial inclusion in the squad was a surprise to some who expected De Villiers to rest some senior players for the tour, and inevitably questions will be asked about the wisdom of such a move given the threat of player burnout ahead of the World Cup next year.

However, it would seem that results on this tour are a priority for the Springbok coach who dismissed suggestions of Matfield struggling to cope with the rigours of a Grand Slam tour after such a busy season.

“We’re aware of his workload this season and we’ll manage him accordingly,” he explained.

The first day of the training camp concentrated on gameplan with meetings and field sessions for forwards and backs.

7 Responses to Matfield leads Bokke on Tour

So, we will see almost a FULL STRENGHT Bokke side for the End of Year our, it seems…

I am hesitant to agree with it…

GBS the communication breakdown resulted in this. If Peter had a better relationship with the media we could have understand it better. We created this win at all cost situation. Jake did exactly the same things as Peter did, but he had this one thing he said all the time rate me after the WC.

That luxury was not afforded to Peter, Peter really tried to up the win percentage. Aaagh why do i bother to defend Peter, i am a lone ranger …..

I will be delighted if PDV wheels out the ‘Big Guns’…..

I don’t want to watch some ‘Newbie’ being bloodied, I want to see the familiar faces..

So how’s tricks?

Hi superBul, big disappointment that we have no one cheer on next weekend…..
    I do not want to upset my Province or my Sharkie fans….I will just keep quiet!

However I do have to do my Bru pick, sadly I have not been able to watch many of the games….so it is guess work.
    I see in the poll WP and Sharks are nearly neck and neck!

BB i think that next week we will heat up with all the rugby, ABs vs Wallas, WP vs Sharks…..

I really wish Peter go full out to win the Grand Slam.

This is the last EOYT for many of these old Springboks. I am sure Victor , Bakkies, Danie, Schalk and the others would love to add the Grand Slam to their career stats. We can rather rest them in next years tests, that will anyway be a more appropriate time, and be more useful. The 7 Bulls had only 2 games in the last 2 months.

If i was the coach i would have tried my best plans NOW, and if i need to fine tune them i would bring the team together in the last 2 Tri Nations games to do the finishing touches.

Hey Blue Bird. Knowing of your open-minded attitude towards any team playing exciting rugby, you will certainly want to become involved with supporting the Wallabies next weekend against the all-conquering ABs??

Now that’s an exciting prospect for you and it is sure to quench your thirst for a good, tough rugby battle, played by 2 teams who are both at the top of their respective games.

Enjoy!
    Go the Wallabies!

Total 96 users including 0 member, 96 guests, 0 bot online