So the EP Kings won the Super 15, no wait, they won the Currie Cup, no wait…wait…they won the Vodacom Cup…darn it, wrong again, what the hell did they win again? Oh yes, promotion to the Premier Division… damn, another mistake from my side… fact is they haven’t won didly squat.

Yet reading the newspapers, and blogs like KEO, one would be forgiven to think that the Kings and their maestro Solomons swept up all there is, on their quest to SA rugby domination.

There has been none of this hullabaloo when the Pumas, only a year ago dominated the first division in such a manner that the other teams were glad they were on their way, there was no doubt that they would win the title, because their approach to the final was nothing short of a stampede. They managed all this with a bunch of no-name players, coached by a no-name coach, with no notable sponsors, no media frenzy surrounding them, no wife-beating Samoans, no American Eagles, Ex-Springboks or ex-Aussies in tow, for much of the year Witbank doesn’t even have water for crying out loud…I should know…

So what is the huge difference?

I’ll be darned if I know, Solomons struggled to win the First Division with a team comprising of at least 60% ex-Currie-Cup Premier Division players and Internationals, but suddenly he and Cheeky Watson are hailed as saviours of the Eastern Cape?

What if the Pumas do what they did to the Boland a year ago, going to PE, and destroying the EP on their home-ground? Where are we then?

Solomons apparently, forces such loyalty from his charges, that they would do anything for him, including playing for charity…if you believe the hype…

Players like De Wet Barry, Darron Nel, Rory Duncan, Willem Stoltz, Monty Dumond, Paul Perez, Tiger Mangweni, Mzwandile Stick, Jaco van Schalkwyk, Jacques Potgieter and others are apparently so chuffed and concerned with EP rugby, that they live on dry bread and water, because if reports are to be believed, there is NO money in EP rugby, and Watson and Solomons keep these players here by a sheer force of will.

Something here is smelling fishy…and the EP Snoeke might have been a more apt name.

It is said that many players have given their commitment to the Kings, that, should the Kings attain Super Rugby status, they would gladly sign with the new franchise…there is just the little matter of contracts with their current franchises, but seeing as I believe this story to also be fabricated, I wouldn’t bother with the minor details.

I mean, look at how many superstars the Cheetahs have signed after they attained Super Rugby status…a full…well…OK…zero! Players are attracted to WINNING teams, ask the Lions how easy they found recruiting players during the Super 14.

Now the Kings apparently, with nothing but the promise of yet to happens, and maybe laters, are going to upset the apple cart, and do what neither the Lions, the Cheetahs, or the Force for that matter have managed to do thusfar, with (allegedly) much more sizeable budgets, and become an overnight success, and all this before their second Promotion / Relegation game.

I will only be sold when the EP are competing against the big six unions (Including the Griquas), and when all the promises, boasting and PR-bull is finally put to the test, between the goalposts. Till then, the EP has achieved nothing, and will they still have to get past the most commanding First Division Champions ever…to even think about being promoted to the showpiece of SANZAR Rugby.

57 Responses to Kings… of which Country?

I would love it to see the name EP up again. Even way back in Frans Erasmus and Danie Gerbers days they did not achieve much. But the SA rugby scene was more balanced for me. All corners of SA was covered. The experience we gained from playing in the windy city might have been the only benefit but still PE needs big rugby.

Duh, EP won the first devision!

Why so upset? Are you another of the Puke-on-Luke brigade who doesn’t like anything associated with him, like his dad?
    Or maybe Solomons for he did with Mallett by dropping precious Teich for Bobby?

I agree, let’s wait for them also to be promoted. But you have to agree that they have pick themselves up from the rubble that is/was Eastern Cape rugby, which is more that you can say for Bulldogs and Falcons!Wasn’t it only about 2 seasons ago that the Valke beat WP in premiership? Where are they now?

Stop writing bull about up and coming teams and focus on what can be done to help struggling teams. Typical SA Afrikaner mentality – gun nooit sy naaste iets goeds nie!

Well, I won’t put it as diplomatically as the Rugbyproffessor.

firstly those ex players are mostly past their sell by date. Secondly after all the allegations of embezzlement of funds etc it is understandable that there won’t be much money in EP.

At the end of the day Cheeky Watson is using this as a pr campaign, if all this nonsense allows the EP franchise to grow and become a force, why the hell not?

@ Rugbyprof:
    @ biltongbek:

Hehehe…I think rugbyprof might be a Lions Supporter…seeing as that was the only other team that felt the poison of my pen this season.

But let’s look at the EP’s alleged main order of business:

a.) Development of Eastern Cape Rugby

Well, I think they have 2, maybe 3 Eastern Cape players in their team, the rest are all mercenaries, as biltongbek puts it, probably up for retirement, so the fringe development players from PE will now come through…oh wait…I haven’t seen them play yet.

I think you misinterpret this article, it’s not about merely slamming the EP, it about getting to the truth, this whole show did nothing for EP rugby, because let’s face it, hardly any EP players got the chance to play any part in this season.

The PUMAS did their things with local unknowns, yet they achieved more than any of the minnows, they have a team that beat the Lions and the Bulls, they drew the Cheetahs close, all with exactly the same constrictions that EP have. But I don’t see Jimmy Stonehouse’s name in lights.

Proffie, I don’t give a rat’s ass for Teichmann, and I supported Luke Watson all the way, as I judge a guy by what he does on the field. I don’t care much for your insinuations, because I can see that your nickname was merely a spur of the moment decision, with no actual basis in reality.

Oh yes, the First Division (Check the spelling prof) title is worth absolutely nothing if they don’t gain promotion, ask the Griffons. In fact it’s probably worth less than the Vodacom Cup, where the mighty Kings couldn’t cut it against the Premier Teams’s second stringers.

But please, lend us more of your wisdom…

I will tell you one thing, EP is looking a hell of a lot better than they did a year ago.

In 2008 they ended dead last on the log, only winning 20% of their games, last year they managed to win 50% of their games, this year it is up to 80%.

Given the mess they were in, I reckon Solly and Watson did a pretty damn fine job in 3 years.

Morne

The same can be said for most teams winning the First Division, they all have cycles of form, the question being, is it permanent or temporary?

Answer me this, because no-one has done so as of yet: Where are the Eastern Cape players? Without the mercenaries, what would the EP do?

@ The Saint:

Cycle?

Dude they have steadily improved over a 3 year period and is one match away from joining the premier division!

Winning the war means you have to win the small battles first and they are doing this.

And are we really going to go back to the debate of why they are not using local boys? 90% of their local boys are playing at big unions because a) they get paid damn well and b) they get exposure and opportunities to play or compete for higher honours.

If EP does make it to the premier division and get the exposure and sponsorship associated with that level of rugby, I have no doubt they will be able to attract better players, or even get a couple of their own back.

But since you have opened that can of worms, let me answer your question with a question.

Provide me with a sustainable plan, for a union in the first division of the Currie Cup to;

a) Challenge for promotion to the premier division
    b) Do this by only using, or using a minimum of 80% of local players only.

(Provided that no other union in SA has to do this and every other union in South Africa apart from the three EC unions enjoy Super rugby participation and participation agreements and benefits with one of the current top 5 unions)

If you can give me a plan that will do this, I will retract my statement.

Hell unlike WP, at least they have some silverware!!! 🙂

i agree with Saint regarding the huge media frensy about the Kings after the draw against the Pumas, and how they suddenly are potential world beaters.

They will probably lose against the Pumas at home, and all this media talk would have been for nothing.

It’s about the timing of the articles and not so much the content.

In saying that, i would have loved to see The Kings and the Pumas play with the big boys next year. It’s a shame that the leopards could actually play in the Premiere division again next year.

Saint, it is your good right to shoot your mouth off from time to time. After all, if JJ Harmse can do it all the time and make a living out of it, why can’t the next ouk also do it, I say.

However, at this stage JJ remains in a different league. In comparison, you are still in the B-Division and although you haven’t won anything yet, you are showing a lot of promise. 😉

I think this Article is hugely unfair on the EP Kings… apart from the fact that I had to edit the contents and remove all the needless swear words it contained.

I agree full-heartedly with Morné on this issue.

We’ve been waiting for the Eastern Cape to show some recuperation and some promise, and that is exactly what we are getting, a remarkable turn-around in fortunes, so far… not only from the EP Kings but also from SWD Eagles who, despite their internal Union conflicts and serious financial problems, have managed to put a side out there who competed in the First Division final… virtually on sheer guts and determination.

What more do you want from them Saint, to walk around with a false halo, like you?

Give credit where credit is due!

10@ fender:
    Hehe, very good meneer, that is sharp humour.

Sain take it on the chin mate, I thought your article was filled with satire.

10@ fender:
    Hehe, very good meneer, that is sharp humour.

Saint, take it on the chin mate, I thought your article was filled with satire.

The Saint is very touchy! And even lecturing me about my bad spelling! Ouch! Sorry guys and saint. Didn’t know I entered a spelling bee…

In this era, who cares where a player comes from and how old he is. If he delivers and the UNION benefits, then good on both. Obviously Cheeky is in it for himself in a way. Anything anybody does, is for himself anyway! Think about it.

Point is : make your stupid opinions visible AFTER the playoffs IF your hated EP didn’t make it. Then at least you have a leg to stand on!

Note to Grootblousmile : rather not publish this dude’s stuff when he shoots his mouth off, cause it’s becoming a lot like another certain site on here. Satire my a@&… Anyway isn’t this supposed to be the ‘friendly’ rugby talk one?

@ Rugbyprof:
    Prof, it was his opinion, something that is tolerated here without name calling.

Saying it is, and i quote, “Typical SA Afrikaner mentality “, is lowering yourself to the level of which you accuse Saint.

And this is a friendly site, I’m saying all this to you with a 🙂 on my face.

I’m on my phone and it doesn’t let me use the nice smiley faces! 🙂

Ek is in elk geval Afrikaans en WP so ek kan maar kritiseer. 🙂 Laat ek weer my punt maak : skryf die artikel eers ‘n week later! 🙂 Of vertel vir die wereld hoe die arme onderskatte Pumas die OP (met hul non-EP spelers en has beens) gaan wen. 🙂 Of wat fout is by die Valke of die Bulldogs. 🙂

Want jy kannie ontken dat Solomons en Cheeky ‘n groot en goeie verskil gemaak het nie, of jy van hul hou of nie. 🙂 En ek is definitief nie ‘n Cheeky of Solomons fan nie! 🙂 Solank mens die verkil op die veld kan sien is die saak reg. 🙂

PS : ek dink dat OP en die Pumas verdien om volgende jaar premier liga te speel. 🙂

@ Rugbyprof:
    Goeie genade, nou lyk jy oor-vriendelik.

En ja, net soos saint moes wag tot volgende week om sy artikel te skryf, moes die pro-OP mense ook gewag het. Ek dink dit was die punt van die artikel.

@ Rugbyprof:
    Nee wat Professor, daardie smilies gaan ons nie convince nie. As jy so baie smile dan begin ek dink dit is vandag baie warm daar in jou geweste, want dit lyk of jou tanne warm kry!

Hehe Biltong!!!

Biltong, lyk my jy’t noggie jou Kaapse roots vergetie. Daai tanne storie is mos affie Kaap?!

In fact, enige tanne storie is affie Kaap. Dis mossie “false teeth capitol of the world”!

@ fender:
    Ons het n’ ou in ons bike club, bleddie snaaks. Maar baie van sy stories gaan altyd oor die tipe “dentures” wat die vrou by die pub het, jy weet soos vol stel dentures, haar eie dentures maar n’ paar missing, of nie haar oorspronklike dentures nie.

Ek sal hom bietjie vra of hy vannie kaap af kom.

Morne

First off, both the Pumas and the Leopards are playing with teams comprising of 80% local players.

Secondly, and that counts for everyone now suddenly concerned with the ‘poor little kings’ I was not the one saying that they HAVE to use locally based players…that was THEIR modus operandi, that is the card that they played for inclusion in the Super 15, now you want me to provide a sustainable plan, ask the guys who suggested it in the first place, I am merely acting out on their own words?

If everyone hadn’t started shooting their mouths off about their supposed success, I never needed to say anything.

The SWD Eagles actually DID play without money for a few weeks because of the incompetence of their management, and they still ended above the Kings on the log…(who by the way DID play in the 2009 semi-finals, so they didn’t suddenly appear on the scene.)

Morne, as to the ‘cycle’ comment, who says what the length of a cycle needs to be, the Falcons was on top for a few seasons, now they are on the bottom, they will probably be on top again sometime.

Winning a few small battles you say? If I won a small battle, I do not go about acting like I was an emperor do I?

SO everyone is on my case, because I say it, as I see it to be, tough, it is my opinion, and I never asked for anyone to agree…

Rugbyprof…

I see you hint to me going on like I was on Voldy…I wonder who brought race into the argument?

Saint,

“First off, both the Pumas and the Leopards are playing with teams comprising of 80% local players.”

You sure about that?

Regarding the card they played for inclusion in the Super 15, don’t you think we should wait until such time as they actually play in the Super 15 and then judge them on whether they they lived up to their promise to play local players?

Then lastly, let’s for argument say the current Puma side stays in the Premier league but is not 80% local, are they not contributing to the development of the game in Mpumalanga merely by having a Premier Div side there?

@ The Saint:

Really?

I would love to know what you regard as ‘local’ because my player database says something completely different.

And just how do you propose the Kings start developing and using their local players? Have you ever been involved in a skills transfer program in sport? Do you know the financial constraints associated with it? Do you take into regard what they have to compete against (keeping local players, well, local)?

The Kings won 50% of their matches last year, quite a simple point. The fact that they still managed to get into a semi says more about the quality of the other teams in the division than their own if you regard ‘making a semi’ successful over and above their tournament winning percentage.

And just who is this everyone singing the Kings praises you refer to? Keo?

I read that article too, and as I mentioned in my first post, to me it was more of an acknowledgment of what Solly and Watson achieved, nothing more. And if you cannot acknowledge their role in the Kings obvious upward curve, then I see little point in carrying on with this discussion.

How long did it take the Bulls to come back from seasons where the likes of the Pumas and SWD beat them in Currie Cups, and their players threatened with strikes and walking out of the union?

How long has it taken WP, with all their talent and money, to reach a CC final?

From what I read, a lot of people are acknowledging the refreshing change at EP given the shit that has plagued the union for so long. Their administration seems to be on the ball under the guidance of Anele and Cheeky, and their on-field performances has improved from 20 to 80% success rate in 3 years thanks to Solly.

Job well done.

Jeez saint, nobody hinted at any race. Ontspan jou boude bra. Hou net op om volgende keer stront te skryf dan is als ok! 🙂

OP en WTvl speel volgende jaar premier so maak vrede daarmee. Kom ons konsentreer op die final en hoop die WP rule! Lank lewe Solly en Cheeky, die redders van die Konings van die Ooskaap!

Rugbyprof wrote:

OP en WTvl speel volgende jaar premier

Pumas se verdiende loon as hulle afskuif. 😆 hul het die Bulle en die Leeus gekos, Noorde maatjies maak nie so nie. 😀

Om eerlik te wees ek het gewens dat OP teen die Luiperds uitspeel, dan was hul kanse sovel beter.

Maar aan die ander kant die Luiperds het n goeie voedingsbron , die Universiteit, dit sal jammer wees as hulle uitval.

Hehehe… ek like dit as WP manninne met mekaar fight… WWE Wrestling se moer, ons het Saint in die een hoek en Morné Pissmier in die ander….. moer mekaar manne, ek haat vrede…. hehehe

Op ‘n ernstige noot, julle moet ou Saint nooit ernstig opneem nie, hy like van stir…. en van hoenders doodry… hel dis ‘n ou wat maar swaargekry het in Ermelo op sy tyd… vra ons maar, sommige van ons ken die storie toe die hoftoilette ontplof het, terwyl hy daar in Ermelo by die Hof gewerk het… dis maar net die begin, shame die arme man kom van Mordor (Witbank) af… hy het duidelik skade opgedoen daar…

Bwahahaha

Enigste kak is, ek kom ook van Ermelo af!!! (9 jaar daar gebly)

hehehehe

Total 61 users including 0 member, 61 guests, 0 bot online