In the pre isolation years South Africa played 174 Tests winning 112 Tests, drawing 15 Tests and losing 47 Tests. With an overall win rate of 64%

Country, played, wins, losses, draws, win percentage, points for, points against.                                              

Australia   28 21 7 0 75.00 429 229              

British and Irish Lions   40 20 14 6 57.50 471 383              

New Zealand   37 20 15 2 56.75 395 350              

France   19 12 3 4 73.68 328 166              

Ireland   10 8 1 1 85.00 159 73              

South America   8 7 1 0 87.50 210 114              

England   9 6 2 1 72.22 117 62              

Wales   7 6 0 1 92.85 61 15              

Scotland   8 5 3 0 62.50 104 38              

NZ Cavaliers   4 3 1 0 75.00 96 62              

World XV   3 3 0 0 100.00 87 59              

USA   1 1 0 0 100.00 38 7              

In comparison South Africa in the post isolation years have played 217 Tests winning 135, drawing 4 and losing 78 Tests. With an overall win percentage of 62%

Country, played, wins, losses, draws, win percentage, points for, points against.

Australia 1992-2010 43 20 22 1 47.67 918 1010            

Wales 1994-2010 17 16 1 0 94.11 608 311            

Argentina 1993-2008 13 13 0 0 100.00 544 272            

New Zealand 1992-2010 44 13 30 1 30.68 866 1164            

England 1992-2008 22 12 10 0 54.54 523 418            

Scotland 1994-2008 12 11 1 0 91.66 397 178            

Italy 1995-2010 10 10 0 0 100.00 533 129            

France 1992-2010 19 9 8 2 52.63 436 402            

Ireland 1998-2009 9 6 3 0 66.66 219 142            

Samoa 1995-2007 6 6 0 0 100.00 316 65            

British & Irish Lions 1997-2009 6 3 3 0 50.00 129 133            

Uruguay 1999-2005 3 3 0 0 100.00 245 12            

Canada 1995-2000 2 2 0 0 100.00 71 18            

Fiji 1996-2007 2 2 0 0 100.00 80 38            

Tonga 1997-2007 2 2 0 0 100.00 104 35            

USA 2001-2007 2 2 0 0 100.00 107 35            

Georgia 2003-2003 1 1 0 0 100.00 46 19            

Namibia 2007-2007 1 1 0 0 100.00 105 13            

Pacific Islands 2004-2004 1 1 0 0 100.00 38 24            

Romania 1995-1995 1 1 0 0 100.00 21 8            

Spain 1999-1999 1 1 0 0 100.00 47 3            

On face value, it seems that we are as successful in post isolation as what we were in pre isolation, but reading these statistics at face value only is similar to judging a book by its cover.

There many more teams playing test rugby these days, and most of the new comers are strictly amateur in their setup, hence it flatters our statistics, I have there for taken the statistics of those countries playing professional rugby and compared that to the pre isolation amateur era.

Country                , played, wins, losses, draws, win percentage, points for, points against

Australia 1992-2010 43 20 22 1 47.67 918 1010        

Wales 1994-2010 17 16 1 0 94.11 608 311        

Argentina 1993-2008 13 13 0 0 100.00 544 272        

New Zealand 1992-2010 44 13 30 1 30.68 866 1164        

England 1992-2008 22 12 10 0 54.54 523 418        

Scotland 1994-2008 12 11 1 0 91.66 397 178        

Italy 1995-2010 10 10 0 0 100.00 533 129        

France 1992-2010 19 9 8 2 52.63 436 402        

Ireland 1998-2009 9 6 3 0 66.66 219 142        

British & Irish Lions 1997-2009 6 3 3 0 50.00 129 133        

The statistics against the countries that have professional players reads 195 tests, 113 wins, 78 losses and 4 draws. With a win percentage of 58%

The countries that have “caught up” with South Africa during the last 18 years are:

Australia who in modern times have gone past us, New Zealand who has rocketed past us, England who dominated us as recent as 2006, France who has been dominating us in recent times and even Wales has received their first win against us.

It is interesting to see that teams that struggled to win more than 1 out of 4 matches against us, has in the modern era been so much more competitive and successful.

I want to discuss the reasons behind this, and the usual suspects would be infrastructure, player base, coaching, administrations and the stubborn way in which we cling to our way of playing.

Infrastructure

With our schools rugby the envy of most countries and the Craven Week unique in it’s setup in the world, it is clear that at school level there seems little wrong with our grass root development, until you realise that perhaps as many as 50% of our schools do not even have the basic requirements to play rugby, most of the traditional “black” schools do not have the facilities and/or attitude to want to play rugby.

I have been out of the loop in club rugby for a good 18 years, but even in my day playing for a second division club like Edenvale there was no coaching worth mentioning, a club like Wanderers in those days would have sufficient money to at least compensate their first team players. I can only imagine that fewer clubs these days are breeding grounds for provincial teams. I contacted Boland rugby union a few months to find out how accurate the data bases are in regards to registered clubs and players and found it totally farcical with the lady at Boland rugby union telling me they have in excess of 100 clubs. Now surely 90% of them must be a social club who would not even posses a piece of land to play on.

Of the 14 Provincial teams that we have, it is clear that 9 of these teams do not have sufficient money to retain any good players and even the Cheetahs who has been one of our breeding grounds for South African rugby cannot compete with the likes of the Sharks, Bulls and Stormers when it comes to retaining players.

This season has been an eye opener in terms of the quality of rugby that the Pumas, Leopards and Griquas have been playing and even the Lions seems to be on the up.

Coaching

It has become very clear to me that we are in serious need of some world class coaches and the example of the Lions contracting John Mitchell just confirms that if our Back line coach of the Springboks could not develop the Lions sufficiently to win one match in the super 14, and has the record for conceding the most tries, it is clear that John Mitchell is a much better coach and has shown his credentials by having immediate success with the Lions.

Administration

Our administration is currently the laughing stock of the world, NZ and Australia has had very little trouble in convincing SARU to split the television revenue earned through the SANZAR contracts evenly, even though we have by far the biggest television audience. In fact they have been intimidated to such an extent that they want to look for alternative avenues and other partners as I am sure they can’t see how they will get back the respect that must have been lost from their SANZAR partners. SARU also does not seem to have the ability to manage PDV and his public outbursts or his poor performances, let alone set up a workable plan to rest and condition players.

How do we fix this?

It is not going to be easy, and certainly is not an overnight fix. At a grass roots level government is going to have to step in and get the Minister of education or sport involved in setting up a 5 to 10 year plan on how they will introduce and set up the required facilities in schools, how they will implement rugby in these traditional “black” schools, and infuse a rugby culture. If necessary get an outside company to be funded by government and let them execute and monitor progress.

Our clubs need a revamp, provinces should earmark the clubs with most potential to become breeding grounds and be fed from schools in their district, it is also vital to have club representatives visit these schools and recruit the rugby players as I believe this is a major loss of talent that simply disappears out of our systems. We cannot continue to have our Provinces only recruit from elite rugby schools and Craven weeks.

Although we do have an under 21 provincial competition, I am certain that most of these players come from these schools and Craven week.

Coaching, it might be an opportunity for SARU to setup a coaching academy that can educate and intensify the development of coaches who can ultimately become provincial and national coaches.

Perhaps if we have better coaches the basic skill sets required to play a wider faster game will outweigh this belief that the way we play rugby is our only strength.

But at the end of the day, the buck stops with our rugby administration, they seem to be so busy with their in fighting and corporate politics whilst trying to also be seen as being politically correct that the ambitions of the individual is now far more important than the development of South African rugby.

The writing is on the wall, it is time for either the South African rugby public to demand that these issues be addressed from grass root level all the way to the top of SARU, we are a Country with a love and passion for rugby second to none, we have a proud history and record for more than a hundred years. We have untapped talent in 75% of our population that now 16 years after our first democratic election has yet to be effectively developed. We have the potential not only to be number one in the world, but with the required actions can dominate world rugby.

As a nation we are physically strong and genetically built for this game, there should be no way that NZ with less than 5 million population should have the upper hand over us.

The time is now, and we need to make government aware that they have as much a responsibility in developing rugby in South Africa, and no amount of quotas will make this the number one sport in SA, if we don’t get the other 75% of our population to play the game.

18 Responses to Time to face the facts

Nice one I like your reasoning and ideas at the bottom much more than the stats in the start.

Quite simply given our resources in this country it is unforgivable that we languish anywhere lower than 65%.

Sort the structures out, and the knock-on effect will take place automatically.

@ Morné:
    Sorry about all the stats, but i am a bit of a stats freak and thought it necessary to show the effect against the respective teams, the question is how do we get government and all the relevant parties to listen to us?

@ biltongbek:

I like stats too but it can be argued in many ways, pre-isolation guys played a lot less tests and rugby games in general which of course is one of the big talking points currently, ie. conditioning.

True, in this case it is merely to compare win percentages.

Waar is gbs vanoggend ?

Het hy sy plek in die oue-te-huis gaan boek 🙂

Interesting thoughts indeed.

As a recently “retired” administrator at a club in a “previously disadvantaged / coloured” community I can tell you that no Provincial Union representative visited the club in an official capacity either to observe a training session or a league match since 2006.

As for the schools subject (in “previously disadvantaged areas”), I could keep you “entertained” for hours.

Development clubs must survive for a season on less money than most major Provincial Union CEO’s pay for their monthly car lease!

In my 5 years involved with the club not ONE CENT WAS CONTRIBUTED EITHER BY SARU OR THE PROVINCIAL UNION to Rugby Development in this particular community.

Helloooooooooooo

Die plaaslike Ouetehuis, Tweedy Park, is vol…. hahaha

I always believed the tally pre-isolation was in fact 21-18 the Bokke way over the ABs..

so Im not sure where the 20-15 comes from? happy to be proven incorrect..

Great article Biltong.
    Sensible, logical and right on the money.
    Everything our administration is not, and therein lies the problem.

Nice article Biltong….just use “grass root level” a lot more and the goverment will get interrested pretty soon. They, and about 80% of South Africans love that overly used expression…..

Excellent article biltong, makes for good reading. Your analyses point out the weaknesses, particularly your posit that SA rugby shouldn’t be dominated by any other nation due to the history, genetics and the rugby passion. SA administrators have the ball at their feet. Their big game has already kicked off. Are they up to the challenge of taking SA rugby to another level, or is to be more of the same?

Somewhere someone complained that Dv took us to a all time low, here is a fact you cant ignore.

This year the Boks’ slide (the loss of ranking points) has been steady and they are now at their lowest since the dramatic slump under Jake White in 2006 and 2007, when they slipped to fifth place (84.69 points) – before rising back to first when they won the World Cup in France.

12@ superBul:
    So, does this slide make Divvie’s failure acceptable?

Come, you still owe me an answer on a bet that under Divvie we won’t win the World Cup…

Whether it is an all time low or not as someone supposedly suggested, does not matter, it is a low anyway with pathetic defensive rugby played………. ‘n bol snot if you ask me, shoddy, silly, ill-diciplined shit….. and the Snorrie Apologists just keep gobbling up the shit…. because he is soooooooo South African and soooooooo funny…

Fok hom man, sy hele moer!

#13 GBS do I sence that you are a TAD upset by Divvie 🙂

I just want to state that I also dont think that JW is the big saviour either, Eddie Jones helped him out of the sh*t at the previous wc.

I think if we just get rid of goue gerrie and tricky dicky and get in Slapchips and a good front row coach as assistant coaches, Pdivvy should pull this out of the ash!!!

14@ Tripples:
    Nee, pla my net as iemand se plaat bly vashaak op een plek….. jy weet, daai eentonige oor-en-oor oor-en-oor oor-en-oor…. selfde noot…

Beweeg aan… daar’s nuwe issues…. die Conditioning debakel…. of die week se Currie Cup….. of die All Blacks vs Wallabies van Saterdag…. hey, of dalk hoe om die Bokke se SWAK SPEL spel reg te stel…..

Wie het flokken vasgehaak.
    Die klomp wat nie wil aanvaar dat Divvie nie nag is nie. Hierdie is maar net aanslag no 3 op hom, aanstelling, eerste jaar en nou.
    Flokit aanvaar die man nou en werk saam.

Ja kyk, ons het hom en ons gaan hom hou, ons moet net bid, dat wanneer hy sy “review” einde van die maand kry, dan sal die Administrasie hom forseer om hulp te kry en hopelik van dick en gary ontslae te raak.

Maar ek gaan met jou baie eerlik wees, as hulle die coaching team hou soos hy nou is, gaan ons nie n’ kans staan in die wereld beker nie.

Daar moet eenvoudig erkenning wees dat ddar hulp nodig is.

Wat alles so maklik maak om die huidige situasie aan te val is dat hulle net een rympie het, ons is op track en die strukture is in plek.

Kyk na die volgende issues en vra dan wie gaan dit fix.

Wedtryd fiksheid
    Bestuur van spelers
    Verdediging
    intensiteit
    motivering
    tegniese “execution”
    variasie op spel patroon

En seker n’ paar ander.

Total 140 users including 0 member, 140 guests, 0 bot online