Racing-Metro’s South African back Francois Steyn says he’s prepared not to take part in next year’s World Cup because of the lack of respect shown to him and his club.

“Peter de Villiers (the South Africa coach) was due to come to Paris on September 18,” Steyn told Midi Olympique newspaper.

“He cancelled the meeting. It’s not the first time he’s done that. It’s a lack of respect for Racing and a lack of respect for me.”

The 23-year-old Steyn, a member of South Africa’s World Cup-winning squad in 2007, joined Racing for the 2009 season but has only rarely been called up since then.

He was lately selected for the Springboks’ final Tri-Nations games this season but had to contend with criticism from de Villiers, who has been outspoken on the form of South Africans playing in European leagues.

“When John Smit (Clermont) or Victor Matfield (Toulon) came to France, everything was clear between the South African Rugby Football Union, them and their clubs,” Steyn said.

“I don’t understand why the federation doesn’t act in the same way with Racing. It has said and promised many things but nothing has been upheld.

“I don’t see why I would respect people who don’t respect me, who don’t respect my club.

“I’ve got this umpteenth meeting cancelled as proof. I’ve taken note of that and so expect nothing more from the Springboks.”

Steyn added of his participation in the World Cup: “It’s too early to say whether I’ll not be there. But I’ll definitely do what Racing want. If my bosses don’t want me to go, I won’t.”

The pro-Steyn media lobby believe the booming boot of the former Coastal Shark and ability to kick penalties from extraordinary distances make him indispensable for the 2011 World Cup in New Zealand.

Courtesy of sport24

40 Responses to Steyn/Snorre saga goes on…

The more things change the more they stay the same..

Think this is totally WRONG by PdV. The 3rd time he has cancelled a meeting with Metro and Steyn in France.

Anyhow what a magnificent morning to wake up to the gentle sound of RAIN!!!!!!!!!! Yes the rain HAS FINALLY come to Durbs. What a relief. Been the such a long, long dry winter this year. May it rain for days.

Morning Super, see you up there. Think this site working slow. Taking a min or so to refresh and also going into different threads here taking a min or so too. Went on SW now and it was snap, snap. So not my pc think something not working here. Also when I submit it takes about a min to submit. Need to let gbs know boet so he can sort it out.

If Steyn has this attitude, notwithstanding Snorrie’s inability to keep a meeting or 2, the let the tosser go, he’s not good anymore anyway… why the bother, for what?

3@ Puma:
    What would SuperBul know about the speed here, he’s no Fundi on IT but rather our webmaster who helps with all the Articles and who also helps to look after you okes?

System is running fine today, no problems, whatsoever….. speed right up there on the mark.

3@ Puma:
    Right at the bottom of this page or any other page, read what it says there under the Copyright message… mine says

96 Queries 0.755 seconds

(this is the measure how fast the web page refreshes…. and that is lightening fast.)

What does your’s say…. that will determine quite easily WHERE the problem lies.

@ grootblousmile: 5 – gbs, I know Super is a webmaster here and not a Fundi on IT..hehehe. But being a webmaster wanted him to tell you THERE IS A PROBLEM. Has taken me again about a min to log in and will see how long it takes now to submit this post.

BUT see on keo it is not working either. Sent about 4 posts and it just vanished……Hehehehe. Not my pc cause I can see not many posts there. So others might have a problem there too. Here it is working just taking a long time to refresh and submit. Or to change and read other threads.

Okay that post took 30sec to go through. So it has speeded up a bit. But once it has gone through to refresh still taking long about 30sec now. So also speeded up but taking far tooooooo long.

Just checked gbs, mine says 5.339 sec

Now will time this one and see.

17 sec now to send and refresh…. Getting faster 😀 But just…hehehe.

10@ Puma:
    So, there you have it… 5.339 seconds…. problem your side.

See a PC “Caches” memory and by now your PC has built up such a host of Temporary files, which hogs memory, that it refreshes slowly.

I said this a while ago. Frans Steyn is going to change allegiance, before you know it he will run out for France

13@ biltongbek:
    Fransie CANNOT run out for France, once he’s run out for the Bokke…. International regulations dictates that.

@ grootblousmile:12 – gbs, Think you right. I actually need a new pc. Been needing a new one for a long time.

But why can I post and refresh on SW world in less than a second?

15@ Puma:
    We have a lot of Graphics running here on R-T and the 1st thing where one can see if a PC struggles with it’s own caching issues is when it has to load a lot of graphics and multi-media content.

Okay been trying to answer to Morne on keo this whole morning about this, but my post just does not appear there after I submit it. So hope he can read it here. Cause now frustrated in typing it over and over there. He does post here so hope he reads it here.

MORNE GOING TO ANSWER YOUR POST HERE. Hope you read it. I tried and tried on keo but nothing working there mate.

Morne, I have read your post on keo early today and answered you there but don’t think the site there is working proper today. My post just does not appear when I submit. So going to answer you here.

For the first time Morne I don’t agree with you about this whole issue with PdV and Frans Steyn. PdV is totally WRONG mate. He should have kept that appointment and gone to meet Metro and Steyn that was his word and he should have stood by it. Done the honourable thing. Not just not turn up and this is the 3rd time he has done it. That is not how you handling business or rugby business ever. It is totally out of order and not right at all. Not professional that. It would have made Frans feel like a fool at his club, no wonder he has dished it out to the media. Don’t think Frans should have said anything to the media, but it must be frustrating when PdV says he is coming and just never shows up.

There must be issues between both coach and player. That is a given. So why did PdV not approach Frans Steyn here in SA when he was here about a month back? That would have been the time to speak to him and tell him he does not want him in the Bok team. As that is obvious to anyone. So really you can’t blame Frans for his outburst but rather this is PdV fault for not turning up once again. Saru has to speak to PdV. Not good enough.

I tell you what. If anyone is late for a meeting with me I wont even see them at all. I respect people who keep the time and never late. Never mind not turning up. That tells me that person is not sincere or a failure. So not worth dealing with people like that.

Hope you read this Morne. Sorry to answer here and not on keo where you posted but that site today is not working.

@ Puma: typo there. handling = handle

@ grootblousmile:16 – gbs, I think I have a problem with my pc. I know when I change my pic on SW it takes forever to change. Also to do with the caching. So it must be my pc then. It is after all more than 4 years old now. So time to get a new one I think 😀

Jeepers, How sits a huge Monkey on my window ledge to my study. Going to try and get him out. Damn he has come in now. Going have to get him out. Hope he don’t bite.

Back in a min. Where is Treehugs when we need her. She would now what to do. Damn two in here now. Have to go.

How did Tiaan Strauss then manage to run out for Australia, did the IRB change the qulification regulations since then?

GBS, my laptop has also been slower than normal since yesterday. Takes 5seconds to refresh. It is a new ;aptop only three months old.

Could it be the 3G card?

Hope Puma evicts the monkey without mishap!!

Treehugger tells me they like fruit!!

GBS I would like to report that my Samsung (recommended by an expert) is behaving perfectly!!! 😉

Hell i had a good laugh now about the monkey business , hope Puma won the fight.

Well, if no one is at home I may look in later……

Now rather worried about Puma!! 😯

SuperBul you are just the chap to advise Puma how to get rid of his ‘visitor’……should he lay a trial of fruit across his lawn or something?

Puma…shot him, I’m there next week if you want me to do it.

21@ biltongbek:
    Regulations have changed.

Before you could qualify for a 2nd or even 3rd or more Nations… now ONLY ONE!

Ai tog…Frans Steyn.
    After your last showing my boy, you can stay there….you are catching de Villiers disease, just keep your mouth shut and do what you are going to do….whatever happened to ones “private business”…everyone wants to be a celebrity these days….do your talking on the field like a gentleman should!!

Total 28 users including 0 member, 28 guests, 0 bot online