Springbok captain John Smit will get an opportunity next year to fill in the one gap that was left in his impressive CV following the 2007 World Cup triumph.

Gavin Rich

Whereas everything went so well for Smit at national level that year, and he has subsequently led the Boks to a series win over the British and Irish Lions before picking up another Tri-Nations title, South Africa’s most celebrated captain would not be human if the Sharks’ last second defeat in the 2007 Super 14 final does not still rankle.

A try a few minutes from time appeared to have wrapped up the trophy for the Sharks, who were gunning to be the first South African team to lift the Super Rugby trophy.

But a conversion kick that would have put the Sharks out of sight of their opponents flew wide, and then the Bulls’ Bryan Habana scored a stunning try amidst a surreal silence to ruin the party that was already in full swing in the Absa Stadium.

Smit, like coach Dick Muir, cut a forlorn figure after the final whistle and the dejection on the Sharks’ faces was in stark contrast to the elation of the Bulls.

Next year Smit will get a chance to make up for the experience as he has confirmed his commitment to the Sharks, thus ending any speculation that he might follow his former franchise coach Muir to the Lions. It is understood that Smit was made a sizeable offer to move to the Lions, but he has turned it down.

Sharks chief executive Brian van Zyl confirmed from Bloemfontein, where the Shark’s dispute with the Cheetahs over Lionel Mapoe’s contract is being heard, that Smit has signed for the Sharks and will play for them in 2011.

That will be good news for the Sharks as there are few leaders in the Smit mould, and provided he can reach his fitness objectives in his comeback from the back operation that he underwent earlier this week, he should be a key figure in what is building into another formidable Sharks challenge as, under coach John Plumtree’s expert watch, they continue to grow their up-tempo game in the Currie Cup.

Although Bismarck du Plessis will be back after his injury lay-off and confirmed in his few Currie Cup appearances for the Sharks in August just what a fine player he is, and Craig Burden has developed impressively as the other hooker, Smit was effective when deployed at loosehead prop by Plumtree earlier this year.

Sorry for the spiteful coloring in of a part of the article, i just could not help myself when i was reminded of that beautiful day.

20 Responses to Smit commits to Sharks

Very good news that John has signed again with the Sharks. Actually it is no surprise to me. Sharks will want to keep him on long after he has finished his playing time with them. He has a lot to offer other than playing.

Bissie will get plenty time to play next year. We need far bigger squads for the S15 and will need to rotate players and rest players in some games. So don’t see that as a issue rather a plus for both players keeping them fresh and fit for the long S15, Tri-Nations and wc.

Super your Blue is not spiteful. Wrong word. It is called bragging…..hehehehehehehe.

Jeepers I don’t want to remember that game ever Super. We should have WON IT. Pity they took our kicker off before the end. Blame it on Muir. Also remember Walsh?? He got it so wrong at the end too. Ag, it is gone and dusted.

Think the S15 going to very hard to win. Need to top your franchise to get a good chance I think and that alone will be tougher than most of the competition. South Africans against each other in rugby is bloody damn hard. Very physical. We sure going to see some injuries I think, long before the end of the S15. Hope not but think we may if we don’t rotate and rest players between games.

After losing family members to illness and failing my Board exam before I got it right and qualifying, losing that Super 14 final in the last seconds while celebrating in the stands already is still the thing that hurt the most in my life… Sharks supporters will never recover from that. I HATE STEVE WALSH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

@ Winston:2 – Winston, I felt the same when we lost. That was one game we threw away. We should have won it. Muir should never have taken Percy off or John for that matter. Then we had Walsh???????????? He cost us that game really. Heard he apologised a year later about his mistake he made. Too late for that but at least he said he was wrong.

Well for me it still hurts too. Now the S15 will be even harder to win.

@ Winston:2 – Winston,

Sorry to hear you lost some family members to illness that year. It must have been very tough for you buddy.

Muir was a clown with those substitutions that day, what was he thinking, anyway it is water under the bridge now. But those that watched the game and were there know the pain that we are talking about 🙂

Yeah, lost my Mom in 2007, was a tough year but like with grief it gets better with time, but enough of my sob story, hopefully the Sharks do well next year, I think Plum is assembling a very strong squad for next year.

@ Winston:5 – Winston, Agree Muir made some stupid subs that day. To this day also think he made all those subs last year in the first Lions test and NOT PdV. Think it was Muir. He is known to do that.

6 – Winson it must be very tough to lose your mother. Sad to hear that buddy. My mom is 83 and still here. She has a pace maker now and struggles to walk about. But pleased I still have her. My dad passed away 30 years back. I was only 24 at the time. It was tough at the time. But you must just remember the good times and all the good memories buddy, that what heals the soul.

Enjoy the cricket this weekend Winston. Wish I was going to the semi or final. Actually have not watched much crici this time. Not like me to miss so much of the crici, but have been so hectic busy so missed plenty of it.

Okay now I am really out of here. Catch up tomorrow for a bit.

Agreed, yeah it was a huge knock but I am carrying on, have had alot of support along the way. I am hitting the final on Sunday for the cricket so it should be great, my offices are about 2 blocks behind the stadium so I think I will just park at work and walk down. I am hoping for a Warriors / Super Kings final, last night was a great game.

Take Care, chat tomorrow.

Winston wrote:

Muir was a clown with those substitutions that day,

and still in 2010

Fair enough, cant argue with you there..

Mmmmm, so Barney extends his Sharks contract whilst some Lions supporters were so cock-sure of themselves that John Smit would become a Lion…

Never count your chickens before they hatch…. hey!

Hello BB,

See you up there. Just logged on quick to say hello. Been a long, long day going to bed soon.

How you doing? Hope well.

I have it on VERY GOOD authority that someone VERY high up in the Lions was adamant up until the evening before this announcement that JS would be a Lion next season.

Mind you, the guy (at the Lions) has been known to lie about things like contracts and all sort of things in the past anyway, so there’s nothing really new in this is there.

13@ Scrumdown:
    Bwahaha…. when will they ever get rid of the Man(ie)?

Still hier vandag…mens sal sweer almal is op vakansie 🙂

@ bos_otter:

More bos_otter! Ja dit is vakansie dag hier, erfenisdag / heritage dag en die ampetelike braaidag!

Het baie mooi weer hier in die Kaap, so ons gaan defnitief die braai ding doen. Jou tyd raak nou min ne? Jy kan al begin in enkel slapies tel!

Aan al die mede bloggers, hoop jul het ‘n heerlike vakansiedag en dat die vure sterk gaan trek vandag!

@ bos_otter:15 – Yip Bos, It is a public holiday here.

Muurball,

Enjoy your day buddy. I am out of here for now. Catch up later or tomorrow.

Hello Muurbal en Puma….dink aan my as julle aan daai boerewors en skaaptjops smul. Is soos jy se muurbal, is nou nie meer lank nie dan sit ek terug in goeie ou SA. Volgende week die tyd is ek oppad lughawe toe. Kan nie meer wag nie. Lekker weer, hope braaivleis en n bietjie klippies en Coke…..mmmmmm

Peter’s review panel consists of De Klerk, Saru President Oregan Hoskins, SARU Deputy President Mark Alexander and executive member James Stoffberg.

Total 60 users including 0 member, 60 guests, 0 bot online