SARU on Monday completed an extensive review of the international season to date in conjunction with Springbok coach Peter de Villiers.

Div Escapes Review Unscathed

All aspects of onfield and off-field performance were examined by a committee chaired by James Stoffberg, chair of SARU’s rugby committee and vice president of SARU.

The committee received reports from De Villiers on issues that had been discussed with SARU leadership at two previous meetings since the ending of the Vodacom Tri-Nations season.

“The committee’s focus was very much on examining areas where we can assist the Springbok team and coach in making sure they arrive at the field in the best possible state of preparation,” said Stoffberg.

“We reviewed the season to date and have discussed options for assisting the team in those preparations.”

Stoffberg said that the focus was now on selecting and preparing a Springbok squad for the end-of-year tour under the guidance of the current management.

“It was a frank meeting but a positive one,” said Stoffberg. “The results of the Springbok team are of paramount importance to our organisation and everyone in the room was committed to providing the team with the best conditions in which to succeed.”

De Villiers said: “It was a very helpful process as we have thoroughly reviewed all our systems. We know there are areas in which we must improve and we will be focusing on those in the remainder of the season.”

The Springboks are next in action against Ireland in Dublin on November 6.

46 Responses to SARU: No Bok coach changes

puma @ 28
    môre bru
    hoe hang hulle?

ok ouens
    gou-gou uit
    k*khys vol werk so pas ingekom
    chee’s vi ee’s!!

@ Ashley:31 – Good Ash and you?

See you busy now. Catch up later boeta.

@ Ashley:
    Ja nee hy moet nie vandag daar aleen gelos word nie.

We must accept that Divvie was never going to be fired this close to the World Cup. We must accept that Gold Muir were also going to stay. But what happened to our guys this year compared to last year?
    Injuries to key players, game plan execution not spot on
    The rest of the world (Aus and NZ) coming up with strategies to counter our particular brand of rugby. And a failure to see the shortcomings and work on them. A decent technical advisor would be able to point out the issues and get the guys back on track.

And weak leadership at the top. A Louis Luyt, or Danie Craven would have called the coaching staff in much earlier in the year, cracked their heads heads together, given each a klap alongside the earhole and told them to shape up or ship out.

Lion4ever wrote:

cracked their heads heads together, given each a klap alongside the earhole and told them to shape up or ship out.

That is all they need.

Who says HM will be successful? Yeah i hope too , but the way he left the Bulls camp still lingers in my mind. At the moment he and Ludeke struggles to get the Bulls fired up. I know we miss a lot of players, but that wonderful structures look shaky or not/

Heynecke Meyer is not a quick fix coach. He took how many years to get the Bulls to S14 Champs, and had 2 bites at the cherry to get that right. The best bet for us now is get a technical committee together, maybe Rassie, John Mitchell, Plumtree and one or 2 others. Let them sit together, point out the errors, and give recommendations on how to fix them. And from where I sit, tell Morne Steyn for example to aim for 10m less and kick the ball into the stands so that quick lineouts cannot be taken. Its small things that need tweaking and we will suddenly have a world beating team again.

So many people want John Mitchell and Plumtree involved, dont we ask too much from them. They are after all proud New Zealanders and cant wait for NZ to get rid of the WC bogey. It is a bit too much to expect from them to fall over their feet to rush to our help.

Lion4ever wrote:

small things that need tweaking and we will suddenly have a world beating team again

and some of those small things worked well in our fight backs this year. Really we were caught napping with the rule interpretations but the games was well contested.

@ superBul:38 – Super, You are right there. Think both wont want to get invovled with Boks until after this wc. Especially that it is held in NZ.

Did Mitchell not work with C. Woodward for England? I know he left and then became the ABs coach for 2003 wc.

Then maybe to work with the Boks is a whole lot different being our greatest rivals the ABs.

@ superBul:39 – Super, We also have to remember we had plenty injured this year that played last year. The same was for Jake in 2006. Had a few of his top players injured that year.

I think once we have our main man back in FdP and also Brussow we will play a far better game.

@ Puma:Add Bakkies to that list too. All 3 of those players were missed bad.

Frans Steyn too. I know he came back for the last two games but he was game ready then. Should have kept him on since the Wales game.

Once we get those top players back we will be a far tougher team to beat. Though with all the stuff between Frans and PdV don’t think he will be back. We need a better FB than Zane. There is no question about that. Play Aplon there or Daniller, Taute and remember Lambie was brilliant there for Sharks.

Once players are well conditioned next year think that alone too will help.

We never even had Juan for the away tour of the Tri-Nations either. Plenty players were missing this year. Bring em back and we will be a different team to what we were this year. Even if we were not up to speed with ABs and OZ. Think it was only slight if you look at how we came so close in the game against ABs at FNB stadium. Actually we should have won that one had McCaw not got a forward pass for a try there.

Fell asleep against Oz in the test at Loftus but came back to win that one. Once again done the same in the 2nd test in Bloem against Oz. Great come back in the 2nd half just to lose it in the end by a penalty that Flip gave away. We were close in those games at home. Not a massive difference to ABs and Oz in those games.

Get our players back next year, well conditioned and get some extra help with the coaching we will be very tough to beat.

Now talking positive here. Think this post should be on the postive thread 😀

he was game

Meant – he was NOT game ready.

@ Puma: that correction was for post 42.

Okay out of here now.

guys, lets not fall into the trap and soften our crap 3N by telling ourselves it was because of our top players not being there.

we played a game plan that is completely outdated, and it is testament to the talent in this country, that we still competed very well. but this exposed our silly game plan. which might not have been the case if we had FdP, Juan, FS, etc.

the fact is snor is behind the times with his coaching.

Total 36 users including 0 member, 36 guests, 0 bot online