In another apparent shambles in Springbok rugby the reported unity between the Springbok management and players during the difficult Tri-Nations competition is now under strain following accusations of a breach of an undertaking to the players earlier in the year.

The players have united against the South African Rugby Union’s (SARU) decision to withdraw all the contracted Springboks from the Absa Currie Cup competition – and the SA Rugby Players Association (SARPA) claim promises made to players “were not honoured” and intimated that the SARU decision was political, suiting provinces and not necessarily the national team.

They will only be allowed to return on the weekend of October 6, and will play the semifinals and final on October 14 and 30 respectively.

The players, through their various unions, have objected to the so-called “conditioning programme” they have to follow individually – and SARPA have called on SARU to reconsider the decision they made on Tuesday.

“No Springbok player, nor SARPA, were consulted or asked for input regarding this decision,” said SARPA chief executive Piet Heymans.

“We have received complaints from our members, who are unhappy because they were told at the beginning of the year their conditioning and rest programmes would be monitored on an individual basis.

“They were promised that those needing rest would be afforded such time and those needing game time would be given the opportunity. This has not happened and the opposite could now be true.”

The result is that some players who are in need of game time – like Bakkies Botha, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira, JP Pietersen, Adi Jacobs, Wynand Olivier and Ricky Januarie – are now rested and have to train on their own.

Non-contracted players who are in need of rest, like Gurthro Steenkamp who has played virtually non-stop in the Super 14 and 10 Tests this year, are now free to play and could be forced by their provinces to play against their will.

“To have a number of top Springboks who are either returning from injury or suspension to be banned from finding their form again on the rugby field is certainly not in the best interests of South African rugby as a whole,” Heymans said.

“We are calling on SARU and the provinces to honour the undertaking made to the players and use scientific data and research, rather than emotion, to ensure the Springbok players are all on the best individual conditioning, rest and playing programmes that will benefit the national team leading up to the Rugby World Cup next year.”

21 Responses to Bok conditioning a shambles

Things are just starting to unravel now

Where is P.Div and his moerse mouth now?

How can he make of the cuff remarks about things that doesn’t concern him at all, but when it comes to the players, his players, he keeps mum?

What a freaking idiot!

P.Div:
    Cannot manage, Cannot coach, cannot hold press conferences.

Yet he coaches the Boks… wtf!!!!!!!

Greenpoint-Gunner wrote:

Where is P.Div and his moerse mouth now?

Eish he can not win, even when he keeps quiet.
    With the pending investigations or review do you think he must talk?

How much more evidence do we need that PDV has destroyed the Boks?
    And please don’t tell me that he can’t be blamed for the planning and well being of HIS players conditioning.
    When you are the boss, you take control.
    I rest my case your honour.

Hahaha!

True…

I don’t know if it was his own decision though. Seems if politics was involved surely Oregan as head of the pack would have made the decision…

And since Divvie is a so-called “pawn” what can he do?

Whoooaaaaaa stop die fokken bus kerels!

Read this carefully and also refer to Brenden Nel’s article on Superrugby and the one on Rugby365…

The shit hit the fan following a conference call with Andy Marinos (who is in Aus) between SA Rugby and the UNIONS – Cheetahs, Sharks, WP, Bulls, etc…

The UNIONS bitched about certain Boks being released (according to the undertaking with players by SA Rugby to the players) and some not. So they bitched about the Bok management decision on who to rest and not.

The main culprits according to reports were the Cheetahs, Sharks and some believe WP.

So in a no-win situation and not in a position to please everybody, a blanket ban was called for by the Boks so no-one can bitch (unions), Peter was by all accounts (article in Die Burger) livid with this turn of events.

This pissed off the players and their associated union, SARPA because some players, as stated need playing time, and some need rest and they had an undertaking this would happen.

So be careful who you point fingers at here, SA Rugby and the Bok management team have very little choice here.

And this all started with some unions kicking up a fuss of what THEY think is fair or unfair and the biggest point here even according to Rugby 365 it was not who they were getting back and losing, it was who other teams (they will face) will get back (read Cheetahs).

I think you lot are way to quick to point fingers at PDV here when it is a situation that became a fuck up because of unions.

@ Morné:

True Morne

Isn’t it just sooooooo easy to say the coach is the almighty and must be calling all the shots?

Thanks for the update.

@ Morné:
    The voice of balanced reason!

@ Met Uysh:
    @ AB:

What I will say is that it is about time SA Rugby grab some (all actually) unions by the balls and sort this kak out which has been going on since the days of Mallet.

I do have it on good authority though that our new guy Jurie (the new CEO) is cleaning up house at the moment in SA Rugby and he is apparently not a very well liked guy by the President’s Council at the moment!

Corporate politics rule!

morne @ 6
    thanks morné

Communication????

This should have been so simple…

The Springbok Management team, under Snorrie should have given their masters at SARU clear information about each individual player’s Conditioning needs and should have made a clear reccommendation to SARU (maybe this was indeed done).

Then SARU should have executed this and not asked for Union advice, neither accepted or capitulated to their moans and groans. In other words Marinos and / or Hoskins should have been much stronger and told the Unions (Sharks and Cheetahs) where to stick their moans.

Now SARPA has to get involved, I expect no less!

In other words I lay the blame on SARU’s decision makers and I take a dim view of the bitching Unions who did not put National Interest 1st.

Interesting observation… the Bulls seem to have National Interests at heart as it appears that Gurthro Steenkamp is indeed rested, notwithstanding the fact that he does not fall under the Blanket Ban. Good on you, Bulls!

Does that mean that the Lions also have the National interests at heart by not playing their Boks?

Oh vlok, they don’t have any anymore!

Communication????

Interesting observation… the Bulls seem to have National Interests at heart as it appears that Gurthro Steenkamp is indeed rested, notwithstanding the fact that he does not fall under the Blanket Ban. Good on you, Bulls!

Very true indeed…Good on the Bulls!

Scrumdown wrote:

Does that mean that the Lions also have the National interests at heart by not playing their Boks?

Isn’t that why they are resting Earl Rose? 🙂

Ek het jou!
    Weet nou wie jy is, ons het dikwels op Voldy gepraat oor CAO se lamtjops en wat nog, gedog dit was Tighthead.

met uysh @ 15

gbs @ 12
    agree. good on the bulls!!

15@ Met Uysh:
    There is an unwritten rule on RT (if there isn’t rher should be) that we do not mention Earl Rose.

PDV gets his tips from RT, and we do not want him to be reminded of earl Rose.

Consider yourself uitgek@k

jy lag, ek is al so nervous oor die feit dat Adie Jacobs terug gaan kom, imagine ons moet nou plek maak vir hom, ek sny my blerrie polse

@ biltongbek:
    He’ll probably score more tries than we have been…..he will be in the mix, make sure your knife is blunt, we dont want a tragedy 😉

Total 78 users including 0 member, 78 guests, 0 bot online