Just look what Bob Dwyer has now cooked up… why don’t you just shut your trap Bob, and silently sink away into oblivion!

rugby365

Just a week after International Rugby Board referees boss Paddy O’Brien publicly castigated and axed Cobus Wessels from active on-field duty, his compatriot, Jonathan Kaplan has come in for criticism for not taking strong enough action against the thuggish behaviour of All Black prop Tony Woodcock.

Kaplan, who penalised Woodcock for his blatantly illegal second-half charge into the back of a prone Wallaby, has been criticised for not issuing at least a yellow card for dangerous play.

New Zealand won the tightly contested Test 20-10.

His actions have astonished outspoken former World Cup-winning Wallaby coach Bob Dwyer, who also made no secret of the fact that he felt the All Blacks are still “cheating”.

In his column on his personal website, bobdwyerrugby.com, he suggested that Kaplan had clearly decided, before the game had begun, that he was not going to “yellow card” anyone.

Dwyer suggested that Kaplan thought there’s been far too many cards in the tournament already and that – carding players – are for the ‘lesser referees’.

Dwyer said of Kaplan: “He though: ‘I can control the game without any unnecessary reference to the laws’.

“How else can you explain no yellow card for Tony Woodcock’s ‘cheap shot’ and, for that matter, King Richie’s umpteenth ‘final warning’?”

Dwyer, who was very critical of the All Blacks after their 49-28 win in Melbourne and claimed they invented new ways of cheating each week, was unrelenting in his criticism of Kaplan.

“Under the laws of the game, I don’t think he had a choice,” Dwyer told the New Zealand Herald.

“It was foul play and therefore a compulsory yellow card. The Australian player [Saia Faingaa] was not in the ruck, he had his back to Woodcock.

“But Woodcock clobbered him and there were no arms used either to suggest a tackle. It was an illegal charge without arms.

“I don’t understand how some referees follow the law book but others don’t.”

The suggestion is that O’Brien may now find himself in a tight spot.

Kaplan is regarded as one of the top match officials and the IRB referees boss may be reluctant to rebuke him publicly.

However, after the manner in which he publicly castigated fellow South African, Cobus Wessels, for doing much less wrong in Melbourne, O’Brien may have painted himself into a corner.

O’Brien, commenting on Wessels missing a couple of clear incidents, said: “At the end of the day, there has to be some accountability.”

The Woodcock incident came at a crucial time, with the All Blacks ahead by only 17-10. Had they been forced to play with 14 men for 10 minutes after Woodcock’s 51st minute offence, the outcome could have been different.

Dwyer was not going to let the All Black get off lightly either.

In his column, on bobdwyerrugby.com, he said it was “more of the same”, in terms of law breaking, this time from the New Zealand scrum.

“In the first half, the New Zealand scrum was dominant, generally by way of an old-fashioned ‘boring in’ by the tight-head, Owen Franks, and some driving upwards by him in association with his hooker,” the former Wallaby coach said.

“The three officials had obviously forgotten about this ploy; it hasn’t been used for a while.

“I can’t believe that Stephen Moore would have succumbed so easily, and I was amazed that Faingaa was not substituted. Ben Franks did not seem to achieve the same result in the second half, but perhaps the Wallabies had addressed the problem at half-time.

“This was, unfortunately, about 40 minutes too late, as the damage had been done.

“Such is the problem from selecting inexperienced front row forwards.

“I was pleased, on the other hand, to see that Tony Woodcock was able, at last, to get his left hand off the ground. Maybe I’m being too kind and that this occurred only because this week’s scrum tactic was to attack from the tight-head side, not the usual ‘launch off the ground’ from Woodcock. They like to stay one step ahead of the ref, these Kiwis, and that’s obviously not too difficult!”

22 Responses to Oh shut up, Bob Dwyer!

Bob’s a Doos Deluxe……

OK, let me get back to my hobbies and such… have to finish early due to a squash episode this afternoon late…

What a tit!!

I think there might be a bit of merit in some of his argument about too many yellow cards in the last few weeks affecting Kaplan’s decision. It has all gotten a bit out of hand recently, and maybe Kaplan didn’t want to keep the trend going. Maybe similar applies to the lack of a citing too?

But having said that, if Kaplan is going to be sanctioned by O’Brien, then surely the lack of a citing by the commisioners would say the Kaplan got it right in the first place?

Either way, Old Bob’s good for a laugh if served with a pinch of salt.

@ JockBok:I agree Jock. I feel this whole issue is turning into a damm circus, and it’s just not good for the game. The fokus has moved from the players, to the moaning and bitching rugby managent who are all behaving like a bunch of spoilt brats at the moment.The media doesn’t help either. Once these guys get’s hold of a tread, they will keep pulling until the whole jersey’s unravelled. They should stop all these interviews with coaches ect, and half our problems will be over.

….sooo bored….where is everyone? almal bang om iets te se na GBS ons so bietjie oor die vingers getik het?

Iemand….post vir ons n lekker chat artikel…pleaaaase!!

As from http://www.rugbyjokes.co.uk/jokes/definitions/index.shtml

Rugby definitions – What rugby terms really mean!

Foul Play – what the other side do. If your side do it, it’s called ‘using your initiative’.

Ruck – informal, impromptu get-together for forwards and a few close friends.

Mark – if you can cleanly catch a ball kicked several hundred feet in the air within your own 22 metre line and call ‘mark’ while the entire other side is pounding towards you intent on doing you damage, you can have a free kick. You deserve it.

Offside – a natural break in the play called by the referee every 35 seconds to let everyone get their breath back.

Advantage: The situation when a referee decides to allow play to continue and not blow for an obvious transgression immediately, due to a mistaken impression that it somehow benefits a team.

Blindside: The term used to describe the referee’s inability to see a foul committed. Following a technique refined by former All Black hooker and captain Sean Fitzpatrick that allowed him to commit a foul usually in a ruck or maul at the very moment that the referee turned his back to check on the offside line.

Openside Flanker: It is this player who, when approaching the end of a Cup Final, assumes the role of Scrum Half and puts the ball into the scrum.

Calcutta Cup: Historically the game between the two strongest international representative Teams, England and Scotland. (circa 1871-1899) The title is now given to an annual fixture involving one of rugby’s strongest nations helping to bring on a developing nation (England vs Scotland circa 2002)

Cap: Compulsory headgear bearing sponsor’s logo worn at post-match interviews.

Conversion: The situation when a Welshmen remembers that he’s Welsh after he has been ignored by the All Black/Australian/South African/English selectors.

Disciplinary Panel: A meeting of between 2 and 3 former players who regularly convene in a Sky Sports studio in order to highlight incidents involving Leicester Tigers players that the referee failed to spot. They then pass sentence and the RFU are then obliged to carry out the punishment “in the interests of sport”. (See also: Trial by Media)

Free kick: The punishment for lying on the wrong side of a ruck of maul.

Grubber: Mistimed drop kick from anywhere on the field.

Goose step: Change in running style from a sprint to high kicking in order to slow down a defender only to sprint once defender has slowed down. First used by David Campese when, sprinting down the touchline, he saw dogsh*t lying in his path and tried to avoid getting his new boots dirty.

Laws: Rugby has laws, not rules; therefore it is that which you have to disobey in full view of the referee in order to be punished.

Maul: Free-for-all brawl where the ball is kept in the air. See ruck (1).

Offside (as in offside line): an imaginary line passing through a ball without puncturing it.

Place kick: a defensive offensive tactic to prevent the scoring of tries. (At Welford Road, these commonly take place from within the attacking team’s own half)

Referee’s Assistant: The role that is often adopted my a Mr M. Dawson at Tigers vs Saints matches.

Ruck (1): Free-for-all brawl where the ball is placed on the ground. See maul.

Ruck (2): Accidental stepping on an opponent lying in an offside position.

Sidestep: a manoeuvre perfected by South African rugby administrators to avoid choosing black players.

Sinbin: a tactic used by some referees to increase their impact on the outcome of a game.

Trial by Media: The process by which Leicester players are singled out for committing acts of indiscipline that regularly go unpunished with all teams. This is often done purely “in the interests of fair-play”

Try: The verb used to describe what the Wales do every year in the Six Nations, often with little or no success.

Up-and-under: (an integral calculus term in rugby competitions) the inversion of global geographics – the southern hemisphere teams are usually ‘up’, while the northern hemisphere teams are usually ‘under’.

Wing (1): Northern hemisphere – extra defender.

Wing (2): Southern hemisphere – top try scorer.

International call-up: The invitation to Twickenham that Rugby League players receive along with their first pay packet.

Away supporters (Tigers): The coachloads of dedicated fans that travel all over the country (often on Friday nights & Sundays) to see their team play at various football grounds.

Away supporters (Other teams): The car full of fans that travel to Welford Road in the vain hope that it will be their team that breaks our home record.

Chanting: Something that other teams fans do to inspire their boys. These often involve various collections of different words strung together, except at Welford Road where the word “Tigers” repeated ad infinitum appears to work with more success.

Prop: Front row position that has finally solves the mystery of who did actually eat all of the pies.

Twickenham: National stadium often referred to by one of its other names, “HQ”, “Billy Williams’ Cabbage Patch” or, on International weekends “The Home of the Tigers”

Northampton Saints: East Midlands team that seems to exist only as a feeder team for National Division One side Bedford Blues…

London Irish: As their name suggests, a group of South Africans that play rugby in Reading

Season Ticket: At Leicester this is the only way to guarantee entry to all of the home league games during the season. (For other teams see: Turning up on the day)

Sevens: An abreviated version of the 15 man game. This shorter version is preferred by front row players as they invariably spend the whole game in the bar and not on the pitch.

Out on the full: Where the ball leaves the field of play without bouncing, except in Heineken Cup finals, when the ball must be over 3 yards into touch before qualifying as going “out on the full”.

Side Step: A manouvre whereby the attacking player attempts to avoid a defender my means of a brief horizontal, rather than lateral movement across the field of play. The side step has recently been adopted by some defending players as a means of avoiding serious injury when faced with the sight of a 16 stone dreadlocked Samoan running towards them.

Premiership Referee: Commonly these are failed players who still have a chip on their shoulder. The sort of people that even mothers might struggle to love. (see also: Media, the)

Sale Sharks: (Formerly: Manchester Sale……………and before that: Sale) This team appears to use a random word generator in order to chose its name. For the 2003/04 season, they are considering changing the name to “Closing down Sale” in order to benefit from the free publicity they will get in Manchester city centre.

Gloucester: Winners of the Zurich Championship. They can therefore claim to be Champions of England. (Just as Dr Fox is medically qualified & the World Series Baseball is truly International)

Harlequin: n. Stock comic character. especially in checked costume. Need I say more?

Bath: In the late 80s & early 90s, Bath were the team everyone wanted to beat. Last season, they were instead the team everyone expected to beat.

Rugby League: Version of rugby commonly played in the North of England. The teams consist of 13 players on each side. This is largely due to the number of wingers moving to Rugby Union, resulting in a player shortage in the Super League.

Rugby Player Positions – What they really mean!

The Pack

Eight handsome burly guys whom you’ll gladly give your beer and food to, and you’d want to marry your daughter. They are intelligent, elegant, sensitive, and sweet. Truly the ideal men.

The Backs

Seven guys who will steal your beer while you’re not looking, take advantage of your women folk, barnyard animals, and all tubular household objects. Often dine on quiche, brie cheese and wine. Been known to understand the rule of the ESPN Extreme games’ rules. Regularly take blow dryers on road trips, wear bikini underpants, and carry STDs (AVOID AT ALL COSTS).

Prop

Short but stout, these strapping men support the hooker, but no money ever changes hands and the act is never specificaly named.

Hooker

Often identified by a balding spot atop the head, these vertically challenged but talented men stand between the two props, and secures the ball for his team during scrummages.

Second Row

These tall powerful men are the driving engines not only the scrum, but of the entire game. They can be found working their magic from deep in the scrum, behind the front row, or lofting high above the line outs pulling balls from the air.

The Back Row

Usually the most handsome and intelligent, these three men of strength are often considered the renisance men of the rugby field. They not only control the ball, but the entire pitch. Remember, the back row defines the whole team’s style of play.

Scrumhalf

The point guard of the rugby team the scrumhalf distributes the ball, runs hits, and kicks. Scrumhalf is only half as handsome and burly as the pack members

Flyhalf

The first of those back guys, and the first of the offensive chain. Often confused with an insect, may be referred to as the man with “the foot.”

Centers

Another pair of those back guys. Either power runner, or annoying scampering guy usually found in the opposite order, but whose main purpose is to get the ball to …

Wings

Ideally the fastest men on the team. Their job is to “score with the ball”, but they often confuse it with “get tackled with the ball.” Also an excellent snack when smothered in hot sauce and deep fried.

Fullback

The last line of defense. A back even the pack can appreciate, often viewed as a back row in the larval stage.

I thought Kaplan was a bit soft on the rough stuff, but that is exactly in line with my way of thinking, it is after all a contact sport, the other refs have been paying too much attention to the so called rough stuff and clearly a bias had crept in. Dwyer, this smacks of sour grapes…you ou’s got drilled, take your medicine.
    Lets hope there is a bit of consistency for our next game and we can also rough a few guys up that are sneakily trangressing, which is the Aussies normal style, their thinking has always been and will always be “if you do it and it isnt seen then it is ok”…well it isnt ok. So once again we have a chicken and egg situation, you’re damned if you do and youre damned if you dont….too many rules in rugby these days, thats for sure.

@ 4man:
    Kaplan dropped a hell of a lot in credibility stakes if one reads the various NZ and AUS sites. Guys like Marc Hinton , Toby Roson in NZ and Spiro Zavos all had a go at Jonathan Kaplan.
    Rugby365 go read

gooooooooooooooooooooooodmorning everyone!!
    from supersport.com
    Bok coach escapes punishment

A claim of alleged misconduct against Springbok Coach Peter de Villiers has been dismissed by Sanzar Judicial Officer Jannie Lubbe SC.

The misconduct charge related to comments made by the Springbok coach on Australia’s Fox Sports ‘Rugby Club’ programme on 21 July 2010.

Lubbe heard the case on Friday 6 August 2010 and after considering the evidence decided that, on balance of probability, De Villiers had not breached the Sanzar code of conduct.

Lubbe stated that during his interview with Fox Sports, De Villiers never mentioned or referred to referees or match fixing.

As the judicial process has concluded, Sanzar will not be making any further comment on the issue.

The South African Rugby Union’s relationship has hit a new low after the Afrikaans newspaper Rapport report that SARU President Oregan Hoskins has been asked to explain his statements.

Hoskins said that SANZAR’s enquiry into Springbok coach Peter de Villiers was a ‘declaration of war’ and he has now been asked to explain himself.

SANZAR has apparently now asked Hoskins to explain why their enquiry is a ‘declaration of war’.

does anyone know WHO at sanzar decides on these matters and through which processes they go before arriving at such decisions?
    why would hoskins declare it as a declaration of war? or is it still a case of aus/nz backing each other when it comes to such matters?

I am getting the impression that the (who ever sits on the board of SARU) is hitting back and has decided this is the end of Hoskins and perhaps PDV. The wheels in corporate politics do turn slowly, but it does turn.

@ Ashley:11 – Morning Ash, Well now I say let us get on with rugby. All this other stuff is driving me crackers. Refs and Coaches getting the headlines instead of the rugby. May rugby now take precedence.

puma @ 14
    ag theres one more headline i wouldnt mind seeing

sanzar stuur paddy in sy moer!! 😀

“of fokkof, paddy”, sê sanzar!!

@ Ashley:15 – Ash….hehehe. You too funny buddy.

@ Ashley:
    Who will be first this week

Kaplan or Paddy

A sales rep, an administration clerk, and the manager are walking to lunch when they find an antique oil lamp.

They rub it and a Genie comes out.
    The Genie says, ‘I’ll give each of you just one wish.’
    ‘Me first! Me first!’ says the admin clerk. ‘I want to be in the Bahamas , driving a speedboat, without a care in the world.’
    Puff! She’s gone.

‘Me next! Me next!’ says the sales rep. ‘I want to be in Hawaii , relaxing on the beach with my personal masseuse, an endless supply of Pina Coladas and the love of my life…’

Puff! He’s gone.

‘OK, you’re up,’ the Genie says to the manager.
    The manager says, ‘I want those two back in the office after
    lunch.’

Moral of the story:
    Always let your boss have the first say.

super @ 18
    i’ll be suprised if paddy do say anything about kaplan’s performance!!

Total 13 users including 0 member, 13 guests, 0 bot online