Johannesburg – All SANZAR disciplinary questions are now firmly behind the Springbok team and management, national teams manager Andy Marinos announced.

There will also be no disciplinary hearing for South African Rugby Union president Oregan Hoskins, after SANZAR sent a letter asking for an explanation of his comments relating to a charge of “alleged misconduct” against Springbok coach Peter de Villiers.

Reports in last Sunday’s press suggested that SANZAR were not too enamoured with Hoskins’s comments that SANZAR appeared to have declared war on SA Rugby, alluding to the lengthy bans incurred by Bok players and the de Villiers hearing.

De Villiers was cleared on Tuesday by a SANZAR disciplinary when the charge was dismissed, and Marinos said the team was looking forward to focusing on on-field matters rather than the alternative.

“There was an initial enquiry from SANZAR but I’m happy to say that all SANZAR code of conduct enquiries are behind us now and we can focus on what happens on the field,” Marinos said at the start of the four-day Springbok training camp.

Commenting on the disciplinaries, Marinos called it “an unnecessary distraction” but was happy that “sanity had prevailed”. Marinos said.

“It has been an unnecessary distraction. I don’t think you’ve seen so many code of conduct calls from SANZAR before and thankfully it is all behind us now. Sanity has prevailed and we can get on and focus on what we have to do on the field,”

“I don’t really want to talk about a process that has just unfolded. There was obviously concerns from their side that there is a case to answer and I was pretty emphatic in my response that we felt opposite.

“We’ve gone through a process now and thankfully it is behind us. Let us leave the case closed.”

Courtesy of Brenden Nel for sport24

91 Responses to No further action against Hoskins

58 @ grootblousmile:

🙂 🙂 🙂

@ grootblousmile: at work GBS, right in the heart of Sydney CBD… in a similar line of work to you… trained programmer (long time ago) and just finished a network admin course which entailed Cisco SOHO and desktop support..

@ Blouste: true, but the time once, it was still most pleasureable 😛

Talking totally OFF the subject… I’m due for 3 new upgrades on Cellhone Contracts….

I’ve been thinking of getting myself a Blackberry, the 9700 apparently… is that a good Cellphone… or is there better?

@ grootblousmile: The 9700 is the best available.

@ nga puhi:

Ya Ya Ya, I can only imagine 🙁

@ nga puhi: Do you surf?

@ 4man: its not that you fall down, its how you get up again that counts 🙂

@ grootblousmile: hehehe well, he had time to be in Spain, didnt he?

I dont like those BIG things…

Rather take a normal phone and your laptop if you need a computer 😉

@ 4man: no 4man, more a fisherman myself… love the beach though, my fav place.. always go to see all the white pointers (in their bikini’s) lol

64@ 4man:
    Thanks!

I want to get BonzaiGBS a new phone too… and a new 3G dongle for when I’m at the rugby…

@ nga puhi: Ja…all of them, good guys…this particular bloke used to be my chess opponent…I chose a window ledge and dived under it and the whole thing went past me and he tripped and got run over by people, bulls and all and not a mark on either of us…but pi**ed we were for the 3 days of the running of the bulls in Pamplona, you just wear the same clothes all the time, wherever you go people have red wine in those leather bags and you must drink, then during the night there is some kind of march for the dead and you go along for that…hit the sack about 0600 in the morning and up again at 1100 to have something to eat and start again…total insanity, but if you are there you must do it.

@ nga puhi:

So whats the attitude on the streets there in Australia regarding the Tri-Nations ?

@ nga puhi:I have a very good mate who runs the bar at “The Entrance” lifeguard club there, last time I saw him was at the 96 world lifeguard champs in Durban. He goes out on his ski every day and the entrance to the whole water complex in the middle of Sydney often has huge White pointers swimming just offshore.
    So you live in Auckland, do you get up to Piha much?

@ nga puhi:The Blues always used to base themselves in Durban when they played S10, 12, 14…I dont know about now. they loved Joe Kools and 3 of the guys used to join us for a braai at the outerfields at Kings Park whenever they were there..Robin Brook, Olo Brown and Craig Dowd, always had a beer and a yarn…nice guys.

@ 4man: sounds like a mad mad festival, never hurts as much with a few drinks under the belt…

I used to live in Auck, and know Piha beach well… used to live about 20 minutes drive from there, good surf beach Im told but very strong rip too.. used to climb through the rocks opposite Lion rock, about a 20 foot cliff which made some fantastic fishing… could only get there during certain times because of the tides

@ Blouste:
    Sydney is a league town boet, not too many talk rugby here, its all that other code lol

75@ nga puhi:
    From a Kiwi perspective, give us your thoughts on the Bokke shortcomings or weaknesses this season…

@ 4man: Olo Brown and Craig Dowd, ah remember those days… that was an awesome Auckland side then… heard good stories about the braais, know a lot of the players enjoyed that aspect of playing in SA..

@ nga puhi:Do you get the same fish as the Southern Oceans in SA…the Sharks certainly travel across they’ve proved that, but barracuda, shad, marlin, sailfish, do you get those? I think the Pacific is a bit cooler, so its other species, for eg on the west coast of SA there are species you wont get in Natal. I know the rock lobster looks the same, is it a Jaysus species or the Panilirus genre? maybe you dont know.
    What the hang is going on with the Blues by the way, I always pick them to do well each year and they ahve really dissapointed for the alst 5 years or so? mealamu doesnt strike me as being a great Captain, perhaps this is a problem?

@ nga puhi: Ja I repeat GBS’s question, from your perspective, what problems do the Boks have…if any?

@ grootblousmile: probably a lot of whats already been said GBS… loosie combo was all wrong, players out of position (we do that too, but we save it for WCs eish).. Morne having to lead the team around the park when he has usually had FDP to do that, remember he is only in his 2nd international season.. loss of key personnel (ABs had this prob last year to an extent too…

preparation for Eden park was very poor, sleeping in and travelling late etc… think it has just snowballed form there IMO.. rugby is a confidence game, and also think this years SA build up to the 3Ns was probably the thing that did the most damage… one game versus a very poor France and 2 versus Italy, compared to NZs buildup and last years SA buildup (B7I Lions)…

but we all know you guys will be back, am in a quandary deciding on my Superbru tip for Soccer City oops FNB stadium 😀

@ 4man: not sure 4man, I usually rock fish, dont have the boat yet 😀 we get snapper, trevally, australian salmon, kingfish etc… more the pelagic species, but also bottom dwellers like jewfish, flatheads etc…

so not sure if they are similar to your local species though… am very much a whatever I catch I braai type of fisherman lol

80@ nga puhi:
    I’ll be going to FNB Stadium on 21 August… handle the live game thread from there… and also go to the After Match interviews….

All the while being fed and kept well lubricated at SA Rugby’s expense…. you should tune into the live thread then.

@ grootblousmile: hehehe I will, if only so I can see your slur your way through a live thread as the match progresses hahaha

@ nga puhi: The Pelagics we have have similar names to some of those…we would call a jewfish a Brindle Bass or Rock Cod…so it sounds very similar, a mate sent me a picture of a fish that looked a lot like a rock cod and he caught it off the east coast of Oz, so they are similar. I know some Australian wild finches like the little blue finches and a few others will automatically breed with the African species…there are lots of similarities…..except for the homo sapiens, we are better looking 😉

83@ nga puhi:
    Depends how the Bokke do…. hahaha

Also going to Loftus the weekend thereafter for the Bokke / Ausie game….

OK guys, I’m out, suppertime and a bit of glass arsehole.
    Enjoy the evening.

86@ 4man:
    I’m out too… feet are frozen…. need to get under the covers and hurt a mattress!

@ 4man: oh, thought you said the other homo species then hehehe well, if you think they are good looking, that is your right 🙂 we get rock cod here too, but they are not jewfish..

Jewfish Scientific Name Argyrosomus hololepidotus
    Location Southern half of Australia
    Season All year round
    Size Up to 54 kg

if you google you should find some photos…

@ grootblousmile: either way, if they win its a celebration drink, they lose its a commiseration drink 😀 either way, drink!

@ 4man:
    cheers guys, catch you next time..

Ok guys I,m out too…

nga puhi, enjoy the rest of your working day 😛

The rest of you have a good nights sleep 🙂

Total 36 users including 0 member, 36 guests, 0 bot online