World Cup-winning Springbok utility Frans Steyn is one of five players recalled to the Bok squad for South Africa’s home leg of the Tri-Nations.

Rugby365

Boks coach Pete de Villiers on Sunday named a 29-man training squad to attend a four-day camp in Johannesburg next week.

The Boks start the three-match home leg with a historic Test against New Zealand in Soweto on August 21.

The three players who have been recalled are the Racing Metro fullback, Steyn, two Cheetahs flanks Juan Smith and Heinrich BrΓΌssow, Sharks wing JP Pietersen and Sharks hooker Bismarck du Plessis.

Smith, Brussow, Du Plessis and Pietersen all return after having recovered from injuries that kept them out of the Bok squad in the first seven match this year.

Steyn last played against Wales in June.

However, Steyn was injured in a pre-season game last Friday and will undergo a scan in Paris on Tuesday to determine the extent of the injury.

The final squad of 24 for the three home Tests will be confirmed next Friday, August 13, and will assemble in Johannesburg next Sunday, August 15.

The match 22 for the Test against the All Blacks at Soccer City will be announced on Tuesday, August 17.

The group includes the bulk of the squad that did duty during the away leg of the competition, with only Andries Bekker and Ruan Pienaar unavailable due to injury.

Centre Jaque Fourie is serving a suspension and cannot be considered for selection for the Johannesburg Test on 21 August.

The Boks will face Australia in subsequent Tests in Pretoria (August 28) and Bloemfontein (September 4).

Springbok training squad:

Forwards: BJ Botha (Ulster), Schalk Burger (Stormers), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Ryan Kankowski (Sharks), Francois Louw (Stormers), Victor Matfield (Bulls), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Dewald Potgieter (Bulls), Chiliboy Ralepelle (Bulls), Danie Rossouw (Bulls), John Smit (Sharks, captain), Juan Smith (Cheetahs), Pierre Spies (Bulls), Gurthro Steenkamp (Bulls), CJ van der Linde (Cheetahs), Flip van der Merwe (Bulls).

Backs: Gio Aplon (Stormers), Juan de Jongh (Stormers), Jean de Villiers (Stormers), Jaque Fourie (Stormers), Bryan Habana (Stormers), Francois Hougaard (Bulls), Ricky Januarie (Stormers), Butch James (Bath), Zane Kirchner (Bulls), Wynand Olivier (Bulls), JP Pietersen (Sharks), Frans Steyn (Racing Metro), MornΓ© Steyn (Bulls)

21 Responses to Injured Frans Steyn back for Boks

Great news about Juan Smith and Frans Steyn.
    What is Butch still doing there?

Anybody watching the Golf?

A Ernie dose of suffering again?

This will be kind of interesting at Soccer City. My question is: will Brussow be match fit for a test match? Any idea if he will play in the Currie Cup between now & the AB test match?

Too all bloggers
    One of the reason many bloggers left keo was becuase of the nastiness there.
    It has come to my attention that a good friend here, who is a Kiwi and a long time blogger, has been treated very disrespectfully, and has experianced some of the unnecessary nastiness.
    Female bloggers should be given the same respect as any other rugby bloggers, and not called disrespectful names, regardless of which team they support.
    Most of you know who I am talking about, most treat her with the respect she deserves, but some dont, and an apoligy is in order.

@ CoachPete:
    Coach if it was me, i did apologize, what more can i do. If the posts was not deleted i might have explained and maybe some would understand it.

The fact is i felt i was provoked. As far as i can remember we were talking about Danie Roussouws yellow card. Everyone sort of agreed that it was n unfair card , then out of the blue a video was brought into the conversation about eye couching. I felt that was unfair and protested that if rugby becomes a sissy game the person must let her kids play soccer.

I wish the person will send me a mail and state where i stepped so harshly over the line. The fact that you now start this thing again can only mean one thing she told you about it. I thought it was sorted out. I really feel i have reached the end of my blog life here , because of the way i was treated in this debacle.

To be honest I dont know who it was directed towards, maybe just in general. I think things get heated and in my experiance eveyone is entitled to their opinion.
    I am also not sure if it was that subject. I dont think Danie deserved a yellow card its rugby and that small off the ball stuff goes on all the time.
    I alos do believe that Richie M, is the best rugby player in the world, who plays on the edge and plays the refs to the edge. If he cheats, all the refs are missing it
    He is a fantastic player and a great captain of a very good team right now
    And thats my opinion πŸ™‚
    Oh and again not to anyone in specific I think the lady rugby bloggers are strong, humerous, intellegent women (not girls) who have excellent rugby knowlege and strong opinions πŸ™‚

Yes boythies!!!!, I’m so fired up for our next game.I can’t wait. I think the Boks will be a lot more disiplined and focussed and I’m sure they will show the Kiwi’s what we are made off.
    Glad to see Frans Steyn and Juan back.

oooo….just noticed Heinrich Brossouw being recalled too…great, we need a fetcher.

Well they finally select Frans Steyn and he might be injured now. Why select him knowing he injured himself last Friday? Hope that scan shows nothing wrong and we get him over here. Though now don’t think he will be match fit at all. Should have played in all 3 Tri-Nations game.

Pleased to see Brussow’s name up there too.

Was worried that some of my Sharkies might get snapped up..lol. Thought maybe Mvovo would have got a call up and just maybe Lambie. Pleased they are left to get on with CC for this season. Maybe they will get a call up for the eoyt. For now want them for CC need em for the WP game in two weeks time.

@ CoachPete:4 – Howzit Coach,

Coach, one thing is for sure. We can never go through life without a sibling difference and a bit of a spat. That is humans nature, I suppose, but we have to get on with it.

I for one hope RP comes back. I miss her articles and posts. I said to everyone that day to leave RP alone. Really though it was more of banter than being really nasty. We never go down that road on this blog by becoming very personal or nasty. I have to stand with Super here he did appologize to RP and Saturday asked her to keep posting here if she was looking in. I hope she comes back. For me it was more like a sibling difference but really nothing that was totally out of order that you would find on other sites. RP is a fantastic lady and knows her rugby well and I really do hope she comes back, also enjoy her sense of humour. All our ladies here have a great sense of humour and enjoy their rugby.

Super, if you stopped blogging here I too would miss your posts so just keep posting. So hope this is the last we hear of that and both you and RP keep posting here, enjoy both your posts and both your articles that you both write here.

RP get back here sometime soon and write us a article and Super you just keep posting and writing your articles too.

@ Puma:Aag Puma…we all know the Sharks going to choke and not make it to the CC finals…again πŸ™‚ No matter how many boks you have in your squad πŸ™‚
    ha ha ha

Just joking mate!

Yea, I have to agree….bring rugby princess back man. Superbul is not as bad as everyone says he is πŸ™‚ Honestly πŸ™‚

@ bos_otter:11 – πŸ˜† Bos, So far not many are in the Bok squad, for now I am pleased as we are doing just fine with our players that are there right now. I really thought Mvovo would have got called up and just maybe Lambie. Now pleased both are still there for CC duty….hehehe. Need them for the WP game. Though we will miss JPP.

@ bos_otter:12 – Bos, I agree. Super is my sport buddy here. We often the only ones here posting during the cricket so hope he just keeps posting. Also I always enjoy Rugby Princess so hope she comes back too. Think it was more of a sibling spat between them than really being nasty. Both must just keep posting.

On my Sharks, Yes we do choke but not this year……hehehe. Hope not.

Cheers Bos, I am out of awhile.

of awhile.

meant out FOR awhile… Too many typos as usual from me 😯 hehehe

4 and on @ CoachPete:
    Coach… it all happened during the 1st All Blacks / Springboks Tri-Nations match, 2 of our Bokke Bloggers got a little heated out of frustration, R_P was a convenient and close at hand Kiwi to take the frustration out on…

It was nipped in the butt, by me, very quickly, apoplogies were given…. it was the end of that..

In the meantime we have gained some more Kiwi’s here on the blog, and another blogger has wondered around here like a bear with a sore tooth… but hopefully that’s a thing of the past too.

We are still the friendly blog and if this had happened on Voldy nobody would have even noticed, it was that small of a problem…

Super…you mustnt leave, withdrawing is never the answer, I hope RP come back, we all like her. When people p*ss me off I just imagine them naked, in your case I then burst out laughing….in RP’s case I get a different feeling…oh well πŸ˜‰

bos_otter @ 7
    nooooooooooooooooooooooo
    you cant be fired up yet
    you’ll be burnt out waaaaaaaaaay before kick-off next saturday bru

4man @ 18
    πŸ˜€

ok
    on lunch
    see ya later!

Total 97 users including 0 member, 97 guests, 0 bot online