All Blacks (17) 20 / Wallabies (10) 10 (Final Score)

The All Blacks hosted the Wallabies at the AMI Stadium, Christchurch, New Zealand at 09:35 SA Time for their 2nd Tri-Nations encounter of this year. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The game was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.

The All Blacks won by 20 / 10 in a hard match where the only difference between the 2 teams were that the All Blacks were stronger in the scrums and counterrucking better than the Wallabies.

All Blacks: 2 Conversions & 2 Penalties Dan Carter, 1 Try Mils Muliaina, 1 Try Conrad Smith

Wallabies: 1 Conversion & 1 Penalty Matt Giteau, 1 Try Kurtley Beale

New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Alby Mathewson, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Benson Stanley.

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Anthony Faingaa, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Matt Giteau, 9 Will Genia, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (captain), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Benin Robinson.
Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Matt Hodgson, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Berrick Barnes, 22 Cameron Shepherd.

Date: Saturday, August 7
Venue: AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick-off: 19.35 (09.35 SA Time)
Expected weather conditions: There is a 40 percent chance of rain, increasing to 70 percent. with a high of 13°C, dropping to 1°C, and a southerly of 10 km/h, freshening to 21 km/h.
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa), Keith Brown (New Zealand)
TMO: Cobus Wessels (South Africa)

220 Responses to All Blacks vs Wallabies – Game Thread

1 2 3 8

Cant wait for this game, think its going to be a cracker

Morning everyone and for those still asleep like gbs, get up the sun is up ….. hehehehe.

Think this game will be a lot closer today than last week. Kaplan is there so it should be okay with the ref today too.

should be a good game, wonder if the video will have its desired effect?

Poppa this should be a cracker mate. Think the Aussies will be better this week, though still think ABs by 10. Your ABs looking just awesome this year.

@ nga puhi:3 – Pleased you here nga,

Now we can enjoy those old games the 65 and 70’s tour of the ABs/Boks games here. Always enjoy those threads here. Actually a few weeks back was in the Berg for a few days break and there was this book in their libary all on that tour about the 70’s ABs tour here. Written by a kiwi. Was a good read but could not finish it all in the time I was there.

Get up you lazy bones gbs, rugga about to start. I was up with the birds early this morning and saw the buck again just outside my garden. YOU miss too much life be sleeping so late brudda.

@ Puma: mate, Ive tipped the ABs by 14… think Aussie will be very fired up and will want to prove a point… think they may have got an idea how to beat the ABs from their second half last week..

@ Puma: I really enjoyed the articles on that 70s tour, and have already looked at some of the 65 ones too…

Morning guys, stuck at work so will follow the game here…

think the blacks will be to strong but think it will be a much closer game than last week.

@ nga puhi:8 – nga, Sorry to answer late. My tv not in my study so just don’t want to miss the haka see start is only 9.30am our time so still plenty time.

Yip, love those old articles about the AB/Bok games. That book I got to read on holiday was really great but never finished it. Some great pics in there too.

We have some great articles here, very different from most rugby blogs. Not the fighting you get on the other blogs either. So hope you enjoy blogging with us here. I still blog on keo, never left there but mostly blog here. Rugby Princess our lovely kiwi lady blogs here too. Hope she makes a turn here today.

ABs will win today my friend. Just think it will be closer than last week. I am mostly looking forward to the game against the Boks/Abs at Soccer City. All tickets sold out. Think 85 000 or 89 000 something like that. Going to be awesome, if I was still up in Joburg would have made sure of going to that one.

@ Scrumsaam:9 – Morning Scrumsaam. I too think it will be close but Abs will take it. Think by 10.

no dramas mate, Im in front of the TV now.. those were the days mate, no whinging about refs, the players just got on with it…

G’day everyone, only minutes until kick off, no wind or rain or snow as yet, although you just don’t know . . .
    Go the Wallabies!!!

Morning all, i think the Aus will give a better show but the AB going to run away with it

goooooooooooodmorning everyone

nga puhi @ 12
    welcome here bru. first time i see you here. may we have some interesting battles in future
    and
    may i win every single one of them 😀

morning griquas
    do you think your team will do a bit better today without wessels there on the sidelines?

I’m not expecting a win, but hoping for a much-improved showing from the wallas. Interesting to see how Faingaa gels with Giteau and I don’t know how Beale will handle the pressure at full back, with black jerseys screaming through at him – we’re about to find out!

@ nga puhi:12 – Poppa, For sure mate those sure were the days. They did get on with it. Maybe now for technology so maybe why more moans about the refs. I know sometimes I go on about a ref too. But really think all teams get some raw deal at some stage. I for one know the ABs got a raw deal in world cup 2007 from Barnes. Refs need to get better if not then dropped. Maybe like we have in the S14. Anyhow think today the reffing should be good with Kaplan there. Well hope so he too sometimes misses things. Still think bad ref or not ABs still would have beaten us or Wallabies. ABs playing some great rugga at the moment.

Haka about to come on in 5min then will be off to watch that then back and forward to post and tv. Try not miss too much.

Was looking for a small flat screen tv yesterday for my study. Thinking of putting one in here.

@ Ashley:
    thanks Ash, the best mediator is one who allows the opposition to think he has “won every single one of them”, so make sure you look twice before you ascertain victory
    lol
    🙂

RP if you look in here dont worry about me i will stay away today , no comments further. Enjoy it.

Cheers guys, nothing will be said here today.

@ Ashley:
    G’day Ash mate. Naw, refs/touchies don’t interest me. Wessels likely made a simple mistake, but that’s old news now, Drew Mitchell let himself and his team mates down, so he needs to get it all together tonight.

get a big big big screen for your study mate, I know how the eyes get as you advance in years lol
    yeah, Kaplan is the best ref IMO, has always been fairly consistent in his rulings, and like every human ref, gets some wrong too..

I am pleased with the way the ABs have been playing, especially all the new additions..

@ Ashley:15 – Ash, Morning bru. nga is my kiwi mate from keo and very pleased to have him posting here. Hope Rugby Princess blogs today too.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:17 – OldG, Morning mate. I am too just hoping for a good game to watch. For me it is just feet up relax and enjoy. Next week it will be heart stuff for me….hehehe Enjoy it buddy. Have you got anything on the braai going today? If so enjoy it.

Going to watch the start and haka now. Back once the game starts.

@ nga puhi:22 – Poppa…hahahaha. Tell you what my eyes are going buddy. I need my reading glasses to work from my pc. Going to get a tv put in here for sure. All this walking back and forward from the tv makes me miss some of the game. I never ever work off my lap top with my slip disc in my neck. It puts far too much pressure there by keeping my head down too low. So rather work off my big screen and a proper key board.

Okay back to the tv to watch the start. Back in a few min. Going to get a strong coffee too.

Howzit Puma? Mate, always got the BBQ on the go. Managed to pick up some boerwors from a saffa butcher through the week – on the plate right now; oh, and a cheeky little glass of Aussie red in hand………

More more, Sien ek jou maandag of dinsdag by Tshukudu? Maandag my B-Day so maybe n paar biere af slaan daar in die bos:-)

@ nga puhi:
    Kia ora mate, best of luck to the ABs, but I somehow don’t think they are going to need any luck tonight??

I have a similar problem, real small writing on labels is getting harder and harder to see 🙂

More bark vallas en kie 🙂

I think the Kiwi’s will be get that 50+ score today. Auzies will be fired up, but I recon the Kiwi’s would have done their homework and will be concentrating on Auz weaknesses.

nga puhi @ 19
    hehehe
    know what you mean …
    “if you want to convince someone of your point of view,
    first convince him that you’re his true friend” 😀

1 2 3 8

Total 160 users including 0 member, 160 guests, 0 bot online