The Springboks have made two changes to their starting line-up for the Vodacom Tri-Nations Test against Australia at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Saturday.

sarugby

Both changes are amongst the backs, with Jaque Fourie returning from suspension to partner Jean de Villiers in midfield and Frans Steyn starting at fullback in the place of Gio Aplon.

Juan de Jongh, who played at outside centre in the 22-29 loss against the All Blacks last week, moves to the bench, replacing Wynand Olivier. Aplon falls out of the match 22.

There is one change amongst the reserves with Ryan Kankowski, who joined the squad on Monday, preferred as loose forward cover ahead of Francois Louw.

Steyn last played a Test against Wales in Cardiff on 5 June and rejoined the squad this week after being unavailable for the All Blacks Test. Fourie, meanwhile, returns from a four-week suspension after he was yellow-carded in the opening minutes of the previous clash with the Wallabies in Brisbane last month.

Kankowski looked sharp for the Sharks in their win over Western Province in the ABSA Currie Cup last weekend.

De Jongh gave a good account of himself last weekend and is a great asset on the bench.

Victor Matfield has been selected at lock and will play in his 100th Test for the Boks in front of his home crowd at Loftus Versfeld.

The Springbok team is:

15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (capt), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp. Reserves: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Butch James, 22 Juan de Jongh.

78 Responses to 2 Changes to Bokke for Wallabie clash

@ Puma:30 – Last line but should have been by.

Die Bulls het gewen my maat, nie Morne Steyn nie. Hy was maar net die skopper. 😆

Boys you better start complimenting Morne Steyn, GBS will shut down our website!

We had this discussion years back at voldy too. The Springbok team is not a place where you learn your trade, it is not a place where you ease yourself in at the cost of the team. Take Hougaart how he just stepped in and produced as a good example. Olso add Flippie vd Merwe.

Morne had his mistakes , but his 100% kicking record is easily forgotten. And no he DID not cost us the game. The forward pass, the missed tackle cost us the game more.

Frans Steyn being set up to fail… in a no win situation really… play well, and everyone will say why wasnt he there earlier, and raise the question of his dedication the cause all over again… play poorly and people will ask why he was brought back into the team when he hasnt had much game time recently..

eish, no wonder he moved to France!

@ biltongbek:32 – 😆

@ nga puhi:34 – Nga, Agree. PdV should have kept Frans Steyn playing from the Wales game. Now he will be off pace at altitude for sure, I can tell you that. Also we can’t judge a player after only one game in the S14 after he has played the whole year in France.

So you are right my friend.

32@ biltongbek:
    Same can be said about Grant… it was the Stormers as a team who came second and who produced Grant’s chances at goal for him…

You blinkered Anti-Bulls mob just do not get it, do you… it is virually impossible to give credit where it is due, for some truly impossible.

I start off by agreeing that Grant should be in the Bokke setup in stead of Butch… and bammmmm Bulls players become the target…

I agree that Spies is not on form and that I would be thinking of playing Duane Vermeulen…. and there’s a blissful silence….. no slagging….

Get a grip fellas, take the Sharks biased blinkers and Anti-Bulls blinkers off…

Be objective and rate players according to play, game plan and the whole picture, not out of selective amnesia or clear bias….

I am serious mate, there are no other place I can talk to my fellow Bok supporters.

The other websites are mainly foreigners.

Don’t laugh.

GBS, Puma het dit nie bedoel nie.

@ Puma: hey boet… any luck on that markhams voucher? your email is pumaburn at the UK address is it not???

37@ grootblousmile:

Haai baas, hoe nou?

Die enigste Bulls wat ek nie like nie is Wynand en Zane, die res is ok.

Ek laaik Francois Hougaardt, Vicki, Danie, Bakkies, en al die ander.

@ nga puhi:

Congrats on your teams victory over the weekend.

@ superBul:I know the forward pass cost us and the missed tackle and the gap Habs left cost us. BUT we were OUT DEAD ON OUR FEET. Cause Morne should have been kicking the damn ball way out into the stands so we could take more lineouts. We get better with the lineouts the more we take em. He was just kicking it back straight up infield to the ABs over and over again. They smart and like to run with the ball and NO way were they going to kick it back to us. We had to tackle our butts off to get it back and all the tackles cost us huge, we tired bad in the last 15min cause of that.

Frans Steyn will make a difference to Morne’s game but Morne needs FdP more. We need another flyhalf if we want to play attacking rugby but don’t think that is the way we want to play. Never looked that way to me on Saturday. So if we must kick, kick the damn thing out. If we want to kick and chase make sure we kick it high enough that our chasers can get there on time and it must be spot on the money too. Otherwise it don’t work.

@ Blouste: cheers Blouste..

was an old school test, one I could watch everyday of the week… dont think either team deserved to lose, the physicality and excitement was non-stop..

gotta love it!

@ nga puhi:39 – No luck with the voucher yet. Yip spot on with that addie. Thanks Popps will keep a check on it.

I did congratulate you on the AB win. Hope you saw it.

@ nga puhi:
    Same way they treat Wynand Olivier, brilliant S14, he is now ice cold, when last did he play a full game?

@ nga puhi:43 – Nga, Yip that was a exciting game. A true final kinda game and a real AB/Bok game. Did love it but really hoped we could have won it…hehehe. Gotta give it to the ABs. We white washed em last year and they come straight back and do the same to us this year. Now that is what I call rivalry at the very best. Long may it live. Bok/AB games and especially at that kind of intensity.

@ Puma: I will send of an email tonight to inquire what has happened..

@ superBul: agree SB, I actually thought WO was one of the better performers in the first two tests, didnt set the world alight but he often made some very telling tackles on defense… in saying that though, I still think JDJ offers you guys more… but with Fourie back I think the backline will operate much more efficiently…

There is NO WAY M.Steyn would kick the ball straight back up field if he is actually aiming to kick it out, it must have been orders from the coaching staff…

As far as playing an attacking game is concerned, Morne did just fine in that department in the S14, maybe again one should look at and rather blame it on the game plan…

@ grootblousmile:37 – Gbs, most have said bring in Vermeulen for how long now? I too have said it. Look he is not in the squad. I was saying play Kanko ahead of Spies this week only cause Kanko is in the squad and not Vermeulen. Or Alberts but he is a Shark of course so wont mention his name…hehehe.

@ Puma: in truth Puma we were extremely lucky to win, McCaws try was a dubious decision at best, and would not have complained had it been called a no try, even with the SA TMO 😉

have always thought the Ab/Bok tests simply outdo any other rugby contest on the planet, and is why I always wish for a strong SA… keeps us honest and working on our game.. as last years complete capitulation forced us to come back stronger this year…

@ nga puhi:47 – Thanks Poppa but don’t worry too much about it if it never arrives. But thanks buddy all the same.

Puma did you read the article about the stats? We kicked 20 times, Morne 10 and Houggie 10. Most were bloody good and well contested, in fact 2 came back our way. I really dont know why you feel the urge to badmouth the Boks effort on Saturday. We were in it all the way, that is mostly how we won all our games in the last few years. Morne did good on Sat, he was maybe not brilliant but you bring anyone better and we talk. In fact Morne was better than Carter on Sat by a mile.

@ nga puhi:50 – Yip, well we win some of those calls and some we don’t, just have to take it on the chin. Like Cane said a draw would have been a perfect result. Anyhow we done it to your team last year but ABs were straight back at us this year. Good rivalry we have.

I too DON’T want us to go play our rugby up north. NOT ever rather want us to stay put in the SH and play the best teams in the world right here. The reason all 3 countries rugby is so strong. If saru took us to play our rugby up north our standard would drop. That is for sure. Nothing can compare to that game our teams played on Saturday. Nothing up north. We are here watching the best teams playing. Just the way I like it.

@ Puma: have just sent of an email to her.. your email is at yahoo yes?

you will be able to buy an ALL BLACK jersey with that voucher mate, dont want you to miss out lmao 😀

@ nga puhi:54 – Nga, NO sports shirts in that shop. But they do sell really nice cloths. Thanks.

@ superBul:52 – Super, calm down it was a good contest. Just giving my reasons. I hardly do that but really that was my feeling of the game.

@ Puma:55 – meant – clothes.

no probs, it would have been wasted otherwise… can you buy Wine from that store? if so, have a drink on me boet.. lol

Okay out of here now. Off to look at a new pc and a new big screen.

Catch up later.

@ nga puhi:58 – No wine there but will have a drink on you….hehehe.

Cheers mate out of here now.

Total 41 users including 0 member, 41 guests, 0 bot online