Vodacom WP coach Allister Coetzee today announced his team to take on the Xerox Lions at Newlands on Saturday 17 July 2010.  Kick-off is at 15h00.

In a packed afternoon of rugby at Newlands, Vodacom WP u19 take on their counterparts at 11h15, and the u21’s do battle at 12h50.

Tickets are on sale and are available from Computicket, Shoprite Checkers and Checkers Hyperstores nationwide as well as the Newlands Ticket office. Tickets can also be purchased via the Computicket Credit Card booking line on 083 915 8000 or on www.computicket.com

Ticket prices are as follows:

Seating:
R75: Grand Stand, Railway Stand, Danie Craven Stand
R65: Jan Pickard Stand
R55: Grand Stand Ramp Seating

Standing Room:
R35: Danie Craven Stand

The team is as follows: 

15.          Conrad Jantjes
14.          Fabian Juries
13.          Tim Whitehead
12.          Paul Bosch
11.          Frikkie Welsh
10.          Willem de Waal
9.            Dewaldt Duvenage
8.            Duane Vermeulen
7.            Rynardt Elstadt
6.            Pieter Louw
5.            Anton van Zyl (Captain)
4.            Adriaan Fondse
3.            Brok Harris
2.            Tiaan Liebenberg
1.            Wicus Blaauw

Reserves:

16.          Deon Fourie
17.          JD Moller
18.          JC Kritzinger
19.          Martin Muller
20.          Pieter Myburgh
21.          Conrad Hoffmann
22.          Lionel Cronje

25 Responses to WP announce their team to face Xerox Lions at Newlands

Good Team… going for consistency in selection again…. should thump the Lions.

@ grootblousmile:I think the Lions have an identity crisis….they think they are the British Lions, where it is ok to lose, as long as you played the game and gave everyone a chance.

A decent CC tight five.

Guys, Guys, why the negativity about the Lions? We have a bright young team, some good talent, an international coach. This team could be a bit of an unknown, so could give WP a nasty surpise on Saturday

4@ Lion4ever:
    No negativity, just expressed my opinion that WP had chosen a good team, based on consistency in selection… game is at Newlands…. Lions have not bought much except Wayward Murray since the Super 14…

I hope Mitchell picks the same squad week in and week out to get rid of the Muir-bogey of absolute inconsistency in selection…

Pity the Lions will have Mitchell just for the CC.

@ Lion4ever: dont take it personally mate, but with the same credentials for a number of years now they havent produced….but anything on this site is said in the form of good natured ribbing. My fervent wish is that each CC game is hard fought with a couple of points seperating the teams. I believe the Lions problems lay in their administration and not with the players, who always try their hearts out.

Eish GBS, grawe propoganda studios nog steeds daardie bleddie koei uit die sloot uit?

Hulle moes better arbeiders vir die job gekry het.

I believe Mitchell will do the same for the Lions.4Man I have been a member of this site for a long time, but have just chosen not to post.

7@ Snoek:
    Ja, jy en jou vrou wil mossie vir my iets anders stuur om op te sit nie!

So by the way, ek het nou planne om 2 vryskut bemarkers aan te stel om advertensiespasie namens R-T te verkoop, sodat ons so paar Kompetisies kan borg en ons Online Shopping gedeelte kan launch…..

@ Lion4ever:From your lips to G*ds ears…I went to school in S Tvl and have always had a soft spot for Transvaal…of course they were somewhat better those days. Lets swee what happens on the day.

@ Lion4ever:

Did you had nothing to say? 😉

Nee, my vrou het die uitnodiging gekry, lyk my ek moet haar so bietjie onder die allie skop dat sy kan wakker skrik.

8@ Lion4ever:
    Why not post comments?

Does it go hand in hand with what happened in the Super 14 and because we were initially very critical of the Lions Super 14 form… and very justifiably so…. the Lions managed 13 losses from 13 games.

Let me tell you one thing, by far the worst After Match Interview I had the pleasure of attending this Super 14, was that of Tricky Dicky after the Bulls / Lions match at Loftus. The man evaded our questions… and the questions were relevant, it revolved around Identifying the core Lions squad and consistency in selection. Usually the losing captain attends as well, well Baywatch did’nt.

To think that Muir is an assistant at the Bokke makes me worry!

That’s a rather good well rounded wp squad.

I always enjoy reading the general rugby posts on this blog because they generally make sense, and the comments don’t degenerate into racist and/or personal attacks. But even though the Lions had a horrendous S14, no one had anything positive to say.
    I was quite excited when DM was appointed, but now I am just disappointed the GLRU management did not get rid of him after the worts season ever by a SA side. Clearly he did not see a structured game plan and defence as necessary for a young side. There were a few games the team should have won in the S14, but lack of a coherent game plan, combined with inexperience cost us dearly.

@ Lion4ever:

Eish, be strong, the tide must surely turn at some stage. Hopefully for the supporters sooner rather than later.

snoek @ 16
    yep, would be good for sarugby if we can get another strong contender in the s14

lions @ 15
    well, its been quite difficult to find anything positive from the lions’ performance in this year’s s14. think the only ones who would be able to find positives in their performances might be dick muir and the players!
    but
    that said, i’m with snoek … hope this turn around sooner rather than later!!

Hoe ganit Ash?

Is it snowing there in your valley?

Trust me, so do us supporters

snoek @ 18
    😀 well, thank you snoek
    and
    yep, its coooooooooooooooooooooooold out here
    thankfully a bit warmer (if you can call it that) during the day!
    hope you’re well?

15@ Lion4ever:
    I think a lot of our Lions criticism this season is a direct result of 3 major contributing factors, namely:

1. The way the Union (Manie Reyneke & Co) handled the Player Contracts and disputes and the Management’s general inability to make intelligent decisions… and actually making a general farse of these matters.

2. The GLRU’s inability to contract a core group of STAR players, in stead opting for mediocricy and over the hill players like Carlos Spencer, Marius Delport, Chavanga…. and most recently Waylon Murray. In waylon’s case… hell the Lions have quality centres… Doppies, Walter Venter and a few others, why go for Murray baffles me!

2. Trickie Dickie’s absolutely SHITTY game plans and structures and the resultant losses.

It was most difficult to find or think of anything positive to say about the Lions in the Super 14, to be honest, even you Lions supporters found it hard to say anything positive as the season grew longer and longer, there was even talk about rebellion and supporting the players but not the Union until management is sacked.

Certain players like Micheal Killian, Walter Venter etc showed their class in a losing side.
    Maybe some of those mediocre players will actually shine with more game time than at they had at their old provinces.

Hi Lion4ever,

I have bemoaned the fact that so few Lions supporters post here. Keep posting please – it adds flavour to the potjie.

Groente

fender @ 23
    agree. i didnt want to mention it out of fear of scaring the bloke away

Xerox Lions:

Jaco Taute; Deon van Rensburg; Marius Delport; Waylon Murray; Michael Killian; Herkie Kruger; Jano Vermaak; Warren Whiteley; Franco vd Merwe (c); Derick Minnie; David Bullbring; George Earle; Ross Geldenhuys; Martin Bezuidenhout; JC Janse van Renbsurg. Replacements: Edgar Maratlulle; Kevin Buys; Trevor Hall; Wikus van Heerden; Chris Jonck; Elton Jantjies; Pieter Engelbrecht.

Total 23 users including 0 member, 23 guests, 0 bot online