I saw a Springbok team that tried their heart out and fought back brilliantly up to the second low blow by the referee in the 43 th minute. From then on the coaching staff started replacing players. Taking Danie Roussouw off so early was not the best change but replacing January with Ruan was overdue.

[SURVEYS 17]

A lot was said by me. Some aggressive remarks was made, sorry but I feel strong about it, I did not try and sway your opinions but fought for my opinion to be heard loud and clear. I saw a lot of articles that supported my feeling, but that is not the point. I say it as I see it, take it or leave it.

I wonder if I ever said that the Boks would win if the referee blew different. I was so furious it might have been said. I will plead my innocence due to the fact that English is not my first language. What I wanted to say was that the referee never allowed a fair contest. And that a few Springbok breaks could have happened if crucial decisions went our way.

First of all we were heavily punished by the yellow card. Even ex All Black players recon that was not worth a yellow. Then the crucial unpunished professional foul by Richy McCaw that would have earned any South African an immediate yellow card. At that stage we could have gone into the lead (14-13).

The sad thing about the last two games was how we lost our structures and concentration when things went against us. We also have a few off our best players missing. Fourie du Preez is the biggest blow. Heinrich Brussow was not replaced by the players most suitable to fill his shoes, his absence could have been countered by picking the next best fetcher in SA.  Bismark du Plessis was also part of the most successful team against the All Blacks.

Another big mistake was bringing in the European based players. Butch was not necessary, Ruan Pienaar could have covered both number 9 and 10 spots witch would have given us the opportunity to have another flank as reserve. Jean de Villiers was another major mistake. If Francios Hougaart was fit the Springboks would have enough variety on the bench to cover any injury. Gio Aplon played well in every game so far, all he needs is the confidence of the coach. Or else we must get a career wing there, not this makeshift players Dick Muir believes in.

I see a few player ratings painting the picture that we were no where in the game. I felt that we were well and truly in with a chance. Yes Carter could have finished the contest earlier. But it did not happen. Giving Ricky January a 2/10 score is ridiculous.

Morne Steyn 4/10 and Wynand Olivier a 3/10 makes my laugh. Giving Zane Kirchner 3/10 showed how far off this rating is. Another article said Wynand played his best game in the Springbok jersey.

It is a fact that the Springbok back line is playing poor unimaginative rugby but it seems that they play that game under instruction. And with Dick Muir there what can we expect. Morne Steyn had the guts to run at the opponents this year and scored a few great tries but under instruction he just bangs the ball up in the air. And to add to our woes Habana is not getting there to put pressure on the receiver.

I see a Sick and Tired thread was put up. Do we have that excuse flying around again. Victor Matfield is not tired. His hands are tied behind his back. He is used to lead the pack now he must play under a off form captain and a coach who ruined every forward pack he coached in his life. Look what happened at the Stormers when he was replaced by a real forward coach. It must be hard for Matfield who are used to great coaches at the Bulls. I think there is quite a few forwards that are fed up with Gary Gould.

32 Responses to Springboks performance and Survey

If any of you think i was rough read this guys view on News 24 blog

Suspend Rolland and show McCheat and the All Cheats that win was not theirs but player 16
    7/18/2010 9:25 PM
    The real test is that of the IRB and SANZAR character. Will they apologise to the Springboks and the South African nation for the worst ref performance of the modern game, will they suspend Rolland till after the next worldcup to make a statement that refs should not cheat or be party to cheat / match fixing? Rolland was aweful ban him!!!!!!!!!! Every time I see his ugly face I want to moer him.

Jean DeVilliers needs to go back to centre. Olivier needs to go.

Centre combinations need to be sound…its not clicking with olivier there.

Maybe PDV is building depth in this combination. If so …has he not left it too late!!

The ref was not that bad as you suggest Superbul.

NZ were awesome…I would go as far as to say if the ref was 100% perfect the AB’s would still have won.

There were many indescretions by the boks as well that were not picked up.

Smit did not get picked up for a shoulder charge. Many times the ball was slowed…this is part of the game unfortunately. Cant say it is cheating when everyone is doing it…it is just being able to get away with it.

@ Wallabie.:
    dont you think our backline coach may be the problem.

@ Wallabie.:
    Not that bad , does it mean little bit bad? lets face it the Springbok players share my view. read their comments in the press.

“Victor Matfield believes that the All Black captain Richie McCaw and their fly-half Dan Carter are getting away with murder”

“It appears as if McCaw and Daniel Carter are untouchable. You’re not allowed to touch them, otherwise you are in trouble. McCaw, in particular, does what he wants,” a frustrated Springbok said afterwards.

Matfield was also annoyed with what All Black captain Richie McCaw got away with.

“It looks as if McCaw and Dan Carter are God’s gift to rugby because you’re not allowed to touch them. And McCaw gets away with murder,” said Matfield.

However, that is not an excuse as the Springboks aren’t adapting well to the referees.

Fourie believes Danie Rossouw’s yellow card was a big setback so early in the game.

“We had to take it on the chin. Unfortunately there was nothing we could do. It cost us dearly.”

But the experienced centre says the Boks cannot blame their defeat on the yellow card.

“Our defensive systems were not up to standard. I think we can do much better. I am also not satisfied with my own performance.”

“At times we were on the front foot and attacked well, but the possession suddenly got turned over whether it was legal or not. They came out with the ball and we had to defend again.”

superBul wrote:

However, that is not an excuse as the Springboks aren’t adapting well to the referees.

do you adapt to a ref or to the RULES?
    If it is to the Ref that explains all
    Too much leniency for the ref to interpret the Rules as he likes. How can you coach a team to the rules and then get this and that ref to blow it his own way.

Remember PdeV went all over the world to help with the formation of this years Rules. So either he did not understand it or the ref does not blow the right way.

Move Jean de Villiers back to centre and give Gio a start on wing. Ruan Pienaar in place of Ricky Januarie. Bring Frans Steyn back in place of Zane. Brussow is the only player that has Richie McCaw’s number.

Yes, the ref had a major influence on the game.

Fatigue factor is not an excuse. It is a scientific fact and contributed to our poor showing. We had an all SA S14 final. on average our players played more minutes of rugby than the All Blacks.

What I want to know is, what actions are going to be taken against Alain Rolland? When will he be evaluated? and for how long will he be banned?

I don’t care so much about the 3N. I am looking forward to the World Cup, where McCheat and company won’t be allowed to cheat in order to get ascendancy in a game. Will love nothing more then to see the Worlds biggest chokers to choke again, and even better it will be in NZ.

@ rugbybal:
    I agree , in the WC they dont blow for NZ. That is the one tournament were parity is restored.

And yes sadly if they, NZ dont speak out about the inconsistency of the refs they lose my respect as a honest SANZAR partner.

I know many would say , why would they , they are the main benefactors of the refs actions. But i must admit there was a few ex All Blacks that came out to our support. Richard Loe was one.

In my opinion:
    Smit is a superb captain and hooker. The best that there is. But he is lank fat and unfit.

Matfield does look tired. I don’t buy the sentiment that he is frustrated by playing for the Boks at the moment, as laid out above. Is this not a player driven team? Are we not always being told that the senior players run the show? In any case I don’t rate Matfield as a captain. Leader yes, captain no.

Francois Louw is out of his depth. In the short term I would play Schalk as the fetcher and buy Juan Smith a ticket to Aussie. Pierre Spies was AWOL [again], buy Duanne Vermeulen a ticket to Aussie.

Although Januariedid not have a bad game, Pienaar was just soooooooooooo much better. Lets hope that DIV and Dick see this.

JDV is a 12, not a wing. Play Aplon or Hougaard on the wing. Although Meisiekind did not have a bad game, he is not good enough to be the Bok starting 12. Much like Januarie.

The Boks look like a badly coached and unhappy team, not dis-similar to England in the SWC 2010.

Yes the ref was crap.
    Yes Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeecheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee should have been yellowed
    Yes Ranger [I think it was him] should have been yellowed.

Yes we still would have lost.

Loosehead wrote:

The Boks look like a badly coached and unhappy team, not dis-similar to England in the SWC 2010.

Thats what i tried to say, Matfield’s body language tell that too.

wallabie @ 3
    so the ref “wasnt that bad” nê?
    now
    1. in all honesty ….
    do you believe that one of our players wouldve been able to go through a whole game being warned repeatedly without being yellow carded? (yes, i’m refering to mccaw here)
    and
    2. yes everyone attempts to slow the ball down nowadays …
    but again nz were allowed to seal off their ball repeatedly (watch their 2nd, 3rd player joining the ruck) or even go over the ball
    and not getting penalised for it … whilst we, have to stay within the rules (stay on our feet etc etc) or get penalised!!

Oi, whinge, whinge, moan, moan….

No amount of whinging will take away the bad performance by the Bokke themselves. Even at best case scenario the Bokke are as much to blame for their 2 losses than how or what the influence of the 2 Northern Hemisphere referees were.

I just cannot stand looking for excuses elsewhere but within the Bokke camp.

I’m disapointed by the volume of placing blame elsewhere…. we lost because we played sub-standard… get over it!

14 to put it bluntly, they were awful!!!!! does not matter what the ref, cards whatever did!!!! They look unfit, out of shape (specially Smit and Worsie) it was sheer absolute shite!!!!

Hak, hak die Bokke was kak!

loosehead @ 16
    nee, dis eintlik
    hak hak die leeus was kak, lol

Hmm a few things were said here.
    To replace Kirchner would be foolish.
    Olivier ahd his best game in a Bok jersey, the reasons the centres arent getting away is because Januarie insists on taking three backward paces/or sideways, before delivering the ball to the flyhalf, who then has to pass under pressure or kicks.
    de Villiers should not be returned to centre, he should be dropped, clearly his stay at Leinster has seen him go off the boil as with Butch at Bath…both fine players, but playing at English and European level is nowhere near as demanding as playing a Super 14 series (toughest league in the world as acknowledged by everyone)
    BJ Botha was actually doing more fetching than Louw…and clearly the only players who benefit the SA game by overseas exposure is the FRONT ROW….nowhere else.
    At half time the Boks were actually 7/3 up on the All Blacks (discounting the two tries when Rossouw was off), after half time we then lost ground again, until Ruan came on…Januarie must go now and get dropped from the squad, he cannot hack it anymore…to me when a player is consistently petulant, it means he is under pressure from lack of fitness, or age…Januarie has been a faithful servant of rugby, but if he stays now it will get worse and worse and his reputation will get worse and worse, both AJ Venters showed the way, the minute you stop being a natural choice for the Bok Squad, you should retire from the International game and they both left with their reputations intact….Butch James the same…Butch is past it, he got over his tackoling indiscretions, but now that he is under pressure for the same reasons as Januarie, he starts his nonsense again. All of the newcomers played well on Saturday, they should be starting…as for Ruan, he is currently the most maligned man in the squad, the selections have ruined him as a player for us, just like Brent Russel.

Did anybody watch Lambie at centre on Saturday…food for thought!!!

Oh and another thing….Victor must stop moaning and complaining…there is only one way to deal with this lapse…stuff it down the opponents throats…against NZ get a proper fetcher in place, ensure faster service to the centres and then they can make decisions about attack either back to the forwards for a resulting kick or take the ball wide. The 2nd centre and the left wing must know each other very well and a Provincial combination here would not go amiss, on the other wing JP will be back soon, but then that laaitie from N Tvl must go into the squad for the year end tours, so he can be the back up. Lambie to be considered as a backup centre or (G*d forbid) a utility back for the world cup…we then have the right squad for the world cup, with injured or personal reasons players coming back, Juan Smith, Bismarck, Bakkies, JP and probably Adi Jacobs.
    But as I said before Victor must stop complaining, it is his most unattractive trait and if he did it and it didnt effect his play then ok, but it does effect his play when he moans and groans.
    Somebody should shoot Rolland….I cant remember any game that he has reffed properly against the Boks….maybe a Boertjie shagged his Irish Grandmother or something…and she said in her last testament it was the best steek she ever had.
    Heres to the the next “Boknaai” and to the entire Aussie team standing behind their posts as Morne’ puts another kick over.

gbs @ 14
    just a question

ive been blogging on rugbysites (first keo, now here) for the last 6+ years
    in that time,
    how many times have you seen me “whinge” about a referee?

well, let me answer that one for you …. NONE!! NEVER!! its not something i do!!

as ive said earlier … ive watched parts of the recorded game quite a few times … not to look for excuses, but to try and see whether we shouldve done things differently etc etc etc. unfortunately i, in the whole weekend, never got through the whole game!!

now … a challenge for our writers on here …. ive had quite a few concerns around the tackle area and the subsequent rucks. can someone analise that part of the game for us?
    my concerns … how many ruck balls in 2 games did we actually successfully slowed down? why were it so few? how many did the all blacks manage? why was it so much more than we managed? why did the all blacks had such ascendancy in this area? was it because of greater numbers? was it because of better technique? if better technique, where did they execute better?

anyone?

20@ Ashley:
    Hey, I did not say that YOU were whinging, but rather judging from the Articles which sprang up here on R-T after our loss, forced me to say that.

Have a look at my new Article, “Other side of the coin, Bokke were terrible”.

Agree, Francois Louw is way out of his depth. But Burger has been playing well in a Bok jersey for years as well. We need Brussouw. Aplon too small. A bigger wing wouldve tackled ranger out on the touchline. Bring JP Pietersen and Hougaardt. Or Bjorn Basson.

i know you guys will try tell me im wrong , and even if chosen he would not have been able to play due to injury , but he is back next week

at 7 flank their is only 2, juan or deysel , they carry the ball strongly and clean out rucks

we had noone cleaning out rucks saturday, it is no use having a only fetchers and then a spies that depends on others to make things happen

a loose trio is a combo
    now deysel might be injured for now but juan is not and should have been flown over already

juan and deysel offer far for aggression, only burger offered a little there

go back and watch games from last year

see the likes of frans steyn and bakkies in the faces of the all blacks

they dont like it , they like to be the aggressors

another is bismark , sadly also injured and only back in 3 weeks time

now morne does not play well over seas , or does he play well without fourie dup

ruans kicks is more like fourie dups and should be starting

fact is the boks love the kick and charge which does work when you have the more accurate kickers like ruan or fourie dup playing , thus getting time to attack the ball and player waiting for the ball

january has a weak book and is slow , thus the kicking does not put pressure on the other defending team

morne’s kicks are not like they should be either , thus we gave away easy ball and the counter attacked with style and time

#26 book=boot

@ Ashley:
    read this older article maybe you will find the answers about tackle and mauls

http://www.rugby-talk.com/?page_id=10746

super even though i agree the ref was rubbish and cheated us , we have to move forward ,

we have to pick the right players and we have to change our style and game plan
    just like the Ab’s changed theirs after last year

we need to adapt and start playing smarter

both kirchner and morne for example only kick up and unders all game long

did you see the difference in our play when ruan came on and we kicked less????

our coach seems to have no answers , and to me this is first and formost the problem before one even looks at the players

superbul @ 28
    thanks super
    btw
    you shouldve been a province supporter … you’re waaaaaaaay too intelligent for the rest of the bulls supporters, lol

Total 17 users including 0 member, 17 guests, 0 bot online