All I read this morning are excuses, blaming others and a good old SA whinge to excuse the Springboks diabolical performance for 2 straight weeks in a row.

My view is radically different… the All Blacks are a well oiled machine at the moment, they play situations and referees perfectly, they play cleverly and they use their heads, not for head butting and shannanigans but to outplay their opposition.

The Springboks and their coaching staff on the other hand come accross as hotheads who easily lose their cool with NO ABILITY to get the referee on their side… and they follow it up with sub-standard play and incompetance!

I relaxed yesterday, spending time with the family and doing one of my favourite things, woodwork.

Whilst doing woodwork, I had plenty of time to reflect on the individual performances of the Springbok squad and their hot-headed coaching staff. I did not do my utmost to find a plethera of whinging and moaning ninnies who ascribe the Bokke loss to the referee, his assistants, the weather,  the cheats from elsewhere, the man in the moon and a general conspiricy against the Bokke!

Let’s look at a few contributing factors from within the Springboks inner circles to analise the losses of the last 2 weeks:

• Selection blunders
  • Half-hearted approach
  • First time tackling and terrible defence
  • Not giving due importance to ground-ball situations
  • Infatuation with playing players out of position
  • Bad tactical kicking
  • Bad tactical appreciation
  • Wrong game plan and not adapting to a Plan B
  • Losing focus
  • Bad dicipline
  • Terrible coaching assistants

Selection blunders:

Who’s to blame for continued selection of certain players who are out of form, players who do not have tactical kicking ability, ill-diciplined players, Northern Hemisphere players who are not used to SA Players patterns of play?

The blame here lies with the coach, National selectors and Springbok Assistant coaches!

Should Jean de Villiers, Butch James, CJ van der Linde and BJ Botha even have been contemplated for Bokke inclusion until back in the fold in SA and playing amongst SA players and Southern Hemisphere conditions?

Apart form a conundrum at tight head prop, I say no… never!

Super 14 form was rewarded for some and shunned for others. Where is the 2 fit and in-form hookers, Tiaan Liebenberg and Gary Botha? Why was SA flyhalves, apart from Mornê Steyn shunned… why did Peter Grant not get a look in during the June preparations? Why was a centre combination not cultivated in June?

The blame lies in stupid experimentation and clear favour for some “witbroodjies”!

Half-hearted approach:

The Springboks, after a super Super 14 season and after winning last year’s Tri-Nations the Bokke believed their own hype, underestimated the All Black resiliance to stand up and be counted and almost to a man put in some half-hearted performances for a couple of weeks now.

Motivation clearly lacked and that dogged determination to die for SA in a Bokke jersey was somehow absent. Focus was a problem and side-issues received a lot of attention.

One sees a half-hearted approach first and formost in the way players approach first time tackling and if one is brutally honest, there was plenty of that, more on this subject later.

The only players who have showed motivation and comittment required to my mind were Zane Kirchner, Schalk Burger and to a lessor extent Gurthro Steenkamp and Morné Steyn.

Bryan Habana, Jean de Villiers, Ricky Januarie, Pierre Spies, Victor Matfield and John Smit seemed least motivated of all players, they lacked intensity, work rate, grit and determination and guts.

First time tackling:

Not only is first time tackling very important in a game, it is paramount and tells the other team in no uncertain terms where they stand on the day. Fronting up in this department tells the other team to try other avenues whereas not fronting up sends the clear message to the opponernt to try his hand at running at you, aiming for the gap, playing the ball wide, making play from anywhere on the field, using quick throw-ins… and it gives the opponent so much confidence, it’s scary.

Those of us who have played the game for long enough in our lives will remember the specifc match days where you felt invincible, the days when the gaps opened up, the days you felt on fire… all due to confidence and what the other team allowed you on the day. But we also remember the days when we were smeared to the ground, when the other players looked inhuman and operated like machines, when the game could not finish soon enough. Am I right, do you remember it?

Not making first time tackles allows the opponent to cross the advantage line, to build momentum and to get the proverbial “go-forward”. Attacking ball is suddenly on the front foot, the second layers of defence is exposed and the resources stretched.

Well, Bokke… get your bloody first time tackling sorted out, it is weak!

Not giving due imporance to break-down points and ground-ball situations:

Match stats from any source will tell you that there are far more breakdown points and ground-ball situations in a match than set phases or any other aspect of our game. If I’m not mistaken, break-down points and ground-ball situataions roughly number over 140 occasions per match where scrums or lineouts are around 20 a piece.

Getting to break-down points first, effectively making an impression there, pilfering critical ball and slowing down opposition ball is what the modern game is about. Setting up continious phase play relies on a mastery of the ground-ball art and the modern day favours the team with ball in hand, so somehow the ball has to be obtained and possession maintained to build these phases and wear down the opposition.

Loose forward combinations need to have a balance, need to hunt in packs and the other players in the team need to know what their responsibilities are in these situations. To some extent all players become ball chasers and poachers, seeing as it is not enough to expect loose forwards or forwards in general to perform these functions any more.

Slowing down opposition ball gives a team the chance to organise defensive structures and align their defensive players, lessening gaps around the fringes, through the middle and out wide.

The Springboks have been bested in this department for 2 weeks in a row now, that is as clear as day!

Infatuation with playing players out of position:

Soon as a player is played in a position he does not normally play, one takes away from the familiarity on defence and attack. The modern game is a game of specialists in their positions, except in SA it seems, where scrumhalves play wing, fullback and flyhalf, where hookers play tight head prop, where loosehead props  play tight head prop, where centres are expected to play on the wing… and where we all lose!

John Smit is still carrying too much bulk from the experiments last year when he was shunted to tight head prop and the result is John has lost pace, misses first time tackles and his general hooker play is sub-par.

Not only does Jean de Villiers have to adapt back to SA play and Southern Hemisphere conditions, no he’s shunted to outside centre (Italy) and right wing (both All Blacks Tests), resulting in woeful performances from Jean, an otherwise astute inside centre. In the 1st All Blacks Test Jean was pathetic on defence and tried no less than 3 times to intercept with the resultant effect that the All Blacks got around him with ease on each occasion.

Forget about ever again playing 2 No 5 locks simultaneously (Matfield and Bekker), one loses so much of the grunt up front in doing that, with both locks suddenly prone to hanging around the backline at the same time.

Playing 2 traditional blindside flanks has now become an ugly habit as well, and although this ploy works wonders against lessor teams, the top teams will expose you when doing this. This was so clearly seen these past 2 weeks and also in the Super 14 final where the traditional loose forward combination which includes a fetcher, rules the roost. My message is, play Schalk Burger or Francois Louw, not both simultaneously…. but my plea will fall on deaf ears, of that I’m sure.

Bad tactical kicking:

Bad tactical kicking is just that, a mistake… and handing possession on a plate to the opposition.

Ricky January is a master of that, the bad tactical kick, in addition to his other bad traits. Morné Steyn has not kicked out more forcefully either and Zane’s biggest criticism is that his armoury of weapons has been largely limited to the Up-and-under kick.

In the Super 14 and in last year’s Tests we had the liberty of a fit Fourie du Preez, who in addition to his other tactical nous has been spot on with his tactical kicking. Well a word from the wise to the Bokke coaching staff, you have to steer clear of overdoing the tactical kick for now, seeing as Fourie is out, buddies….

Shelve it a bit, develop some other options, develop some better phase play… and take a leaf out of the All Black book on how they dismantled us these last 2 weeks… and choose your personnel better to effect your game plan, for goodness sakes!

Bad Tactical apprciation:

Option taking amongst Bokke players have been suspect for a couple of weeks…. when to kick, when to run, when to go for an intercept.

It has been been bad in the sense that we have played the game directly into the All balck hands for 2 weeks in stead of doing what SA does best…. slow the ball down, drive with the forwards, play in the opposition half and play into the corners.

Here the coaches and players must take an equal amount of flack and with the likes of Tricky Dicky Muir as backline coach and Gary Glitter Gold as forwards coach, I do not see the situtation improving unless we play one of the lessor teams.

Wrong game plan and and not adapting to Plan B:

Not only is our Plan A flawed and the wrong tactics used but when Plan A goes for a pot of snott, there has to be a Plan B, a fall-back method, a failsafe….. and we just do not see that at the Springboks at the moment. The same plodders do the same thing over and over again whilst we see broad smiles on opposition faces!

Losing focus:

Losing focus has 2 elements, namely losing focus during a game and losing focus during the week between games.

We have suffered both theses ills, giving far too much regard to Bafana Bafana’s soccer campaign, living the good life whilst on tour and not getting mentally focussed for one event, this week’s all important bloody Test.

There’s also far too much talking nonsense in the media, hey Peter de Villiers and hey John Smit and cohorts!

In game situations there are periods where it seems that the Springboks are now suddenly switched on and I find myself sitting more and more on the edge of my seat when this happens, just to slump back in the periods where we lack intensity and lustre, as if taking a bit of a smoke-break!

For goodness sakes people….. focus…. do what you are paid for, do what you are destined for with all those wonderful player abilities.

We do not want to hear about Graham Hendry and Snorire’s big mouths, we do not want to hear about bungi-jumping, we do not want to hear about extra-marital affairs, we do not want to hear that certain players are the Tiger Woods’ of rugby!

Bad dicipline or ill-dicipline:

Hell, how badly has this facet of Springbok play cost us in 2 short weeks… Bakkies banned for the dumbest heat butt in world rugby, Danie Rossouw for rising to the niggle and using a toe or 2.

Boys, you are putting us way behind during a match and coming from behind to win is simply more difficult than maintaining a lead or parity.

Time that Springbok rugby announce that players who show ill dicipline will be docked in their pockets and not selected, point blank!

Hard and uncompromising rugby is not the same as ill-diciplined and stupid rugby…. or thugby as one site coined it.

Time to change these perceptions and the only way to do it is to irradicate the cause of the problem!

Terrible Coaching assistants:

I promise to keep this brief, I could probably blabber on about this for a month, till one of you kick me in the nuts!

Trickie Dickie Muir has now shown us his true worth at the Lions, get rid of him, ban him to Siberia for all I care. He does not deserve a spot near the Bokke, that is just plain dangerous.

I’d rather forfeit a Currie Cup at the Bulls to have Pieter Rossouw join the Bokke, or forfeit the Currie Cup for WP (better option) by using Robbie Fleck or Alistair Coetzee as backline coach.

Gary Glitter Gold is in the same boat, the man is only able to talk a good game, not coach it. Get Mathew Proudfoot in there, damn the man is a magician having changed the powder-puff Stormers / WP forwards into solid units… hahaha.

I can just imagine what goes on after a Bokke game…… Peter de Villiers tells all the jokes with Ricky sitting on his lap, Dick Muir lies to the players in their faces and Gary Gold talks it all honky dory again, all in the space of a few minutes!

For goodness sakes, get a grip!

15 Responses to Other side of the coin, Bokke were terrible

Tank Lenning se mening:
    ‘Yet De Villiers is happy to pick this second string scrumhalf ahead of Ruan Pienaar, a player quite clearly superior to Januarie, and perhaps more importantly, very similar to Fourie du Preez, the man the Boks are missing so badly?

More sarcasm and rhetoric at the expense of the Bok selectors, because they deserve nothing less given the two Tri-Nations performances thus far … Did they watch the Super14 final? Did they perhaps not pick up that the game was won at the breakdown mainly because the Bulls played two flankers, who like Heinrich Brussow, another player the Boks are missing desperately, played very close to the ball?

So instead of players like Jacques Botes and Deon Stegmann, the Boks went with the two flankers who lost the final. This is obviously being very harsh on both Schalk Burger and Francois Louw, as both enjoyed exceptional Super14’s, but at the very highest level, it’s the very small things that count.’

Save the Springboks here:
    Current…

our only hope..

🙂

@ Montagu:
    Ek stem 100% saam met Tank. Francois Louw kom nie die mas op nie. Ons mis vir Brussouw. Stegmann kan ook daai rol vervul, nie so goed soos Brussouw nie, maar beter as Francois Louw.
    En wanneer laas het Schalk Burger twee goeie Bok games in n ry gespeel?
    Tyd vir Juan Smith ook, ek kan dit sien aan my span. As Juan speel doen ons baie beter. Weg met Fancois Louw en Schalk. Bring vir Stegmann en Juan tot Brussouw reg is.

3@ Montagu:
    As jy met Tank saamstem dan stem jy seker outomaties met my ook saam… ek sê heelwat dieselfde… en meer.

Het nie self Tank se stuk gelees nie, maar daai ou skrywe goeie Artikels, gewoonlik.

Sjoe waar het ek die een verloor? wat se ek? maar liewers niks.

GBS,
    Looks like you addressed some of the issues with the Lions. We had a lousy S14 with players being played out of position, and even Heinke shifting to TH in the VC semi against FS. The common denominator? Dick Muir. The Lions couldn’t defend. The Bokke struggle in this area. Attack is a helter skelter affair.

Doesn’t anyone have contacts with a rich French club that can offer Dick Muir a contract so that SA rugby is rid of him once and for all. Even better, let the AB’s hire him as their back line coach for the WC next year. He will be sure to mess them up badly.

The othe side of the coin….

Fact is if these desicions were taken against the All Blacks their supporters would have been up in arms…FACT !!!

Remember WC 2007 ?

Remember ALL the articles all over the web after a round robin match in the S14 against the Bulls when F.Hougaards try was allowed !!!

Nah…Please, they must not come and talk about looking for excuses, THEY taught us !!!

7@ Blouste:
    Does the fact that the referee might have had an inverse effect on the Bokke take anything away from their own stupid and lacklustre performance on Saturday and the week before?

Referee mistakes apart, would the Bokke have come close to winning… no, the answer here must be an emphatic no!

I am just as unhappy with the losses but choose to point to our own team’s frailties, stupidity, ill dicipline and lacklustre preformance, rather than using an available and handy scapegoat.

In the 1st Test we did not do better in one solitary department of the game… not one… and we’ll find it bloody hard to give any indication where the Bokke were better than the All Blacks in Test 2 as well.

Hulle het ons gerook vrind, soos ‘n lang dik zol van ‘n sigaar!

Jammer maar ek sien dit nie soos jy nie GBS, dis hoekom ek moerig is en jy probeer WP styl omrol op jou rug. Ons kan die voortou geneem het in die 43ste minuut en dan was dit n total other ball game. All Blacks behind and the presure shifted right back. Plus another 9 minutes without their captain.

Hell if we crumble when we are 14 why are you so much in awe with them to believe that without RM on the field we could pull out of sight.

I never thought you would give up on the same players we all supported last year. This team is not so different to the one that gave the Abs a 3 zip trashing last year.

superBul wrote:

Hell if we crumble when we are 14 why are you so much in awe with them to believe that without RM on the field we could pull out of sight.

should read
    Hell if we crumble when we are 14 why are you so much in awe with them to believe that without RM on the field we could not pull out of sight

9@ superBul:
    Ek rol vir niemand om op my rug nie, behalwe as Handbriekie natuurlik wil hê ek moet omrol… hehehe

Mynsinsiens, en dis nog altyd so, sien ek dit as swak styl om ‘n verloor op ‘n referee te blameer!

Was die Bokke beter as die All Blacks, nie in my boek nie! As Dan Carter nie slegs met 3 uit 8 skoppe geslaag het nie, was ons kisplanke toe, sonder ‘n ticket…. ons gatte gesien sonder ‘n spieltjie!

I don’t know if we can place articles on here, but thought I would like you to hear my thoughts on Springbok rugby.

I copied this from an article I wrote for 606.

This is my last rant about SA rugby.

In contrast to Graham Henry, PDV is now having to earn his salary, after the successes of 2009, it is now time to step up to the plate.

To be fair to PDV I am going to look at the missing players firstly.

Juan Smith, he is a big loss to the side, in my opinion one of the most underrated players in world rugby.
    Fourie du Preez, arguably the best scrum half in world rugby.
    JP Pietersen, he may not be the flashiest of wings, but he is most definitely of international standard and has never let us down. Solid on defence and a good finisher.
    Bismarck du Plessis, in my opinion the best hooker in SA by a long shot.
    Heinrich Brussouw, was very successful last year, remains to be seen if he will be as effective under new laws.
    Beast, he may lack a little technique and scrumming power, but does add mobility and is a very good defender and ball carrier.

I would think difficult to replace for most coaches.
    This is our record over the past 11 matches.

Lose to Australia
    Beat NZ
    Lose to France
    Beat Italy
    Lose to Ireland
    Beat Wales
    Beat France
    Beat Italy
    Beat Italy
    Lose to NZ
    Lose to NZ

If you remove the three matches against Italy, PDV has now lost 5 out of 8 tests against top opposition.

Lets look at PDV and his selections.
    He favours Ricky Januarie over Ruan Pienaar
    He select Wynand Olivier over Jean de Villiers
    He favours Zane Kirchner over Frans Steyn
    He plays Jean de Villiers on wing.
    He also has BJ Botha and Butch James who in my opinion are both past their prime.

There are omissions of players where we are having obvious weaknesses such as:
    Fly half – Peter Grant
    Hooker – Gary Botha and Tiaan Liebenberg
    Tight head prop – Werner Kruger
    Scrum half – Jano Vermaak
    Outside Center – big weakness his idea for back up is Adrian Jacobs.

In my view PDV are making obvious mistakes in selections, he favours players who in my opinion should not even be rated amongst the best 3 in their positions, then he has personal issues with proven players and leaves us with gaping weaknesses in other positions.

As far as a game plan is concerned, the basic principles of forward play apply to all teams, defensive kicking apply to all teams, defensive organisation really isn’t rocket science anymore as most coaches are aware of the different forms of defence and when to use what.

The question regards to game plan in my opinion at least is more to do with what do you do when you have ball in hand, and from how deep you are likely to attack. Counter attacks rely mostly upon the immediate opportunity available to a player on a mistake from opposition ball, the defences that are unorganised and the individual talent and vision such a player may possess. General attitude of attack minded play is directly resultant from coaching and whether a team plays ultra conservative rugby as would be more concieveble in RWC finals vs more positive running rugby in other tests. SA do not have a problem with playing more attractive rugby when playing Italy as an opponent, and can do that very effectively, with no fear of being punished for mistakes whereas when playing a top team their ultra conservative approach of low risk rugby may at times be successful, but will not put much fear into these teams.

Due to South Africa’s ineffective attacking running rugby, teams over the last 18 months could simply work harder on their areas of forward play, line outs, rucks etc, and had time to “catchup” to the SA forwards and needed very little time to analyse SA attacks as they have pretty much remained the same for some time now. During this time teams could also work on ways to circumvent the SA rush defense which once again has remained very much the same.

Currently it looks like to out think the SA rugby “brainstrust” does not need much more than simply coming up with a few new ideas that hasn’t been seen before. Add to that the bizarre selections and omissions of PDV and suddenly although being expected it is now SA who will have to play catch up.

Sadly PDV has given us no reason to believe there are any innovative ideas running around, the thought has been uttered in the past that perhaps he is not the brains trust behind the Springboks anyway.

So the question remains, who is going to bring the change necessary for an evolution in springbok rugby?

I can tell you now who it won’t be, and they are currently not involved in the Springbok squad. So say thank you all of you who have aspirations of winning the world cup, in the current administration of SA rugby, you have an ally, and unless measures are taken to revitalise SA rugby and place it back in the hands of administration and coaches who can with untainted motives select and coach players, the current situation isn’t about to change.

To finish off, if you don’t believe anything I said here, cast your minds back to the Bulls and Stormers in the Super 14.

Look I’m not trying to use one as an excuse over the other.

Yes the Bokke were BAD, especially in the first test.

But in my opinion these are two different catagories.

1. – Sure we were bad, and as a matter of opinion from my side some different players in different positions etc. were needed.
    – Players did’nt put in a decent effort that could be seen in their defense, or the lack there off… , whatever the reason for that might be, fatique, coaches etc. etc.
    In short, the Boks were BAD !!!

2. – Was the ref not up to scratch and blew with different rules for the two teams ?
    FOR SURE !!!

And lastly like I mentioned in my previous post, the Kiwi supporters must not walk around with halo’s and tell us we whine all day as they can go on much the same or worse when the get dealt the short stick…

😆 rol op my rug , nie ekke nie.

Maar dit is nou nie my of die Bokke se saak dat Dan the man nie kon skop nie. Ons het al games verloor weens power skoppers.
    Die feit is ons was in minuut 43 nog daar op 13-6 met die geel wat nie gegee is nie.
    Groot toetse soos die word gewen met klein(masief sal seker meer gepas wees) soos die gele van Danie. Maar hoor my lied die Bokke sou verwoed gewees het as McCaw afgejaag was. Soos wat almal erken hy moes.

13@ Blouste:
    The only thing we MUST avoid is to whinge when we lose and then in turn try and punish them when they lose and try to whinge as well.

They will beat us with a stick if we whinge, so rather take it like a man, fix OUR mistakes and ill-dicipline and then bliksem them solidy and legally on the field of play.

Total 155 users including 0 member, 155 guests, 0 bot online