There may be more than a touch of irony in the decision, but the Sharks have made another major signing when they snapped up the signature of Bulls fly-half Jacques-Louis Potgieter for the 2011 season.

Potgieter, who last year kicked a last-gasp drop goal to put them out of the Currie Cup while at Free State, will also ironically start the game against the Durban team this weekend when the Blue Bulls head for their Currie Cup league fixture at the Absa Stadium.

The blonde fly-half moved to the Bulls at the start of the season from the Cheetahs and played a good supporting role in the team’s Vodacom Super 14 victory, alternating between flyhalf and inside centre.

But with one eye on next year’s World Cup, it is understandable why he will want to move, especially with the Sharks unable to settle on a first-choice fly-half and Springbok Ruan Pienaar heading to Ulster after the Tri Nations.

Sharks Director of coaching Rudolf Straeuli confirmed to Supersport.com that Potgieter had signed for the Union.

“Yes we have a contract with him,” Straeuli told Supersport.com.

Potgieter is keen to try and claim a place as the second choice fly-half behind Morné Steyn at next year’s World Cup in New Zealand and the best way to do that would be to get as much game time as possible.

The story, which first appeared in the Pretoria News over the weekend, was also confirmed by the Bulls themselves, who said they were sad to see Potgieter go.

The blonde fly-half declined an interview over his move, saying he wanted to concentrate on Saturday’s game and didn’t want his decision to distract his team-mates in the defence of their Currie Cup title.

42 Responses to JLP signs for The Sharks

Well Potgieter you made your choice, going to a team that is totally unsettled with all the signings , no one knows where they stand. From a structured Union like the Bulls to the Sharks. I can not see how you can feel assured that you will get game time. Poor DuMond, pack your bags son anyone else is rated higher than you.

The who,s who team of SA is the Sharks.

Jacques-Louis Potgieter is being wise to go to the Sharks, the one place where he should get the starting berth every game… he has had too little actual game time lately and it shows in his play.

Time to go find his niche there and become the 2nd choice SA flyhalf after Morné Steyn there.

The Bulls still have Francois Brummer to fall back on and SA needs more regular depth at flyhalf.

I rather think he made a big mistake. The solidity of the Bulls made many players path to the Bok team easier. Morne waited for his chance behind DH. And he is now reaping the rewards. But time will tell, i like his play , but i think the Bulls will now give the inside lane to Brummer, it make sense. Why sharpen the Sharks next no 10 for 2011.

If he is sidelined now his game will suffer, and who must he thank…..

well good news far as i am concerned and again i agree with rudi

jacques is a good flyhalf and should be starting , and morne is still very young and has committed long term to the bulls which closes the starting possibillities for jacques in many ways

also believe jacques will give the sharks backline some kick and variety that they lacked

super who must he thank?>??? boland bank of course 😆

Good signing for the Sharks.

He should just have stayed at thr VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!

It makes no sense whatsoever.
    Why did he move from VRU in the first place ?
    He was the first choice there .
    Morné wont be playing a lot for the Bulls this year and JL would have had plenty of game time next ydar aswell.
    And Sharks, naturally you will see it as a good signing for your team.
    Does’nt mean it’s a good move for the player and his career…

Some of you Bulls supporters make me shake my head, I agree that he probably should have stayed at the Cheetahs but you would rather have him sit on the bench at the Bulls and get splinters that start every game for the Sharks which will improve his game and help him become the No.2 Flyhalf in the country… My mind boggles at the logic.

Winston

The question remains, if game time was what he was after, why didnt he just stay at the Cheetahs ?
    Your argument holds no water, you guys sit with J Smit and Bismark and ?

Bismarck was up and coming when he joined the Sharks, to our good luck he turned out to be incredible. Morne is well established as the best 10 in the country when JLP joined the Bulls.

Ok, what about when Morné waited in the ranks when Hougaard was at the helm.
    And even so, JL knew exactly where he was in the rankings when he joined the Bulls, Morné was already the Boks first choice.
    Nothing new for him, why did he leave the States then ?

Blouste wrote:

Nothing new for him, why did he leave the States then ?

The states is a k#k place to play rugby, and the Bulls was offering him a contract, that’s why he left the States. He probably wanted to come to the Sharks last year allready but due to cicumstances he had to take the second choice last year. As long as he is happy now. 😉

snoek

I’m still in the dark…
    If he does’nt want to play rugby in a kak place, why would he move to Deben ? 😆

@ Blouste:
    Haha, it seems the bushveld has given you some witt.

I have created a model to find out who is the best provincial team in SA, it is very complicated and have factors worked in like; Bok players, opposition, beauty of the wifes etc.

According to this program the Sharks are by far the most superior team in SA.

Unfortunately i can not share the details of my findings on this site, as it contains political and religous content.

So you will have to take my word for it. 😆

I think Puma left the country with the Dutch Soccer Team.

snoek @ 16
    brilliant idea bru
    just one problem with it
    its called a halucination, not a model

snoek @ 17
    or maybe he, with some of the players from the dutch team, are stalking the ref?

@ Ashley:

I hear Dutch supporters went to England and Mooned Webb’s train when he arrived home. 😆

snoek @ 20
    lol

snoek @ 20
    😯 you think puma was amongst them? 😀

@ Ashley:

That would explain his absence 😆

23@ Snoek:
    Hey, Oupa Puma het dalk ‘n aar in die kop gebars of ‘n hartspierspasma gekry toe Hop Hop Oranje verloor het?

24@ grootblousmile:
    Ek het self amper Saterdagoggend ‘n gemoedsbekakking gekry, terwyl ek rugby kyk….

Last weekend was a BADDDDDDDD weekend for Puma…

First the Bokke lost
    Then the Tjarks went down to Kwas
    Then Holland saw their Hol…..

Eish……… I was in the same boat. What a bad weekend for me, sport wise.

The previous weekend i had the privelage of driving with Superbul in the Timbavati reserve, and that was really nice. But as they say, you can’t have your bread buttered both sides and eat it. (Or something)

@ Snoek: You cant have your cake and eat it. the first time my mother said that to me, I asked “why”, I have never had a satisfactory answer, I get cake and I eat it, then I get more cake. That saying must have been invented by some smart ass rich ou who didnt want anyone else to do well. My generation turned it on its head.

@ 4man:

It sounded wrong when i typed it. Yes, the saying is silly if you think about it.

@ Snoek:What the hell are you doing at home, or are you blogging in the office? I am taking a little break and listening and watching the Migs flying 500 ft overhead.

Total 144 users including 0 member, 144 guests, 0 bot online