Bok coach Peter de Villiers got thrown a few curve balls this week – on the selection of Ricky and Chiliboy as well as management of players leading up to RWC 2011.

sarugby.co.za

Question:How is it possible for Ricky January & Chilliboy Ralapella to be playing for the Springboks if they are not even starting for their Provinces in Super 14 rugby? Justin le Roux

Peter replies: I do not pick the Vodacom Super 14 sides but I certainly believe that these two players have something to offer us and they have shown it in the Test matches to date. Ricky was the man of the match against Wales and Chiliboy is clearly reaping the benefits of his decision to play Vodacom Cup rugby this season as part of his extended injury recovery and conditioning programme. Well done to the Vodacom Blue Bulls on their role in this. There were other questions about Ricky from James Pitout, Peter L’Estrange and Sarah Boomgard which I cannot reply to individually, except to say that I know what I have in Ricky and I know what he is capable of. With Fourie du Preez not available you need the experience of a player who has “been there before” in a Vodacom Tri-Nations campaign.

Question:I would like to hear your view on how a player like Chilliboy, who is so talented and is proving himself on the international arena, can be a B player at his province? Why can’t we get the best players in every position spread across the provinces, so as to allow them game time? Your biggest fan, Zola Mkumla

Peter replies: Zola, it is so refreshing to have a question asked from an alternative viewpoint. Well done! As national coach I would love to see this, but this is not an ideal world and whilst we have a good working relationship with the Super Rugby franchises and coaches we have to be mindful that they have their own unique challenges. We are so fortunate to have so many talented players in our country but only 22 places to fill in a Springbok squad!

Question:I know you are experimenting at the moment but I am concerned about the team gelling before the Tri-Nations. Are we not worried about the Tri-Nations but rather the World Cup Next year. Lionel Dreyer

Peter replies: I would not call it experimenting but rather making use of every opportunity that is available to us between now and the World Cup to evaluate and monitor each and every player who could be part of the World Cup squad next year. This year’s Vodacom Tri-Nations is much more important than next year’s as we play two matches in New Zealand and they are in places where we will play World Cup matches. The end-of season tour this year is also vital to our preparations. We are taking things step-by-step with the goal of making sure our top players are fit and available at the World Cup next year.

Question:My question is regarding the management of players leading up to the RWC 2011. Are the Super franchise coaches and you guys on the same page when it comes to player management and does the Bok management have any say in resting players during the Super 15 ? Dan Jardine

Peter replies: Dan, we are very much on the same page. In fact, the Springbok medical team met recently with its Super 15 counterparts to plan the way ahead for the country’s leading rugby players in the lead up next year’s World Cup. The main purpose of the session was to discuss the management of players in both International and national competition over the coming months with the ultimate goal of having a fit and full strength squad at the 2011 World Cup.

Question:Please let us know when you will (put) the petty personal issues aside and select the best fullback talent we have had in years. Frans (Steyn) is the most talented player since Naas Botha, but you let your personal feelings get in the way of us winning the 3N and the WC. You are supposedly to be objective, clearly not. Dawid Louw

Peter replies: Dawid, I am glad you asked that question. Thanks to Steven Hapelt, Gerrit Conradie, Mandy Kotze, Simon Clements and Jacques Harmse too for asking about Frans. There are no problems between Frans and I and I certainly do not have “petty” issues with him. I will never deny any player the opportunity of playing for his country. The truth is that Frans was only available for the Wales Test. Further discussion is needed with his club and agent about future availability and this is being dealt with presently. You have fallen for the perception created in the media that there may be issues between myself and the player which is untrue.

9 Responses to Div answers a few questions about Chilli, Ricky & Frans Steyn

I personally think, PDV could be a politician, there is not one question he answered without being absolutely vague.

Just a lot of words and no straight answer.

Just who does Snorrie think he’s kidding regarding Chilliboy and Ricky??

Does he think we’re freegin stupid?

OF-FARKING-COURSE there is a clear bias towards Chilliboy and Ricky, notwithstanding EXCELLENT ALTERNATIVES available in both their positions, players who were absolutely on fire in the Super 14!

Just because Chiliboy, potential sick-note of note was very conservatively nursed back to health (otherwise he would have freegin broken down AGAIN!) by the Bulls, does not make him any better than Tiaan Liebenberg or Gary Botha.

It makes an absolute mockery of merit Super 14 selections to say HE was NOT THE COACH at the Franchises who chose to play other players above Chiliboy and Ricky…. dis loutere kak man!

On the Frans Steyn issue…. why does Snorrie not just come out and say, “Dammit man, I think Fransie has lost form” OR “I try and avoid choosing Northern Hemisphere players as far as possible and the only exceptions I made were in positions where I thought our depth was not so good”

Snorrie sometimes makes me think that Tricky Dicky has too much influence over him… Tricky Dicky is the one who likes to EVADE PERTINANT questions whilst bloody looking you squarely in the eye… like a blerrie skelm donner….. I experienced it firsthand this year!

Come on Peter, we require and deserve HONEST answers, even if the truth is not always the nicest thing to hear. For farks sakes, tell us straight… “I needed to increase the POC content of the Bokke team under a bit of pressure” OR “Januarie is one of my personal pet-project favourites and so is freegin Chili”

Don’t hide behind kak that not even a freegin 6-year old would believe and insult our intelligence!

Jinne, ek kan fokken de moer in raak!

jy gaan n aar in jou kop bars as jy so aangaan 🙂 maar ek stem saam. Te veel tik as jy my vra

3@ bos_otter:
    Mag dalk iets te doenne hê met die feit dat ek eers 03:00 in die bed geklim het en daarna kak geslaap het… of dalk die feit dat ek hondkak gholf gespeel het vroeër vandag…. hehehehe

Maar ek is rustig…

What a crock of shit.. Somebody punch Snor in the face. The Tri Nations is on a platter if we pick the right side.. We will get exposed at 9 and 15.you heard it here first..

GBS…jy moet meer rus kry mens. Ek gaan nog eendag daai golf ding try en sien of ek dit like. Nog net balle op n driving range geslaan, maar nog nooit op n golfbaan loop speel nie.

Sie jy brakpanner wat gebeur as jy sonder my gaan golf speel?????????????????????????????? 😆 i was not there to guide you blerrie blou bal 😆

ooOOooOOoo and good morning all lol

@ sharky_forever:7 – Sharky 😆 Tell that blerrie blou bal supporter gbs……hehehehe.

Fokkie Sharks!

Total 106 users including 0 member, 106 guests, 0 bot online