Ruan Pienaar and Morné Steyn will finally play together again as the Springboks’ halfback pairing in what probably feels like an eternity to two very good friends.

The two were last halfback partners in 2005 when they played together for the South Africa under-21 side that won the Junior World Championship in Argentina.

And who was the coach back then? None other than Peter de Villiers.

Just why the coach waited for five years to re-unite the pair is a mystery, but it probably has something to do with their contrasting fortunes as flyhalves.

But every fairytale has a happy ending and for these two friends, who already played together as boys in Bloemfontein, their backyard Tests growing up in Fichardt Park will become a reality in Saturday’s Tri-Nations clash against the Wallabies at the Suncorp Stadium.

Pienaar will be in the No 9 jersey and Steyn at No 10.

Pienaar’s inclusion was inevitable and belated.

The man who was labelled the Tiger Woods of rugby by De Villiers has been playing his best rugby in years because he has been allowed to play in his favoured scrumhalf position.

He was the substitute in this position in a number of Tests this year, but had to kick his heels behind Ricky Januarie.

“I just want to concentrate on doing the basic things right. That includes getting the line away quickly, taking some pressure off Morné when necessary, and now and again look for the gap,” a satisfied Pienaar said before his 43rd Test. Only 16 of those Tests were at scrumhalf.

Pienaar is looking forward to being re-united with Steyn.

“We have not played together for a while, so I’m looking forward to it. It feels good to be able to play with him,” he said.

Pienaar is determined not to put too much pressure on himself.

“I just want to enjoy it. I have nothing to prove, so just want to run out and play. Hopefully all goes well,” he said.

Pienaar realises that his tactical kicking may be vital.

“With Morné and Fourie du Preez, the Boks were very accurate in putting other teams under pressure last year. Hopefully I can help with that. I want to put in additional work this week to make sure that my kicks are accurate,” said Pienaar.

He expects a fast game, but believes it’s important for the Springboks to determine the tempo.

“We will stick to what worked for us in the past, but will try to retain possession for longer. We had New Zealand under heavy pressure at times in the second half by keeping the ball.”

Pienaar is looking forward to the duel between the halfbacks.

“I thought (Will) Genia and (Quade) Copper were the best halfback pairing in the Super 14 and caused problems for many teams. Morné and I have a tough task ahead, but we’ll have to put pressure on them if we want to stand a chance.”

By JJ.Harmse for sport24

33 Responses to Cycle finally completed

This was long overdue…

After F.du Preez’s injury Ruan should always have been the stand in scrumhalf in the current Bok setup.

Why does it always take 2 serious losses to opposition which matters, before Snorrie sees the light and opens his ears to what is warned about by all and sundry weeks before the damned losses?

Most rugby lovers warned about Ricky and touted Ruan as the man for the job even before the June preparatory Tests, including me!

Guess the next thing we must start shouting about now is the balance in the loosies…. maybe by June next year, that message will finally sink in with Snorrie, just in time for good World Cup preparation and execution.

@ Blouste:1 – Blouste, Agree with you 100%. Ruan should have started all tests once FdP was injured. Why does it take us to lose 2 tests to our greatest rivals to see that from the coaches? Crazy. Some other selections too did not work. Flo for me never stepped up to this level. He will though has huge talent for now he just not there yet. We miss Juan and also Brussow. Stegmann or Botes should have been selected too for now that Brussow is injured.

Not sure how we going to go tomorrow with Spies and Kanko. I would have played Kanko at 8 (Only cause Spies has not performed well in the past 2 tests) Burger at 6 and Potties at 6. That for me would have been a far better loose trio for this Saturday. Then you never know we could pull it off.

@ grootblousmile:2 – gbs, Snap about them seeing it only after the 2 losses. Our posts would have come up the same time but just as I was going to submit my post 3 had to take a call.

Yip, a pity we have to lose 2 tests to see our mistakes. Hope we can learn from it.

gbs @ 2
    you’ll do the same when you become coach …. you’ll stick to players and hope that they’ll pay back the trust you’ve put in them
    or
    will you go onto the rugby websites weekly and select the team that the armchair critics/-coaches/-selectors/-experts want?

Last year we begged the Bokke coaching staff for Brussow to be included, until eventually he was given a go because of injury…. and was a revelation….. and everybody sang his praises.

@ Puma:3 – Tomorrow meant Saturday…hehe. I am ahead of myself there 😀

gbs @ 6
    correct
    but a few years ago we BEGGED jw to get rid of smit
    and
    what a revelation HE TURNED OUT TO BE!! 😆

@ Ashley:5 – Ash, I respect the coach for sticking with some players. BUT some and especially Ricky has had many, many chances. He should have known by now what he had in Ruan and Ricky. Ruan should have been first choice always once FdP was injured. Look he still has WO too and really WO should never have started for Saturday against the Aussies. It should have been De Jongh. WO not sure what it is with him. He is brilliant for the Bulls but for the Boks just never ever is up to it. Also Spies great for the Bulls but not always for the Boks. Sometimes he is but not always. The coach has stuck with both of them too. I feel though if WO has another bad game he will be dropped too. I think he should have been already and Spies. Potties should have come in for Spies in this game. Spies to and WO should have been on the bench.

5@ Ashley:
    Luckily I’m not coach, because I might just fluck it up solidly…. hehehehe

But one thing is for sure, my eyes would be wide open… and I would operate as follows:

1. No players will be played out of position.
    2. There will be no witbroodjies and coach pets.
    3. The loosies will be chosen with looseforward balance in mind and with due consideration to breakdown points and ground-ball,
    4. The best players in SA will be selected with merit the only criteria.
    5. Trickie Dickie and Gary Glitter won’t be Assistant Coaches.
    6. Media conferences might not be as funny but they won’t be an embaressment to SA anymore.
    7. There will be a Plan A, but also a Plan B and Plan C.
    8. No off-form overseas based players will get a look-in.
    9. The players will be more diciplined on the field.

gbs @ 10
    “6. media conferences … ”
    as i asked a few days ago
    why
    do we south africans have this idea that “the world is laughing at us”? 😯
    this
    is really one thing about safricans
    that really baffles me!!

it happened when we were given the rights to host the soccer wc, cause “everyone” then said “its not gonna work … blah blah blah, then the world will laugh at us”,
    when
    julius opens his mouth, some claim “the world is laughing at us”
    you wanna know the truth? the world dont give a damn. everyone’s got enough problems of his own` ..
    and
    even if a few rugby supporters around the world are feeling smug at the moment,
    who gives a damn?
    where were they last year when we won every cup we could?

9@ Puma:
    There’s a difference of opinion regarding Wynand Olivier…. 4man says Wynand has had his best Tests, you say Wynand was bad…… opinions, opinions….

My view on Wynand is that he was not one of the worst Bokke for the last 2 weeks… he was solid on defence and got few good attacking opportunities due to the bad backfoot ball the backline received…. hell who in the whole backline shone? Did Habana shine, did Morne, did Jean and did Mossie or Gio shine?

Why single out Wynand as scapegoat?

Sort the root of the problem out, don’t address the symptoms only, I say…. and Ruan in as well as Jean replaced alleviates some of the situation… now the forwards must just front up!

Juan de Jongh is on the bench, should Wynand not use good opportunities which comes his way…..

What I’m trying to illustrate here is that I’m not pro-Wynand, but rater pro fixing the cause of the problem in stead.

@ Ashley:11 – Ash, Have to agree with you there on your whole post buddy. Well said.

11@ Ashley:
    Fact is, Snorrie sometimes just opens his mouth to change feet!

I like Snorrie, I think he’s a great man-manager but I question some of his selections, like I would all other coaches… I question the way he handles the media, all dignity and poise sometimes just fly out the window… which is sometimes refreshing, but mostly embarrassing.

Unfortunately Snorrie is SA’s “ambassador of rugby”, to the outside world… and should act as such.

@ grootblousmile:12 – Gbs, WO for me just never stepped up again once he plays for the Boks. Spies does and does not when he plays for the Boks. These past two tests WO and Spies have not been great at all.

Spies will never ever be dropped by PdV, but I can tell you, if WO does not have a good game again on Saturday, he will be replaced in the home games. Mark my words. It will probably be JdV or De Jongh. I would have given De Jongh a chance here and also Potties. Left WO and Spies on the bench for this game.

@ Ashley:11 – Ash, Also we held the BEST EVER football world cup. It was totally awesome. Proud of my country.

Spies was very good while Brussow and Juan was there, just does not play the same when Burger is at 6. Also we had Flo at 7 this time. So have to see how Spies plays with Kanko and Burger……..Phew!!!!!!! Not sure about this loose trio this Saturday. Hope I am very, very wrong.

15@ Puma:
    I’m disapointed in Spies…. see, this is where Duane Vermeulen should have been on tour in place of Kanko… one of those hard grafting No 8’s.

By now, with the current squad in mind, I would have had Dewald Potgieter have a go at No 8 in stead of Spies as well, with Spies on the bench to send a clear message to Spies that he can and will be replaced if he does not get stuck in.

Your argument for Juan de Jongh in place of Wynand has merit, however you never answered my worry about who in the whole backline shone? Should we not then replace the whole backline, if your Wynand argument is to be used?

gbs @ 14
    Unfortunately Snorrie is SA’s “ambassador of rugby”,
    😀 so is bakkies, danie etc etc etc 😆
    ag
    do ignore me … i’m just feeling silly at the moment!! 😆

19@ Ashley:
    Yip, they are….

How does a Nation get a reputation in a sport… AB’s are chokers, Ozzies are arrogant whinging big mouths, South Africans are whingers and thugs…. it is a direct result of what players portray for us over time.

It is not good to be known and treated as thugs….

ok, what will we do in the future
    put guys who wants to be coach through an english language test?
    will we automatically ignore guys that speak english with a strong afrikaans accent eg. will we ignore a guy because he pronounces the “r” in words like “nearly” etc?
    i mean, i might feel the world is laughing at us because the national coach pronounce the “r” in a words like the one above when he shouldnt do so, lol

gbs @ 20
    wie treat jou as ñ thug?
    stuur hom na my toe dat ek hom kan bliksem!

@ grootblousmile:18 – Gbs, no-one shone in the backline. BUT I expected so much more from WO he was outstanding for the Bulls in the S14. Why does he fall off form or just never plays well when he gets a chance for the Boks? I myself have no idea but he never plays well in the green and gold. Maybe FdP is missing? I think Morne too not playing great. I feel if we had FdP then Morne and WO would have been playing far better. So maybe it goes back to the scrummie that they are used to playing with. Once Ruan came on our backline moved so much better. What you think?

Okay out for awhile back later. Cheers Ash and Gbs. Catch up later.

21@ Ashley:
    No Asbak, you understand me wrong…. appoint a clever Media Manager…. and a good whisper in Divvie’s ear about how he plays the Media should do the trick.

Jake White had the same problem, blabbermouth-disease…. till about 5 month before the World Cup…. and suddenly the problem vanished till he was no longer National coach…. WHY was that?

puma @ 23
    think ruan will create more oppertunities
    cause
    unlike january he wiil
    1.get the backline away faster
    2.keep defences honest cause they also need to watch him

23@ Puma:
    I think you nailed it there, there was much more fluidity in play with Ruan at scrummie, despite the fact that we did not see much quality ball from the forwards.

gbs @ 26
    lol
    pulling your leg, boet!!

How about a spanner in the works.

I get the idea Spies is much more effective in open play, when he doesn’t have to do the groundwork.

I would like to see PDv groom him as a center. We don’t really have much depth in Centers.

Inside we have Juan de Jongh, Jean de Villiers and Meisiekind
    Outside we have only Jaque Fourie.

Now I vae always liked the idea of having a center paring that compliments each other, such as in the days gone by you had Martin Knoetse and Heinrich Fulls, Hennie le Roux and Jepie Mulder. Those combinations worked. Therefor imo Juan de Jongh is the correct combination with a very power outside center such as Jaque Fourie, but what if he gets injured? Therefor if Spies with his pace and power can be there, what a combo.

Total 134 users including 0 member, 134 guests, 0 bot online