All Blacks (13) 31 / Springboks (7) 17 (Final Score)

The All Blacks hosted the Springboks at 09:35 SA Time in Wellington, New Zealand for the 2nd Tri-Nations Test. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The Game was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.

For the 2nd weekend in a row the All Blacks score 4 tries against the Springboks to earn a bonus point.

This time the All Blacks win by 31 / 17, a 14 point margin.

Lots of complaints about they way the referee handled the game, but let’s be honest, the All Blacks were the better team on the day again.

Let’s hope Ruan Pienaar now gets a starting berth against the Wallabies and BJ Botha plays at tight head prop. Let’s also hope the National Coach realises that Jean de Villiers is not a right wing.

All Blacks: 2 Penalties & 1 Conversion Dan Carter, 1 Penalty Piri Weepu, 1 Try Ma’a Nonu, 1 Try Mils Muliaina, 1 Try Rene Ranger, 1 Try Israel Dagg

Springboks: 2 Conversions & 1 Penalty Morné Steyn, 1 Try Danie Rossouw, 1 Try Schalk Burger

The teams:

New Zealand: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Rene Ranger, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Liam Messam, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Israel Dagg.

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Jean de Villiers, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Oliver, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 BJ Botha, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Butch James, 22 Gio Aplon.

Date: Saturday, July 17
Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT; 09.35 SA time)
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Expected weather conditions: 40% chance of rain with a high of 12°C, dropping to 5°C and a southeaster of 36 km/h.
Referee: Alain Rolland (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Alan Lewis (Ireland), Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)

297 Responses to All Blacks vs Springboks – Game Thread

1 2 3 10

Go All Blacks !! 😀

I have not been around much lately … been flat out like the Franks brothers had sat on me 🙁 Busier than hell at work & moving house & all that REALLY NOT fun stuff. I was lucky enough to carve out 90 mins to watch last weeks game … WOW 😆 … & do not expect this weeks game to be anywhere near as easy but stuck with my boys for a win nonetheless – after all, a girls has gotta have faith 🙂

Morning R-P!

I will say a few things on my mind now and rejoin leter, i must get my builders going in the garden.

Todays game can dismantle a lot of the Springboks build up if we lose this game. We will be very disappointed with another loss right now.

I think PdV missed a few tricks, most off all by not firring Dick Muir when he talked about change in his coaching personnel.

Not having confidence in any of our specialist wings is unbelievable. Bjon Basson was there and he trowed him out too soon.

Even Francios Hougaard who had a good season on wing for the Bulls would have been a more sensible pick.

We MUST win this game, nothing else will be good enough.

We can , if we play at 110%

Well its match day, all the negative stuff of the last week is gone and prematch optimism is here, hope you all enjoy the game go Boks! Pity wont get to see this one, but maybe thats a good omen cause last weeks game was the first one I had been able to watch in ages and look how it went. Boks to win by 5!

Oh ye before I go, any of you golfers out there? Where has this Louis Oosthuizen man come from, wow some impressive lead he has, can he keep it up and go on to win the Open? That would be incredible, seems as if he has only won anything big in Egypt so that would be something and he is still very young. Would be interesting if any of you bloggers have more info about him, its also amusing to hear the presenters news readers et al. struggle to pronounce his name right just like they do with Goosen’s. Cheers.

From Wikipedia

Lodewicus Theodorus “Louis” Oosthuizen (born 19 October 1982) is a South African professional golfer.
    Oosthuizen was born in Mossel Bay, South Africa. His early career was supported financially for three years by the foundation of fellow South African Ernie Els.[1] In 2000 he was a member of the South African team that won the World Amateur Team Championships. He won numerous amateur titles before turning professional in 2002 at the age of 19.
    He has won five professional tournaments on the Sunshine Tour, the 2004 Vodacom Origins of Golf Tour event at Arabella, the 2007 Dimension Data Pro-Am and Platinum Classic, and the Telkom PGA Championship twice, in 2007 and 2008. He played on the European Challenge Tour in 2003 and has been a member of the European Tour since 2004. In 2009 he finished 31st on the Race to Dubai. He has featured in the top 50 of the Official World Golf Rankings.
    In March 2010, he won his first European Tour event at the Open de Andalucia de Golf.[2] He also won the 2010 Masters Par 3 Contest. In his first two rounds at the 2010 Open Championship, Oosthuizen shot 65-67=132 to tie the record for the lowest 36-hole score in an Open Championship at St Andrews.[3]

need more info go to his own website

http://louis57oosthuizen.com/profile.html

great prospect, i my golf admin days he was one of the hot topics at the Annual Sanlam Cancer Challenge in his junior days, he and Charl Scwartzel

Sorry Loosehead … missed you there … next truck load of boxes had arrived 🙁 But you are welcome to come & help unpack ! 😀

@ Rugby_Princess:1 – Morning RP. You sound busy. I know not much fun moving house. Just done so in June.

Good luck to the Boks today 😀 Hope they play far better than last week. Your ABs were just far too good for us last week.

Hey Puma, howzit? Expecting an improved showing from the boks tonight??

@ superBul:7 – Super, I had never even heard of Oosthuizen, until watching him play yesterday at the Open. Now really hope he can keep that up today. Very windy and wet there yesterday. Not great for golf that weather, but that is the challenge I suppose playing in those conditions. Typical weather in Scotland..LOL.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:10 – Howzit OldG hope you well mate. Great day here. Big blue sky not a cloud today and temp around 24. Winter in Umhlanga is awesome.

Yeah really hope the Boks can up their game from last week. That was really awful to see. Never expected them to play that bad. So really hoping today. Think we miss FdP and Juan Smith a lot. The coach should play Ruan at scrummie. Once again he sits on the bench. Also he has JdV playing wing. I would have had him at inside centre. WO is great for the Bulls but somehow he never plays well for the Boks.

Back in 10min. Going to get a strong cup of coffee.

I agree with your view on selections, in particular JdV – anyway, a champion will always shine through, in any position, so we’ll soon see. Personally, I like a quick winger, rather than a centre moved to the wing. This is going to be a tight match, with not much between both sides in the end. I hope the boks get there, but tip the ABs by 10. Don’t forget the weather will play a huge part; Wellington has a shocker forecast. As an aside, check out the haka; if it is the kamate kamate, the ABs will be more conservative in approach; however, if it is the kapo ….., with the hand movement across the chest, you can expect the ABs to be ruthless, once again. Fascinating to watch but wouldn’t like to be playing against it!!!

A New Zealand schoolteacher explains to her class that she is an All Blacks fan. She asks her students to raise their hands if they, too, are All Black fans. Everyone in the class raises their hand expect one little girl. The teacher looks at the girl with surprise and says, “Janie, why didn’t you raise your hand?” “Because I’m not an All Blacks fan,” she replied. The teacher, still shocked, asked, “Well, if you are not an All Blacks fan, then who are you a fan of?” “I am a Bok fan, and proud of it,” Janie replied. The teacher could not believe her ears. “Janie, why are you a Bok fan?” “Because my mum is a Bok fan, and my dad is a Bok fan, so I’m a Bok fan too!” “Well,” said the teacher in an obviously annoyed tone, “That is no reason for you to be a Bok fan. You don’t have to be just like your parents all of the time. What if your mum were a moron and your dad were a moron, what would you be then?”

“Then,” Janie smiled, “Then, I’d be an All Blacks fan.”

….
    gooooooooooooodmorninmg everyone!!

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    Match updates would be good Puma, as I can’t watch the game – will be relying on details from RT. Thanks.

@ Ashley:
    hahaha, like it Ashley. G’day mate. Go the Bokke . . .

Q. What do you have when the All Blacks are buried up to their necks in sand?
    A. Not enough sand.

griquas @ 17
    morning griquas
    and
    who would you be rooting for today? 😀

A quick weather update from Sydney: a freezing cold winter!!!!!! Ouch, c’mon spring!!!

A man meets a friend and sees that his friend’s car is total write-off and covered with leaves, grass, branches, dirt and blood.
    He asks his friend ‘What’s happened to your car ?’
    ‘Well,’ the friend responds, ‘I ran over Richie McCaw’.
    ‘OK,’ says the man, ‘that explains the blood… But what about the leaves, the grass, the branches and the dirt ?’
    ‘Well, he tried to escape through the park.’

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:
    boks for me Ash. The ABs are hard enough to beat at anytime – they don’t need my support. I support the Wallabies and whomsoever is playing the ABs. It’s an Australian tradition!!!!!!!

Did you hear about the politician who was found dead in an All Black jersey?
    The police had to dress him up in women’s underwear in order to save his family from the embarrassment.

Did you hear that the Post Office has had to recall their latest stamps?
    They had pictures of the All Blacks players on them.
    People couldn’t figure out which side to spit on.

more sakkies!!

@ bos_otter:
    Howzit mate. Late afternoon here . . . glass of red in hand already!!!

bos_et ag k mean bos_otter
    word ek danni gegroeti? 😀

Good morning all
    It is with sincere regrets that I have to say the following and I will be more than willing to eat my words if proven wrong:
    Our team is going to lose again today, period. We cannot play against the top team in the world with players in a third of the team NOT being the best in SA in their positions.
    I posted a short list of these yesterday (“Matfield signals better response“), thanks Ashley for commenting on it. Your response rang true but we have more than a year to phase those changes required into the team. What’s more is the All Blacks managed to phase their changes in AND won their last number of games. Why can we not do so? What’s more is the point of the post was that we cannot carry on and on with senior players and hope to win the RWC again, history has proven that new blood in a harsh contact sport is needed. Last point is that the outside players I mentioned yesterday are not new to the Bokke setup. In each position we have someone who played in the Green & Gold in the past so very little new blood has to be phased in.
    While I am a very definite John Smit fan, I believe he had such a poor S14 in the Sharks team this year that he is more of a passenger this year in the Bokke than adding value in attack, or scrums. His defence was always good, but we need to attack and carry the ball else forget it again; we simply won’t make it today. Remember how the S14 was won? International rugby this year will be won in the same fashion, attack with ball, attack with ball and attack with ball….
    But go Bokke, I will be shouting like crazy again. O yes, and Superbul, I hope there is a little light in mid Angola for a lonely reader up here?
    Talk again after the game, enjoy

Hello Puma

Yes, moving house is a vile task – 3 times in 3 years for me now & I am sSOo over it 😡 next time is just going to involve gasoline, matches & a fresh start !

Ashley,
    Envy is a terrible burden isn’t it ? Freud would have a field day with you making those jokes about a side that smashed your lot last week 😉 I actually felt bad for your boys last week (except Bakkies of course) – everyone has a bad day at the office every now & then. I think Boks & ABs are the only two teams in the world for whom that is considered unacceptable.

@ Old Griquas 14 in Sydney:14 – OldG. I feel JdV should not have been selected for the Boks. Should have played his way back in. Don’t think he started for his club in Ireland all the time either, think he sat on the bench plenty there. Would have had the inside centre from the Stormers to play and probably given the very exciting wing from the Sharks Mvovo a chance to play wing. Also Flo at 7 is just not playing the way I expected him too. He is a great talent so have to see how he performs today. Hope Juan is fit and ready to take that position back when the Boks are back home.

Going to watch the haka now. See the weather there is terrible. Compare that to where I am and it is winter here…..hahaha. It is more like a warm summer in Umhlanga. Great weather we have in our winter.

Back later no tv in my study.

1 2 3 10

Total 72 users including 0 member, 72 guests, 0 bot online