Team selections and pre-test opinions

The tension was unbearable, and both teams surprised with unexpected and daring team selections in an attempt to achieve some sort of strategic advantage.

The New Zealand coach made the following remarks towards Gabriel David:

Coach Ivan Vodanovich told me in his blunt manner that tomorrow third test was the most tremendously important rugby match of his life. He was cautiously confident and extremely hopeful of a New Zealand victory but expressed one or two private doubts.

The All Black manager Mr. Burk had no similar qualifications about a New Zealand victory. “We won’t just win, we will win easily,” he told one New Zealand journalist. “We will do them over big time”.

Colin Meads requested that should not be considered for the third test because he felt he was not 100% ready for the intensity of test rugby. The New Zeeland selectors decided however to include him in the AB team for the third test. This decision and the positional shift of Bryan Williams to centre were according to Gabriel David’s errors that contributed to NZ’s poor performance in the 3rd test. “New Zealand selectors made serious selection blunders and South Africa got it right”.

Collin Meads during the third test

Mof Myburg and Loft Nel were selected for the Springbok team under great criticism (from the South Afrikaans media) for the third test. Lofty Nel who made his debut against the 1960 All Blacks was at thirty-six the oldest man to have represented South Africa. Mof and Lofty’s inclusions in the Springbok team were clearly a strategic move and part of a game plan as the following paragraph in David‘s book indicates:

The Springbok coach Johan Claassen announces that he has special plans for the two replacements, Lofty Nel and Mof Myburg, and if they succeed, then South Africa will win the test.

After the test David writes as follows about this tactical manoeuvre by the Springbok coach:

The astute Springbok coach Johan Claasen obviously gambled on the All Blacks picking Meads for this test. He decided to explore a restricted tight core in the New Zealand side by strengthening his own. So he recalled Myburg and decided to use Nel as a loose-tight man. It worked splendidly.

Personally I think the decision was based on the fact that the Springboks came off second best in both the previous tests in the lineout’s and in the scrums. The Mof and Frik combination play in the lineout was well known and Lofty was not just a lineout option but added greater weight and stability in the scrums. It would simply not have made sense to replace the mobile Tiny Neethling on prop with a heavier scrum worker and then undo the move by selecting a small and mobile No8 like Tommy Bedford. Claassen has, I think, decided on Mof and Lofty for tactical reasons and because off the Springboks inability to hold their own in the tight phase play during the previous two tests. His decision was made independent of whether Meads were going to be selected or not. The Springboks scrum and lineout were the weak link in the boks armour in both the previous tests -especially in the second test- and there was really no other choice than to bulk-up in the pack.

The fascinating fact about Mof Myburg is that he played in 18 tests for South Africa and was only twice on the losing side. He was also involved in four tests that ended in a draw, the rest the Springboks have all won; maybe an indication of the importance of weight up front. Mof was often critized for being too heavy and not mobile enough and was left out a few times for exactly that reason.

Mof Myburg and Frik du Preez, who were great buddies and a proven combination in the lineout.

Tiny Neethling a mobile prop replaced for the test with a scrum worker in the person of Mof Myburg. A move that payed dividends for SA.

The Springbok team for this test was: Ian McCallum; Gert Muller; Joggie Jansen; Mannetjies Roux; Sid Nomis; Piet Visagie; Dawie de Villiers (Capt); Lofty Nel; Piet Greyling; Frik du Preez; Johan Spies; Jan Ellis; Mof Myburg; Piston van Wyk; Hannes Marais.

The All Black team can be seen here.

“Mental Games” before the test

Eastern Province military headquarters was the place that Johan Claassen planned to use this time for some secretive training sessions away from the cameras and media to prepare for the third test. The facilities at the military base were however so poor that the Springboks eventually trained at Boet Erasmus stadium itself.

The SA media made an issue of the plastic arm guard that Colin Meads were going to wear during the test. So much so that even Piet Robbertse, the referee, responded and indicated that he will inspect the thing and if he thinks it is dangerous Meads will not be allowed to play with it. Say, Mr. Robbertse: “If the guard is of a soft nature then I will probably let him play but I will be watching to see that he doesn’t use it as a bludgeon”.

Media consternation ensued when on the morning before the test it was reported that Mannetjies Roux was injured and could not play and that Tonie Roux the replacement was also injured. Reports of unsuccessful attempts to fly WP centre John Walters to PE appeared in virtually every newspapers and radio broadcast. A shortage/lack of available airline tickets (to fly Walters to PE) was reported as a reason why an “injured” Mannetjies Roux would play.

New Zealand media was convinced that it was mere “mental games” and that nothing was wrong with Mannetjies Roux.

New Zealand 3, South Africa 14

The Coach pondering, the manager exuberantly over-confident and Kiwi supporters in festive anticipation were in brief the atmosphere and circumstances in the All Black hotel on the morning of the test match. Gabriel David (rugby and be damned) narrate:

Ivan Vodanovich is in pensive mood this morning but Ron Burk is ebullient as ever and confides to anyone who listen that New Zealand will have an easy win this afternoon. Most listen and many agree.

There is an air of confidence about the All Black hotel. It is almost impossible to find space to have a drink.

Comments on NZ’s performance

The confidence in the All Blacks’ ability to win the test was great in run-up, the disappointment and disillusionment about their inability to “make a dent in the Springboks armour” even greater, after the game.

A high ranking NZRFU official exclaimed: “It’s the worst display I’ve ever seen by a New Zealand rugby side.” He wouldn’t be quoted but I can tell you that he’s seen more rugby than most people.

This afternoon on the Boet Erasmus ground before 55,000 people, New Zealand rugby came down to earth with a shattering thud. Not since 1964 on Athletic Park against Australia has New Zealand taken such a beating in a test match. It was comprehensive and it was staggering.

The simple prosaic truth is that the All Blacks played shocking rugby. There was nothing about their game with which to associate their triumphant march through the provinces. It was patternless, formless rugby by New Zealand.  There was no positive approach by either the forwards or the backs and the defence was almost non-existent. They made South Africa look a lot beter than they actually played, but at least the Springboks brought a little creative design into the game and bold attacks produced rich rewards.

Comments on Springboks performances in this test

Strategically the springboks approach for this tes was spot on. From the outset the Springboks initiated most of the play and dominated New Zealand in every facet of the game. Defensively the Springboks’ was rock solid but the exhibit daring creativeness in attack.

Chris Greyvenstein in his book Springbok Saga has the following on the third test:

The Springboks had their easiest victory of the series in the third test at Port Elizabeth where the highlights were the two tries by the Stellenbosch wing Gert Muller and, again, the wonderful kicking of McCallum.

Mullers first try came after the Springboks have trapped Fergi McCormick, whose blood they were after from the start, with the ball. From the ruck Dawie de Villiers slipped away on a devastating break to send Muller over for his first test try.

Greyvenstein describe the try slightly different than David in particular the fact that Dawie de Villiers broke away from the ruck before he passed to Muller is different from David version. Greyvenstein go ahead and write the following about the Springboks:

…the match was also unforgettable for the deadly tackle with which Piet Greyling slammed McCormick into the ground with less than a minute gone.

As I wrote in one of the previous sessions -reaction to the second test- Sid Nomis indicated  in an interview that Piet Greyling, Hannes Marais and Jan Ellis simultaneously struck McCormick when he caught a cross kick made by Nomis himself. It is therefore unclear how many Springboks actually tackled McCormick but by at least three sources seems to indicate that is was only Greyling who smashed into McCormick when he fielded the cross kick.

Greyvenstein continues:

It was a great series for Greyling, tall, dark and handsome, and his partner on the flank, red-haired, tearaway Jan Ellis from South West Africa. Their speed to the point of break-down ruined the All Blacks efficiency in creating second phase possession, and probably contributed as much to South Africa’s triumph as did McCallum’s kicking and, never forget it, Dawie de Villiers’ inspiring leadership.

Piet Greyling which according to Chris Greyvenstein had a good series against the 1970 All Blacks. One bundle of muscles as can be seen in the picture.

Greyvenstein also believes that the inclusion of Lofty Nel and Mof Myburg was strategically the right decision and that New Zealand was largely responsible for their own demise with the inclusion of Meads and the positional shift of Bryan Williams from wing to centre.

With the advantage of hindsight knowledge about three world cup tournaments during which New Zealand “choked” I personally believe that fear of failure, was principal. The fear of losing and of doing something wrong made the players tentative and timid in attack and made them deviate from their normal positive style of playing.

Reasons why NZ lost.

Gabriel David writes:

I will always recall this match as the “timid test”. Even in the first half when faced with a fresh breeze and forcing South Africa into countless errors they seemed frightened to adopt imaginative attacking patterns. In contrast, the Springboks switched play with daring bravado and their backs had a picnic against some shocking defense.

Team selection was the reason for the loss, according to some Kiwi’s, which David partially agree with but he argues that there was a collective failure by both the forwards and backs. Meads inclusion was a mistake and Bryan Williams didn’t came off on centre, but the forwards were never in the game and the backs were afraid even timid on attack and defence. In contrast, the Springboks were enterprising with the ball in hand as well as superb in technique and efficacy in on defence.

Apart from these, the AB made four major mistakes (blunders), according to David, which largely determined the end result.

Offside play by Thimbleby was blunder one allowing McCallum a 24-yards penalty for the Springboks first points.

Blunder two was Hopkinson’s obstruction giving McCallum an opportunity to gaol a 25 yards penalty 12 yards from the sideline for SA’s next three points.

Blunder three occurred when McCormick came into the backline and was caught and pulled into a ruck. Thorne left his wing to go round too help cover at the open side and de Villiers with brilliantly sharp appraisal of the situation broke blindside and whipped the ball to an unmarked Muller who set off from halfway completely in the clear running 50 yards to score his first try.

The fourth blunder came when the ball was fumbled in the NZ backline and Mannetjies Roux was through in a flash kicking it ahead. Roux gathered the ball on the bounce and gave it to Muller. Muller was ankle tabbed by Thorne just short of the goal line but his momentum carried him over for the Springboks second try.

Gert Muller scores his first try in the corner, according to the above caption; -the photo appeared in the Huisgenoot a few years ago. Video footage of the test show, however, that no one was close to Muller when he scored his first try in the third test and he did not land on his back his back when he scored it. This picture, I think, is his second try when Thorne ankle tabbed him just short of the goal line and when there was some debate as to whether he carried the ball over (some was of the opinion that he actually lost the ball as he plunged over the line).

Run of the game.

Lochore won the toss and elected to play into the wind with the sun from behind. McCallum kicked off and the Springboks began with great fire and passion. Within the first few minutes Nomis hoisted a cross kick on McCormick As he took the ball he was hit with a crunching tackle by Greyling, which left him prostate for some time before he was able to continue.

After 10 minutes McCallum attempted a 60 meter penalty kick that just passed under the cross-bar. The All Blacks launching sporadic attacks and Laidlaw almost scored when he chased after a ball -charged down from a kick- in the in goal area with Muller very lazy to fall on the ball.

In the 20th minute, New Zealand was awarded a penalty 10 yards outside South Africa 25 and near the touchline after a late tackle by Jansen. Bryan Williams standing in for a shaken McCormick calmly landed the goal for New Zealand. Two minutes later, McCallum miss a simple penalty of approximately 24 meters but make no mistake a few minutes later with the next penalty awarded 25 meters away and wide from the posts. Outstanding cover defence by Alex Wylie prevented any further points in the first half and half time the score was even 3 points each.

Six minutes after the start of the second half Williams miss with a penalty from the halfway line down. The game deteriorated into an arm wrestle between the two forwards packs, both sides trying to obtain dominance up front.

Midway through the second half Hopkinson committed blatant obstruction when he blocked McCallum when the latter followed trough after launching a chip kick. McCallum succeeded with the resultant penalty to give the Springboks a lead at a critical stage of the game. Four minutes later De Villiers broke sharply to the left from a ruck on his own 10 meter area, drawing the defence before unloading to Gert Muller who demonstrated great pace as he raced 60 to 70 meters down the touch line to score an impressive try in the corner. McCallum missed the conversion and Springboks now led 9-3.

Springboks were now in control and Visagie looked dangerous as he made a break, and then narrowly missed with an attempted dropped goal.

The final nail was driven into the New Zealand coffin six minutes from full time when  Williams could not hold on to a poor pass by Wylie – attempting to pass while held in a tackle. Mannetjies Roux was onto the ball in a flash kicking it through and gathering the ball on the bounce before flinging a pass to Muller. Muller was ankle tapped just before the goal line but the momentum of his run was sufficient to carry him over for his second try. McCallum landed the conversion for the final points of the game.

New Zealand attacked in the last few minutes but they were out of puff and it never looked like they could score at the end.

Comments on individual performances

On the New Zealand’s side, the debutant test players, Thimbleby and Urlich realized provincial rugby is not test rugby. Hopkinson was outplayed by Myburg and with a tighthead prop struggling NZ was basically out of the game. Kirkpatrick had one of his lethargic games while Meads had a quiet game clearly not ready for the intensity of test rugby after an arm break which kept him on the sideline for almost 3 month. Strahan on lock and Wylie on the flank both had admirable games playing at maximum capacity. Lochore played his heart out but with the rest of the pack not firing on all cylinders his efforts was simple not enough to contain an inspired Springbok team.

Kirkpatrick on the charge in the third test.

Laidlaw had a good start and harassed De Villiers but his habit to run into the forwards spoiled his overall performance. Kirton struggled on 10 and kicked too much with most of his kicks being aimless and ineffective.

MacRae on centre tried to batter ram though the mid field defence and the fact that he didn’t succeeded did not prevent him from trying to do the same thing every time he got the ball. Williams started the match with an injury but was not sufficiently used with Kirton kicking aimlessly and MacRae batter ramming on his inside. Milner had a reasonable debut on the wing and Thorne was reasonable but made a fatal mistake by being out of position, allowing de Villiers to break blindside and putting Muller in space for his first try.

McCormick was “got at” from the start. There was a vendetta going for him. This was obvious and when he went down in a ruck soon after the start of the game he emerged from it in a dazed and pained condition. Retaliation for the Sid Nomis incident in the second test, observed the critics.

At the Springboks side was the inclusion and performances of Nel and Myburg instrumental to the victory. De Villiers started tentative but grew in stature as the game progressed. Visagie kicked way too much according to Gabriel David with a backline that looked really classy every time they ran with the ball. Jansen was the star on defence and Mannetjies Roux the opportunist on attack.

Gert Muller was the Springboks hero in this test with two tries.

McCallum‘s place kicking was key to the victory. The two penalties he kicked gave the Springboks the cushion and the self-confidence to induce more enterprising play.

Ian McCallum who kept the Springboks ahead on the scoreboard with his accurate place kicking.

The Springboks had Gert Muller scoring two tries, one converted by McCallum. McCallum also added two more penalties. Bryan Williams succeeded with a penalty for the All Blacks.

After match comments and perceptions

Shaken, disillusioned and alarmingly disappointed described the mood in the New Zealand camp after the game.

Although left with no other alternatives, the All Black management paid unstinting tributes to South Africa’s victory when the after-match cocktail party got under way. Mr. Burk said New Zealand was outplayed in every department. Mr. Vodanovich commented that South Africa thoroughly deserved to win and that South Africa rugby was a lot stronger than many people thought. Brain Lochore observed that there was no room in international rugby for boys and there were 15 men playing for South Africa today.

Johan Spies who played for the Springboks on the lock in this series.

28 Responses to Deciding third test, 29 August 1970

Thank you McLook this team was the beginning of my love for the game, Gert Muller was my hero, just because we share the same surname, i even lied to my schoolmates that he is my uncle. 😆 But there is no relation. But he inspired me to play wing, not nearly as successful 😀 but still he did the thing for me.

Here is the ALL BLACKS 3rd Test TEAM

15 W. F. McCormick
    14 G. S. Thorne
    13 B. G. Williams
    12 I. R. MacRae
    11 H. P. Milner
    10 E. W. Kirton
    9 C. R. Laidlaw

8 B. J. Lochore (C)
    6 A. J. Wyllie
    7 I. A. Kirkpatrick
    5 C. E. Meads
    4 S. C. Strahan

3 N. W. Thimbleby
    2 R. A. Urlich
    1 A. E. Hopkinson

superBul jou moegoe…. Dog jy is al in die kooi… 😉

Ooo flok daar vang jy my uit ek dog jy kyk sterre en luister na die Leeus. Maar nou beter ek gaan doedoe, nag ou vrind. Sal jou more bel.

Lekker slaap, ek gaan ook nou inkruip.

superBul wrote:

this team was the beginning of my love for the game

It was the same for me. This team was legendary in the early seventies and still today for me the gold standard against whom I measure/evaluate Springbok players and team with the some exceptions like Danie Gerber and Morne du Plessis. Piet visagie was my hero and for me still the best No10 I’ve had the pleasure to see.

Gert Muller on the wing was phenomenal with his power and speed, Jansen with his tackling, Jan Ellis and Piet Greyling on the flank were just lethal and Frik was our own Collin Meads.

Mannetjies of course even appears in a song and was an absolute legend. Not to mention Mof Myburg and Hannes Marais who become the bok captain when we destroyed the Ozzies at home in 1971.

I’ll write some more about it in my last session on this tour but I believe this 1970 Springbok team restored the pride and believe in SA rugby after some very poor performances by Springbok teams in the years 1963 to 1969.

Thanks McLook – again!

I can well remember Spiekeries’s voice as Muller scored those two tries.

Amazing how the “too old, too slow, too small” seems to have survived even in these supposed enlightened times.

If the following greats were playing today:
    – Lofty Nel would be too old (tactics – what tactics?)
    – Frik du Preez (too small for a lock..)
    – Mannetjies Roux (way too small to play centre….)

Piet Greyling was my hero during this tour… he lived a few houses from us in Wynne Road, Eldoraigne, Verwoerdburg (now Centurion) and his son Johan and I were friends.

I still have a little golden flying Springbok emblem… one of those which has a “haakspeld” so that you can pin it on like a broach, given to me by Oom Piet Greyling for winning the races at his son Johan’s birthday party…

Hell, I made plakboeke, kept every newspaper clipping, even made my own wooden caricatures of the Bokke and the All Blacks…. pity those plakboeke are now gone.

So did I (made my plakboeke). I still have them; lots of the pictures I insert in these articles come from my plakboeke.
    Five of the pictures (all the ones in colour as well as the black and white ones with the afrikaans captions) in this particular article come from my “plakboeke”. I also bought and still have most of the records (langspeel plate) that was made of Gerhard Viviers commentary on these matches.

fender wrote:

Amazing how the “too old, too slow, too small” seems to have survived even in these supposed enlightened times.
    If the following greats were playing today:
    – Lofty Nel would be too old (tactics – what tactics?)
    – Frik du Preez (too small for a lock..)
    – Mannetjies Roux (way too small to play centre….)

You are so right. In SA we have an obsession with a kicking no10 and with size just like NZ have an obsession with “attractive” rugby.

8@ McLook:
    I was 5… turning 6 late in 1970… so I was a bit young then…

My big rugby memories come a few years later… unfortunately during the pasting the Bokke received from the 1974 Lions.

But from 5 years old onwards I was rugby bedonnerd…. so rugby bedonnerd that we even named an African Grey parrot after a rugby player… that was in 1975, we bought an African Grey from Le Gransie’s bird farm (near where the East Rand Maul now stands), and named it Thys, after N-Tvl captain Thys Lourens… only to find out later that Thys the parrot, was indeed a female parrot…. well, we kept the name anyway…..

A friend of mine recently showed me a collection of Plakboeke, VHS & Beta videos, photo’s, records, signatures, jerseys, caps ect of Springbok Rugby stuff he inherrited from an old Oomie…. Hells bells, that is the most complete collection I’d ever seen….. been meaning to make a Special DVD Collection of all the stuff…. need a Betamax Video Machine though to capture what’s on the Beta tapes, for the rest I’ve got everything….

Piet Greyling was my hero during this tour… he lived a few houses from us in Wynne Road, Eldoraigne, Verwoerdburg (now Centurion) and his son Johan and I were friends.

What an fabulous experience that must have been to actually know a Springbok legend at that young age and being friends with his son.
    During the ages 11-21, I lived and breathed only rugby my entire existance was centered around rugby and the Springboks. Seeing, knowing and talking to a Springbok during that ages would have overwhelming for me.
    During my years as a u/21 varsity player I was coached by Johan Claassen (he was not the head coach but a sort of support coach working mosltly with the forwards) who was also the coach of this 1970 Springbok team. However at that stage Claassen was close to retirement and only sort of loosely involved with the team.

I was 5… turning 6 late in 1970… so I was a bit young then…
    My big rugby memories come a few years later… unfortunately during the pasting the Bokke received from the 1974 Lions.

I was 8 years old in 1970. So we were almost “kallers van dieselfde jaar”. So from the moment I started to understand something of rugby these 1970 hero’s were the Springboks in the saddle. The 1971 tour was big for me being 9 years old and busy with my collection.
    How big was the dissapointment in 1972 when the bokke lost that one off test against John Pullen’s English side (Greyling being the bok captain) not to speak of the 1974 whipping.

12@ McLook:
    Rugby was “godsdiens” for me…. I lived and breathed the game…

In 1976 I had the good fortune that my rugby coach was Michael Bernard and one of his great friends was none other than Pierre Spies (father of Pierre currently playing), who was N-Tvl wing. Pierre snr came and helped Micheal coach us, and went with us on our rugby camp… I was in std 4, and captain of my team for the year…. will never forget those special memories!

GBS@13. Wow, Pierre Spies in 1976 was big news. In 1975 he won the CC for NTVL when he caught that wet ball bouncing off a Len Gerber (NTVL, no10) cross kick with one hand at full speed to score against free state in the dying minutes.
    That try elevated Pierre Spies (snr) to legend status. Up to that stage Free State have never won a CC so it was big -that final in 1975 and the try.
    I can just imagine the awe of a st 4 kid seeing this legendary blou bul and having him helping with the coaching.

Great article
    My dad would absolutely love this
    Whenever we talk rugby, he will go back to 1970
    He’s heros were guys like Joggie, Mannetjies, Windhond Muller, Piet Visagie, Mof, Frik, Piet Greyling.
    He will talk about Joggies defence, Mannetjies days as a pilot, Windhond’s speed, Mof’s jokes, Friks drop, score, and place, Piet “spiere” Greyling
    He will always mention the special friendship between Frik, Mof, and Gerhard Viviers
    I’ll phone him today
    He is nearly 75

Die Boek@15. If you go to the history section you’ll find the articles on the whole tour so far including the 1st and 2nd tests of the 1970 tour. If you could and if you dad can still read you should print if for him (if he doesn’t have internet access). I think he’ll enjoy reading it and looking at the pictures.
    1970 was magic for SA rugby. As I mentioned before in my last post on the 1970 tour I’ll elaborate on the impact and importance of this 1970 tour on SA rugby.

Jissie manne, laat julle my mos nou na my pa verlang. Dit was ook sy manne daai – hy het self klubrugby gespeel in Kimberley in die 60’s daai jare toe Mannetjies, en Visagie en daai snare vir Griekwas gespeel het en toe hulle uiteindelik die CC gewen het in 1970. Ons het in laat 2006/vroeg 2007 oppad na my oom se begrafnis in George op Victoria Wes gestop en Mannetjies persoonlik in sy winkel ontmoet – my pa was in ekstase – het toe nie geweet hy sou nie nog ‘n jaar lewe nie…thanks manne goeie memories…

Die boek@15. THe article on the 2nd test of the 1970 series is the only one you will not find in the history section. It was posted on 13 April so go to the calender and go to April and click on 13.
    The 2nd test was a riller. Very nice read with lots of pictures. Your dad wil certainly have some memories of that match.

He-he, he tried his best to turn me into a Griquas supporter, but had to settle to get me to become a Province supporter eventually…and that was tough, I did primary school from 1976 in Petoorsdorp during oom Buurman’s heydays with the Bulls…but we had our revenge after that when WP took the cup 5 years in a row…those were rollercoaster days…

@ McLook:
    My parents had a LP (I think it is titled “Springbokke Bo!”) with songs about that tour – each test was summarised in a song by Dana Niehaus, Hein Toerien etc. I knew the words backwards…that’s how I learnt about Rugby.

1970 was my matric year, I remember this test very well….and my absolute burning desire to wear Springbok colours, we were still top of the heap in Athletics too. The SA Athletics champs were at Pilditch stadium this year and we ran on a brand new tartan track, and the track was a bit longer than 400 metres, caught me by surprise at the finish of the 800 metre race.
    Ian McCallum, Frik du Preez were the guys that stand out in my memory, listened to all the tests on the radio and then went to movies specially to see the sports news and you could see your hero’s in action. In 76 I think they toured again and I saw Brian Lahore score a tit of a try at Kings Park against Natal, Doc Louw was still playing fullback for Natal, soon to be usurped by my mate Malcolm Swanby who was on the bench.

Small correction.

The 3rd test was not the deciding test.
    After the 3rd test there were still 2 ways the series could go, Bok win or draw.
    The 4th test was close, very close.

I remember Robertse as a decent ref. Much better than Gert Bezuidenhout who reffed most of the tests in 1976

Biscuit@22. You are right the AB could still draw the series but they could not win it any more and SA could not loose the series. So it was in that sense really the deciding test. Also the AB fancied their chances after winning the second test and this was the test that really showed the Springboks to be the better team in this series.
    Yes the kiwi’s still complain about Gert Bezuidenhout.

@ Alibaba:I don’t know that LP but did listen to the Gerhard Viviers one’s quite freqeuntly.

@ McLook:

If the ABs had won the last test they would have been the ‘winners’
    * They would have drawn an away series (really tough to do)
    * They would have retained the honours after they beat us in NZ in 1965.

So sorry the 4th Test was the decider.

Thanks goodness we won

I really appreciate reading these articles and the content is as always spot on. However, each and every one of the posts make fascinating reading also. They show the provinence of today’s passion and commitment to our game. My congrats to you all, it makes great reading. Many thanks.

Biscuit wrote:

If the ABs had won the last test they would have been the ‘winners’
    * They would have drawn an away series (really tough to do)
    * They would have retained the honours after they beat us in NZ in 1965.
    So sorry the 4th Test was the decider.
    Thanks goodness we won

Technically you are correct but for New Zealand this was the test they had to win to be in with a chance to win the series. Remember this was an AB team who have not lost a single test match since 1965 (17 in a row). Considered at the time as probably the best AB team ever; up to that stage the AB’s have not won a series in SA but have drawn twice (1921 and 1960). A draw was considered a failure as the selection of the fourth test indicated (later more on that) when they selected a shocking team to play the boks.
    From a SA perspective the Springboks have lost or drew virtually all the test series they have played in since 1963. The 69/70 end year tour to the UK was an absolute disaster. The Springboks wanted to move into position where they could not loose the series any more. Losing this test would also mean they could only draw the series and that just not on.
    Within the contex that the match was played it was for all practical purposes a “deciding” test for both teams.
    Maybe I should retitle it “the all important third test.

@ McLook:
    I know about the other LP’s. My aunt and her girlfriend (I only realised a lot later in my life that they were more than just two lady friends living together ;-)) had a double LP of the first test (the 17-6 one from Loftus), but what happened to it I don’t know.

Total 43 users including 0 member, 43 guests, 0 bot online