The clever bloggers on Rugby-Talk picked the players’ performances as follows. The Survey stopped early this week at 18:00 Sunday.

The results are as follows:

15. Frans Steyn – 5.5

14. Gio Aplon – 7

13. Jaque Fourie – 6

12. Juan de Jongh – 7

11. Odwa Ndungane – 5.5

10. Ruan Pienaar – 6.5

09. Ricky January – have a look below and see  what you think he is worth

08. Joe v Niekerk – 5.5

07. Dewald Potgieter – 8

06. Frans Louw – 6

05. Victor Matfield – 6.5

04. Danie Roussouw – 8

03.  BJ Botha – 6

02. John Smit – 5.5

CJ vd Linde – 6

Replacements:

Jannie du Plessis – 5.5

Bjorn Basson – 5.5

Individual voting was like this:

15. Frans Steyn

Answer Votes Vote Count/Percentage
Lower than 3   1 Votes(4%)
4   2 Votes(8%)
5   9 Votes(36%)
6   10 Votes(40%)
7   2 Votes(8%)
8   1 Votes(4%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

Total Votes: 25

14. Gio Aplon

4   1 Votes(4%)
5   3 Votes(12%)
6   7 Votes(28%)
7   10 Votes(40%)
8   3 Votes(12%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

13. Jaque Fourie

4   2 Votes(8%)
5   2 Votes(8%)
6   11 Votes(44%)
7   7 Votes(28%)
8   2 Votes(8%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

12. Juan de Jongh

4   1 Votes(4%)
5   2 Votes(8%)
6   5 Votes(20%)
7   9 Votes(36%)
8   5 Votes(20%)
9   2 Votes(8%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

11. Odwa Ndungane

3 or lower   1 Votes(4%)
4   5 Votes(20%)
5   7 Votes(28%)
6   8 Votes(32%)
7   4 Votes(16%)
8   0 Votes(0%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

10. Ruan Pienaar

3 or lower   0 Votes(0%)
4   3 Votes(12%)
5   0 Votes(0%)
6   10 Votes(40%)
7   9 Votes(36%)
8   2 Votes(8%)
9   1 Votes(4%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

09. Ricky Januarie

3 or lower   7 Votes(28%)
4   2 Votes(8%)
5   5 Votes(20%)
6   5 Votes(20%)
7   5 Votes(20%)
8   0 Votes(0%)
9   1 Votes(4%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

08. Joe van Niekerk

3 or lower   5 Votes(20%)
4   3 Votes(12%)
5   9 Votes(36%)
6   8 Votes(32%)
7   0 Votes(0%)
8   0 Votes(0%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

7. Dewald Potgieter

3 or lower   0 Votes(0%)
4   0 Votes(0%)
5   0 Votes(0%)
6   2 Votes(8%)
7   8 Votes(32%)
8   12 Votes(48%)
9   2 Votes(8%)
10   1 Votes(4%)

6. Francois Louw

3 or lower   2 Votes(8%)
4   0 Votes(0%)
5   2 Votes(8%)
6   10 Votes(41%)
7   5 Votes(20%)
8   4 Votes(16%)
9   1 Votes(4%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

Total Votes: 24

5. Victor Matfield

3 or lower   0 Votes(0%)
4   0 Votes(0%)
5   0 Votes(0%)
6   10 Votes(40%)
7   9 Votes(36%)
8   3 Votes(12%)
9   2 Votes(8%)
10   1 Votes(4%)

4. Danie Roussouw

3 or lower   0 Votes(0%)
4   0 Votes(0%)
5   0 Votes(0%)
6   1 Votes(4%)
7   9 Votes(36%)
8   11 Votes(44%)
9   3 Votes(12%)
10   1 Votes(4%)

3. BJ Botha

3 or lower   1 Votes(4%)
4   2 Votes(8%)
5   6 Votes(24%)
6   14 Votes(56%)
7   2 Votes(8%)
8   0 Votes(0%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

2. John Smit

3 or lower   3 Votes(12%)
4   2 Votes(8%)
5   11 Votes(44%)
6   5 Votes(20%)
7   2 Votes(8%)
8   2 Votes(8%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

1. CJ van der Linde

3 or lower   1 Votes(4%)
4   1 Votes(4%)
5   6 Votes(24%)
6   13 Votes(52%)
7   3 Votes(12%)
8   1 Votes(4%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

17. Jannie du Plessis

3 or lower   1 Votes(4%)
4   3 Votes(12%)
5   9 Votes(37%)
6   11 Votes(45%)
7   0 Votes(0%)
8   0 Votes(0%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

Total Votes: 24

22. Bjorn Basson

3 or lower   0 Votes(0%)
4   5 Votes(21%)
5   5 Votes(21%)
6   9 Votes(39%)
7   3 Votes(13%)
8   1 Votes(4%)
9   0 Votes(0%)
10   0 Votes(0%)

Total Votes: 23

62 Responses to Results of the Bokke rating poll against Wales

Guys,
    This actually bears out what happened on the field, although I feel Frans Louw, and Victor Matfield both deserved 7 and Ricky January a 6.

When Dewald came off Frans lost his foil to play from and was fighting a lone battle at the breakdown.

Victor, for the first time this year, looked fatigued, but he really tried.

January was up against a large and very talented opponent and I think the Welsh are a better team than what we give them credit for. He did give away a couple of unnecessary penalties and was absent without leave on a few occasions, but I still think he did well enough for a 6.

janiearie se stadige diens en patetiese skoppogings het ons onder onnodige druk geplaas hy hoort nie da nie die toets kon n ramp gewees het.

Pretty fair ratings. Much more accurate that ratings on some other sites.

I agree Winston. What is your take on the team versus the Frogs?

To me the big disappointment was BJ Botha. He gave away too many penalties and in most of the scrums he did not push straight.

Players who stood out on Saturday were:
    Gio Aplon
    Juan de Jongh
    Ruan Pienaar
    Dewald Potgieter
    Danie Rossouw

The rest were OK, without being special.

I think Januarie had a below average game and Ruan Pienaar should be scrummie from hereon in.

Apart from a good steal once, Francois Louw was just OK, nothing special.

John Smit had a mixed bag and that aweful intercepted pass squarely puts him in the OK but not brilliant category.

I was disapointed by BJ Botha’s scrummaging, pleasantly surprised by CJ van der Linde’s scrumming.

Joe van Niekerk the Bokke selectors can now safely put out to pasture, we have better in SA in Spies, Vermeulen, Alberts & Kanko.

Odwa on left wing finished the try well, Bjorn Basson had a steady debut when he replaced Odwa, but we all know it is now time for Bryan Habana to hold that left wing spot.

Fransie Steyn had a very mixed bag, from downright ordinary to OK’ish…. nothing special. Time to tell him to come home or sit out permanently, he was clearly out of touch with the rest of the Bokke.

super, sien jy hang daar bo rond…

Ek het nou net hier in jou valley geland…

Moer, my sein hier onder teen die berg is so stadig, voor my post deur is is jy weg 😯

If I had to choose a Bokke squad for the French, they would be:

15. Zane Kirchner
    14. Gio Aplon
    13. Jaque Fourie
    12. Wynand Olivier (Juan de Jongh on the bench)
    11. Bryan Habana (Bjorn Basson on the bench)
    10. Morne Steyn
    9. Ruan Pienaar (Sarel Pretorius on the bench till Francois Hougaard recovers from the hand operation)
    8. Pierre Spies
    7. Dewald Potgieter (Francois Louw on the bench)
    6. Schalk Burger
    5. Victor Matfield
    4. Danie Rossouw (Bakkies on the bench if Andries Bekker is injured and not able to cover lock)
    3. BJ Botha (Werner Kruger on the bench, not Jannie du Plessis)
    2. John Smit (c) (Gary Botha on the bench, not Chilliboy)
    1. Gurthro Steenkamp

@ Winston:
    This rating was done by us the knowledgeable bloggers, great stuff. 😆

Hi Blue beard,I cant fault the team Gbs has. I think Flouw is solid but we need the big boys against France. I worry about 9,12 and 15.who will the great Snor pick there..

could not say it better myself gbs….. 🙂

Now bring on the Bulls oops meant Springboks A team vs the French as long as Ras Dumisane(hope the spelling is correct) is not the singer for the anthems again…..:-))

No wonder the ratings were reasonably accurate Super 🙂 Unlike some sites that had their Stormers blinkers on 🙂

The bench worries me for the France game,do we go with the 5-2 split or the 4-3 split,and we all know there will be a few weak links on the bench like Chilly etc.

We need to do something to get into those French clowns heads like they did to us,am sure the boys can think of something. The English get into there heads by being very aggressive against them and keeping it tight,think if we do the same and dont fling the ball around we can beat them.

@ Winston:

Should be a 5-2 if you ask me…

14@ Winston:
    I recon we have to go for a 4 / 3 split….. till Hougie is back (he covers more positions)… then we could go for a 5 / 2 split…

Simply because we need a scrummie on the bench now as well as a center and a wing…

Boks by 3 this weekend,you heard it here first.:)

I think the first team is a shoe in,but it makes for interesting discussion for the bench. If Pienaar is a reserve you can go with the 5-2 split but I have personally always thought a 4-3 split is good as it gives the team more balance.

True, Hougaard on the wing made it a lot easier to go with the 5-2 split without to much gamble….

With Smit being able to play 1,2 or 3 I think the 4-3 split makes more sense. Plus Danie can play 4,7 or 8 so there is alot of versatility..

that team will go through untill the end of Bafana Bafanas SWC is over , then i think political interference will start again. So sad but so true. Just look how Bafana is selected. But somewhere we will get the stick again. Sad indeed.

The problem is the forwards have been the area that the French klapped us and NZ of late, we really need to be competative there….

Hey jy my post gesien ?

Hoe lyk Woensdag nog ?

Blouste wrote:

Hey jy my post gesien ?
    Hoe lyk Woensdag nog ?

Post 7&8

Blouste,I think on our hard fields here their forwards are not are effective as up in the Northern hemisphere plus we got big call carriers in Spies,Danie etc so we just need to hold them at scrum time,Papa Matfield will do the rest in the line outs.

@ Blouste:
    nie jou post gesien nie , mail my asb by webmaster ek sal dit kry, as GBS wil saamkom is hy welkom 😆
    Hy moet net sy tools saambring, dis nou komper tools. 😆

@ Winston:

It’s true, but remember, they wacked the All Blacks in NZ not to long ago.

Danie has always done exceptionally well in the NH…

That was a weakened side that they beat if I remember right but you are right Blouste,they are a very good side,dark horses for the World Cup.

Sal jou my tel no mail, dan kan ons more bietjie gesels en reelings vasmaak.

Total 37 users including 0 member, 37 guests, 0 bot online