Stormers (28) 38 / Bulls (3) 10 (Final Score)

The Stormers hosted the Bulls at Newlands, Cape Town at 17:05 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.

The Stormers won the encounter by 38 / 10 and earned a bonus point in the process, elevating them to No 2 on the Log and also earning them a Home semi-final.

It was clear that the many changes the Bulls made, fielding a B-side made their cohesion less whereas the Stormers appeared to be a well oiled machine.

The Bulls B-side was not disgraced though and showed better form than at least 2 or 3 of the Super 14 teams who occupy the 12th, 13th and 14th spots on the Log.

Stormers: 3 Conversions & 4 Penalties Peter Grant, 2 Tries Bryan Habana, 1 Try Andries Bekker, 1 Try Jaque Fourie

Bulls: 1 Penalty Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 1 Conversion Francois Brummer, 1 Try Ruan Snyman

Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger (c), 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Eusebio Guinazu, 18 Anton van Zyl, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Willem de Waal, 22 Tim Whitehead.

Bulls: 15 Tiger Mangweni, 14 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 13 Stephan Dippenaar, 12 De Wet Barry, 11 Deon Helberg, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Heini Adams, 8 Pedrie Wannenburg, 7 Gerrit-Jan van Velze, 6 Derick Kuun, 5 Bakkies Botha (c), 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Bees Roux, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Jaco Engels.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Dean Greyling, 18 Fudge Mabeta, 19 Okkie Kruger, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Francois Brummer, 22 Stefan Watermeyer.

Match Officials:
Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Reuben Rossouw (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

355 Responses to Stormers vs Bulls – Game Thread

I know the loss was expected, but eish, it still hurts!!!

GOOD LUCK TO THE BULLS AND THE STORMERS!!!!

Looking forward to an all Saffa final!

4man – After 2 you may be a bit of a handful!! 😉

Well after all that excitement I have to go!!

Have a great weekend all of you?

Thanks Bulls, much appreciated!

Record books will show a Stormers win agaainst the Bulls, no footnotes.

260 – Blue Bird, Think so and first time to speak as a losing skipper. Though we all knew it was going to happen.

Next week we have the real Bulls side and hoping they have not lost any momentum.

@272, you know me, always the perfect Gentleman, but always more than a few handsful!!

i see i moved to no 9 now , damn pity i played so bad the first 5 rounds

Boerboel, what does the record stand at, “played won lost”?

273 – Boerboel, That is what I said here. The record will always show Stormers won 38/10 Nothing will ever say Bulls 2nd side. Terrible to watch two great teams with one being humiliated.

Anyhow next week is the real deal. Looking forward to it. Also hope both win so we can see the real clash with both full strength sides playing. Now that would be great.

Well, let’s look at it this way…

SA sides are No 1 and No 2… that’s good
    Stormers won but it was never a 75 / 14 or a 43 / 10 or a 49 / 12….. in view of the team the Bulls fielded it is good
    Bulls remain top of the Log, above the Stormers… so they were better than the Stormers through a whole season of Super 14…. that is good
    Bulls lost today… that is bad

So, overall the good overrides the bad by far!

276 – Sharky, That is impressive.

273: groot plesier, darem nie ‘n 75-14 pakslae van ‘n A-span nie.

279 – gbs, If you say so…hahaha. Stormers know they played a 2nd string side but they have the edge now I think.

All the Sharks are being rested….how that for forward planning 🙂

282@ Puma – Why would they have the edge… explain… or is it a thumb suck?

271 – Bluepete, Hope we see both sa teams in the final. That would be great.

we gave the stormers what they want tonight, they got their title now for the bulls to take their title…the super 14 title

Superbul you still there?

284 – gbs, Cause they beat your team today. Never mind if it was a 2nd string side. In their heads will always be we beat the Bulls. Always. It is mind over matter and it can work boeta. This could have played into the Stormers hands. Should have had some of your first side on the bench. My feeling.

Then I could be wrong. Maybe they just sitting there smiling and thinking we going to make up for what happend today…..hahaha.

286 – Durban, Hoping too that we see both these sides in the final. That will be a almighty battle and should be a fantastic game. Though both still have to beat their team they play next week.

Tahs and Saders looking superb too.

lekker summer afternoon….1810 hrs, sun is still far from the horizon, Somerset playing Surrey on the box, think I will go and test the Grolsch to see if they are cold enough!

272 – Blue Bird. Cheers enjoy the rest of your weekend.

4man i am back just for you

well congrats to the stormers for today , fact is they still dont know what to expect from the bulls for the final as they still have to face the real bulls this year

290 – 4man, That is one thing like love about the Uk and Europe is those long evenings with sun out until around 10pm and then it hardly gets too dark. Great months now for you coming up. Then I will be in the best weather ever in Umhlanga in the winter months. Weather just does not get better than that.

@292

Howzit Broer, it was terrible what happened with the people at Tshukudu lodge…..has it effected the business in any way do you know?

Who at the Bulls B-team put their hands up for serious selection in the A-Team or on the A-Team bench?

Ruan Snyman at scrummie, on the bench in stead of Heini Adams
    Tiger Mangweni over Jaco van der Westhuizen

Who did not enhance their chances or actually did their chances harm?

Heini Adams, De Wet Barry, Jaco van der Westhuizen

You must all remember, the Bulls B played the Stormers, No 2 on the Log, not the Lions, Highlanders or Force or Chiefs…

If this side had to train together and really get to know one another, then only play in a Super 14, they could actually end mid table

It was no humiliation like the Lions faced in 10 or 11 games this season.

Dink Puma het ‘n punt beet. Hier sit ons bulle ondersteuners, geweet die kanse om te wen is min. Nou het ons B-span ver verloor, en dit is nie ‘n lekker gevoel nie. So dink ek Vic en die manne voel ook nie lekker oor die verloor nie, al weet hul die wedstryd beteken nie veel nie.

Maar, dit kan ook weer as ‘n baie sterk motivering vir die A-span dien, om nou saterdag uit te kom en vir hul ondersteuners en die wêreld te wys hoe goed hul is.

Een ding is verseker: daar is nou ‘n baie groot verwagting by die Bulle ondersteuners. NOU moet ons wag en kyk, of die regte besluite geneem is.

293 – Sharky, Very true. This was a nothing game but it is a win. That will play on the Bulls players minds, they will want to win if they meet in the final. For now Stormers have the edge over them. Mind edge that is.

Both teams still have win their semi final next week. Tell you what if one of them get beat, we then were robbed of seeing a great game tonight between these teams.

bidibidy presies

the a span gaan n heel ander saak wees wanneer die twee spanne weer teen mekaar speel

No they go on, but there is a big miss.
    Alla brought in the grandchildren in about a year back, so in the office you have a well settled young man, running it, with staff well known with their job.

I had a lion walk there just a week after the accident and Chris the only son left was leading the walk , had a great walk with him and they are doing OK.

Total 29 users including 0 member, 29 guests, 0 bot online