Sharks (17) 27 / Force (15) 22 (Final Score)

The Sharks hosted the Western Force at ABSA Stadium, Durban at 19:10 SA Time. This is the match thread for discussion of the game. The match was broadcast live on SuperSport 1 on DSTV in SA.

The Sharks struggled to put the Force away, did not score 4 tries but won 27 / 22.

End of the Super 14 season for these 2 teams.

Sharks: 3 Conversions & 2 Penalties Ruan Pienaar, 1 Try Lwazi Mvovo, 1 Try Ryan Kankowski, 1 Try Jacques Botes

Force: 2 Penalties Brett Sheehan, 3 Penalties & 1 Conversion James O’Connor, 1 Try Nick Cummins

The Sharks: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Patric Cilliers, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Andy Goode, 22 Andries Strauss.

Western Force: 15 James O’Connor, 14 Nick Cummins, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 Ryan Cross, 11 Cameron Shepherd, 10 David Hill, 9 Brett Sheehan, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Matt Hodgson, 5 Nathan Sharpe (captain), 4 Ben McCalman, 3 Tim Fairbrother, 2 Ben Whittaker, 1 Pek Cowan.
Replacements: 16 Nathan Charles, 17 Matt Dunning, 18 Sam Wykes, 19 Tom Hockings, 20 Justin Turner, 21 Sam Harris, 22 Mark Bartholomeusz.

Referee: Pro Legoete (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Mark Lawrence (South Africa), Marc van Zyl (South Africa)

152 Responses to Sharks vs Force – Game Thread

Well done Sharks. At least we win. Not a great game. But a win is a win. Would have liked to see one more try.

Now for a good rest.

John Smit has really been abused by the selectors. This man gives his all and gets shifted from pillar to post. Why should he be treated so shabbily. Play him at hooker and don’t expect him to bloody play prop when he’s tired!

Sharks did!!!!!!! not the first time a kick lost my some BP in bru!!!!!!!! aaaaaarrrrrrrggghhhhhh

Thanks for the commentry GBS. Night all, have to rest for the big one @ 5 tomorrow!!!!

Too many if’s and buts for the Sharks in one season… too few tries scored by them too.

But they had a good run in the 2nd half of the competition.

GOOOOO BULLLSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

124@ bluepete – Cheers, see you tomorrow, bright and breezy!

How disappointing sharks man! Just scraping a bloody win once again against the worst ozzie team at home, nogal!

At least the Sharks end in the 30’s on the Log…

I like the saffa teams to achieve the maximum possible bigblueglimlag. Ek raak sommer die moer in bru 🙁

Sharks into temporary 8th spot on 33 Log Points

3rd out of 73030 brus’s on global……. only two stormers ahead of me…..want that tv!!..lol

@131 gbs are you still here mate. Just wanted to clarify something…

I’ll see you in the morning… 2 game thread scheduled for the morning’s game already

Goeie nag, slaap sag.

133@ Die Jong Skurk – Yip, still here

Geluk aan BMT (Big Match Temprament) Australia, was 64/4 na 10 beurte, wen met ‘n bal oor. Proteas ‘watch and weep’ !

It has been said before but it’s worth repeating here. John Arlott had written about it in 1948 at the end of a successful tour of England by Don Bradman’s men. “”Australianism,” wrote Arlott, “means single-minded determination to win – to win within the laws but, if necessary, to the last limit within them. It means where the ‘impossible’ is within the realm of what the human body can do, there are Australians who believe that they can do it – and who have succeeded often enough to make us wonder if anything is impossible to them. It means they have never lost a match – particularly a Test match – until the last run is scored or their last wicket down.” – cricinfo.com

As Proteas 191 moes gejaag het, het hul al opgegee (opgegooi?) voor hul die lopies begin jaag het. Tyd dat ‘n nuwe kaptein (AB) die leisels oorvat, en ‘n nuwe span gebou word, wat weer kan wen.

Just saw your reply to my posts on saints thread about blogging here. I read my posts again and realised it wasn’t clear that i was praising this site and trying to say that you are doing the right things. Sorry i missed out on saying that. That’s the reason i decided to blog here because of the outstanding job you’re doing. It’s a pleasure blogging here and the reasons that keo is not is for the points i listed. It came across as if i was telling you what to do. I meant that you are doing those things while keo is not. Then about saying this site is on the conservative side – that’s not an insult. It’s a perfectly valid and legitimate view. What i meant was that despite maybe having different views, other bloggers are also made to feel welcome. Sorry mate, i explained myself poorly on the other thread.

@137 bdb. Very true that about the ozzies. Our saffa teams need to learn that. They never give up, whereas our guys just can’t stay as focussed. A perfect example is this match we’ve just watched where the sharks were pushed right to the very end by an inferior team!

Cheers all. Was just watching the presenatation.

Catch up tomorrow.

138@ Die Jong Skurk – No worries, I did not take offense…

What I was trying to say in my response was that to a large extent we are actually more inclusive than The Dark Side, because here you do not have to watch your “P’s” and “Q’s” in fear of racial or polital retrebution.

As long as this site is a joy I will have it, as long as we can build on the rugby family and friends we’ve gained here, I’ll have it…

The biggest challenge is actually to have more International flavour here, and for that to happen we should sharpen up on maybe a bit more International News Content and maybe a bit more English in the Comments…. yet I do not ever want to be prescriptive and limit Afrikaans folk from enjoying this blog in their mother tongue.

It’s a tough one to get international bloggers while permitting afrikaans, bru. I have to tell you as a saffa who lives overseas, if it’s not in english it’s very offputting for international visitors…

142@ Die Jong Skurk – True, no doubt about that!

But maybe it’s also about balance… the more this site grows, the more variety of bloggers who blog here simultaneously, the more that problem will be alleviated because there should then always be someone to talk to in your preferred Language.

At the moment our Game Threads get more Comments than The Dark Side DURING games but inbetween we might be slightly less vocal than The Dark Side…. but that is clearly temporary, we are growing each day and are already right up there where it counts…

Have you noticed how quick we are on the News, more often quicker than amongst so-called seasoned journalist driven sites, more often challenging in Articles than elsewhere. In fact we have Historical Articles which is found nowhere else, thanks to people like McLook.

We have insider perspectives from TonyM and Tim Noakes, we have expert opinion from guys who played in the bigger leagues from Saint and Tighthead.

I am happy with progress, fairness and the current balance… and I get the idea many of you share that sentiment.

Didn’t watch the whole game, but from the bits I saw Sharks was lucky to win.

BDB, what make syou think AB will be a good captain?

naand manne..what a day of rugby think tomorrow gonna be huge….whats your feeling on the games?

145@ Deben – Blues, Reds, Cheetahs, Stormpoppies.

stem 100%….

Die Sharks kannie moan nie…Pro het vanaand weer vir hulle ‘n game gewen !!!! 😉

Yes manne,

Die hele cheating Bulle span wat kamma die Stormers wil help, dis n pot k@k.

Ek weet nog net van 1 keer wat 2 spanne duidelik gecheat het om ander, hulself te help, en dit was in die Curriecup in die 90`s.Onthou julle nog? Die Leeus en die Sharks om N-Transvaal uit die kompetisie te hou. Hul het teen mekaar gespeel en dit was nodig om n draw te kry.En hulle het.

Dit was baie blatant, maar hul het dit gedoen om hulself te help. So why not?

Hulle het geweet die Bulle sal hulle kou in die finals.maar dit was die Bulle se eie skuld dat hul so stadig begin het in die CC daai jaar. So dis fair game.

Net my 2 sente , 50 sent na al die inflasie!

The look on John Smits face summed up the Sharks campaign this year perfectly.

Total 23 users including 0 member, 23 guests, 0 bot online