Here is my totally biased view of the South African challenge. It is early and so much can change. But this is my view today.

Bulls(33): v Reds (a); v Lions (h); v Sharks (h); v Crusaders (h); v Stormers (a)

My Prediction- W,W,L,W,W

Final Log Points 49

Bulls get the Reds on their return home, it is almost like the Bulls are at home. But the leaky defense of the Bulls must have the Reds team licking their lips. Lately the Bulls are building towards a more solid finals type of game. If they can keep it more tight the can beat the much improved Reds side.

Lions game , if they lose this one it will be the shock of the decade. This is a game worth resting many of the senior players.

What will be the mindset of the Sharks. If they won their previous two games this will be a crucial win at all cost game for them. Bulls might have the home semi final all wrapped up by then. If the Bulls have the home semi secured it will be a great chance to rest players. But no player in this Bulls team wants to rest.

The Crusader game might be a repeat of last years league game against the Chiefs. It will be all about who gains the mental advantage and confidence for a possible semi final game two weeks later.

The Stormers game , that is now a final before a possible final. This is a massive game, one of the most exciting prospects for years. A supper North vs South battle. Get your tickets early, they will be scarce. This game might determine who is first or second.

Stormers(28): v Chiefs (a); v Reds (a); v Crusaders (h); v Sharks (a); v Bulls (h)

My Prediction- W,W,L,W,L

Final Log Points 44

Chiefs game should be easy, last week the Bulls tired the Blues and this week they did it to the Chiefs. Stormers must not dare slip this game. They have a much stronger and complete team than the Chiefs.

Reds will be a good game to watch , best attack vs best defence. I really find it difficult to predict this one, maybe after the Bulls vs Reds game it will be easier to pick a winner there.

Crusaders in Cape Town, must be the Stormers, that’s what most Capetonions would say. If the Crusaders have Dan Carter not at his best they will be paying the prize. I worry more about the fatigue factor for the Stormers this is the weeks where I think their extra 3 games before the season will catch up with them.

Sharks , well like I said with the Bulls game it all depends what happened in the previous 3 games, if they have a small hope left the Sharks will be vicious. On the udder hand they might be toothless then. Stormers win predicted.

Bulls, almost a final before the finals. Great prospect. So many battles to be settled in that game, in fact the only teams that is going to benefit from this battle is the ones waiting the next week.

Sharks(16): v Lions (a); v Blues (h); v Bulls (a); v Stormers (a); v Force (h)

My Prediction- W,W, W, L,W

Final Log Points 36

Lions game will be a hard grudge settling game. There was so much fighting about players between this two teams I would have loved to give all 30 player boxing gloves to settle things once and for all. This will be a true South African derby, they will stop just short of murdering each other.

Sharks to win a low scoring game , they will suffocate the Blues wild running game.

I hate to say it but this will be the first game I think the Bulls will lose at Loftus after such a long winning streak.

The energy sapping game at Loftus will make them a spent force. This will go to the Stormers.

Force will get a hiding at the Shark tank, all the frustrations the Sharks had this season will boil over in this game.

Cheetahs (9): v Crusaders (a); v Chiefs (a); v Blues (h); v Force (h); v Lions (h)

My Prediction- L, L, W, W, W

Final Log Points 22

Typical Cheetah style they will eliminate one of the big teams, the one in Bloemfontein against the Blues is my pick. That will spur them on to their usual late season wonders. Well I wish them some luck too, they don’t have much depth and were severely struck by injuries.

Lions (4): v Sharks (h); v Bulls (a); v Force (h); v Blues (h); v Cheetahs (a)

My Prediction- L, L, L, L, L

Final Log Points 8

If the Lions had 20 log points now this would have been a great home run, the two away games are not further than 2 hours drive by bus. The table was set for a great run in, now it turns out to be  a parade to the wooden spoon.

I really can not see them winning any game this year.

39 Responses to South African teams, where they will end

Mmmm, the jury is out on this one… no predictions for me.. I will do like the Bulls, one game at a time.

Have to agree re the Lions. Can’t see them winning any games in this competition.

I wonder what will be said at the GLRU Chairman’s Council meeting tonight?

Pity I can’t be a fly on that wall.

Iemand gaan moet humble pie eet die 15de Mei….

Ek werk hom ook maar game vir game. Stormers het die pad vir huleself baie moeilik gemaak met daai onnodige verloor teen die Force en hul gesukkel om bonuspunt driee te druk.

Waar is die ouens nou wat my m@er so gevloek het toe ek gesê het ‘n verloor (teen Blues) sal die Bulls goed doen? My voorspelling is dat die Bulls nog net 2 games verder in vanjaar se S14 gaan verloor, en daai twee nogals teen die selfde span ook!!

I said the following on the Lions game thread:

Realistically speaking, the Super 14 is now a 8-horse race

Bulls
    Waratahs
    Crusaders
    Stormers
    Reds
    Brumbies
    Chiefs
    Blues

2 SA Sides
    3 Ozzie sides
    3 NZ sides

I also said this… Scrumdown, I would like your comment on it:

I sensed that some Lions supporters were hoping that Wikus van Heerden would miraculously come and turn the Lions around…

What to think about his performance today (Saturday)?

It was a mixed bag really, he slipped a few tackles, tried hard (as ever)… Lions problem still lies in defence or the absence thereof.

Some players need to be shelved… Carlos must be replaced by Herkie Kruger to start with…. eish, there are just too many ordinary Club players in the Lions setup.

This is easily proved, the Vodacom Cup players who came into the Super 14 side did not weaken the team and in the Vodacom Cup side (which played today) the Super 14 players who were relegated did not save the Vodacom Cup Lions side from a defeat.

So, the Lions basically have 2 Vodacom Cup quality sides… harsh but a reality!

3@ Koningkie – Hehehehe, nee, die Bulls gaan NIE 2 keer teen die Saders vasval nie!!

Bwahahahaha

The Sharks will lose against the Bulls and Stormers. We have two good rugby teams in those two teams, and both are final material. The Sharks have no back line to speak off, and there is no use in playing hard upfront just for the backs to bugger up the hard earned pill.

Please don’t make a mistake and think the Sharks will be a walk over, but take them serious and play hard, and the win should come.

Maybe next year the Sharks will be contenders again.

And the Crusaders to lose both games in SA, and not make the semis……….

@5
    Nee wat, Crusaders gaan gelukkig wees as hulle die semi’s haal….

GBS, jammer om ‘n draer van slegte nuus te wees, maar ek dink die Stormers sal julle wen as hulle oor hulle mental blok teen die bulle kan kom.

In Kaapstad natuurlik.

En ‘n finaal in die Orlando stadium is 50/50 in my opinie. Jammer vir julle dit is nie op Loftus nie, dit sou julle definitief gehelp het.

Die enigste groot verskil vir my in die twee spanne (Bulle en Stormers), is by FDP. Hy kan enige span op sy dag uit ‘n game hou.

I recon the Cheetahs will only win 1 more game… against the Lions.

I do not think the Lions will win a match… unless they conspire to put in the greatest effort ever to beat the Bulls, to save some face in this dismal season for them.

Stormers have a tough road ahead… they should beat the Chiefs, but the Reds, Sharks, Saders and Bulls then wait. The Sharks are going to give their absolute best to beat 2 teams… Bulls and Stormers.

Bulls… well this weekend against the Reds is supremely important, they can already sit on 37 or 38 after this weekend if they win, then beat the Lions and will have qualified already for a semi…. the other 3 matches are freegin nightmarishly difficult… Sharks, Saders & Stormers… they are bound to drop one or 2 there…

snoooooooooooooooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeekk @ 8
    my ou pellie!! 😀

8@ Snoek – Die laaste paar jare op Nuweland was goed vir die Bulls… so ons sal maar moet sien wat gebeur… dat dit tuff gaan wees is wel so!

I wonder if Loskoppie and Smalpielletjies72 are still alive and have not committed Hari-Kiri, or the Freestate version thereof, known as “Harde Mielie”… by sticking a Freestate mieliestronk where it would hurt most….

Flok, the Cheetahs have been terrible in the last few weeks.

What you failed to mention here Super is that The Stormers defence is better than the Bulls, when I watched the game again I noticed that The Blues didnt play badly, just the Stormers defence was totally committed so the Blues just couldn’t make their line breaks other than Ranger and their scrummie and often turned the ball over in the loose.

You can’t soften up Kiwi and Saffa sides, have you ever seen the Bulls weaker after a loss?

Also the Stormers butchered 3 tries, here’s hoping it will all click in the future.

GBS @ $

The fact that many Lions fans saw Wikus as the “miracle fix” actually shows how desperate we have become.

I have said since the rumours of his return started that he would be fitting into the most successful (although far from perfect) “department” in the team. The loose forwards of the Lions have at least (sort of) played ok up until now.

I personally feel sorry for the yank. He seems to play his heart out every week, and yet tricky Dickie and his co-ringmasters keep on shafting him.

He (Wikus) had an ok game, but by no means anything exceptional.

I’m told by someone who was in the Presidential suite on Saturday that KdK disappeared after the game, was away for a considerable amount of time, and was ashen faced when he came back. There seems to be a growing feeling in Doornfontein and among supporters (on some other blog sites) that the time for talk and false promises is over, and that the right type of questions are now being asked. (Too little too late?)

I’m also told that the players had the cheek to show their faces there, (May have been ordered to I suppose) but that they pitch up in jeans and open neck shirts.

This is somwething that Loffie started in the last couple of years, and which I personally am totally against. The Presidential Suite has a strict dress code for guests, why should the players be any different?

As you know, I dislike Soccer intently, but if you take a good look at the England side, you’ll have noticed that since the current Manager took over, he insists on the players appearing in public in a jacket and tie, and suddenly the whole attitude and performances change. Is it purely co-incidental?

This IMO is the start of being, and acting like professionals. If you act like an amateur, you’ll perform like one.

I’ve said for a long time that IMO the problems in Doornfontein are not only on the pitch on a Saturday, they are endemic throughout the business.

I think that the GLRU need to take a really hard look in the mirror, overhaul the way they do things from top to bottom. (recruitment, player management, structures (acadamy), club involvement, development etc etc etc), take the pain now, and sort the nonsense out once and for all. (This season is already a write off)

I have noticed in recent weeks that some departments are starting to get things right in terms of the way things are done, but there is still a long way to go IMO.

Enough of my soapbox. Lions by 15 on Saturday?

14@ Manly – Do you think the Stormers defence is still as tight as it was at the start of the season… I think not, whereas I think that the Bulls have considerably tightened up in defence.

Compare this past weekend’s results… Bulls allowed 1 try through, Stormers allowed 3 tries through.

Compare the weekend before this past weekend… Bulls allowed 2 tries against the Blues (1 less than the Stormers have now done), Stormers allowed 1 try against the Force (1 more than the Bulls allowed the Force).

All in all only 3 teams have scored less tries so far in the competition than the Stormers… The SHARKS (12), Force (13) and the Cheetahs (13), every other team has scored more tries, the Bulls have 13 more tries than the Stormers, which is more than the Sharks have scored in total.

It is difficult to judge teams on their performances against other teams, but the Bulls and Stormers have almost played all identical teams, with only 1 differing team each… makes one think, does’nt it?

Stormers are going to fall out of the bus.

Last 4 in no particular order:

Crusaders
    Bulls
    Waratahs
    Brumbies

Stormers need 3 wins from 5 games and in addition need to pick up 3 bonus points along the way… or 4 wins from 5 games without having to pick up bonus points.

The 1st screnario is more probable, but that really means that the Stormers need bonus points this weekend and the next for tries, whilst winning at the same time.

morné @ 17
    think we’ll be there bru
    but only just
    that game against the force will come back to haunt us
    o, and the waratahs wont be there bru. they most certainly wont be!!

Bulls, Saders will be a definite.

Then the other two will come from, Tahs, Blues or Stormers.

Stormers will beat the Chiefs, if they beat the Reds think that is them home and dry for a semi. The only team that could cause them trouble after that is Bulls. Sharks may but our backs are just not good enough. They will beat Saders at Newlands.

Go the saffa sides, really want to see a Bulls/Stormer final.

puma @ 20
    amen!!

One needs about 42 Log points this year to qualify for a semi-spot….

Waratahs have only 4 games left to get 13 log points and they play, amongst others, the Brumbies, who are also vying for a semi-spot… the others are the Chiefs, Highlanders and Hurricanes if memory serves me correctly… it is indeed a difficult ask, but it could be done.

gbs @ 22
    soooooooooooooo you believe the waratahs, with the task to get those points from especially the brumbies, chiefs and hurricanes will make it
    but
    we, with 5 games left wont?
    ……
    hmmmmm,i know you guys are nervous,
    but
    its waaaaaaaaaay to early to show it, bru!!

23@ Asbak – No Asbak, look who the Stormers are playing on their return to SA… it is certainly possible for them, but is it likely that they’ll beat the Sharks, Saders and Bulls in 3 successive weekends?

I bloody hope the Stormers go through… chances of us then having 2 SA teams in the semi’s double up…

It would not be nice if one ends 1st and the other 4th though, because that would mean an all SA semi…. mmmm or maybe it would be nice because it would assure a SA Team in the Final….

Blues sitting on 20 and playing some good rugby. Blues have Force, Sharks, Cheethas, Lions and Chiefs. Out of those teams think only the Sharks may beat them, then maybe not. They could pick up points from all those games.

Blues could well be there for a semi.

Reds have some very strong teams left to play except Landers. They may do then it looks just too tough for them from here on. So no don’t think they will make it.

25@ Puma – Blues will fall short, they need 22 Log points out of a possible 25 Log points! They’ll get them against everybody except the Sharks I think.

24 – gbs, I hope the Stormers don’t end up 4th. That would mean one of the saffa teams are out of the final. If Stormers win then they would have to travel for the final back to NZ maybe.

Bulls win the of course the final will be here.

Rather the Stormers try and win all their games from here and end up on 2nd 😀 Now that would be great, but realist speaking maybe they end up 3rd. They travel well so could still come back and have a final here with the Bulls if Bulls hold the final.

Jeepers so many that are crowding the top up there. Could go either way. Only see a Bulls and Saders for a definite top 4 so far.

26 – gbs, They have Lions, Cheetahs, Force, Chiefs and Sharks. They will beat, Lions, Cheetahs, Force and Chiefs. Maybe the Sharks could beat them but none of the others. So if they will pick up 10 points from the Lions and Cheethas that gives them 30points. They beat the Chiefs and Force with no bonus point 38 points. That could get them there. They beat those two with bonus point they have 40 points. I think that will be all you need. They could beat the Sharks too then they will make the semi. Their road from here on is easy boeta.

Tahs, road from here is very tough.

Saders in Christchurch
    Brumbies in Sydney
    Landers in Invercargill
    Chiefs in Hamilton
    Hurricanes in Sydney

One sure win will be the Landers, the others are all very tough.

29@ Puma – Tahs have just played the Saders (they lost to the Saders this past weekend)… they now have a bye…. only 4 games left for them.

Altzheimers??

Total 22 users including 0 member, 22 guests, 0 bot online